JW Marriott New Orleans

4 stars
View map of 614 Canal Street, 614 CANAL STREET, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

4.3/5

Overall score

96%

Would recommend

Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2
The Marriott New Orleans mingles modern design schemes with classic New Orleans flair. Guests are offered cozy seating and streamlined designs in the lobby library, which is perfect for finishing work or just relaxing after enjoying delectable regional fare like fire-roasted oysters or a shrimp po boy in the sophisticated Lobby Lounge. For a casual breakfast, lunch or dinner, dine at the Canal Street Grill, which overlooks bustling and exciting Canal Street. Marriott began as a root beer stand in Washington D.C. in 1927, and today, Marriott Hotels and Resorts has more than 500 unique properties around the world. When you stay at the four-star JW Marriott New Orleans, you'll enjoy the company's prestigious history and love of change.
Key facts
  • 487 guestrooms
  • 7 suites
  • 30 floors
  • Outdoor pool
  • 2 restaurants
  • Fitness center
  • Conference and event spaces
Neighborhood
Located on the western edge of the historic French Quarter, the JW Marriott New Orleans is located just steps away from the St. Charles Streetcar, your gateway to Lafayette Square and the unparalleled grandeur of Uptown and the Garden District. Stroll down Royal Street and browse the specialty shops and art galleries; you'll also be entertained by plenty of street performers who embody the joyous essence of New Orleans.
Hints and tips
Canal Street Grill reservations can be booked online, or ask your concierge for dining and entertainment suggestions.

Request a room on the upper floors for a magnificent river view or city panorama outside the windows.


This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Water skiing
Horseback riding
Scuba diving
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Hotel Map

29.9526 -90.0685
Area served
Canal Street
Nearby airports
Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport, (MSY), 16.00, MI, SE;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.3 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.3 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.3 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.2 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.8 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.8 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.6 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.7 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.5 mi

Dining

Canal Street Grill
Introducing the all-new Canal Street Grill; our sophisticated yet comfortable New Orleans restaurant where you’ll find truly fine dining, with vibrant tastes to satisfy every palette.
Lobby Lounge
Join us for cocktails and free Wi-Fi at the perfect place to meet for a casual drink. The lounge at our Canal Street hotel offers guests a relaxed, upscale experience and provides the perfect New Orleans restaurant alternative with its select dining menu.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (140)

Ratings and reviews for JW Marriott New Orleans

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
140 out of 140
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of JW Marriott New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
None apply
Business
Arlington, texas
Mar 22, 2010

Great location withinb walking distance

Good location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brooklyn, New York
Feb 21, 2010

I had a fantastic time.

It was a little short getaway, and what better place to do it at JW Marriot in New Orleans. I had a great and safe time. I hope to come back again soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbus, Ohio
Feb 16, 2010

A shiney spot in a dirty town

Well it was Mardi Gras'. And they did it well. Took care of everything during a time of extreem crazyness. Becareful, because of the parades, you sometimes can get caught on the other side of the street and have to party until the parades pass and reopen Canal St. The rooms are a little noisy if you have bad neighbors, but the hotel was overall great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

You're right on the edge of the French Quarter. You can get there quick, but can also get out when you've had enough.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, TX
Feb 13, 2010

Excellent all around!

since I used to live in NOLA, I knew the vicinity. This hotel was perfect: location, amenities (even have a kiosk to print boarding passes!!), one restaurant Shula's but close to many more (Palace Cafe is right across the street!! Great Jazz Brunch on Sundays!!) The staff was super courteous... every single second. I accidentally left my phone in the rental car, and since the garage is strictly valet (trust me, this is a GOOD thing in NOLA) I had to ask the valet to bring my phone down... poor guy accidentally lost it out of his pocket as he brought another car down BUT he tracked down the owner of the other car and drove to where the phone was to retrieve it!! Unbelieveable service. I HIGHLY recommend this hotel for anyone unfamiliar with New Orleans since it is right across Canal Street from the Quarter. The Imax and Aquarium and Harrah's are within 5 blocks or less. Enjoy!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

perfect safe location for a stay in NOLA.... enjoy!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Omaha, Nebraska
Feb 10, 2010

Great location and great price.

Great place to stay. Very helpful staff the minute we walked in. We checked in within 10 minutes and got help with all our questions of places to go and the parades in town. Even gave us a map of the route. We got a free upgrade to a corner room. Beautiful. Very clean and neat. Hotel right on canal street amd one block from streetcar. We walked or took the streetcar to everyting we wanted to see. Bathroom in corner room is large with a great shower, even has a phone in the bathroom. The bathrobes were a plus with it being really cold when we were there. We had the express check out and when we left there was a cab right outside the door waiting for us. A really great place to stAY.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the streetcars to get around. Seniors are only 40cents each way with ID or they have a 3 day pass you can buy.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
I'm all about easy
Business
Dallas, TX
Jan 13, 2010

Good location

The location was great. Walking distance to the French Quarter. From our room, we could even read the street sign "Bourbon Street".We did not get the free breakfast buffet as mentioned by [...] while making reservations. When we talked to the hotel staff, they said we were not on the "list" for the breakfast buffet. However, the staff said they would honor our request if the [...] confirmation mentioned breakfast buffet.When I checked the confirmation, to my dismay, there was no mention of the breakfast buffet.In the future I'll make sure whatever promotion shows up wile making a reservation also shows up on my confirmatory e-mail. Other than the breakfast snafu, our trip was very pleasurable. If you drive your own car, prepare to fork out $ 35.00/day for parking at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MD Girl
Business
Washington, DC
Jan 5, 2010

Fun week in NOLA

My boyfriend and I traveled to New Orleans for a fun vacation between Christmas and New Years. We were looking for a little of everything, nightlife, good food and some sight-seeing. The location was perfect. It was within walking distance to the French Quarter and the Street Car stop was less than a block away, making a side trip to the Audubon Zoo or the mansions very easy. We arrived around 10 am and were planning on dropping off our bags and exploring the city before being able to check-in several hours later. When we arrived at the hotel, we were able to check-in then, which was amazing. We still explored a little and got lunch, but not having to wait until 3 made the day much more enjoyable. My main complaints about the hotel was that it was loud. I could hear loud people walking past our door and the ventilation system made weird noises at times. The room was kind of small, but the bed was comfortable and I really enjoyed the robe. The fitness center was nice, although fairly basic and unfortunately it was too chilly to use the outdoor pool. There aren't any cheap dining options in the hotel, although there is a coffee shop next door and several more restaurants and cafes within walking distance. All in all, it was a decent hotel, although nothing extremely special. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Go to Port of Call on Esplanade for burgers. It was the best cheeseburger I've ever had and would go back to New Orleans just for that!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mississippi
Jan 1, 2010

great place

Nice quiet Christmas holiday. The room was very nice and the view was great from the 24th floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mack in Jax
Business
Jacksonville, FL
Dec 29, 2009

Good hotel with a few flaws

Fantastic location in the French Quarter of New Orleans. Close to just about anything you would want to do there. Only a few blocks from Bourbon Street, within walking distance of Jackson Square and all of the surrounding points of interest. Comfortable, clean room with a good shower. Friendly and helpful staff for the most part. Problems with the hotel included valet-only parking, for which they charge you $32/day, no refrigerator in the room, and no balcony (for smokers it can be a pain to have to go all the way downstairs every time you want to smoke).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Our Christmas in New Orleans
Business
Anniston, AL
Dec 28, 2009

Christmas in New Orleans

The location and Staff were excellent. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who travels, be prepared to pay little bit for the service but the staff and management were excellent. GREAT TIME.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top