$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 28, 2014 Check-out: Jul 29, 2014

Le Pavillon Hotel

5 stars
833 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70112
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
873 reviews
Family & Business

Very impressed, beautiful, museum like, very helpful staff See full review

  • Jamezy
  • Jul 13, 2014
Fantastic Family Getaway

This hotel was breathtakingly beautiful! Our every need was met, and we will most definitely be... See full review

  • Tia N.
  • Jul 10, 2014
Called the "Belle of New Orleans," Le Pavillon Hotel stands out from the crowd of cookie-cutter chain hotels. A member of Historic Hotels of America, Le Pavillon was built in 1907 and still retains its majesty more than 100 years later with its high ceilings, opulent chandeliers, and antique furnishings in the lobby, as well as 219 refined guestrooms outfitted with marble bathrooms. The award-winning Crystal Room is the hotel's on-site dining option, with an inspired menu of Cajun-inspired cuisine.

Key facts
  • 226 guestrooms
  • 10 floors
  • Pool
  • Gym
  • Restaurant
  • Conference and event spaces
  • Spa service
  • Rooftop terrace
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • 24-hour room service and business center
Neighborhood
With an address on Poydras Street, Le Pavillon Hotel is centrally located between the French Quarter and the Mercedes-Benz Superdome, home field for the New Orleans Saints football team and many annual events, such as the Essence Festival and the State Farm Bayou Classic. The hotel sits just two blocks from the famous St. Charles Streetcar, a reasonably-priced sightseeing option that connects visitors to Lee Square, Audubon Park and the mansions of Uptown.
Hints and tips

Rooms at Le Pavillon Hotel come with unique traditions. Every evening at 10pm, overnight guests are invited to enjoy peanut butter and jelly sandwiches in the lobby served with tall glasses of cold milk and rich hot chocolate.

Many of Le Pavillon's employees are New Orleans natives, and they are happy to recommend tour options and make reservations for you.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Le Pavillon Hotel Rooms

Traditional Room - 1 Queen Bed
1 queen bed, approximately 350 square feet. Some rooms may have crown moldings & ceiling fans. All rooms have breakfast table with two high back chairs with mini bar, complimentary wireless internet and fitness center.
Traditional Room - 1 King Bed
1 king bed, approximately 400 square feet. Some rooms may have crown moldings & ceiling fans. All rooms have breakfast table with two high back chairs with mini bar, complimentary wireless internet and fitness center.
Traditional Room - 2 Queen Beds
two queen beds, approximately 450 square feet. Some rooms may have crown moldings & ceiling fans. All rooms have breakfast table with two high back chairs with mini bar, complimentary wireless internet and fitness center.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Le Pavillon Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.95 -90.0722
Area served
Central business district - Downtown, Adjacent to the French Quarter
Nearby airports
MSY - Louis Armstrong Int'l Airport
Area description
In the heart of the Central Business District with easy access to all local attractions. Adjacent to the French Quarter and only one block for the Saint Charles Street car line. A short walk to the riverfront attractions or the fashionable Arts District.

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.5 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.6 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.6 mi
  • Storyville: 0.6 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.7 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.5 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.6 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.6 mi
  • Storyville: 0.6 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.7 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.2 mi
  • East Tennessee Historical Center: 1.3 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.3 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.3 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.5 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.8 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.9 mi
  • Amistad Research Center: 2.9 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.4 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.4 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.8 mi
  • State Capital Publishing Museum: 4 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.1 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.7 mi
  • Six Flags New Orleans: 10.7 mi

Dining

Le Gallery Lounge
Patrons gather in this casual setting for cocktails, as only New Orleans knows how to make them. Offers an extensive selection of wines as well as a lighter fare menu. Live musical accompaniment can be enjoyed on weeknights.
The Crystal Room
Savor the complex tastes of gourmet Cajun and Creole dishes in the aristocratic atmosphere of one of the city's most beautiful dining rooms. This restaurant offers classical decor in a historic setting.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Several meeting rooms are available; all vary in size to meet the needs of any group, large or small. Please call our catering department at 504/620-4126 for a sales packet or further information.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (873)

Ratings and reviews for Le Pavillon Hotel

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
873 out of 873
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Le Pavillon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Feb 13, 2011

Great Time!

The Hotel is beautiful from the lobby to my room. Courteous staff who gave prompt and helpful service. The food is a little expensive but tasty. I would stay there again :) Free hot chocolate & PB&J at night was a great perk!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Le Pavillon Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Little Bill
Business
Orlando, Florida
Feb 10, 2011

Veritage Traveler

This hotel is the mecca of quality in New Orleans. The smattering of french employees and ambiance, particularly in the Crystal Room, makes you feel it could be in Paris.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Skip Bourbon Street and relax at the lobby bar.

Review of Le Pavillon Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Little Bill
Business
Orlando, Florida
Feb 10, 2011

Veritage Traveler

This hotel is the mecca of quality in New Orleans. The smattering of french employees and ambiance, particularly in the Crystal Room, makes you feel it could be in Paris.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Skip Bourbon Street and relax at the lobby bar.

Review of Le Pavillon Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lafayette, La.
Jan 30, 2011

Great but not Super

Lovely ambience; Excellent staff. But rooms and hallways are becoming very "tatty". Bathrooms are still sparkling clean. But the water in the tap was VERY Cloudy!!!! Forgot to inform the desk as we were in a hurry to depart. P.S. Lafayette, La.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Just enough distance from French Quarter to be quieter but still walkable.

Review of Le Pavillon Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lafayette, La.
Jan 30, 2011

Great but not Super

Lovely ambience; Excellent staff. But rooms and hallways are becoming very "tatty". Bathrooms are still sparkling clean. But the water in the tap was VERY Cloudy!!!! Forgot to inform the desk as we were in a hurry to depart. P.S. Lafayette, La.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Just enough distance from French Quarter to be quieter but still walkable.

Review of Le Pavillon Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Student Traveler J.M.
Orlando, FL
Jan 27, 2011

Feel like royalty at Le Pavillon

The check-in was quick and easy. The luggage was taken up to our room while we checked in. The room was tastefully decorated and well-furnished. We were there on Christmas day and most restaurants were closed, so we enjoyed lunch in the hotel. It was exceptional quality French cuisine, though as expected it was very expensive. The staff took photos as needed until a photo turned out well. They were professional and polite, and also friendly if you want them to be - one of the waiters had an extended casual conversation with some of the diners about life in New Orleans. Overall it was like the 'Home Alone: Lost in New York' hotel experience (where a young boy stays in an elegant 5-star NYC hotel for the first time) - in the good ways :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The street car is a good way to get around, especially to and from the French Quarter where parking is mostly not free. It's a good inexpensive tour of New Orleans. There are three different routes - one near Le Pavillon on St. Charles, another up and down Canal St, and another by the Mississippi River. You can save money by buying a 1-day ticket or 3-day ticket if you're going to travel on the street cars frequently each day. It's also more convenient - no need to find coins and dollar bills.

Review of Le Pavillon Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Student Traveler J.M.
Orlando, FL
Jan 27, 2011

Feel like royalty at Le Pavillon

The check-in was quick and easy. The luggage was taken up to our room while we checked in. The room was tastefully decorated and well-furnished. We were there on Christmas day and most restaurants were closed, so we enjoyed lunch in the hotel. It was exceptional quality French cuisine, though as expected it was very expensive. The staff took photos as needed until a photo turned out well. They were professional and polite, and also friendly if you want them to be - one of the waiters had an extended casual conversation with some of the diners about life in New Orleans. Overall it was like the 'Home Alone: Lost in New York' hotel experience (where a young boy stays in an elegant 5-star NYC hotel for the first time) - in the good ways :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The street car is a good way to get around, especially to and from the French Quarter where parking is mostly not free. It's a good inexpensive tour of New Orleans. There are three different routes - one near Le Pavillon on St. Charles, another up and down Canal St, and another by the Mississippi River. You can save money by buying a 1-day ticket or 3-day ticket if you're going to travel on the street cars frequently each day. It's also more convenient - no need to find coins and dollar bills.

Review of Le Pavillon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kom107
Pittsburgh, PA
Jan 19, 2011

Great Location

Could not have asked for a better location than La Pavillion. We were able to walk down to Bourbon Street for night of fun (and brunch at Gallatoire's on Friday!), and then spend more time exploring Chartres, Royal, and Decatur streets for art and antiques. Easily hopped on the St. Charles streetcar for fun in the Garden District and Uptown, and then we were able to come back, get changed, and head out several nights in a row to Marginy and the Bywater for some awesome music and food. Taxis were readily available when we actually did need them, and the staff was very pleasant and helpful. Spent some time with Bette, at the bar, who was a real sweetheart and interesting as well. The room was the perfect size, with a comfortable bed and nicely spaced bathroom. All in all, if I were to come to New Orleans again, I would absolutely stay here again. The room was lovely (I really felt like I was at home), the location was perfect for walking to just about everything, and the service was impeccable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk!!! We walked to and from everywhere except for the Bywater, and it was not a problem (two women--you get warned a lot about the crime in NO). Basically, just keep your wits about you, and you'll be fine in this city. We were definitely off of the beaten path, and at no time did I feel unsafe.

Review of Le Pavillon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kom107
Pittsburgh, PA
Jan 19, 2011

Great Location

Could not have asked for a better location than La Pavillion. We were able to walk down to Bourbon Street for night of fun (and brunch at Gallatoire's on Friday!), and then spend more time exploring Chartres, Royal, and Decatur streets for art and antiques. Easily hopped on the St. Charles streetcar for fun in the Garden District and Uptown, and then we were able to come back, get changed, and head out several nights in a row to Marginy and the Bywater for some awesome music and food. Taxis were readily available when we actually did need them, and the staff was very pleasant and helpful. Spent some time with Bette, at the bar, who was a real sweetheart and interesting as well. The room was the perfect size, with a comfortable bed and nicely spaced bathroom. All in all, if I were to come to New Orleans again, I would absolutely stay here again. The room was lovely (I really felt like I was at home), the location was perfect for walking to just about everything, and the service was impeccable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk!!! We walked to and from everywhere except for the Bywater, and it was not a problem (two women--you get warned a lot about the crime in NO). Basically, just keep your wits about you, and you'll be fine in this city. We were definitely off of the beaten path, and at no time did I feel unsafe.

Review of Le Pavillon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rae4Highlanders
Minneapolis, MN
Jan 19, 2011

Excellent service and some great extras

The two best parts are listed closer to the bottom--they really made my stay. When I arrived I was immediately impressed. The doorman opened the door and was so courteous. Check-in was easy and fast at the front desk (also very courteous service). The elevators are great, old elevators, so if you are claustrophobic they probably aren't so much fun. There are only nine stories, and the halls are a little creepy because they are so quiet and so long (and as the hotel is supposedly haunted, it is easy to freak yourself out). The room was beautiful, and the other rooms I saw were equally so. There was plenty of room, the windows were big and bright, but you could easily block the light out with the curtains. I was never bothered in the mornings by light. The only problems I had with the rooms were that the overhead light I had wasn't very bright, so I definitely needed the lamps on--and there were plenty of those. I never lacked for extra light. My bathroom was also quite small, but other bathrooms (at least the ones I saw in double bedrooms) were a little larger, so I know that not all are quite so small. I still had room for all of my toiletries and the tub/shower was actually a really nice size, and that it was sliding glass doors was great--I really dislike shower curtains in hotels because they never seem clean. Speaking of clean--the housekeeping was impeccable. They left me water bottles and I always felt the room had definitely been cleaned and not just picked up like some hotels. All of the staff was so courteous and helpful, and they were all very personable as well. The bartender, Gracie, talked to everyone and someone got her to read the book series that our group was there to celebrate the release of. She was hooked immmediately and was so fun to talk to about them! She finished the first two books in about 3 days (I was there for 5 total). The two best parts of the hotel though were absolutely the nightly PB&J and Hot Chocolate snack. Every night, at 10pm, they put out homemade hot chocolate (excellent and so perfectly rich) and both premade peanut butter and jelly sandwiches, and the fixings to make your own. It was so fun to see everyone gather around for such a nice treat. The story as to why they do this is long, and I'm already long-winded enough or I would say it here--but it is really cute. The second thing that made this hotel my new favorite was that they went above and beyond the call of duty. One of the bussers in the restaurant spilled an entire container of cream all over my purse on accident the day before I was to leave. I understood it was an accident, but it got INTO my purse--and ruined my Blackberry phone. Disaster. The director of food and beverage, Keith, came over and apologized and then said they would pay for any damage or for a new phone for me. We explained what happened exactly and how bad we thought it was (my entire phone was covered in heavy cream), and he comped our breakfasts (all four of them), and then found a Verizon store for me. He proceeded to take the phone to the store himself, the hotel paid for a brand new one ($500), he had it programmed and transferred my numbers, and then left it at the front desk for me to pick up whenever I was able. Most hotels might have paid for it, but never have I seen that level of service to make up for the trouble of being without a phone for a few hours. Did I mention he got this all taken care of in about 3 hours? I had never been to New Orleans before, but when and if I ever return I will definitely stay at La Pavillon again. They really made my stay the best it could have possibly been.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Chartres street had the best breakfasts. Stanley is at the end of Chartres on Jackson Square at the NW corner. Amazing Bananas Foster French Toast. Rich and decadent. Pierre Masero's was about three blocks closer to the hotel on a corner (maybe St. Louis and Chartres?). The staff there were so fun and they really knew how to be efficient, but still personable. Great Blood Mary's and Mimosas, great waffles and Eggs Sardou. Worth the little bit of a walk, and Chartres is a quiet street, but right in the French Quarter so it really had ambience.

Back to menu Return to top