$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 27, 2014 Check-out: Oct 29, 2014

Le Pavillon Hotel

5 stars
833 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70112
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
580 reviews
fantastic new orleans adventure

I took my daughter to the One Direction concert at the Superdome. Le Pavillon Hotel was an easy... See full review

  • Mom of 1D Fan
  • Sep 27, 2014
Great hotel

Beautiful hotel in a wonderful city....I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a... See full review

  • ABS JR.
  • Sep 13, 2014
Called the "Belle of New Orleans," Le Pavillon Hotel stands out from the crowd of cookie-cutter chain hotels. A member of Historic Hotels of America, Le Pavillon was built in 1907 and still retains its majesty more than 100 years later with its high ceilings, opulent chandeliers, and antique furnishings in the lobby, as well as 219 refined guestrooms outfitted with marble bathrooms. The award-winning Crystal Room is the hotel's on-site dining option, with an inspired menu of Cajun-inspired cuisine.

Key facts
  • 226 guestrooms
  • 10 floors
  • Pool
  • Gym
  • Restaurant
  • Conference and event spaces
  • Spa service
  • Rooftop terrace
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • 24-hour room service and business center
Neighborhood
With an address on Poydras Street, Le Pavillon Hotel is centrally located between the French Quarter and the Mercedes-Benz Superdome, home field for the New Orleans Saints football team and many annual events, such as the Essence Festival and the State Farm Bayou Classic. The hotel sits just two blocks from the famous St. Charles Streetcar, a reasonably-priced sightseeing option that connects visitors to Lee Square, Audubon Park and the mansions of Uptown.
Hints and tips

Rooms at Le Pavillon Hotel come with unique traditions. Every evening at 10pm, overnight guests are invited to enjoy peanut butter and jelly sandwiches in the lobby served with tall glasses of cold milk and rich hot chocolate.

Many of Le Pavillon's employees are New Orleans natives, and they are happy to recommend tour options and make reservations for you.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.95 -90.0722
Area served
Central business district - Downtown, Adjacent to the French Quarter
Nearby airports
MSY - Louis Armstrong Int'l Airport
Area description
In the heart of the Central Business District with easy access to all local attractions. Adjacent to the French Quarter and only one block for the Saint Charles Street car line. A short walk to the riverfront attractions or the fashionable Arts District.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Le Pavillon Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Le Pavillon Hotel Rooms

Traditional Room - 1 Queen Bed
1 queen bed, approximately 350 square feet. Some rooms may have crown moldings & ceiling fans. All rooms have breakfast table with two high back chairs with mini bar, complimentary wireless internet and fitness center.
Traditional Room - 1 King Bed
1 king bed, approximately 400 square feet. Some rooms may have crown moldings & ceiling fans. All rooms have breakfast table with two high back chairs with mini bar, complimentary wireless internet and fitness center.
Traditional Room - 2 Queen Beds
two queen beds, approximately 450 square feet. Some rooms may have crown moldings & ceiling fans. All rooms have breakfast table with two high back chairs with mini bar, complimentary wireless internet and fitness center.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.6 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.7 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.2 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.3 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.6 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.7 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.2 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.3 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.3 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.5 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.8 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.9 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.4 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.4 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.8 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.1 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.7 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Several meeting rooms are available; all vary in size to meet the needs of any group, large or small. Please call our catering department at 504/620-4126 for a sales packet or further information.

Dining

Le Gallery Lounge
Patrons gather in this casual setting for cocktails, as only New Orleans knows how to make them. Offers an extensive selection of wines as well as a lighter fare menu. Live musical accompaniment can be enjoyed on weeknights.
The Crystal Room
Savor the complex tastes of gourmet Cajun and Creole dishes in the aristocratic atmosphere of one of the city's most beautiful dining rooms. This restaurant offers classical decor in a historic setting.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (580)

Ratings and reviews for Le Pavillon Hotel

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
580 out of 580
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Le Pavillon Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Uognarf
Business
Saskatoon, SK
Oct 29, 2009

Bed Bugs

I decided to stay here while in town for a conference, this was on the advice of my sister who stated it was possibly the best hotel she had ever stayed in. Indeed there are a lot of great things. Good location. Fairly nice antique decor. Free wifi. Free PB&J sandwiches each night. Nice rooftop pool. All the makings of a great great hotel. The old decor makes the place seem a little stuffy and unclean. I arrived in the evening and was very surprised to see the cleaning staff leaving my room at that hour. Entering the room, the place was small and a little stuffy. The aged bedding was an interesting choice but left the place feeling unclean. I immediately noticed hair on the pillow and an orange peel on the bed. The breakfast card had been filled by the previous guest. All these relatively minor offenses add up, but overall, I was still happy. The food in the hotel was good, and service was good though inconsistent. My enjoyment of this hotel came to an abrupt end on my last night there. I had noticed during the day a peculiar itch on the back of my neck and thought little of it. But on that fateful last night I was settling in bed and checked my phone. The light from the phone illuminated some movement on the sheet. I flipped on the light and there it was. BIG OL BED BUG! Gross! I squished him in some paper and to my horror found that he was ripe with my blood. It was about 3-4 am on my last night. I decided I would not be able to sleep even with a room change so I set to watching TV until morning. I went to check-out, and had high hopes for appropriate compensation... WRONG! The lady was friendly but clearly had no grasp of the gravity of the situation. I got $7 of phone calls ($1 each) and a free breakfast. ARE YOU KIDDING!?! She assured me that the incident would be investigated but made no move to compensate me appropriately. She took my email. I expect I'll need to follow this up. I'll post any relevant updates if possible. Until then, steer clear. If I wanted to stay in a bed full of bugs that would feast on my blood as I sleep, I could've had that for $29 a night ... or whatever the hourly rate is. Thanks for nothing Le Pavillon, you can keep your PB+J.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Le Pavillon Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
happywife
Alabama
Oct 18, 2011

huge disappointment

My husband planned our 18th anniversary in New Orleans and booked the la Pavillon Hotel after seeing it online. From the moment we walked in the front door we were disappointed. The hotel decor was very dated, the mattress in our room was old and sagged, the sheets on the bed were dingy, the towels had hairs on them, there was hair in the bathtub, and the carpet was very worn. The hotel was so bad we ended up leaving after one night and going to the Roosevelt Hotel in New Orleans which was fabulous!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Irene's Cusine had a wonderful attentive staff and delicious food!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Le Pavillon Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Thorkild
Boston, MA
Dec 2, 2009

Disappointing, to say the least

This hotel was an utter disappointment. While the stories from the old days might be grand, this hotel is far from it. The hallway smelled of chlorine bleach, but did not look as though it has been vacuumed. Our bedroom was small, smelly, and had not been cleaned thoroughly. The bedding had not been updated since 1970, as well as the dingy carpet and drapes. There were nail clippings on the floor, and the fridge in the minibar was a cool 80 degrees. We checked out that same day and found a new hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Le Pavillon Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston TX
Nov 3, 2009

Tired hotel

We booked a room at this hotel last-minute to attend a Saints game. The location was very close to the Dome and there was not much else available nearby, so we took a chance on what looked to be a dated hotel on-line. The hotel proved to be very dated, smelled of smoke even though the room was non-smoking, bathrooms were old and decor awful. Fortunately, it was a 1-night trip. We would not recommend this hotel to travellers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Le Pavillon Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jay Murle
New Orleans
Jul 10, 2009

Rather stayed in Iraq

The worst I have ever experienced. I just returned from deployment and had better experience in Iraq. They said they gave me a complimentary upgrade but they put me next to the elevator. So all I heard was people getting in and out all night. Then there is a phone next to my door and it rang all night. To top that off if anything in the fridge gets bumped or moved your room is automatically charged. They charged my account $300 on top of the $571 I had already paid for stuff out of the fridge that I didnt even eat. I got my money back when I checked out but could not get it back until then. The worst Hotel I have ever stayed in. I complained and all they told me was they would put it in there notes. Who wants to be treated like that after a YEAR in Iraq. Please Never again. Oops almost forgot the $28.00 a night plus tax for parking. Then they want you to tip everyone. I am giving you $28 plus and you expect a tip and my vehicle is not even moving or getting washed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Please go to Dizzy or Mothers down the street. The food in Hotel is to pricey for what they give you

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Le Pavillon Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Dec 31, 2010

This is a terrible hotel

I am utterly baffled at how this is a 5 star hotel. It is small, dingy, old, and decrepit. It smells musty, the rooms are tiny, the furniture and other appointments are very cheap, and it just has a very second-rate feel to it. I've stayed in hotels all over the world, and this is the first time I can ever remember thinking a hotel should be graded TWO stars lower than it is. It's clear the people who work at the hotel care about doing a good job, but the fact is it's just a very old hotel with very old facilities, and there is only so much you can do with such poor carpets, drapes, furniture, etc. I would avoid this place--for the money, you can get MUCH better hotels on that very road. Go with any name brand hotel over this place. And don't be fooled by the free PBJ/hot chocolate BS. Yes, it exists, but it's not good. Very cheap and shoddy ingredients, which is shameful for a 5 star hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Le Pavillon Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
A Travel Agent
TX
Sep 28, 2013

Not 5 Star

Our first room had mold on the ceiling . They moved us to another very small room. The bathroom was very outdated. The tile floors were no longer white. There was no counter space in the bath. When I was asked by the front desk if the room was in order, I replied it was much smaller than the original. She told me that if I wanted a larger room I could pay for a suite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Le Pavillon Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Baton Rouge, LA
Jul 26, 2010

Was expecting so much more

My husband and I frequently stay in New Orleans for weekend getaways. We thought we'd stay at La Pavillon this time. The valet and bell hops were very nice. When we were checking in, the front desk lady was rude to us & couldn't find our reservation. She suggested we just sit down & wait & she'll let us know if they find it. We waited for a few minutes & my husband went to the counter again to make sure they had our name right. The first lady had already put up her "next window please" sign & told my husband they found our reservation. She told him to go to the next window & they other lady will help us. The other lady acted like she didn't know we were just at the other window & gave us the rehearsed line of "Welcome to La Pavillon." There was no apology for not checking back with us within those few minutes to tell us they DID find the reservation. She was very short with me when she asked for a credit card & hurried me to sign the information sheet. When we got to our room, it was extremely small, even though I know most older hotels do have quaint rooms. There were flower petals left on a chair from previous guests. There was NO counter space in the bathroom. The water pressure was lacking as was the draining of the tub from a shower. I opened the "refreshment center" to put my own waters in the fridge & moved their very expensive one's. There was some sort of syrupy goo stuck to the bottom of the fridge & everything was stuck in it. It took muscle to move the drinks. FYI, it has infrared sensors which charged us the items I moved. I replaced them back in their goo & we were told we'd get that taken off our bill. We won't be staying at La Pavillon in the future. We live near by & have never gotten that kind of service at any other New Orleans hotels in the past 15 years.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Le Pavillon Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
King Of Prussia, *
Aug 3, 2008

Not worth the money

Le Pavillion was a beautiful hotel with very comfortable rooms, but short of the "free" peanut butter and jelly sandwiches and hot chocolate, this stay was extremely disappointing. Our jewelry was stolen and the staff did little to aid us in relocating it or taking our situation seriously. Location is about a mile from the tourist attractions...French Quarter and Bourbon Street, but its not a bad walk, straight shot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk out of the hotel, make a right and take that street. It'll bring you to Canal Street which is the center hub of the city in terms of restaurants, shopping, and tourist attractions. You can also catch the streetcar on St. Charles street which is really close and it will take you around the city for a cheap price. Loved New Orleans!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Le Pavillon Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
koolbreeze50
Chicago
Mar 2, 2009

OK

The staff was friendly, but a bit nervous. The breakfast buffet was delicious. They didnt have any cheese cake for dinner as stated on the menu. The airconditioning unit in my room was very loud. Especially when it comes on. It keep me awake my last night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Your in walking distance of the river walk, canal and bourbon street. Take the steamboat cruise its fantastic!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top