$125 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 25, 2014 Check-out: Sep 26, 2014

InterContinental NEW ORLEANS

4 stars
444 St Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
210 reviews
Great Location and Staff

There was some construction/remodeling going on but noise was kept to a minimum. Staff was... See full review

  • Joe from Virginia
  • Jun 1, 2014
Romantic Couples Trip

Hotel is in process of bring renovated. We were given a king bed room on a newly renovated floor.... See full review

  • Middleaged Dude
  • Sep 11, 2014
St. Charles Avenue hotel near all the city’s major attractions

The Intercontinental New Orleans hotel is all about location. The 14-floor hotel offers a front-row seat for Mardi Gras and easy access to the Central Business District, French Quarter, the riverfront and convention center. There is a lobby lounge and a pub in the hotel. The health center is attached to the outdoor swimming pool and includes a shower and changing rooms. Distinct touches such as Lalique chandeliers in the grand ballroom add appeal.

Highlights
  • Centrally located to major New Orleans attractions
  • Pet friendly up to two 40-pound dogs (non-refundable fees apply)
  • Outdoor pool and fitness center
Rooms

There are 449 rooms and 50 suites decorated in a cheery yellow with dark wood furnishing. They offer hair dryer, iron, ironing board, in-room safe, coffee pot, Premium cable and movies, alarm clock radio, plus a few nice extras such as bathrobes and scales. The bathrooms are spacious and have neutral tile. Executive level rooms offer complimentary breakfast, snack, cocktail and hors d'oeuvres. Suites provide additional living space, sofa beds, a dining table and Jacuzzi tubs.

Features

The second floor lobby lounge opens from lunch into the evening. Pete's Pub on the first floor is open weekdays for dinner. The health club offers complimentary fresh fruit, and food is also served poolside. Free Wi-Fi in public areas is a convenience for guests on the go. Valet parking is available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (15 miles)
  • St Charles Streetcar line
Attractions
  • French Quarter
  • Bourbon Street
  • Louisiana Children's Museum
  • Harrah's Casino
  • Ogden Museum of Southern Art
Business
  • 19 meeting rooms
  • Grand ballroom with 21-foot ceilings and Lalique chandeliers
  • Self-serve business center open 24 hours (fees apply)
Policies and fees
NOTICE: The hotel is currently undergoing renovations until October 2014. During this time, guests may experience noise or light disturbances, and some hotel facilities and services are not available.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.9501 -90.0704
Nearby airports
New Orleans International Airport, (MSY), 12.00, MI, W;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed InterContinental NEW ORLEANS also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
General
Pet friendly
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Live entertainment
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Tour desk
Car rental desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.3 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.7 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.2 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.2 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.3 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.7 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.2 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.2 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.3 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.4 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.8 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.9 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.4 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.5 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.8 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.2 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.7 mi

Dining

The Veranda
Contemporary Louisiana cuisine.
Acme Oyster House
Traditional Cajun and Creole food.
Bon Ton Cafe
The flickering gas lights and canvas canopy that announce the entrance to the Bon Ton Cafe are the first hints to an experience in dining that has almost vanished in our fast paced lives. Housed in the historical 1840s Natchez building, within earshot of
Commander's Palace
Great food in the beautiful Garden District of New Orleans. Since 1880, Commander's Palace has been a New Orleans landmark known for the award winning quality of its food and many commodious dining rooms. The history of this famous restaurant offers a gl
Emeril's
The food at Emeril's is somewhat eclectic, but leans more toward what Chef Emeril calls "New New Orleans" cuisine. Although the menu often abounds with an array of tempting dishes in the style of Southwestern, West Coast, or New England cooking, the roots
Gumbo Shop
Established in 1948, The Award Winning Gumbo Shop features a wide range of New Orleans cuisine at its finest. Enjoy fantastic customer service and great food. Patrons are also welcome to order from our full wine list including 30 Wines by the Glass.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (210)

Ratings and reviews for InterContinental NEW ORLEANS

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
210 out of 210
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of InterContinental NEW ORLEANS

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Middleaged Dude
White Plains, NY
Sep 11, 2014

Romantic Couples Trip

Hotel is in process of bring renovated. We were given a king bed room on a newly renovated floor. It was like staying in a brand new hotel. The bed and pillows were fantastic! Location of the hotel is good probably better for business than leisure but fine for leisure as it is about four blocks from Canal Street. Since renovations are continuing there is noise also noise from St. Charles Ave. streetcar. Rooftop pool was great, pool a bit bigger than I thought it would be. When renovations are complete, the Intercontinental will be among the top 10 hotels in the city. LG Flat screen TV in room was large and excellent!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out Richard Fiske's martini bar on Dauphine St. for Happy Hour every day from 3-6.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental NEW ORLEANS

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jetraveler
Business
Troy, Mi.
Jul 3, 2014

Under Construction

Under COnstruction - Was not aware building was under renovation, Also was unaware of the $44 parking fee. Could have parked in alot next door for $20

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental NEW ORLEANS

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Canadian Expat1987
Washington, DC
Jul 2, 2014

Weekend getaway

There was a lot of construction going on at the hotel. The construction did not occur on Saturday/Sunday but on Monday/Tuesday we woke up to the sound of drilling at around 8am. The staff warned us of this upon arrival. Can't beat the location and the value, though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental NEW ORLEANS

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shakes Arjona
Silver Spring, Maryland
Jul 1, 2014

Location good. Remodalelation affect the experience

The hotel is very well located, just a few blocks from the French quarter. Nevertheless, the remodelation that are going on in the hotel affects severely the customers, because the work during weekdays starts really early. In addition, the hotel didn´t provide coffee and coffee maker to the guest, as many of the well-known brands do or the price that is pay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental NEW ORLEANS

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
this is the last review
Business
New Orleans
Jun 22, 2014

I'm sure it's a great hotel but not under construction

MY room was a non-smoking room that reeked of cigarettes.The bed was fine but the bottom sheet was too small. Because the hotel was under construction the noise was ever present during the day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental NEW ORLEANS

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kady Lady
Denver, Colorado
Jun 8, 2014

Nola vaca

We recently traveled to New Orleans in a group of 4 staying in 2 separate rooms. We booked on here requesting 2 deluxe rooms with balconies. I called ahead on our way and was told we would have 2 rooms on the same floor. Upon arrival we did not have 2 rooms anywhere near each other and the girl checking us in had no idea what I was referring too. One room we were given had the deluxe balcony we requested and paid for, the other on the 6th floor did not. It was smaller, and no balcony. We were very disappointed in this. No one seemed to have our reservations right. In addition nothing in the hotel was complimentary. The mini bar and other amnesties in the room were nice however there was a Kurig coffee machine however house keeping never replenished the supply of pods. Housekeeping also never emptied our one small trash can. I would say our stay was average. I am most frustrated about the money we spent to get the larger room with a balcony and not receiving that. If booking they are a great location and great place to stay, just be sure your reservation is right. They have a beautiful Veranda restaurant in the hotel with yummy 21 dollar Buffett breakfast and if you want to save money 1 block away is a cheap breakfast place that is very nice and reasonably priced. All the parts of New Orleans are close to the hotel and the street car passes right in from down St Charles .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Acme oyster house- amazing grilled oysters. And jambalaya! $$ Mothers- great Po boy sandwiches. $ Cafe Beignet- delish Cafe square- great breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental NEW ORLEANS

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Joe from Virginia
Virginia
Jun 1, 2014

Great Location and Staff

There was some construction/remodeling going on but noise was kept to a minimum. Staff was extremely courteous and helpful and the location was great as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out Frenchmen St. for dinner/music, it is where all the locals go.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental NEW ORLEANS

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JJTT
Chicag0
May 28, 2014

Too Much Noise

The hotel is under construction and I was not informed until my arrival. The drilling started at 8:30 every morning. New Orleans is not a place to be awakened that early in the morning. It was not a pleasant stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental NEW ORLEANS

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Peace Corps Alum 39
Cleveland, OH
Apr 17, 2014

Great hotel, though currently under construction

We stayed at the Intercontinental from April 12-16th, and we really enjoyed our stay. The location was perfect and the price was unbeatable. However, the Intercontinental is currently going though a $26 million renovation, so there was lots of construction and did we wake up in the mornings to the melodic sounds of jack hammers... so not really ideal for sleeping in. Also, the rooftop pool is beautiful but there is no hot tub or sauna :(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is just a short walk away from Bourbon Street in the French Quarter where you can drink and dance the night away!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental NEW ORLEANS

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nola Relocation
NYC
Apr 17, 2014

Intercontinental: Work In Progress

The hotel is undergoing renovations. They didn't mention this when booking. The rooms are very dark and dated for now. They are scheduled to be completed by October. The restaurant is very below average by New Orleans standards. There are very few options. The bar is pretty makeshift at the moment, probably because of construction. It looks like a temporary setup and is very bare bones. It has absolutely no character compared to many places in New Orleans. I would not stay here again because there are many better options but it will do if it's the only place available and you need to be in that neighborhood.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

It's across the street from Luke's, which is a great New Orleans place.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search