$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

JW Marriott New Orleans

4 stars
View map of 614 Canal Street, 614 CANAL STREET, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for JW Marriott New Orleans

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
142 out of 142
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of JW Marriott New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mack in Jax
Business
Jacksonville, FL
Dec 29, 2009

Good hotel with a few flaws

Fantastic location in the French Quarter of New Orleans. Close to just about anything you would want to do there. Only a few blocks from Bourbon Street, within walking distance of Jackson Square and all of the surrounding points of interest. Comfortable, clean room with a good shower. Friendly and helpful staff for the most part. Problems with the hotel included valet-only parking, for which they charge you $32/day, no refrigerator in the room, and no balcony (for smokers it can be a pain to have to go all the way downstairs every time you want to smoke).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Our Christmas in New Orleans
Business
Anniston, AL
Dec 28, 2009

Christmas in New Orleans

The location and Staff were excellent. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who travels, be prepared to pay little bit for the service but the staff and management were excellent. GREAT TIME.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TravelsLike007
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Dec 21, 2009

Great Customer Service

I'm no stranger to visiting New Orleans. During my stay, I experienced an unfortunate mishap - the smoke detector in my room malfunctioned in the middle of the night. Talk about a rude awakening. The hotel staff was very apologetic for the mishap and upgraded me to a larger room to make up for it - as they should have. It sure is nice when they do the right thing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mena's Palace may close early, but for a quick lunch you can't beat the combo of down home hospitality combined with cheap delicious eats.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
wheeling,wv
Dec 13, 2009

nothing to write home about!

The Marriott is an okay hotel close to Harrahs and the french quarter. Rooms were a little worn, but clean. Hot water wasn't real plentiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Two day trip
Business
Vancouver, WA
Nov 23, 2009

Perfect location

The hotel was exceptional. There was an entrance in the back of the building for the car which was whisked away and parked inside at $ 30 per night! Beautiful room on the 24th floor. Wonderful room. we walked 1-2 blocks to bourbon street at night & felt very safe. There are stores across the street for alcohol and fast food also across the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
UK
Nov 19, 2009

Good location but poor value

This hotel is on the edge of the French Quarter, so is very convenient for food and entertainment. However it is expensive and represents poor value for money unless you want to be pampered by obsequious staff. The basic facilities are no better than those we have encountered at many much cheaper hotels. The rate did not include breakfast and the hotel's own restaurant was expensive. There was no microwave. The coffee maker made only one cup at a time. The hotel charges for internet access, which we have had free everywhere else we have stayed in the 2 months we have been travelling in the US. The very pricey daily "communications fee" does include free telephone use, so may be worthwhile for business customers, at whom it is clearly aimed. Car parking is charged for, which may be justifiable in central New Orleans, but it is much more expensive than at other hotels we enquired at in the same area. The room maid failed to clear away and replace used cups, coffee bags and milk and it required two calls to the front desk, an hour apart, to get the matter rectified. The staff, particularly the car parking valets, didn't listen when we said we wanted to do things ouselves, then hung round expectantly for tips. We stayed at the JW Marriott largely because our guide book indicated that anywhere outside the French Quarter is unsafe and this was the only hotel of reasonable quality which had a room. However, we never felt unsafe elsewhere. In our opinion, it would be much more sensible for tourists to stay in a cheaper hotel to the west of the French Quarter and to use the convenient and pleasant trolley or cabs for going places.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eating at The Court of Two Sisters restaurant was a very pleasant experience - excellent food at reasonable prices in a magical setting, served by highly professional but relaxed staff.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Virginia
Nov 17, 2009

Marrriott Hotel stay

Great location and beautiful hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chattanooga TN
Nov 16, 2009

My first New Orleans trip

excellent location with good service. We felt pampered during our stay. Only minor problem was small amount of counter space in bathroom. Otherwise the room was perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlottesville, VA
Nov 13, 2009

School Visits, New Orleans

The staff was incredibly kind and professional from check-in to check-out, the room was spotless, and the location was perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you enjoy seafood, check out Acme Oyster House on Bourbon St.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Haloween couple
Business
Waldo, Oh
Nov 7, 2009

Good value

Came to new Orleans f/ the crazy Haloween experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

A block away from Bourdon St and across from Royal St on Canal St.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top