$72 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 26, 2015 Check-out: Jul 29, 2015

Inn on St. Ann

3 stars
View map of 1013 St Ann, New Orleans, LA 70116

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
47 reviews
Awesome trip

It was an amazing hotel! The staff was courteous, the hotel was very chic. It was located near... See full review

  • Bradley
  • Apr 21, 2015
just right

We we're more than delighted with our stay at this friendly hotel. The rooms had a bit of character... See full review

  • TERESA P.
  • Feb 23, 2015
Be a part of our extended French Quarter family at the Inn on St. Ann. This charming French Quarter Inn boasts a courtyard shaded by a century old oak tree and common areas appropriately decorated with antiques, chandeliers, and original artwork. This inn in New Orleans is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. Built in 1830, the Inn on St. Ann epitomizes the iconic architecture the French Quarter is often recognized for. With its hanging plants and wrought iron balcony fronting St. Ann, you'll immediately feel the true allure of the French Quarter. Enchanting interior spaces are accented by the exposed brick foyer and grand staircase. Each of our 16 guest rooms has been consistently resorted with traditional finished yet each showcases its own exclusive features with a collection of fireplaces and unique architectural details. The Armstrong Suites, the most admired accommodation of the French Quarter Guest Houses, features floor to ceiling windows opening on to our own private balcony. Whether you desire the grand or quaint, the Inn on ST. Ann has what you're looking for in your next visit to New Orleans. The Inn on St. Ann also features the Marie Laveau Apartments, a hotel property to rich to abandon the name it has carried for decades. A regular stop for all walking tours of the French Quarter, this traditional Creole Cottage was once owned as French Quarter apartments for rent by the famed voodoo priestess of New Orleans, Marie Laveau, as she took up residence in the neighboring home. Carefully restored with traditional finishes, each of the 12 guest rooms at the Marie Laveau tells its own story. It's simply our way of paying tribute to the most powerful lady in the history of the Crescent City. Marie Laveau's services were sought by the rich and poor, black and white, for everything from court cases to affairs of the heart. Much like the voodoo queen, the property attracts visitors and guests of all sorts. The curious and casual, the believers and no-believers. Those seeking a quiet stay or those with the hopes of the mystic. One thing is certain; Comfort, charm, and history can be found in the soothing sounds of the courtyard fountain, the shutters to the French doors, and the unique period details of our guest rooms and suites. Take part in the magical history of the French Quarter at the Inn on ST. Ann and the Marie Laveau Annex.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Inn on St. Ann also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Inn on St. Ann Rooms

Deluxe King
Our Deluxe One King Guest Room is furnished with one King sized bed. Experience the history of the French Quarter in this charming Creole Townhouse boasting a courtyard shaded by a century old oak tree and common areas appropriately decorated with antiques, chandeliers, and original artwork. Restored to its traditional design, guests will find antique heart of pine floors, white Carrera marble bathrooms, and all of the modern conveniences and technology the seasoned traveler expects including complimentary wireless internet, LED TVs with HD programming,alarm clocks with MP3, and Keurig Coffee makers.
Deluxe Double
Our Deluxe One Double Guest Room is furnished with one Double sized bed. Experience the history of the French Quarter in this charming Creole Townhouse boasting a courtyard shaded by a century old oak tree and common areas appropriately decorated with antiques, chandeliers, and original artwork. Restored to its traditional design, guests will find antique heart of pine floors, white Carrera marble bathrooms, and all of the modern conveniences and technology the seasoned traveler expects including complimentary wireless internet, LED TVs with HD programming,alarm clocks with MP3, and Keurig Coffee makers.
Deluxe Queen
Our Deluxe One Queen Guest Room is furnished with one Queen sized bed. Experience the history of the French Quarter in this charming Creole Townhouse boasting a courtyard shaded by a century old oak tree and common areas appropriately decorated with antiques, chandeliers, and original artwork. Restored to its traditional design, guests will find antique heart of pine floors, white Carrera marble bathrooms, and all of the modern conveniences and technology the seasoned traveler expects including complimentary wireless internet, LED TVs with HD programming,alarm clocks with MP3, and Keurig Coffee makers.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Services
Tour desk
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Bourbon Street: 0.2 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.3 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.7 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.8 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1.1 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1.1 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.2 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 1.2 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.2 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.2 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.3 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.7 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.8 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1.1 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1.1 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.2 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 1.2 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.2 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.8 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 1.9 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.4 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.4 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 2.9 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.2 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.9 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.7 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 4.9 mi

Dining

Dining
A Continental Breakfast assorted pastries, croissants, juices, bagels, coffee, tea, and english muffins.Nearby restaurants-Cafe Du Monde - French - Oldest coffee cafe open 24 hours The Praline Connection - Soul Food - 10am-10pm Fiorellas - Italian - 11am-10pm Olivers Restaurant - Creole - 11am-3pm 5pm-10pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Inn on St. Ann

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
47 out of 47
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Inn on St. Ann

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Austin, TX
Jul 17, 2012

STAY.

Best. Perfect. Lovely quiet street, staff and amenitites. Price is worth its weight in gold. Marie Laveau room !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Walk down jackson square to Frenchman for night life !

Review of Inn on St. Ann

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ChrisRC
Business
Norman, OK, USA
Apr 12, 2012

Highly NOT recommended.

m sorry to say that this was a very bad place to stay. I am from New Orleans and return every year at Easter to visit family and friends. Each time I come, I try to find a new fun place to stay and this was by far the worst hotel experience I have had, maybe ever. First let me say that the remodel was beautiful. It looks the part with the new large fluffy beds and tiled shiny bathrooms and modern fixtures, flat screen tvs and fresh paint. It would have looked even better if the floor in the room would have ever gotten swept. Sadly, it never did. Before or after we came. The in-room coffee pot didn't work either. This would not have been a problem had coffee been provided in the foyer as they stated it would, but the "coffee" that was left out was a yellowish color and cold and that same pot left out there two days in a row. No coffee? No coffee. No creamer or styrofoam cups either! If you DO stay here, ask for a room off the patio in the very back. The 3 entry rooms in the foyer are so noisy that its virtually impossible to sleep. The entry door bangs with fury. And the staff comes in at 6 in the morning and sits outside the door yelling at each other until about 10am. I got NO sleep at all. Also, if you DO stay here, please make sure that you REQUEST hot water. I know that staying in these smaller off-campus hotels require a certain level of sacrifice when it comes to amenities, but I wouldn't have believed that hot water was one. The hot water ran out the first day. I thought maybe the tank ran out since there were other guests. So, when we returned to our room later that Friday night, I reported it to the man at the desk. He wanted to know why I hadnt reported it earlier and said there was nothing he could do now. The next morning, when we reported it to the new staff, they also wanted to know why we hadnt said anything before. I wasnt aware that there was an appropriate or inappropriate time to report no hot water. So they sent us up to The St. Peter House (affiliated) and when we asked them for help, we got the same aggravated run-around as though it was our fault the water was out. Apparently no one on the weekends knows how to light a pilot light on a tank. Take your own matches and ask where the tanks are located in case this happens to you. I will not be staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want coffee, walk from the hotel towards Rampart and then turn right. There's a good coffee shop around the corner when you cant get it at this hotel.

Review of Inn on St. Ann

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
leep99
Business
New York, NY, USA
Apr 17, 2012

fantastic couple/family getaway

great location and staff, I would definitely come again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Inn on St. Ann

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BrunoMN
Business
Minneapolis
May 16, 2012

Clean, comfortable, well-located

Overall I was very pleased. Room was good sized, bathroom large & modern, excellent location-close to major attractions, but away from the chaos & noise of Bourbon St. Bed very comfortable & staff was great. Some street noise late at night, so ask for a room in back of the House. Meager continental breakfast, but that was OK given all the great food in New Orleans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For good food, large portions, very reasonable prices, get take-out at one of the many small market delis. This is how the locals eat.

Review of Inn on St. Ann

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
brklyVT
Business
Washongton DC
Jul 26, 2012

Decent experience

Nice hotel and room (though the room and bathroom were very small). Has a rustic look. VERY close to Bourbon St. Assoulty no amenities. For example the contental breakfast consisted of pasties and coffee only and was usually put out after lunch. My biggestest complaint is that the staff was working at least one another hotel so the front desk was manned 50% of the time and our room wasn't serviced until late into the afternoon. Perhaps the hotel is properly staffed when the city is busier (Mardi Grasi, Super Bowl).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Inn on St. Ann

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Creach
Business
Calgary, Canada
Nov 9, 2012

Pleasant Stay

Our room was upgraded to a suite located across the street from the Inn. The suite was spacious with a spare bedroom. The buildng is very old with a very slanted floor, but this added to the special character. The living room TV did not work, but there were two others to choose from in other rooms. The bathroom was recently renovated and very nice. The bed was comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Inn on St. Ann

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LHerr
Business
New York
Jan 8, 2013

Plus and minuses

Went on a conference trip to NO, and the Inn at St Ann was a nice little guest house to spend a weekend. The building has a lot of character and it is very well located in the French Quarter, blocks away from everything, and yet in a quiet street. Our room was in the first floor practically next to the front desk, and it was LOUD even at off hours. Plus, the room didn't have a window, which I thought was very odd, though apparently common in this type of place. Maybe the other rooms are better. The room was small, but very cozy and super clean, including the bathroom. The staff was as friendly as it gets, and we had no problems at check in or check out. I'd recommend it for a short stay, or if you just want a clean place to sleep in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Tonique, a cool little hipster-y bar is just around the corner on Rampart.

Review of Inn on St. Ann

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ditty
Business
Kansas City, MO, USA
Oct 22, 2014

Perfectly Acceptable French Quarter Hotel

Nothing to steer us away from this hotel in the future, but nothing to really bring us back either. Location was pretty good, and old-world décor was beautiful. Not a whole lot of sound insulation, but only so much you can do with old buildings. Would certainly recommend but not particularly enthusiastically.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Moon Wok is a Chinese restaurant just down the block, & was the surprise of the trip. Best Chinese food I've ever had, and at very affordable prices.

Review of Inn on St. Ann

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DBnBB
Business
Belleville, Mi
Oct 24, 2014

Good value

Friendly staff, clean rooms, modern bathroom but very small. Had the king deluxe room which was also on the small side.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Heart of Bourbon St. just a two block walk. Frenchmen St. about a 20 minute walk.

Review of Inn on St. Ann

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
25 yo Night lifer
Business
Florida
Mar 3, 2014

Awesome for Mardi Gras

Great location! Awesome staff! I'd definitely stay again. Room was a little tiny (pictures make it look bigger than it is) but not super uncomfortable especially for us because we mostly only slept and showered in the room. Otherwise we were enjoying the city. Expect to pay for parking because there isn't a lot for the hotel. Staff was super helpful and kind, room was tidy and clean, location just beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaurants that the staff originally offered were a bit pricey but explain that you're looking for local, yummy, inexpensive spots and they will point you in the right direction! Parking garages are your best bet for extended stays.

Review of Inn on St. Ann

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JA road trip
Business
Orlando, Fl
Mar 9, 2014

Perfect location

Stayed during Mardi Gras. Perfect hotel. Just a couple blocks from Bourbon st. Keep walking straight ahead on Ann st. And right into Cafe Demond. Walking distance to everything but far enough to get away from the madness. Directly across from Marie Lavoue apts. Room was clean. Stayed on the first floor. Quiet. No huge frills just a flat screen tv and comfortable king size bed. Staff was friendly. Would stay there again during any festival in New Orleans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Burbon St

Back to menu Return to top