$139 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 29, 2015 Check-out: Jul 2, 2015

Le Pavillon Hotel

5 stars
View map of 833 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70112

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Le Pavillon Hotel

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
695 out of 695
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.4

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Le Pavillon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
He and She
Business
Iowa
Jan 5, 2011

Le Pavillon is grand old lady

We found Le Pavillon after doing several internet searches. Our check-in, stay, and check-out were seamless, and the staff is extremely professional. They were very helpful, from the bartender who opened our convenience mart wine bottle, to the receptionist who deleted the mini-bar charges from our bill (did you know if you lift them up to read the label, you are charged?). The roof pool and seating area was very pleasant; we used it twice during our visit, just to get away from the noise and crowds and enjoy the view. The elevators were small but impeccably kept and the lobby and driveway were friendly. Le Pavillon is a well-kept city hotel, walking distance to the quarter and Canal Street, if you like a good walk, and we do! We did not eat there, except for the pbj sandwiches one night. The room was small, and slightly odorous, which only bothered us for a short time. It was luxurious and well-appointed, from the towels and toiletries to the umbrellas (which we needed) for the walk to the quarter. Cars are parked by valets across a small alley, and the attendant helped us to retrieve sunglasses once during our stay. I would not stay there again, because now I know where the quarter is, and how to access the bus system, but I would recommend it to first time visitors of New Orleans. There are no unaddressed problems from our stay, and we were well satisfied.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a trolley that travels Canal Street. You can get on board for $1.25, and $.25 for a transfer, and get to the quarter or docks, without as much walking.

Review of Le Pavillon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ohio
Jan 2, 2011

Nice Hotel

Very nice hotel in Central Business District. Staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean, nice, and well decorated. The rooftop pool seemed like it would be fun, but the weather was too cold. I would return/recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Got to Hobnobbers. Its a hole in the wall restaurant. Very friendly owners, great cheap food. Five minute walk from the hotel.

Review of Le Pavillon Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Dec 31, 2010

This is a terrible hotel

I am utterly baffled at how this is a 5 star hotel. It is small, dingy, old, and decrepit. It smells musty, the rooms are tiny, the furniture and other appointments are very cheap, and it just has a very second-rate feel to it. I've stayed in hotels all over the world, and this is the first time I can ever remember thinking a hotel should be graded TWO stars lower than it is. It's clear the people who work at the hotel care about doing a good job, but the fact is it's just a very old hotel with very old facilities, and there is only so much you can do with such poor carpets, drapes, furniture, etc. I would avoid this place--for the money, you can get MUCH better hotels on that very road. Go with any name brand hotel over this place. And don't be fooled by the free PBJ/hot chocolate BS. Yes, it exists, but it's not good. Very cheap and shoddy ingredients, which is shameful for a 5 star hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Le Pavillon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy in LA and NOLA
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Dec 31, 2010

Elegant and warm place to stay

Overall our experience at La Pavillon was great. The staff was very professional and attentive. There were only 2 issues: 1) Toilet had a slow leak. After a day, you'd see some water puddling around the base. The toilet would constantly make this draining/wooshing sound due to the leak. 2) Coffee maker had wrong type of pot. The pot provided was too short for the coffee maker. Once we figured this out, she had to hold the pot up against a lever to allow the brewed coffee to drain out. We mentioned this on the first day, but it was never resolved.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

In addition to the French Quarter, there are excellent restaurants along Tchoupitoulous including Emeril's New Orleans, Tommy's Cuisine, and Cochon.

Review of Le Pavillon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
mississippi
Dec 30, 2010

"Fantastic Romatic Getaway"

Get location to the Hornets. Gave my boyfriend tickets to the Hornets for Christmas. This was our first time as Adults to New Orleans. The Hotel staff was very helpful with direction to places and gave great ideas for dinner locations. Will be back soon!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Le Pavillon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Udoy
Business
Charlotte nc
Dec 24, 2010

Great hotel/ but expansive

Great Hotel. very clean and staff are friendly. I did not like how they trick you to do valet parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is Thai Restaurant 1 block away from the hotel, it was great and reasonable

Review of Le Pavillon Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baton Rouge, LA
Dec 21, 2010

Disappointed on second trip

Stayed here in July and loved it. Went back with friends in December, did not love it. Even though we had confirmed a room upgrade by phone before our trip, they had no record of the call and were out of King rooms. Same thing happened when our friends checked in. They, too, had confirmed by phone at our suggestion. They were upgraded. Manager gave us an attitude about upgrading us. Lied to us and told us the clerk had been reprimanded for upgrading our friends. The manager was standing by her when the clerk did it. OUr "deluxe" room was big but otherwise not very nice. Frige didn't work. Had trouble with the cable. The shower not only ran cold at times, the water actually stopped mid-shower. Charged for minibar items that were not consumed. We were right next to the elevator, which was pretty loud. All in all, it was a disappointment. Even more so because this was our Christmas gift to each other. The staff really is amazing but we probably won't go back for some time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Sunday brunch is delicious.

Review of Le Pavillon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ann Arbor
Dec 5, 2010

Great choice for a long weekend

Good location. Lovely old hotel, amazing staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Le Pavillon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Orleans
Dec 5, 2010

Not as nice a normal

I always love this hotel. This time it was beautiful as always, but the romm was not as nice. The hair dryer broke, there was no coffee pot in the room and they forgot to provide turndown service. The lack of turn down service was the biggest disapointment- they normally leave two bottles of water and their famous peanut butter and Kelly cookies.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Please read above

Review of Le Pavillon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Nov 18, 2010

Nice but not Perfect

Physically beautiful property with attentive staff. Dining room a bit stuffy. Rooftop pool with nice views. Parking expensive - do not rent a car unless you are planning extensive visits outside the city. Mattress on bed was old and uncomfortable - needs to be updated. Good location near trolley line and quiet area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the trolley which is two blocks from the hotel and very cheap compared with paying to park a car.

Back to menu Return to top