$168 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 28, 2015 Check-out: Jun 30, 2015

JW Marriott New Orleans

4 stars
View map of 614 Canal Street, 614 CANAL STREET, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
151 reviews
Great Hotel and Friendly Staff

My husband and I had a wonderful experience at this JW Marriott. This was our first trip to New... See full review

  • LaTecia H.
  • Apr 30, 2015
JW Marriott

JW Marriott should always be proud of their properties and staff! They are always #1!! See full review

  • Eric S.
  • Feb 23, 2015

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed JW Marriott New Orleans also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Water skiing
Horseback riding
Scuba diving
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.3 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.3 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.3 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.2 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.8 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.8 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.6 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.7 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.5 mi

Dining

Canal Street Grill
Indulge at Canal Street Grill, our sophisticated yet comfortable New Orleans restaurant on Canal Street where you’ll find truly fine dining with vibrant tastes to satisfy every palette.
Lobby Lounge
Join us for cocktails and free Wi-Fi at the perfect place to meet for a casual drink. The lounge at our Canal Street hotel offers guests a relaxed, upscale experience and provides the perfect New Orleans restaurant alternative with its select dining menu.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for JW Marriott New Orleans

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
151 out of 151
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of JW Marriott New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Superjfc
Glassboro, New Jersey
Oct 7, 2012

Extraordinary Service

The staff could not have been more friendly and eager to make our stay as comfortable as possible, The location was centrally located to many restaurants and attractions. Exceptional tours included Racontours, Confederacy Bike Tour and the Movie Tour. Exceptional meals at Commander's Palace, NOLA, and Deanie's Seafood! The breakfast at Mother's was excellent as well! Cafe DuMonde cannot be missed! The WWII Museum was beyond description - a must visit when in New Orleans. Air Tran proved to be an excellent experience in terms of promptness and service. The only negative was the gate locations in Atlanta between connecting flights was quite a distance. Other than that, a great trip all around!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of JW Marriott New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LaTecia H.
Business
Vienna
Apr 30, 2015

Great Hotel and Friendly Staff

My husband and I had a wonderful experience at this JW Marriott. This was our first trip to New Orleans and the hotel staff were very accommodating to that. They suggested areas that were great for tourists. The hotel is in a great location with many stores within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of JW Marriott New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Eric S.
Business
New York
Feb 23, 2015

JW Marriott

JW Marriott should always be proud of their properties and staff! They are always #1!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of JW Marriott New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Eric S.
Business
New York
Feb 12, 2015

Amazing Hotel and Staff!

Took a last minute vacation to New Orleans and stayed at the Marriott. They were absolutely AMAZING!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of JW Marriott New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Loved The Big Easy
Business
N/A
Feb 4, 2015

First time in New Orleans

The J.W. Marriott was excellent, close enough to Bourbon Street & other venues but far enough away to enjoy the quite at night. You can also enjoy some pool time before heading out to dinner or a club.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Bourbon Street & Jackson Square are within walking distance also all type of tour available a block away

Review of JW Marriott New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NYer in the Big Easy
Business
New York
Jan 20, 2015

fun friends weekend

Great location, safe enough for a group of girls to walk back to at night. Perfect, clean room and hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of JW Marriott New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cheryl C.
Business
Lorena
Jan 17, 2015

Easy Travel

Great location and very clean. Convenient amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of JW Marriott New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jeffrey W.
Business
Biloxi
Jan 15, 2015

Awesome for game day trip

The staff at the hotel was extremely helpful. We have one minor noise complaint that was quickly handled by the staff they were extremely polite and very professional. We will definitely stay at this hotel again on our next trip to New Orleans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything you need is very close to the hotel bourbon street is a short walk away

Review of JW Marriott New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lucy Lee
Business
MA
Sep 19, 2014

New Orleans

A very enjoyable experience. Location was great. We were able to get around most of the time without transportation. The hotel was a stop for a "Hop on, Hop off" tour bus which we took full advantage of. Did not dine there except for breakfasts which were delicious. The bar/lounge was very comfortable and the staff very friendly. Housekeeping was great and the concierge very helpful. Hard to find fault. Would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of JW Marriott New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brooklyn Bella
Business
New York
Aug 21, 2014

Fun Get Away

The JW had the friendliest and most helpful staff. They were all every attentive and accommodating. The location was perfect! Steps away from the quarter and the water front. Also short walk to frenchman st and the french market. The rooms were clean and updated. All in all a great stay and a great vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Ask the concierge for all the local specials and deals she can hook you up with before you do anything.

Review of JW Marriott New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
yk841pink
Business
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Aug 17, 2014

great stay, we will be back!

We thought about booking Ritz-Carlton, but this time, we decided to stay at JW Marriott, great choice! Location is great-- right on the border of the French Quarter and business district (both areas are contrasting and delightful in terms of their own unique charms). Room was quiet, clean and comfortable, amenities were good (wish cotton balls were square pads), also we liked that washing machine was complimentary (we traveled to different areas of the US and it was nice to wash our clothes during our trip to freshen up!) Complimentary water at the entrance was also a great gesture in the hot New Orleans weather. Staff were all friendly and welcoming. Only area of improvement--free WI-FI should be available in all the rooms. But otherwise, it was a great stay at JW Marriott and will choose JW Marriott again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We are New Yorkers and are used to walking a lot so you may feel our recommendations are LONG walk, but try to venture out to business district where many great restaurants are available for you. Cochon (930 Tchoupitoulas St, New Orleans, LA 70130 (504) 588-2123), Carmo (527 Julia St, New Orleans, LA 70130 (504) 875-4132) were great. There are many other places (Emeril's--800 Tchoupitoulas St, New Orleans, LA 70130 (504) 528-93930, Drago's--2 Poydras St New Orleans, LA 70140) to visit. Art galleries are also great and the children's museum looked pretty nice too. French Quarter also has great places to eat (Stanley is one of our favorite for brunch--547 St Ann St, New Orleans, LA 70116( 504) 587-00930) but we felt that many places are very touristy.

Back to menu Return to top