$229 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 25, 2014 Check-out: Sep 26, 2014

JW Marriott New Orleans

4 stars
614 Canal Street, 614 CANAL STREET, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
133 reviews
great stay, we will be back!

We thought about booking Ritz-Carlton, but this time, we decided to stay at JW Marriott, great... See full review

  • yk841pink
  • Aug 17, 2014
Home Away from Home

Had a wonderful experience at the JW Marriott on Canal Street! Room was super cozy and comfortable.... See full review

  • HappiestTraveler
  • Jul 14, 2014
The Marriott New Orleans mingles modern design schemes with classic New Orleans flair. Guests are offered cozy seating and streamlined designs in the lobby library, which is perfect for finishing work or just relaxing after enjoying delectable regional fare like fire-roasted oysters or a shrimp po boy in the sophisticated Lobby Lounge. For a casual breakfast, lunch or dinner, dine at the Canal Street Grill, which overlooks bustling and exciting Canal Street. Marriott began as a root beer stand in Washington D.C. in 1927, and today, Marriott Hotels and Resorts has more than 500 unique properties around the world. When you stay at the four-star JW Marriott New Orleans, you'll enjoy the company's prestigious history and love of change.
Key facts
  • 487 guestrooms
  • 7 suites
  • 30 floors
  • Outdoor pool
  • 2 restaurants
  • Fitness center
  • Conference and event spaces
Neighborhood
Located on the western edge of the historic French Quarter, the JW Marriott New Orleans is located just steps away from the St. Charles Streetcar, your gateway to Lafayette Square and the unparalleled grandeur of Uptown and the Garden District. Stroll down Royal Street and browse the specialty shops and art galleries; you'll also be entertained by plenty of street performers who embody the joyous essence of New Orleans.
Hints and tips
Canal Street Grill reservations can be booked online, or ask your concierge for dining and entertainment suggestions.

Request a room on the upper floors for a magnificent river view or city panorama outside the windows.


This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.9526 -90.0685
Area served
Canal Street
Nearby airports
Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport, (MSY), 16.00, MI, SE;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed JW Marriott New Orleans also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Water skiing
Horseback riding
Scuba diving
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.3 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.3 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.3 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.2 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.8 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.8 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.6 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.7 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.5 mi

Dining

Canal Street Grill
Introducing the all-new Canal Street Grill; our sophisticated yet comfortable New Orleans restaurant where you’ll find truly fine dining, with vibrant tastes to satisfy every palette.
Lobby Lounge
Join us for cocktails and free Wi-Fi at the perfect place to meet for a casual drink. The lounge at our Canal Street hotel offers guests a relaxed, upscale experience and provides the perfect New Orleans restaurant alternative with its select dining menu.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (133)

Ratings and reviews for JW Marriott New Orleans

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
133 out of 133
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of JW Marriott New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Mill Creek, WA
Oct 11, 2010

weekend in New Orleans

I have been to New Orleans five times now in the last 18 months and this Hotel was my favorite. The location is right between the River walk and the French Quarter, also Canal St shops. You can walk anywhere from there. The Hotel beds were great, Nice TV and alarm with Ipod charger, wich my daughter liked. The bathroom was nice but a little small.The staff very friendly and they let me check in five hours before check in time! I will definetly stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mcdonalds, Arbys and I hop right across the st from Hotel if you want something small or cheap!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
nurselori
Mendenhall, Ms
Sep 19, 2010

Beautiful decor, exceptionally clean.

This hotel was the best! Best location-walked to the French Market, and Bourbon St, best rooms, professional staff. Over all GREAT

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Oceana's

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chesapeake, VA
Aug 22, 2010

Outstanding

Extremely helpful staff,immaculate rooms. Hotel located very close to the French Quarter, restaurants and transportation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York
Aug 18, 2010

Great Location

Spent five nights at the JW Marriott with my family and would recommend it to my friends. The location was ideal since we were able to get around easily by foot or the street cars. The staff was quite friendly and helpful. Since it rained almost every day I was a bit disappointed that there was not much to do. An indoor pool/jacuzzi or more live entertainment for the guests would have been great. The gym was quite clean and well maintained with fresh towels, water and apples(nice touch). Free wireless for laptop users was also available in the lobby. I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sgr
Business
Santa Ana CA
Aug 6, 2010

Unbeatable Price for the location

Everything was great except that the floor mat was missing in teh bathroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

proximity to Bourbon street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Yorktown, VA
Jul 23, 2010

Awesome getaway for two

Fabulous hotel. Within walking distance to french quarter, bourbon st, etc. Would definitely recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
fairfield, ct
Jul 14, 2010

golf trip w/ friends and family

good overall experiance. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ValDC
Washington, D.C.
Jul 12, 2010

Absolutely wonderful!

My husband and I enjoyed our stay. We attended the Essence Music Festival and after a night on the noisey town, it was a pleasure to be in the nice, peaceful, quiet atmosphere of the JW Marriott. Service was wonderful!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Illinois
Jul 8, 2010

Nice Place to Stay

Nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Miss. Hill
Edmond, OK
Jul 6, 2010

Great place

My friends and I attended the Essence Music Festival. The only thing I would have liked was two queen size beds as requested. We were told the hotel didn't have double queen beds but found that was untrue. Overall all this was a great trip! I would like to stay at JW again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

New Orleans is amazing. Site seeing was great and the food is like no other place. I loved St. Peters street and the Riverwalk. All these things we did walking. We only took cabs to the superdome. You should always have a pair of sandals with you while walking!!! It does get hard walking in heels but all the walking is worth it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search