$133 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2015 Check-out: Aug 21, 2015

Le Pavillon Hotel

5 stars
View map of 833 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70112

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Le Pavillon Hotel

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
621 out of 621
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Le Pavillon Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Dec 31, 2010

This is a terrible hotel

I am utterly baffled at how this is a 5 star hotel. It is small, dingy, old, and decrepit. It smells musty, the rooms are tiny, the furniture and other appointments are very cheap, and it just has a very second-rate feel to it. I've stayed in hotels all over the world, and this is the first time I can ever remember thinking a hotel should be graded TWO stars lower than it is. It's clear the people who work at the hotel care about doing a good job, but the fact is it's just a very old hotel with very old facilities, and there is only so much you can do with such poor carpets, drapes, furniture, etc. I would avoid this place--for the money, you can get MUCH better hotels on that very road. Go with any name brand hotel over this place. And don't be fooled by the free PBJ/hot chocolate BS. Yes, it exists, but it's not good. Very cheap and shoddy ingredients, which is shameful for a 5 star hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Le Pavillon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy in LA and NOLA
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Dec 31, 2010

Elegant and warm place to stay

Overall our experience at La Pavillon was great. The staff was very professional and attentive. There were only 2 issues: 1) Toilet had a slow leak. After a day, you'd see some water puddling around the base. The toilet would constantly make this draining/wooshing sound due to the leak. 2) Coffee maker had wrong type of pot. The pot provided was too short for the coffee maker. Once we figured this out, she had to hold the pot up against a lever to allow the brewed coffee to drain out. We mentioned this on the first day, but it was never resolved.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

In addition to the French Quarter, there are excellent restaurants along Tchoupitoulous including Emeril's New Orleans, Tommy's Cuisine, and Cochon.

Review of Le Pavillon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
mississippi
Dec 30, 2010

"Fantastic Romatic Getaway"

Get location to the Hornets. Gave my boyfriend tickets to the Hornets for Christmas. This was our first time as Adults to New Orleans. The Hotel staff was very helpful with direction to places and gave great ideas for dinner locations. Will be back soon!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Le Pavillon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Udoy
Business
Charlotte nc
Dec 24, 2010

Great hotel/ but expansive

Great Hotel. very clean and staff are friendly. I did not like how they trick you to do valet parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is Thai Restaurant 1 block away from the hotel, it was great and reasonable

Review of Le Pavillon Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baton Rouge, LA
Dec 21, 2010

Disappointed on second trip

Stayed here in July and loved it. Went back with friends in December, did not love it. Even though we had confirmed a room upgrade by phone before our trip, they had no record of the call and were out of King rooms. Same thing happened when our friends checked in. They, too, had confirmed by phone at our suggestion. They were upgraded. Manager gave us an attitude about upgrading us. Lied to us and told us the clerk had been reprimanded for upgrading our friends. The manager was standing by her when the clerk did it. OUr "deluxe" room was big but otherwise not very nice. Frige didn't work. Had trouble with the cable. The shower not only ran cold at times, the water actually stopped mid-shower. Charged for minibar items that were not consumed. We were right next to the elevator, which was pretty loud. All in all, it was a disappointment. Even more so because this was our Christmas gift to each other. The staff really is amazing but we probably won't go back for some time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Sunday brunch is delicious.

Review of Le Pavillon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ann Arbor
Dec 5, 2010

Great choice for a long weekend

Good location. Lovely old hotel, amazing staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Le Pavillon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Orleans
Dec 5, 2010

Not as nice a normal

I always love this hotel. This time it was beautiful as always, but the romm was not as nice. The hair dryer broke, there was no coffee pot in the room and they forgot to provide turndown service. The lack of turn down service was the biggest disapointment- they normally leave two bottles of water and their famous peanut butter and Kelly cookies.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Please read above

Review of Le Pavillon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Nov 18, 2010

Nice but not Perfect

Physically beautiful property with attentive staff. Dining room a bit stuffy. Rooftop pool with nice views. Parking expensive - do not rent a car unless you are planning extensive visits outside the city. Mattress on bed was old and uncomfortable - needs to be updated. Good location near trolley line and quiet area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the trolley which is two blocks from the hotel and very cheap compared with paying to park a car.

Review of Le Pavillon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rockville, MD
Nov 15, 2010

New Orleans Trip

The hotel was great. They make sandwiches for the guest every night with some amazing hot chocolate. The staff was all very nice. My husband accidentally broken a lamp in the lobby and they were very friendly about it. I also ended up with charges from the mini bar that I did not partake in and they removed them without question. The only downside to this hotel is that it is a far walk to the French Quarter but we still walked there every day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Central Market is about a mile and 1/2 walk but well worth it. The food is amazing and both live bands we saw were great.

Review of Le Pavillon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Get a Move On, Van!
Business
Atlanta, GA
Nov 9, 2010

Relaxing Rejuvenation!

Good show! Hotel was nice and the facilities solid. Staff was especially accomodating. Ammenities like the Cystal Restaurant were pleasant surprises. Be sure to try the daily buffet!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Canal Street and the French Quarter are only 10 minutes away.

Back to menu Return to top