$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2014 Check-out: Jul 30, 2014

JW Marriott New Orleans

4 stars
614 Canal Street, 614 CANAL STREET, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
210 reviews
Great stay

The staff at this hotel was one of the best I've seen. The were extremely friendly and went out of... See full review

  • Remundo
  • Jun 8, 2014
Birthday getaway

Great hotel, great location, a little spendy. Staff was very helpful. See full review

  • traveler xyzxyz
  • Jan 13, 2014
The Marriott New Orleans mingles modern design schemes with classic New Orleans flair. Guests are offered cozy seating and streamlined designs in the lobby library, which is perfect for finishing work or just relaxing after enjoying delectable regional fare like fire-roasted oysters or a shrimp po boy in the sophisticated Lobby Lounge. For a casual breakfast, lunch or dinner, dine at the Canal Street Grill, which overlooks bustling and exciting Canal Street. Marriott began as a root beer stand in Washington D.C. in 1927, and today, Marriott Hotels and Resorts has more than 500 unique properties around the world. When you stay at the four-star JW Marriott New Orleans, you'll enjoy the company's prestigious history and love of change.
Key facts
  • 487 guestrooms
  • 7 suites
  • 30 floors
  • Outdoor pool
  • 2 restaurants
  • Fitness center
  • Conference and event spaces
Neighborhood
Located on the western edge of the historic French Quarter, the JW Marriott New Orleans is located just steps away from the St. Charles Streetcar, your gateway to Lafayette Square and the unparalleled grandeur of Uptown and the Garden District. Stroll down Royal Street and browse the specialty shops and art galleries; you'll also be entertained by plenty of street performers who embody the joyous essence of New Orleans.
Hints and tips
Canal Street Grill reservations can be booked online, or ask your concierge for dining and entertainment suggestions.

Request a room on the upper floors for a magnificent river view or city panorama outside the windows.


This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Water skiing
Horseback riding
Scuba diving
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed JW Marriott New Orleans also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.9526 -90.0685
Area served
Canal Street
Nearby airports
Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport, (MSY), 16.00, MI, SE;
Area description
Oceanfront

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.3 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.3 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Storyville: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.7 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.3 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.3 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Storyville: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.7 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.3 mi
  • East Tennessee Historical Center: 1.5 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.2 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.8 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.8 mi
  • Amistad Research Center: 3.1 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.6 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.7 mi
  • State Capital Publishing Museum: 4 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.5 mi
  • Six Flags New Orleans: 10.4 mi

Dining

Canal Street Grill
Introducing the all-new Canal Street Grill; our sophisticated yet comfortable New Orleans restaurant where you’ll find truly fine dining, with vibrant tastes to satisfy every palette.
Lobby Lounge
Join us for cocktails and free Wi-Fi at the perfect place to meet for a casual drink. The lounge at our Canal Street hotel offers guests a relaxed, upscale experience and provides the perfect New Orleans restaurant alternative with its select dining menu.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (210)

Ratings and reviews for JW Marriott New Orleans

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
210 out of 210
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of JW Marriott New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Yorktown, VA
Jul 23, 2010

Awesome getaway for two

Fabulous hotel. Within walking distance to french quarter, bourbon st, etc. Would definitely recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of JW Marriott New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Yorktown, VA
Jul 23, 2010

Awesome getaway for two

Fabulous hotel. Within walking distance to french quarter, bourbon st, etc. Would definitely recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of JW Marriott New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
fairfield, ct
Jul 14, 2010

golf trip w/ friends and family

good overall experiance. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of JW Marriott New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
fairfield, ct
Jul 14, 2010

golf trip w/ friends and family

good overall experiance. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of JW Marriott New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ValDC
Washington, D.C.
Jul 12, 2010

Absolutely wonderful!

My husband and I enjoyed our stay. We attended the Essence Music Festival and after a night on the noisey town, it was a pleasure to be in the nice, peaceful, quiet atmosphere of the JW Marriott. Service was wonderful!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of JW Marriott New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Illinois
Jul 8, 2010

Nice Place to Stay

Nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of JW Marriott New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Illinois
Jul 8, 2010

Nice Place to Stay

Nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of JW Marriott New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Miss. Hill
Edmond, OK
Jul 6, 2010

Great place

My friends and I attended the Essence Music Festival. The only thing I would have liked was two queen size beds as requested. We were told the hotel didn't have double queen beds but found that was untrue. Overall all this was a great trip! I would like to stay at JW again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

New Orleans is amazing. Site seeing was great and the food is like no other place. I loved St. Peters street and the Riverwalk. All these things we did walking. We only took cabs to the superdome. You should always have a pair of sandals with you while walking!!! It does get hard walking in heels but all the walking is worth it.

Review of JW Marriott New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Miss. Hill
Edmond, OK
Jul 6, 2010

Great place

My friends and I attended the Essence Music Festival. The only thing I would have liked was two queen size beds as requested. We were told the hotel didn't have double queen beds but found that was untrue. Overall all this was a great trip! I would like to stay at JW again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

New Orleans is amazing. Site seeing was great and the food is like no other place. I loved St. Peters street and the Riverwalk. All these things we did walking. We only took cabs to the superdome. You should always have a pair of sandals with you while walking!!! It does get hard walking in heels but all the walking is worth it.

Review of JW Marriott New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
new york
Jul 6, 2010

Great location

The hotel was beautiful great location to the superdome everthing was within walking distance

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top