$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2014 Check-out: Aug 18, 2014

JW Marriott New Orleans

4 stars
614 Canal Street, 614 CANAL STREET, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
211 reviews
Home Away from Home

Had a wonderful experience at the JW Marriott on Canal Street! Room was super cozy and comfortable.... See full review

  • HappiestTraveler
  • Jul 14, 2014
Great stay

The staff at this hotel was one of the best I've seen. The were extremely friendly and went out of... See full review

  • Remundo
  • Jun 8, 2014
The Marriott New Orleans mingles modern design schemes with classic New Orleans flair. Guests are offered cozy seating and streamlined designs in the lobby library, which is perfect for finishing work or just relaxing after enjoying delectable regional fare like fire-roasted oysters or a shrimp po boy in the sophisticated Lobby Lounge. For a casual breakfast, lunch or dinner, dine at the Canal Street Grill, which overlooks bustling and exciting Canal Street. Marriott began as a root beer stand in Washington D.C. in 1927, and today, Marriott Hotels and Resorts has more than 500 unique properties around the world. When you stay at the four-star JW Marriott New Orleans, you'll enjoy the company's prestigious history and love of change.
Key facts
  • 487 guestrooms
  • 7 suites
  • 30 floors
  • Outdoor pool
  • 2 restaurants
  • Fitness center
  • Conference and event spaces
Neighborhood
Located on the western edge of the historic French Quarter, the JW Marriott New Orleans is located just steps away from the St. Charles Streetcar, your gateway to Lafayette Square and the unparalleled grandeur of Uptown and the Garden District. Stroll down Royal Street and browse the specialty shops and art galleries; you'll also be entertained by plenty of street performers who embody the joyous essence of New Orleans.
Hints and tips
Canal Street Grill reservations can be booked online, or ask your concierge for dining and entertainment suggestions.

Request a room on the upper floors for a magnificent river view or city panorama outside the windows.


This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Water skiing
Horseback riding
Scuba diving
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed JW Marriott New Orleans also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.9526 -90.0685
Area served
Canal Street
Nearby airports
Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport, (MSY), 16.00, MI, SE;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.3 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.3 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Storyville: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.7 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.3 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.3 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Storyville: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.7 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.3 mi
  • East Tennessee Historical Center: 1.5 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.2 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.8 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.8 mi
  • Amistad Research Center: 3.1 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.6 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.7 mi
  • State Capital Publishing Museum: 4 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.5 mi
  • Six Flags New Orleans: 10.4 mi

Dining

Canal Street Grill
Introducing the all-new Canal Street Grill; our sophisticated yet comfortable New Orleans restaurant where you’ll find truly fine dining, with vibrant tastes to satisfy every palette.
Lobby Lounge
Join us for cocktails and free Wi-Fi at the perfect place to meet for a casual drink. The lounge at our Canal Street hotel offers guests a relaxed, upscale experience and provides the perfect New Orleans restaurant alternative with its select dining menu.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (211)

Ratings and reviews for JW Marriott New Orleans

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
211 out of 211
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of JW Marriott New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
new york
Jul 6, 2010

Great location

The hotel was beautiful great location to the superdome everthing was within walking distance

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of JW Marriott New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
new york
Jul 6, 2010

Great location

The hotel was beautiful great location to the superdome everthing was within walking distance

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of JW Marriott New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sweetz
Greenville, NC
Jul 5, 2010

Had a blast

I went down to New Orleans, LA for the Essence Music Festival. My boyfriend and I had a great time. The hotel was conveniently located in walking distance of everything. Even the Superdome was in a pretty decent walk considering the fact that we were located downtown in the center of everything. I am quite familiar with New Orleans since I used to live there, so having friends to come swoop me up and go to other places was great for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Always wear comfortable walking shoes, since everything is really within an eight block radius - this is including the casino, aquarium, convention center and boardwalk - walking around would be the best way to enjoy all that downtown New Orleans has to offer.

Review of JW Marriott New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sweetz
Greenville, NC
Jul 5, 2010

Had a blast

I went down to New Orleans, LA for the Essence Music Festival. My boyfriend and I had a great time. The hotel was conveniently located in walking distance of everything. Even the Superdome was in a pretty decent walk considering the fact that we were located downtown in the center of everything. I am quite familiar with New Orleans since I used to live there, so having friends to come swoop me up and go to other places was great for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Always wear comfortable walking shoes, since everything is really within an eight block radius - this is including the casino, aquarium, convention center and boardwalk - walking around would be the best way to enjoy all that downtown New Orleans has to offer.

Review of JW Marriott New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GM boo
Washington, DC
Jun 17, 2010

Celebrating anniversity week

No everything was just great location was great too!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of JW Marriott New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Find a better option.....
DC
Jun 7, 2010

Disappointed.....We expected more...

We really expected more from this hotel as we dined at Shula's last year and made it a point to stay at the hotel this trip. Upon arrival, 5 mins before check in, our room was not ready and we had to wait over an hour. One evening after returning around 6 pm, our room (and the entire floor we believe) received NO housekeeping services. After tipping one of the bellhops generously, I ended up loading my 9 bags into the van after he disappeared. One of the shining lights at this hotel was our check in bellhop, he worked his tail off while his partner was talking on the phone...and get this...the phone talking partner accepted the tip (as shining star was busy) and never shared it.....rec' the Intercontinental as it is not actually on Canal, but within walking distance and seems a little more refined....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the IHOP across the street..... Also if you need extra waters, visit the gym on the 8th floor...they have a stocked fridge and free fruit...but save some for folks that actually work out :)

Review of JW Marriott New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Find a better option.....
DC
Jun 7, 2010

Disappointed.....We expected more...

We really expected more from this hotel as we dined at Shula's last year and made it a point to stay at the hotel this trip. Upon arrival, 5 mins before check in, our room was not ready and we had to wait over an hour. One evening after returning around 6 pm, our room (and the entire floor we believe) received NO housekeeping services. After tipping one of the bellhops generously, I ended up loading my 9 bags into the van after he disappeared. One of the shining lights at this hotel was our check in bellhop, he worked his tail off while his partner was talking on the phone...and get this...the phone talking partner accepted the tip (as shining star was busy) and never shared it.....rec' the Intercontinental as it is not actually on Canal, but within walking distance and seems a little more refined....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the IHOP across the street..... Also if you need extra waters, visit the gym on the 8th floor...they have a stocked fridge and free fruit...but save some for folks that actually work out :)

Review of JW Marriott New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Marietta,GA
Jun 7, 2010

JW Marriott/ New Orleans

Staff was helpful and friendly. Great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Deanies Seafood, great food, great value

Review of JW Marriott New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Marietta,GA
Jun 7, 2010

JW Marriott/ New Orleans

Staff was helpful and friendly. Great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Deanies Seafood, great food, great value

Review of JW Marriott New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fort Myers, FL
Jun 3, 2010

Awesome City! Awesome Hotel!

The rooms were very spacious, the staff extremely helpful and friendly. Lots of suggestions for 'local' things to do (off the beaten path). We had a wonderful time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top