$209 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 3, 2015 Check-out: Apr 5, 2015

JW Marriott New Orleans

4 stars
View map of 614 Canal Street, 614 CANAL STREET, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for JW Marriott New Orleans

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
140 out of 140
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of JW Marriott New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MD Girl
Business
Washington, DC
Jan 5, 2010

Fun week in NOLA

My boyfriend and I traveled to New Orleans for a fun vacation between Christmas and New Years. We were looking for a little of everything, nightlife, good food and some sight-seeing. The location was perfect. It was within walking distance to the French Quarter and the Street Car stop was less than a block away, making a side trip to the Audubon Zoo or the mansions very easy. We arrived around 10 am and were planning on dropping off our bags and exploring the city before being able to check-in several hours later. When we arrived at the hotel, we were able to check-in then, which was amazing. We still explored a little and got lunch, but not having to wait until 3 made the day much more enjoyable. My main complaints about the hotel was that it was loud. I could hear loud people walking past our door and the ventilation system made weird noises at times. The room was kind of small, but the bed was comfortable and I really enjoyed the robe. The fitness center was nice, although fairly basic and unfortunately it was too chilly to use the outdoor pool. There aren't any cheap dining options in the hotel, although there is a coffee shop next door and several more restaurants and cafes within walking distance. All in all, it was a decent hotel, although nothing extremely special. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Go to Port of Call on Esplanade for burgers. It was the best cheeseburger I've ever had and would go back to New Orleans just for that!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
iskids
Business
baton rouge, la
Oct 4, 2009

Quick Family Getaway

This was a quick overnight trip to New Orleans for us to visit family. The hotel was a convenient meeting location for everyone. We spent our time walking downtown New Orleans and seeing the sights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Visit Landry's Seafood. The restaurant atmosphere is wonderful and the food is amazing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, ca
Oct 15, 2009

A very good choice

It is a very good hotel with excellent location, clean rooms and very good service. The bathroom was small and the shower was very basic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Retail Exec.
Business
St. Louis, Missouri
May 8, 2009

Great business hotel

Right across from French Quarter which was perfect for after convention evenings. Very nice rooms with plenty of outlets for laptop, phone, etc. Very friendly staff and nice, clean rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
South Carolina
Aug 16, 2009

Great Hotel and great location

Great location for visiting new orleans. One block to Bourbon Street. One block to St. Charles Avenue street cars to Garden District. Across from Royal street and all the nice restaurants. Good central location without actually being in the French Quarter. Very fiendly staff at check in and nice pool on the 8th floor along with very nice fitness center. Provided free bottled water in room and in fitness center. Fitness center also had free head phones while working out. Very good value overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I highly recommend eating at NOLA. It's about six blocks down Royal street from the hotel. A little on the pricey side but well worth the money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Colorado
Jan 24, 2011

Very Nice But Not Amazing

Had high hopes for the JW and for the most part, it didn't disappoint. A few issues with the cleanliness of the bathroom upon arrival and 2 of the 3 in-room phones didn't work. We also didn't have a fridge initially in the room but Guest Services brought us one immediately upon request. Pros: - Great location - Friendly guest services - Nice workout room and pool - Awesome breakfast buffet Cons: - Room could have been much cleaner Overall, it was entirely adequate but I might try to find a more unique NO hotel in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baton Rouge, La
Aug 10, 2009

Very Pleasent

I went Wedding Dress Shopping and went have drinks in the French Quarter. We also went to the Harris Casino.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
feinbd
Business
New York, NY
Aug 10, 2009

An enjoyable experience

Second time we stayed here. Staff was very accommodating, especially at Shula's restuarant where we actually ended up eating most of our meals due to the hot, humid, and rainy weather. Pool was too small, the fitness center was adequate and nice they had tvs (and provided headphones) on the machines. rooms were clean and nice, though for the first 3 days we couldn't get *cold* water, the day we left they seemed to fix that. they did offer us a credit though. The location is right on the edge of the quarter but not in it, which is nice as you can leave the madness and get rest if you want and you don't have to be in a tiny box. Annoying they bang your for $15 for internet with unlimited long distance. ghreat i'm not a business traveler and even still have a cell phone, i just needed to check emails and check in with the office though. they claim to have WIFI as an alternative option but only in the lobby and you have to pay for that anyway, it's a bit exorbitant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Aug 18, 2010

Great Location

Spent five nights at the JW Marriott with my family and would recommend it to my friends. The location was ideal since we were able to get around easily by foot or the street cars. The staff was quite friendly and helpful. Since it rained almost every day I was a bit disappointed that there was not much to do. An indoor pool/jacuzzi or more live entertainment for the guests would have been great. The gym was quite clean and well maintained with fresh towels, water and apples(nice touch). Free wireless for laptop users was also available in the lobby. I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Illinois
Jul 8, 2010

Nice Place to Stay

Nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top