$116 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 25, 2014 Check-out: Dec 26, 2014

Le Pavillon Hotel

5 stars
833 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70112
Best In Stay Elite
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
611 reviews
Fantastic Hotel That Integrates History and Culture

My boyfriend and I stayed her for about 5 days. We’re both in our mid/late twenties and were... See full review

  • Audra T
  • Dec 8, 2014
I love this hotel.

I felt like a princess walking into this place. It has an old world elegance to it. If you like the... See full review

  • HunniBeeJ
  • Dec 8, 2014
Called the "Belle of New Orleans," Le Pavillon Hotel stands out from the crowd of cookie-cutter chain hotels. A member of Historic Hotels of America, Le Pavillon was built in 1907 and still retains its majesty more than 100 years later with its high ceilings, opulent chandeliers, and antique furnishings in the lobby, as well as 219 refined guestrooms outfitted with marble bathrooms. The award-winning Crystal Room is the hotel's on-site dining option, with an inspired menu of Cajun-inspired cuisine.

Key facts
  • 226 guestrooms
  • 10 floors
  • Pool
  • Gym
  • Restaurant
  • Conference and event spaces
  • Spa service
  • Rooftop terrace
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • 24-hour room service and business center
Neighborhood
With an address on Poydras Street, Le Pavillon Hotel is centrally located between the French Quarter and the Mercedes-Benz Superdome, home field for the New Orleans Saints football team and many annual events, such as the Essence Festival and the State Farm Bayou Classic. The hotel sits just two blocks from the famous St. Charles Streetcar, a reasonably-priced sightseeing option that connects visitors to Lee Square, Audubon Park and the mansions of Uptown.
Hints and tips

Rooms at Le Pavillon Hotel come with unique traditions. Every evening at 10pm, overnight guests are invited to enjoy peanut butter and jelly sandwiches in the lobby served with tall glasses of cold milk and rich hot chocolate.

Many of Le Pavillon's employees are New Orleans natives, and they are happy to recommend tour options and make reservations for you.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Le Pavillon Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Le Pavillon Hotel Rooms

Traditional Room - 1 King Bed
1 king bed, approximately 400 square feet. Some rooms may have crown moldings & ceiling fans. All rooms have breakfast table with two high back chairs with mini bar, complimentary wireless internet and fitness center.
Traditional Room - 2 Queen Beds
two queen beds, approximately 450 square feet. Some rooms may have crown moldings & ceiling fans. All rooms have breakfast table with two high back chairs with mini bar, complimentary wireless internet and fitness center.
Traditional Room - 1 Queen Bed
1 queen bed, approximately 350 square feet. Some rooms may have crown moldings & ceiling fans. All rooms have breakfast table with two high back chairs with mini bar, complimentary wireless internet and fitness center.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.6 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.7 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.2 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.3 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.6 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.7 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.2 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.3 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.3 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.5 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.8 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.9 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.4 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.4 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.8 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.1 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.7 mi

Dining

Le Gallery Lounge
Patrons gather in this casual setting for cocktails, as only New Orleans knows how to make them. Offers an extensive selection of wines as well as a lighter fare menu. Live musical accompaniment can be enjoyed on weeknights.
The Crystal Room
Savor the complex tastes of gourmet Cajun and Creole dishes in the aristocratic atmosphere of one of the city's most beautiful dining rooms. This restaurant offers classical decor in a historic setting.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Several meeting rooms are available; all vary in size to meet the needs of any group, large or small. Please call our catering department at 504/620-4126 for a sales packet or further information.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (611)

Ratings and reviews for Le Pavillon Hotel

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
611 out of 611
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Le Pavillon Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baton Rouge, LA
Mar 28, 2010

Great Stay!

Very nice stay. Compared to other 4+ star hotels in N.O. this is very affordable for what you get.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Le Pavillon Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Let Down by Le Pavillon
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Mar 25, 2010

Disappointed

So, I was dying to stay at Le Pavillon. Have visited New Orleans a couple of times before and stayed at the Sheraton and the Marriott on Canal but wanted something more luxurious--even though I was traveling for work, it was my birthday too so I thought it'd be fun to step it up a notch. Unfortunately, what I got wasn't quite what I expected. This hotel has a lovely staff but the accommodations are seriously DATED. My room looked dingy and was overall, lackluster. One lamp didn't work, the carpet was old, bed linens ancient too, and the bed was crooked--the base of the bed was up higher than the top. Also, chips on the wall from where furniture hit it. I was disappointed. I tried to get another room but because of the NCAA tournament, they were booked. I asked about the penalties for switching to another hotel and the manager would charge me one night's fee (even though I literally, opened the door took a look at the room and turned around and left). Still, I was willing to accept the penalty because the room was that unsatisfactory but I couldn't find another room anywhere else. Also, at first the manager was a little rude and unsympathetic, but once I was reduced to tears out of shear frustration, exhaustion (had been on the road since 5AM and have a new baby at home), and general disappointment, she tried to be nice. The staff flipped the mattress and re-made the bed and they left me a complimentary bottle of champagne. It was a decent gesture. Also, the restaurant has good food and service but in all honesty, I would not recommend this hotel, not for the price--you can stay at nicer places for the same money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Le Pavillon Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Carlton, Minnesota
Mar 20, 2010

Le Pavillon Hotel

The location couldn't have been better. It was a very short walk to the French Quarter, and yet the area around the hotel was very quiet. It was also close to museums and the river. The nightly complimentary peanut butter, jelly sandwiches and cocoa was a nice touch after a day of sightseeing. All the staff were very friendly and I would definitely recommend this hotel. The concierge recommended the Palm Court Cafe for live jazz and dinner and it was the highlight of our trip. The city is great and we would visit again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Le Pavillon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JD98aggie
Business
Houston, TX
Mar 19, 2010

3.5 stars with no complaints

Walking distance from everything you need. Far enough from Bourbon St. to not get overwhelmed from the big crowds. About $30 to park per night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

G.W. Finns was the best restaurant we went to and that's saying something because they were all good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Le Pavillon Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Northwest Ohio
Mar 14, 2010

Ageless Courtesy

This is an elegant hotel in a wonderful location. I have stayed here before and will try to stay here again. It is pure class, with the homey touch of peanut butter sandwiches as a nightly snack.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Chartres Street and wonderful shopping is only a 15 minutes walk away, and great restaurants abound.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Le Pavillon Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
noname11
Business
SE Pennsylvania
Mar 14, 2010

A Splendid Rebirth!

I last stayed at the Pavillion before it's recent redecoration/renovation, and remembered it as splendid but aging. Now it has been restored to its' (imagined) 1907 splendor. Add in an attentive staff, a good dining room and a nice location, near the French Quarter but away from the noise of Canal Street, and it is a winner!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Deanies, a chain (the local one is on Iberville nr. Dauphin) is where the locals go for good, relatively inexpensive seafood and a good variety of beers. Much better than Felix or Acme!!! Also, the pizza joint across Poydras is excellent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Le Pavillon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Meridian, MS
Mar 8, 2010

Stayed just one night.

We were down for a concert at the Arena. Choose this hotel mostly for the location (easy walking distance) but wanted a little something a little different than the typical Drury Suites/Holiday Inn sort of place. We were not disappointed. The hotel is very well done, keeping the feel of a time gone by but with the convenience of a modern hotel. Breakfast in the dining room while a little pricey is great. Well worth the small extra cost. The coffee more than makes up for it, best I've every had bar none. Service was impeccable. The only minor aggravations were the noise that could be heard from the hall and the slow valet service on check out. Neither of these issues would dissuade our staying again. The staff was most helpful and polite. This is in keeping with the feel of the classic charm of the property. It is worth mentioning the hotel was at capacity but never felt crowded. Not even at checkout.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Le Pavillon Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
flextrav
Business
New York, NY
Mar 7, 2010

Old dame needs some freshening up

Fabulous 'old school' hotel property. Staff are incredibly helpful, attentive, and very friendly. Easy walking distance to French Quarter. Only downside is that the rooms are very, very small and jam-packed with "stuff". Such an incredibly small space crammed with too many furnishings made the room unnecessarily cramped. Also, as can be expected, keeping the rooms clean and fresh is a bit of a problem given the volume of drapery and Louisana humidity so our room smelled a bit musty, although it was clean. Bath was clean too but, like the rooms, really needed an update. Overall, the public areas are absolutely gorgeous but rooms really in need of reno. Didn't make it to outdoor rooftop pool as was too cold. Would recommend if (a) you can get a good deal on a room rate as it's easy walking distance to French Quarter, and (b) if you insist on staying in a 100+ room hotel property, but otherwise, would rather stay in one of the thousands of incredibly charming B&Bs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Le Pavillon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houma, La
Mar 7, 2010

Old New Orleans atmosphere

Was met at the front door by a gentleman dressed in tuxedo and top hat, who had my vehicle parked, and arranged valet to deliver my belongings to the room. Arrived 3 hrs early, however, room was ready. I served in a wedding in the Crystal Room that evening.The wedding was wonderful, staff was enthusiastic and attentive to every need. Ordered breakfast room service in the morning, which was delivered promptly at the designated time. Some things, such as coffe pot in the room, or steamers available to freshen clothing, were not available, however, these are small sacrifices. The hotel atmosphere is marvelous. They put fresh fruit out daily in the workout center, and many more small details that made this a memorable experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Le Pavillon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
high Point, NC
Mar 7, 2010

New Orleans experience

The staff was AWESOME! Any request was met with a smile & promt service. On the down side: the room temp was not adjustable, the room was very small & the pool was not heated as described on line. On the up side they served the BEST hot chocolate every nite @ 10.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top