$143 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 6, 2015 Check-out: Apr 7, 2015

Hyatt Regency New Orleans

4 stars
View map of 601 Loyola Avenue, NEW ORLEANS, LA 70113

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
186 reviews
Great stay!

This hotel was wonderful! Great location, very easy to walk most places that we wanted to visit. We... See full review

  • Joechel
  • Mar 10, 2015
Great hotel, worth the money

My friends and I booked 1 room with 2 queen beds for Mardi Gras 2015. We stayed three nights... See full review

  • Nicey
  • Feb 24, 2015
With its diamonds of amber glass, the Hyatt Regency hotel forms a striking part of New Orleans' modern skyline, west of the river. Whether you want a quick espresso at Starbucks or a luxurious spread of Louisiana delicacies from award-winning chef John Besh at Borgne, there are seven eateries within the hotel itself. One of these is the chic Bywater Pool Deck, where guests can feast after a few lengths in the sparkling rooftop pool. Those in town on business are sure to be impressed by the on-site FedEx service and market store, as well as the Hyatt's ultra-fast Video Checkout feature. Whatever the reason for your stay, the melodic sounds of live jazz and the accompanying 'chocolate buffet' help round out any week in true New Orleans style.
Key facts
  • 1,193 guestrooms
  • Outdoor saltwater pool
  • Private cabanas (rental fees)
  • Le Jardin Spa
  • 5 restaurants
  • 2 coffee shops and snack bars
  • Concierge service
  • Valet parking
  • 50,000-square-feet of conference and event space
  • Fitness center
Neighborhood
The Hyatt is in the heart of downtown and a brief walk from the Superdome, making it a favorite spot for sports fans visiting town for a Saints game, while guests visiting corporate events at the nearby Benson Tower and Entergy Tower never need to leave the hotel complex. Everything from world-class shopping at Canal Place to the galleries of the warehouse district takes only minutes to reach on foot or by cab. Stroll down Bourbon Street in the nearby French Quarter for a taste of the Crescent City's lively street music scene, or tour the riverside charm and 18th century architecture of the 'Vieux Carre' during the day.
Hints and tips
Though much of central New Orleans is at your disposal from the Hyatt Regency, guests should experience the vintage streetcars at least once during your stay. 'Jazzy' day passes for frequent travel might be worth considering as well.

At the hotel during the week? You can secure a free poolside cabana if you're quick enough in the morning (Monday-Friday; first come, first served).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hyatt Regency New Orleans also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hyatt Regency New Orleans Rooms

Concierge
Access to Regency Club Floor and lounge. Continental breakfast in the morning, complimentary snacks and non-alcoholic beverages in the afternoon and cocktail hour in the evening.
Standard
1 King, 1 Queen or 2 Queen beds:

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Executive level
24 hour security
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Fishing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Nursery for children
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Porters
Video checkout
Gift shop
Copy service
Currency exchange
News stand
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Projector
White board
Conference suite
Cellular telephone rental
Computer rental
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.3 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.4 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.8 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.8 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.9 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.3 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.5 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.3 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.4 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.8 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.8 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.9 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.3 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.5 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.6 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.7 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.7 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.8 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.1 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.7 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 3.9 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.8 mi

Dining

Borgne
Casual Coastal Louisiana Seafood with a touch of Spanish influence.
Eight Block Kitchen and Bar
A full service restaurant featuring a buffet of local, seasonally inspired dishes with traditional New Orleans style.
Vitascope
A visually stimulating American bar with strong beers, mature cocktails, satisfying food and a great seafood raw bar. A bustling environment enriched with all things media. 25 TVs will broadcast the days sporting events, news, music videos while integra

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Hyatt Regency New Orleans

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
78 out of 186
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hyatt Regency New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DE Traveler 2012
Business
Newark, Delaware
Oct 2, 2012

Not for vacationers!

We were in town for my cousin's wedding and stayed at the Hyatt Regency. The room was gorgeous and the staff was very friendly and professional. However, the place was a total zoo for the entire stay. There was a conference going on during our stay and it took 30 minutes just to get on the elevators! Every time we walked in it was stressful. The hotel was a great price, but there were way too many people from the convention just hanging it and meets in the middle of the lobby, on the stairs, etc. there was barely room to walk! I understand that conventions happen at hotels, but this convention was way too large for this hotel to handle. We often commiserated with other folks staying the hotel that weren't a part of the conference as well. We will not be staying at this hotel again as it appears they don't care for the every day traveler, but only those there for a convention. Also the shop that was supposed to be a convenience store WAY overcharged for everything. I had to pay $3 just for a pack of Halls! $13 for a mini lint roller... Just plain ridiculous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you do stay here, although I don't recommend it, there is a Rouses Market just 2 blocks away with all the amenities you might need at low prices!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Danny801
Business
New Hampshire
Jan 9, 2014

like i was invisible

the first day we asked for help with our datalink(only way to order room service or watch tv) we called to the front desk and waited for 2 hours. then we gave up and went to dinner. 2nd day we asked again waited another hour and gave up. finally we complained aggressively and got attention - they said they would send bottle of wine. a $4 bottle showed up. undrinkable. 7 days later we still didnt have what we were asking for. their policy is to ignore you till you give up. not good for a $200+ per night hotel. Will never stay there or any hyatt again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Hand Doctor
Business
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Feb 26, 2012

Expecting more

Good place for business or educational meeting /Bad place to stay during Mardi Gras. Good food but avoid Pizzas. Nice Staff but a terrible housekeeping. Try the bake ham at Mothers restaurant the best in the world.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Try bake ham at Mothers restaurant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Clance Creal
Business
new Orleans
Jul 8, 2014

would not stay again

My room was not cleaned during my stay even after I called the front desk and requested my room be cleaned. Also the room had no microwave and to spend over 400 a night with no microwave and could not get my room clean was ridiculous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kallima
Business
Oklahoma, USA
Oct 24, 2011

3nights in Executive suite

Let me preface by saying their Grand Opening was Oct. 18, I arrived on the 19th. My room was not ready and the front desk could give me no ETA on when it would be ready. After my second inquiry they found an alternate comparable room (they encouraged me to continue to indulge at the bar but did not offer complimentary drinks or appetizers) at which point I insisted upon immediate accomodation. The suite was average with plenty of light and the view was similar. I had zero refreshments at the in-room coffee bar and had to call for them to send the usual assortment. The couch in the "sitting area/living room" is a sectional and not very comfortable. There was no separate shower and tub (for those ladies who like to soak their toesies after a long day of walking), and the water temp for my showers were tolerably hot, adequate but not the heat I prefer, despite positioning the handle to the hottest level. The desk that was meant to be a "workstation" for business travelers had no convenient outlets for plugs or usb cables. The wi-fi connection was good, their roomlinx had a few bugs that still needed to be addressed. The staff was extremely friendly with the exception of 2 front desk people, who were more curt than welcoming. Had it not been for them, the service would have been rated 5 stars, as the rest of the staff was more than accomodating. The bar did have excellent drinks, appetizers were great and we primarily dined out in the French Quarter or Garden District. so could not comment on the food. With all that said, once they get the grand opening kinks worked out - they will be a fine establishment for weekend getaways or Saints games!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Save yourself cab fare, walk to St.Charles and get on the streetcar!!! You can't beat 1.25 or the all day pass for 3.00 (i think). Had I packed a comfy set of shoes, I would have saved myself about $250.00 in cab fare!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dashiki
Business
Houston, tx
Jun 12, 2012

So So..

The hotel appears to be really nice, The staff is average, but the parking is horrible. The hotel charges you $40 a night to park plus state and loal sales tax, I've never heard of sales tax on parking so it came out to be about $45/night. The location is still within walking distance of the french quarter but its quite a hike. Take a good 30-45 minute walk from the river to the hotel. Overall the experience wasn't horrible, but i did feel like it wasn't really worth the money we spent. Would have been better off going to a smaller hotel closer to the french quarter with free parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fashionable Chan
Business
New Orleans
Aug 8, 2012

Nights Well Spent

My experience here at the Hyatt was everything I thought it would be like! Top class customer service, to rooms, which led to an amazing stay. The only thing that was a little annoying was there was really no where to park but besides that I reccomend it to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Newfound NOLA Lover
Business
Pittsburgh, pa
Jan 21, 2013

Krewe du Vieux Weekend

Great new hotel. You ask for one beer they bring you two. You ask fr three towels they bring you six. Everyone in NOLA seems to be on happy pills. And that includes the staff here at the Hyatt. Only complaints: Location could be better. And for some reason our water temp had a mind of its own. Shower had trouble getting hot. But you can't beat the value. Hoping to visit again soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Oysters at Casamento's

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jan kay
Business
Louisiana
Apr 1, 2013

Value for sale rate

Location is good, great if you are going to the Dome. My husband was running in the Crescent City race so it was perfect. Staff were outstanding. Room was small but clean and adequate. Spread out of the facility requires a lot of walking so not recommended for someone w/limited mobility. Walk to the French Quarter is not far and very safe, as it true for the warehouse district that has lots of restaurants to choose from..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

It is a fairly short and pleasant walk to most things you'd want to go to. The cost of rooms at this hotel is less than in the French Quarter so you have more to spend on doing many different things than just on a high cost room.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
WithCheese
Business
Santa Fe, NM
Apr 29, 2014

Too Much Nothing

Nice place for a convention. But for a few nights just to get a decent sleep? No way. For one thing, the bed we had was uncomfortable, soft mush. The pillows weren't any better. Hi, back and neck pain. Also, the room was very very small. We could not find a place to put two pieces of carry on luggage. There was one luggage rack by the front door. We called and asked for a second. We never received it - but we would not have been able to put it anywhere without tripping over it, so it was probably for the best. The suitcase lived upright with clothes in it, unpacked and repacked every day - placed next to the front door. The only place we wouldn't be walking on top of it. For four night's stay, for two people, we had two hangers in a dresser. Just two hangers. And no closet. No chest of drawers. Just a desk, and a bed, and two end tables. The end tables did not open. It was a mess in that tiny room. The amenities? Nothing special. The elevators? You get used to them confusing you. But be warned - if you have issues with scents (I get migraines from nasty artificial aromas) the lobby stinks like a mall body shop store erupted.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Long lines at all times for coffee at the Starbucks in the hotel. If you must have your Frappawhatever, okay. But right next to Starbucks is a gift shop with very fine local coffee - very very fine - with or without chicory. Decent price, tasty, never a wait and open 24 hours. More than just gifts in there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top