$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2014 Check-out: Sep 3, 2014

JW Marriott New Orleans

4 stars
614 Canal Street, 614 CANAL STREET, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
133 reviews
great stay, we will be back!

We thought about booking Ritz-Carlton, but this time, we decided to stay at JW Marriott, great... See full review

  • yk841pink
  • Aug 17, 2014
Home Away from Home

Had a wonderful experience at the JW Marriott on Canal Street! Room was super cozy and comfortable.... See full review

  • HappiestTraveler
  • Jul 14, 2014
The Marriott New Orleans mingles modern design schemes with classic New Orleans flair. Guests are offered cozy seating and streamlined designs in the lobby library, which is perfect for finishing work or just relaxing after enjoying delectable regional fare like fire-roasted oysters or a shrimp po boy in the sophisticated Lobby Lounge. For a casual breakfast, lunch or dinner, dine at the Canal Street Grill, which overlooks bustling and exciting Canal Street. Marriott began as a root beer stand in Washington D.C. in 1927, and today, Marriott Hotels and Resorts has more than 500 unique properties around the world. When you stay at the four-star JW Marriott New Orleans, you'll enjoy the company's prestigious history and love of change.
Key facts
  • 487 guestrooms
  • 7 suites
  • 30 floors
  • Outdoor pool
  • 2 restaurants
  • Fitness center
  • Conference and event spaces
Neighborhood
Located on the western edge of the historic French Quarter, the JW Marriott New Orleans is located just steps away from the St. Charles Streetcar, your gateway to Lafayette Square and the unparalleled grandeur of Uptown and the Garden District. Stroll down Royal Street and browse the specialty shops and art galleries; you'll also be entertained by plenty of street performers who embody the joyous essence of New Orleans.
Hints and tips
Canal Street Grill reservations can be booked online, or ask your concierge for dining and entertainment suggestions.

Request a room on the upper floors for a magnificent river view or city panorama outside the windows.


This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.9526 -90.0685
Area served
Canal Street
Nearby airports
Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport, (MSY), 16.00, MI, SE;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed JW Marriott New Orleans also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Water skiing
Horseback riding
Scuba diving
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.3 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.3 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.3 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.2 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.8 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.8 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.6 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.7 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.5 mi

Dining

Canal Street Grill
Introducing the all-new Canal Street Grill; our sophisticated yet comfortable New Orleans restaurant where you’ll find truly fine dining, with vibrant tastes to satisfy every palette.
Lobby Lounge
Join us for cocktails and free Wi-Fi at the perfect place to meet for a casual drink. The lounge at our Canal Street hotel offers guests a relaxed, upscale experience and provides the perfect New Orleans restaurant alternative with its select dining menu.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (133)

Ratings and reviews for JW Marriott New Orleans

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
133 out of 133
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of JW Marriott New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Adam Kramer
New York
Apr 12, 2010

OVERPRICED

Overpriced and tiny would be the two best ways to describe the location we stayed in during our weekend trip to NOLA. The phone did not work, housekeeping came only when requested by the front desk and the room was overpriced by 50%. There is NO WAY I would reccomend the JW MArriot in NOLA. Im VERY dissapointed. We were looking to leave early and book another hotel but my girlfriend did not feel like moving for one day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of JW Marriott New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Lauderdale
Apr 6, 2011

Convention

Room service was terrible- very slow.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of JW Marriott New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
UK
Nov 19, 2009

Good location but poor value

This hotel is on the edge of the French Quarter, so is very convenient for food and entertainment. However it is expensive and represents poor value for money unless you want to be pampered by obsequious staff. The basic facilities are no better than those we have encountered at many much cheaper hotels. The rate did not include breakfast and the hotel's own restaurant was expensive. There was no microwave. The coffee maker made only one cup at a time. The hotel charges for internet access, which we have had free everywhere else we have stayed in the 2 months we have been travelling in the US. The very pricey daily "communications fee" does include free telephone use, so may be worthwhile for business customers, at whom it is clearly aimed. Car parking is charged for, which may be justifiable in central New Orleans, but it is much more expensive than at other hotels we enquired at in the same area. The room maid failed to clear away and replace used cups, coffee bags and milk and it required two calls to the front desk, an hour apart, to get the matter rectified. The staff, particularly the car parking valets, didn't listen when we said we wanted to do things ouselves, then hung round expectantly for tips. We stayed at the JW Marriott largely because our guide book indicated that anywhere outside the French Quarter is unsafe and this was the only hotel of reasonable quality which had a room. However, we never felt unsafe elsewhere. In our opinion, it would be much more sensible for tourists to stay in a cheaper hotel to the west of the French Quarter and to use the convenient and pleasant trolley or cabs for going places.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eating at The Court of Two Sisters restaurant was a very pleasant experience - excellent food at reasonable prices in a magical setting, served by highly professional but relaxed staff.

Review of JW Marriott New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Find a better option.....
DC
Jun 7, 2010

Disappointed.....We expected more...

We really expected more from this hotel as we dined at Shula's last year and made it a point to stay at the hotel this trip. Upon arrival, 5 mins before check in, our room was not ready and we had to wait over an hour. One evening after returning around 6 pm, our room (and the entire floor we believe) received NO housekeeping services. After tipping one of the bellhops generously, I ended up loading my 9 bags into the van after he disappeared. One of the shining lights at this hotel was our check in bellhop, he worked his tail off while his partner was talking on the phone...and get this...the phone talking partner accepted the tip (as shining star was busy) and never shared it.....rec' the Intercontinental as it is not actually on Canal, but within walking distance and seems a little more refined....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the IHOP across the street..... Also if you need extra waters, visit the gym on the 8th floor...they have a stocked fridge and free fruit...but save some for folks that actually work out :)

Review of JW Marriott New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Aug 24, 2009

Good Location in New Orleans

Great location. But the pool was not great and there is not much choices in regards to eating. The staff were great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of JW Marriott New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lafayette, la
Oct 15, 2009

Marriott rewards policy

Marriott does not let you know that if you book with a third party you will not receive credit for the stay with Marriott Rewards program.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of JW Marriott New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jacksoja
Okemos, MI
May 21, 2013

Great location

Great location, friendly staff. The lobby and hallways were way too cold. The double beds were extremely small for 2 adults. The mattress was too soft, so that you sank down into the middle. Pillows were too small and awful. The location made it easy to walk to the French Quarter, the St. Charles Trolly, the French Market, and any place else you would want to visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bring plenty of money as even the hole in the wall diners were expensive. Every meal we ate for a family of 3 averaged $50 with most costing way more.

Review of JW Marriott New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NapaGolfgirl
Napa, CA
Jan 14, 2013

Great location but needs help!

Cold showers are not to my liking. You have to let the water run full blast on hot for 10-15 minutes to get a "warm" shower and look at all the wasted water. The ice machine on our floor was broken the entire six days of our stay. I would also like towels without holes and sheets that are not stained and worn out!! I'll try somewhere else next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of JW Marriott New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Appleton, CO.
Mar 25, 2011

Good hotel so-so service

THe hotel was very nice and in a great location. Service was so-so. Needed more people and needed to support the lounge better. No good to pay that much and not get Mariott Points when using [...]Drives you from using [...]again or away from Marriott.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Many location within 10 blocks.

Review of JW Marriott New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Plano, TX
Jan 2, 2013

Great Location, very frinedly staff

location is very good. great staff. some rooms have humidity smelll. clean though. it was very pricy on December for New Years eve. Not suprising..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top

Change search