$118 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 2, 2015 Check-out: Aug 5, 2015

Le Pavillon Hotel

5 stars
View map of 833 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70112

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Le Pavillon Hotel

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
695 out of 695
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.4

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Le Pavillon Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston Tx
Feb 16, 2011

The best Hotel I have ever stayed in

This is a great Hotel. Had a wonderful time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Le Pavillon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mobile, AL
Feb 14, 2011

A Hotel that puts their guests first

LaPavillon was a beautiful, historic hotel. The attention to detail was remarkable. The hotel staff was professional, helpful and followed through promply with requests. This in itself made the weekend so easy and I felt like I was a valued guest. Although it is not located in the French Quarter, it is an easy walk and is very close to the great restaurants in the Warehouse District.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Emerils and Tommy's are an easy walk.

Review of Le Pavillon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Feb 13, 2011

Great Time!

The Hotel is beautiful from the lobby to my room. Courteous staff who gave prompt and helpful service. The food is a little expensive but tasty. I would stay there again :) Free hot chocolate & PB&J at night was a great perk!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Le Pavillon Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Little Bill
Business
Orlando, Florida
Feb 10, 2011

Veritage Traveler

This hotel is the mecca of quality in New Orleans. The smattering of french employees and ambiance, particularly in the Crystal Room, makes you feel it could be in Paris.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Skip Bourbon Street and relax at the lobby bar.

Review of Le Pavillon Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lafayette, La.
Jan 30, 2011

Great but not Super

Lovely ambience; Excellent staff. But rooms and hallways are becoming very "tatty". Bathrooms are still sparkling clean. But the water in the tap was VERY Cloudy!!!! Forgot to inform the desk as we were in a hurry to depart. P.S. Lafayette, La.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Just enough distance from French Quarter to be quieter but still walkable.

Review of Le Pavillon Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Student Traveler J.M.
Business
Orlando, FL
Jan 27, 2011

Feel like royalty at Le Pavillon

The check-in was quick and easy. The luggage was taken up to our room while we checked in. The room was tastefully decorated and well-furnished. We were there on Christmas day and most restaurants were closed, so we enjoyed lunch in the hotel. It was exceptional quality French cuisine, though as expected it was very expensive. The staff took photos as needed until a photo turned out well. They were professional and polite, and also friendly if you want them to be - one of the waiters had an extended casual conversation with some of the diners about life in New Orleans. Overall it was like the 'Home Alone: Lost in New York' hotel experience (where a young boy stays in an elegant 5-star NYC hotel for the first time) - in the good ways :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The street car is a good way to get around, especially to and from the French Quarter where parking is mostly not free. It's a good inexpensive tour of New Orleans. There are three different routes - one near Le Pavillon on St. Charles, another up and down Canal St, and another by the Mississippi River. You can save money by buying a 1-day ticket or 3-day ticket if you're going to travel on the street cars frequently each day. It's also more convenient - no need to find coins and dollar bills.

Review of Le Pavillon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rae4Highlanders
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Jan 19, 2011

Excellent service and some great extras

The two best parts are listed closer to the bottom--they really made my stay. When I arrived I was immediately impressed. The doorman opened the door and was so courteous. Check-in was easy and fast at the front desk (also very courteous service). The elevators are great, old elevators, so if you are claustrophobic they probably aren't so much fun. There are only nine stories, and the halls are a little creepy because they are so quiet and so long (and as the hotel is supposedly haunted, it is easy to freak yourself out). The room was beautiful, and the other rooms I saw were equally so. There was plenty of room, the windows were big and bright, but you could easily block the light out with the curtains. I was never bothered in the mornings by light. The only problems I had with the rooms were that the overhead light I had wasn't very bright, so I definitely needed the lamps on--and there were plenty of those. I never lacked for extra light. My bathroom was also quite small, but other bathrooms (at least the ones I saw in double bedrooms) were a little larger, so I know that not all are quite so small. I still had room for all of my toiletries and the tub/shower was actually a really nice size, and that it was sliding glass doors was great--I really dislike shower curtains in hotels because they never seem clean. Speaking of clean--the housekeeping was impeccable. They left me water bottles and I always felt the room had definitely been cleaned and not just picked up like some hotels. All of the staff was so courteous and helpful, and they were all very personable as well. The bartender, Gracie, talked to everyone and someone got her to read the book series that our group was there to celebrate the release of. She was hooked immmediately and was so fun to talk to about them! She finished the first two books in about 3 days (I was there for 5 total). The two best parts of the hotel though were absolutely the nightly PB&J and Hot Chocolate snack. Every night, at 10pm, they put out homemade hot chocolate (excellent and so perfectly rich) and both premade peanut butter and jelly sandwiches, and the fixings to make your own. It was so fun to see everyone gather around for such a nice treat. The story as to why they do this is long, and I'm already long-winded enough or I would say it here--but it is really cute. The second thing that made this hotel my new favorite was that they went above and beyond the call of duty. One of the bussers in the restaurant spilled an entire container of cream all over my purse on accident the day before I was to leave. I understood it was an accident, but it got INTO my purse--and ruined my Blackberry phone. Disaster. The director of food and beverage, Keith, came over and apologized and then said they would pay for any damage or for a new phone for me. We explained what happened exactly and how bad we thought it was (my entire phone was covered in heavy cream), and he comped our breakfasts (all four of them), and then found a Verizon store for me. He proceeded to take the phone to the store himself, the hotel paid for a brand new one ($500), he had it programmed and transferred my numbers, and then left it at the front desk for me to pick up whenever I was able. Most hotels might have paid for it, but never have I seen that level of service to make up for the trouble of being without a phone for a few hours. Did I mention he got this all taken care of in about 3 hours? I had never been to New Orleans before, but when and if I ever return I will definitely stay at La Pavillon again. They really made my stay the best it could have possibly been.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Chartres street had the best breakfasts. Stanley is at the end of Chartres on Jackson Square at the NW corner. Amazing Bananas Foster French Toast. Rich and decadent. Pierre Masero's was about three blocks closer to the hotel on a corner (maybe St. Louis and Chartres?). The staff there were so fun and they really knew how to be efficient, but still personable. Great Blood Mary's and Mimosas, great waffles and Eggs Sardou. Worth the little bit of a walk, and Chartres is a quiet street, but right in the French Quarter so it really had ambience.

Review of Le Pavillon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kom107
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Jan 19, 2011

Great Location

Could not have asked for a better location than La Pavillion. We were able to walk down to Bourbon Street for night of fun (and brunch at Gallatoire's on Friday!), and then spend more time exploring Chartres, Royal, and Decatur streets for art and antiques. Easily hopped on the St. Charles streetcar for fun in the Garden District and Uptown, and then we were able to come back, get changed, and head out several nights in a row to Marginy and the Bywater for some awesome music and food. Taxis were readily available when we actually did need them, and the staff was very pleasant and helpful. Spent some time with Bette, at the bar, who was a real sweetheart and interesting as well. The room was the perfect size, with a comfortable bed and nicely spaced bathroom. All in all, if I were to come to New Orleans again, I would absolutely stay here again. The room was lovely (I really felt like I was at home), the location was perfect for walking to just about everything, and the service was impeccable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk!!! We walked to and from everywhere except for the Bywater, and it was not a problem (two women--you get warned a lot about the crime in NO). Basically, just keep your wits about you, and you'll be fine in this city. We were definitely off of the beaten path, and at no time did I feel unsafe.

Review of Le Pavillon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rae4Highlanders
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Jan 19, 2011

Excellent service and some great extras

The two best parts are listed closer to the bottom--they really made my stay. When I arrived I was immediately impressed. The doorman opened the door and was so courteous. Check-in was easy and fast at the front desk (also very courteous service). The elevators are great, old elevators, so if you are claustrophobic they probably aren't so much fun. There are only nine stories, and the halls are a little creepy because they are so quiet and so long (and as the hotel is supposedly haunted, it is easy to freak yourself out). The room was beautiful, and the other rooms I saw were equally so. There was plenty of room, the windows were big and bright, but you could easily block the light out with the curtains. I was never bothered in the mornings by light. The only problems I had with the rooms were that the overhead light I had wasn't very bright, so I definitely needed the lamps on--and there were plenty of those. I never lacked for extra light. My bathroom was also quite small, but other bathrooms (at least the ones I saw in double bedrooms) were a little larger, so I know that not all are quite so small. I still had room for all of my toiletries and the tub/shower was actually a really nice size, and that it was sliding glass doors was great--I really dislike shower curtains in hotels because they never seem clean. Speaking of clean--the housekeeping was impeccable. They left me water bottles and I always felt the room had definitely been cleaned and not just picked up like some hotels. All of the staff was so courteous and helpful, and they were all very personable as well. The bartender, Gracie, talked to everyone and someone got her to read the book series that our group was there to celebrate the release of. She was hooked immmediately and was so fun to talk to about them! She finished the first two books in about 3 days (I was there for 5 total). The two best parts of the hotel though were absolutely the nightly PB&J and Hot Chocolate snack. Every night, at 10pm, they put out homemade hot chocolate (excellent and so perfectly rich) and both premade peanut butter and jelly sandwiches, and the fixings to make your own. It was so fun to see everyone gather around for such a nice treat. The story as to why they do this is long, and I'm already long-winded enough or I would say it here--but it is really cute. The second thing that made this hotel my new favorite was that they went above and beyond the call of duty. One of the bussers in the restaurant spilled an entire container of cream all over my purse on accident the day before I was to leave. I understood it was an accident, but it got INTO my purse--and ruined my Blackberry phone. Disaster. The director of food and beverage, Keith, came over and apologized and then said they would pay for any damage or for a new phone for me. We explained what happened exactly and how bad we thought it was (my entire phone was covered in heavy cream), and he comped our breakfasts (all four of them), and then found a Verizon store for me. He proceeded to take the phone to the store himself, the hotel paid for a brand new one ($500), he had it programmed and transferred my numbers, and then left it at the front desk for me to pick up whenever I was able. Most hotels might have paid for it, but never have I seen that level of service to make up for the trouble of being without a phone for a few hours. Did I mention he got this all taken care of in about 3 hours? I had never been to New Orleans before, but when and if I ever return I will definitely stay at La Pavillon again. They really made my stay the best it could have possibly been.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Chartres street had the best breakfasts. Stanley is at the end of Chartres on Jackson Square at the NW corner. Amazing Bananas Foster French Toast. Rich and decadent. Pierre Masero's was about three blocks closer to the hotel on a corner (maybe St. Louis and Chartres?). The staff there were so fun and they really knew how to be efficient, but still personable. Great Blood Mary's and Mimosas, great waffles and Eggs Sardou. Worth the little bit of a walk, and Chartres is a quiet street, but right in the French Quarter so it really had ambience.

Review of Le Pavillon Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Harrisburg, Pa.
Jan 6, 2011

Great Service and beautiful room

Sugar Bowl and French Quarter. Nothing I could ask for was missing. Great service from everyone. Plenty of help. Beautiful room with many extras.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top