$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 14, 2014 Check-out: Dec 17, 2014

JW Marriott New Orleans

4 stars
614 Canal Street, 614 CANAL STREET, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
134 reviews
New Orleans

A very enjoyable experience. Location was great. We were able to get around most of the time... See full review

  • Lucy Lee
  • Sep 19, 2014
great stay, we will be back!

We thought about booking Ritz-Carlton, but this time, we decided to stay at JW Marriott, great... See full review

  • yk841pink
  • Aug 17, 2014
The Marriott New Orleans mingles modern design schemes with classic New Orleans flair. Guests are offered cozy seating and streamlined designs in the lobby library, which is perfect for finishing work or just relaxing after enjoying delectable regional fare like fire-roasted oysters or a shrimp po boy in the sophisticated Lobby Lounge. For a casual breakfast, lunch or dinner, dine at the Canal Street Grill, which overlooks bustling and exciting Canal Street. Marriott began as a root beer stand in Washington D.C. in 1927, and today, Marriott Hotels and Resorts has more than 500 unique properties around the world. When you stay at the four-star JW Marriott New Orleans, you'll enjoy the company's prestigious history and love of change.
Key facts
  • 487 guestrooms
  • 7 suites
  • 30 floors
  • Outdoor pool
  • 2 restaurants
  • Fitness center
  • Conference and event spaces
Neighborhood
Located on the western edge of the historic French Quarter, the JW Marriott New Orleans is located just steps away from the St. Charles Streetcar, your gateway to Lafayette Square and the unparalleled grandeur of Uptown and the Garden District. Stroll down Royal Street and browse the specialty shops and art galleries; you'll also be entertained by plenty of street performers who embody the joyous essence of New Orleans.
Hints and tips
Canal Street Grill reservations can be booked online, or ask your concierge for dining and entertainment suggestions.

Request a room on the upper floors for a magnificent river view or city panorama outside the windows.


This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.9526 -90.0685
Area served
Canal Street
Nearby airports
Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport, (MSY), 16.00, MI, SE;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed JW Marriott New Orleans also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Water skiing
Horseback riding
Scuba diving
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.3 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.3 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.3 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.2 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.8 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.8 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.6 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.7 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.5 mi

Dining

Canal Street Grill
Introducing the all-new Canal Street Grill; our sophisticated yet comfortable New Orleans restaurant where you’ll find truly fine dining, with vibrant tastes to satisfy every palette.
Lobby Lounge
Join us for cocktails and free Wi-Fi at the perfect place to meet for a casual drink. The lounge at our Canal Street hotel offers guests a relaxed, upscale experience and provides the perfect New Orleans restaurant alternative with its select dining menu.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (134)

Ratings and reviews for JW Marriott New Orleans

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
134 out of 134
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of JW Marriott New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MD Girl
Business
Washington, DC
Jan 5, 2010

Fun week in NOLA

My boyfriend and I traveled to New Orleans for a fun vacation between Christmas and New Years. We were looking for a little of everything, nightlife, good food and some sight-seeing. The location was perfect. It was within walking distance to the French Quarter and the Street Car stop was less than a block away, making a side trip to the Audubon Zoo or the mansions very easy. We arrived around 10 am and were planning on dropping off our bags and exploring the city before being able to check-in several hours later. When we arrived at the hotel, we were able to check-in then, which was amazing. We still explored a little and got lunch, but not having to wait until 3 made the day much more enjoyable. My main complaints about the hotel was that it was loud. I could hear loud people walking past our door and the ventilation system made weird noises at times. The room was kind of small, but the bed was comfortable and I really enjoyed the robe. The fitness center was nice, although fairly basic and unfortunately it was too chilly to use the outdoor pool. There aren't any cheap dining options in the hotel, although there is a coffee shop next door and several more restaurants and cafes within walking distance. All in all, it was a decent hotel, although nothing extremely special. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Go to Port of Call on Esplanade for burgers. It was the best cheeseburger I've ever had and would go back to New Orleans just for that!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mississippi
Jan 1, 2010

great place

Nice quiet Christmas holiday. The room was very nice and the view was great from the 24th floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mack in Jax
Business
Jacksonville, FL
Dec 29, 2009

Good hotel with a few flaws

Fantastic location in the French Quarter of New Orleans. Close to just about anything you would want to do there. Only a few blocks from Bourbon Street, within walking distance of Jackson Square and all of the surrounding points of interest. Comfortable, clean room with a good shower. Friendly and helpful staff for the most part. Problems with the hotel included valet-only parking, for which they charge you $32/day, no refrigerator in the room, and no balcony (for smokers it can be a pain to have to go all the way downstairs every time you want to smoke).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Our Christmas in New Orleans
Business
Anniston, AL
Dec 28, 2009

Christmas in New Orleans

The location and Staff were excellent. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who travels, be prepared to pay little bit for the service but the staff and management were excellent. GREAT TIME.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TravelsLike007
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Dec 21, 2009

Great Customer Service

I'm no stranger to visiting New Orleans. During my stay, I experienced an unfortunate mishap - the smoke detector in my room malfunctioned in the middle of the night. Talk about a rude awakening. The hotel staff was very apologetic for the mishap and upgraded me to a larger room to make up for it - as they should have. It sure is nice when they do the right thing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mena's Palace may close early, but for a quick lunch you can't beat the combo of down home hospitality combined with cheap delicious eats.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
wheeling,wv
Dec 13, 2009

nothing to write home about!

The Marriott is an okay hotel close to Harrahs and the french quarter. Rooms were a little worn, but clean. Hot water wasn't real plentiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Two day trip
Business
Vancouver, WA
Nov 23, 2009

Perfect location

The hotel was exceptional. There was an entrance in the back of the building for the car which was whisked away and parked inside at $ 30 per night! Beautiful room on the 24th floor. Wonderful room. we walked 1-2 blocks to bourbon street at night & felt very safe. There are stores across the street for alcohol and fast food also across the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
UK
Nov 19, 2009

Good location but poor value

This hotel is on the edge of the French Quarter, so is very convenient for food and entertainment. However it is expensive and represents poor value for money unless you want to be pampered by obsequious staff. The basic facilities are no better than those we have encountered at many much cheaper hotels. The rate did not include breakfast and the hotel's own restaurant was expensive. There was no microwave. The coffee maker made only one cup at a time. The hotel charges for internet access, which we have had free everywhere else we have stayed in the 2 months we have been travelling in the US. The very pricey daily "communications fee" does include free telephone use, so may be worthwhile for business customers, at whom it is clearly aimed. Car parking is charged for, which may be justifiable in central New Orleans, but it is much more expensive than at other hotels we enquired at in the same area. The room maid failed to clear away and replace used cups, coffee bags and milk and it required two calls to the front desk, an hour apart, to get the matter rectified. The staff, particularly the car parking valets, didn't listen when we said we wanted to do things ouselves, then hung round expectantly for tips. We stayed at the JW Marriott largely because our guide book indicated that anywhere outside the French Quarter is unsafe and this was the only hotel of reasonable quality which had a room. However, we never felt unsafe elsewhere. In our opinion, it would be much more sensible for tourists to stay in a cheaper hotel to the west of the French Quarter and to use the convenient and pleasant trolley or cabs for going places.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eating at The Court of Two Sisters restaurant was a very pleasant experience - excellent food at reasonable prices in a magical setting, served by highly professional but relaxed staff.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Virginia
Nov 17, 2009

Marrriott Hotel stay

Great location and beautiful hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chattanooga TN
Nov 16, 2009

My first New Orleans trip

excellent location with good service. We felt pampered during our stay. Only minor problem was small amount of counter space in bathroom. Otherwise the room was perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top