$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2014 Check-out: Aug 18, 2014

JW Marriott New Orleans

4 stars
614 Canal Street, 614 CANAL STREET, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
211 reviews
Home Away from Home

Had a wonderful experience at the JW Marriott on Canal Street! Room was super cozy and comfortable.... See full review

  • HappiestTraveler
  • Jul 14, 2014
Great stay

The staff at this hotel was one of the best I've seen. The were extremely friendly and went out of... See full review

  • Remundo
  • Jun 8, 2014
The Marriott New Orleans mingles modern design schemes with classic New Orleans flair. Guests are offered cozy seating and streamlined designs in the lobby library, which is perfect for finishing work or just relaxing after enjoying delectable regional fare like fire-roasted oysters or a shrimp po boy in the sophisticated Lobby Lounge. For a casual breakfast, lunch or dinner, dine at the Canal Street Grill, which overlooks bustling and exciting Canal Street. Marriott began as a root beer stand in Washington D.C. in 1927, and today, Marriott Hotels and Resorts has more than 500 unique properties around the world. When you stay at the four-star JW Marriott New Orleans, you'll enjoy the company's prestigious history and love of change.
Key facts
  • 487 guestrooms
  • 7 suites
  • 30 floors
  • Outdoor pool
  • 2 restaurants
  • Fitness center
  • Conference and event spaces
Neighborhood
Located on the western edge of the historic French Quarter, the JW Marriott New Orleans is located just steps away from the St. Charles Streetcar, your gateway to Lafayette Square and the unparalleled grandeur of Uptown and the Garden District. Stroll down Royal Street and browse the specialty shops and art galleries; you'll also be entertained by plenty of street performers who embody the joyous essence of New Orleans.
Hints and tips
Canal Street Grill reservations can be booked online, or ask your concierge for dining and entertainment suggestions.

Request a room on the upper floors for a magnificent river view or city panorama outside the windows.


This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Water skiing
Horseback riding
Scuba diving
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed JW Marriott New Orleans also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.9526 -90.0685
Area served
Canal Street
Nearby airports
Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport, (MSY), 16.00, MI, SE;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.3 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.3 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Storyville: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.7 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.3 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.3 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Storyville: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.7 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.3 mi
  • East Tennessee Historical Center: 1.5 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.2 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.8 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.8 mi
  • Amistad Research Center: 3.1 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.6 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.7 mi
  • State Capital Publishing Museum: 4 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.5 mi
  • Six Flags New Orleans: 10.4 mi

Dining

Canal Street Grill
Introducing the all-new Canal Street Grill; our sophisticated yet comfortable New Orleans restaurant where you’ll find truly fine dining, with vibrant tastes to satisfy every palette.
Lobby Lounge
Join us for cocktails and free Wi-Fi at the perfect place to meet for a casual drink. The lounge at our Canal Street hotel offers guests a relaxed, upscale experience and provides the perfect New Orleans restaurant alternative with its select dining menu.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (211)

Ratings and reviews for JW Marriott New Orleans

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
211 out of 211
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of JW Marriott New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mister EEP
Business
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Nov 27, 2013

World class!

Staying in a hotel this luxurious, this close to all the attractions at an amazingly affordable rate is a rarity. I will be back in New Orleans soon and I will never stay anywhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Bourbon street (the entire French quarter actually) is just blocks away and an easy walk (or stumble) back to this amazing hotel.

Review of JW Marriott New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bob the painter
roch,NY
Aug 27, 2013

first class

I've stayed there for yrs. very nice; staff very helpful - always!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of JW Marriott New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mmh7707
Northport, AL
Jun 24, 2013

Great Experience

This was the second time my husband and I have stayed at the JW Marriott and we have had a great experience each time. The hotel is very clean and our room was perfect! Each member of the staff that we encountered was polite and friendly. The breakfast was delicious. I particulary enjoyed the water with the fresh oranges and lemons that was provided in the lobby after returning from a long, hot day touring the city. Would definately recommend this hotel and we hope to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of JW Marriott New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gambler9876
Alaska
May 25, 2013

Great hotel

Staff was great, meals a bit high but other then that we enjoyed our stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Walking distance to quite a few places

Review of JW Marriott New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jacksoja
Okemos, MI
May 21, 2013

Great location

Great location, friendly staff. The lobby and hallways were way too cold. The double beds were extremely small for 2 adults. The mattress was too soft, so that you sank down into the middle. Pillows were too small and awful. The location made it easy to walk to the French Quarter, the St. Charles Trolly, the French Market, and any place else you would want to visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bring plenty of money as even the hole in the wall diners were expensive. Every meal we ate for a family of 3 averaged $50 with most costing way more.

Review of JW Marriott New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Skye1248
NYC
Apr 5, 2013

Easter Weekend

Location perfect Room cleanness very good Great view Staff: OK However disappointed by the reception area. Small. always crowded look cheap Did not like at all since it is supposed to be a higher end than the regular Marriott

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of JW Marriott New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ReeneeJack
Lagrangeville, New York
Apr 1, 2013

Best Marriott Hotel

My family and I enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The staff was top notch. All staff members had excellent customer service and were extremely friendly and made us feel so special. I would highly recommend this hotel -- will definitely stay at this hotel again..it's a 5 star hotel! One of the best family vacation experience we had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Pat O'Brien's and Nola's Rest

Review of JW Marriott New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Scooby the great
Minnesota
Mar 31, 2013

Lots of fun

Staff was excellent as was the location. Easy walk to the trolley and great sights. Quiet so you can still sleep at night. A bit muggy in the hotel room mostly related to the lack of a bathroom fan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of JW Marriott New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Double Dee's
New York, NY
Mar 30, 2013

Perfect getaway weekend

Perfect location within walking distance to everything. Very friendly and hard working staff. Extremely clean hotel has many amenities very tiny pool but we did not use the pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of JW Marriott New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
cobra9254
Indianapolis, Indiana
Mar 19, 2013

Great place to see New Orleans the sites

The hotel itself was comfortable and clean. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Taxi and tour bus availability when not walking the sites of the city. Walking distance to Harrah's casino and the French Quarter. Tours offered to the swamps, cemeteries, voodoo, city, ghosts. We took the swamp tour and the dinner cruise down the Mississippi booked by the courteous concierge. Ate at Cafe Dumond via taxi although I have walked it before. Love this city and this hotel!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If your looking for a good place to stay close to the French Quarter within walking distance of the major sites of the city this is it.

Back to menu Return to top