$106 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 15, 2014 Check-out: Dec 17, 2014

Hyatt Regency New Orleans

4 stars
601 Loyola Avenue, NEW ORLEANS, LA 70113
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
172 reviews
Great place to stay!

Overall great experience. There is so much to do and so much action in the hotel. Great places to... See full review

  • Chance Mitchell
  • Oct 13, 2014
Great Stay

This hotel was extremely accommodating. Was within walking distance of almost anything you could... See full review

  • Chris and Ellen
  • Aug 25, 2014
With its diamonds of amber glass, the Hyatt Regency hotel forms a striking part of New Orleans' modern skyline, west of the river. Whether you want a quick espresso at Starbucks or a luxurious spread of Louisiana delicacies from award-winning chef John Besh at Borgne, there are seven eateries within the hotel itself. One of these is the chic Bywater Pool Deck, where guests can feast after a few lengths in the sparkling rooftop pool. Those in town on business are sure to be impressed by the on-site FedEx service and market store, as well as the Hyatt's ultra-fast Video Checkout feature. Whatever the reason for your stay, the melodic sounds of live jazz and the accompanying 'chocolate buffet' help round out any week in true New Orleans style.
Key facts
  • 1,193 guestrooms
  • Outdoor saltwater pool
  • Private cabanas (rental fees)
  • Le Jardin Spa
  • 5 restaurants
  • 2 coffee shops and snack bars
  • Concierge service
  • Valet parking
  • 50,000-square-feet of conference and event space
  • Fitness center
Neighborhood
The Hyatt is in the heart of downtown and a brief walk from the Superdome, making it a favorite spot for sports fans visiting town for a Saints game, while guests visiting corporate events at the nearby Benson Tower and Entergy Tower never need to leave the hotel complex. Everything from world-class shopping at Canal Place to the galleries of the warehouse district takes only minutes to reach on foot or by cab. Stroll down Bourbon Street in the nearby French Quarter for a taste of the Crescent City's lively street music scene, or tour the riverside charm and 18th century architecture of the 'Vieux Carre' during the day.
Hints and tips
Though much of central New Orleans is at your disposal from the Hyatt Regency, guests should experience the vintage streetcars at least once during your stay. 'Jazzy' day passes for frequent travel might be worth considering as well.

At the hotel during the week? You can secure a free poolside cabana if you're quick enough in the morning (Monday-Friday; first come, first served).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hyatt Regency New Orleans also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hyatt Regency New Orleans Rooms

Concierge
Access to Regency Club Floor and lounge. Continental breakfast in the morning, complimentary snacks and non-alcoholic beverages in the afternoon and cocktail hour in the evening.
Standard
1 King, 1 Queen or 2 Queen beds:

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Executive level
24 hour security
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Fishing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Nursery for children
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Porters
Video checkout
Gift shop
Copy service
Currency exchange
News stand
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Projector
White board
Conference suite
Cellular telephone rental
Computer rental
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.3 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.4 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.8 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.8 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.9 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.3 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.5 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.3 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.4 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.8 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.8 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.9 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.3 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.5 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.6 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.7 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.7 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.8 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.1 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.7 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 3.9 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.8 mi

Dining

Borgne
Casual Coastal Louisiana Seafood with a touch of Spanish influence.
Eight Block Kitchen and Bar
A full service restaurant featuring a buffet of local, seasonally inspired dishes with traditional New Orleans style.
Vitascope
A visually stimulating American bar with strong beers, mature cocktails, satisfying food and a great seafood raw bar. A bustling environment enriched with all things media. 25 TVs will broadcast the days sporting events, news, music videos while integra

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (172)

Ratings and reviews for Hyatt Regency New Orleans

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
172 out of 172
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hyatt Regency New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Danny801
Business
New Hampshire
Jan 9, 2014

like i was invisible

the first day we asked for help with our datalink(only way to order room service or watch tv) we called to the front desk and waited for 2 hours. then we gave up and went to dinner. 2nd day we asked again waited another hour and gave up. finally we complained aggressively and got attention - they said they would send bottle of wine. a $4 bottle showed up. undrinkable. 7 days later we still didnt have what we were asking for. their policy is to ignore you till you give up. not good for a $200+ per night hotel. Will never stay there or any hyatt again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
flg8or
Business
Pensacola
Feb 25, 2014

Great looks, horrible service

Horrible service from the parking valet (gruff) on through. Lobby check in kiosk did not work. Desk had a problem with guest in front of us. When they finally got to us, no apology. Rooms are a full football field away from check in desk. Housekeeping never made up our room. They closed room service EARLY because all of the people coming back from the concert (ummm...aren't those your customers?). Cannot call down to valet to have car pulled up. Had to wait 25 minutes for car. Not a single good thing to say about any of the service by any of the staff. Amazingly disappointing. Interior décor and beds are nice, though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Park your own car...cheaper and faster.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
HoosthatBugbug
Business
Dallas, TX, USA
Apr 30, 2012

Worst service ever

We had the worst service here and had to leave mid trip to move to a different hotel. The hotel itself is actually quite nice, but the poor service does not overcome its good price and updated rooms. It's also quite a walk from the quarter through not the best neighborhood (during the day it's fine, but at night it's too dark and unpopulated for women to be alone and walk).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dee bo
Business
Houston, TX, USA
May 31, 2012

Suprisingly Bad

I'm not sure if it was because they offered some kind of a discount for Memorial Day, but for a supposedly four-star hotel the service was AWFUL! For one, I had to wait an hour and a half to check in -- that's right 1.5 hours! And I checked in at 6pm -- terrible! Luckily, I was good enough to negotiate free parking for myself for my two day stay, but still... Speaking of parking, when it was time to leave it took me about 20 minutes to get my car! And apparently there wasn't communication with the staff regarding the fact that my parking was comped, so getting that sorted took another 15 minutes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jimjam1234
Business
Monroe, LA
Jul 9, 2012

Staff lacks knowledge and motivation

The actual room and stay was OK. It was getting there that was a problem. The street the hotel is on is under major construction yet the website did not inform travelers to take the Poydras St exit to get to the hotel. Instead I had to take a detour, but what was even worse was the Essence Festival caused the intersections where I needed to turn for the detour to be blocked off. I called the hotel and after three tries of getting put on hold and being rerouted to the operator I finally got someone on the phone and they could not help with directions. They were completely unknowledgable about the area around their hotel. I had to drive around for almost 45 minutes and get directions from the police to even get to the hotel. The valet was terrible as it took thirty minutes to get my car both times and each time they were not busy at all and I saw at least five valet workers standing around and chatting and laughing while I waited for my vehicle. For the price I paid for the room and for the parking this type of service is completely unacceptable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Anywhere in New Orleans there is good food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DE Traveler 2012
Business
Newark, Delaware
Oct 2, 2012

Not for vacationers!

We were in town for my cousin's wedding and stayed at the Hyatt Regency. The room was gorgeous and the staff was very friendly and professional. However, the place was a total zoo for the entire stay. There was a conference going on during our stay and it took 30 minutes just to get on the elevators! Every time we walked in it was stressful. The hotel was a great price, but there were way too many people from the convention just hanging it and meets in the middle of the lobby, on the stairs, etc. there was barely room to walk! I understand that conventions happen at hotels, but this convention was way too large for this hotel to handle. We often commiserated with other folks staying the hotel that weren't a part of the conference as well. We will not be staying at this hotel again as it appears they don't care for the every day traveler, but only those there for a convention. Also the shop that was supposed to be a convenience store WAY overcharged for everything. I had to pay $3 just for a pack of Halls! $13 for a mini lint roller... Just plain ridiculous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you do stay here, although I don't recommend it, there is a Rouses Market just 2 blocks away with all the amenities you might need at low prices!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Natalie Traveler
Business
Palmdale, CA
Jan 7, 2013

Poor hospitality at the Hyatt New Orleans, LA

There were several issues that happened. When we arrived they did not have the suite we had reserved for us and we had a standard room (unless we wanted to move the next day with no price reduction). The pool that is open year round was closed. The breakfast certificates/vouchers we were supposed to receive they said we did not have as part of our 9 day package (perhaps they went to the person who stayed in our suite). There was no coffee pot in the room and when we asked for one we received enough coffee for only 1 day; so every day we had to call down to get more. There was an extra charge for everything! Valet was 40 a night! We would call down to the front desk and almost never got an answer always had to go through the concierge or room service to get the front desk. It is very confusing layout of hotel floor plan with escalators to main floor and elevators to rooms to much switching to get to main areas. On our last night we were awoken after midnight by the security as they had a disturbance/emergency reported – not from my daughter and me though and no apology for waking us or investigation if there really was an emergency in our room very suspicious – perhaps it was in our suite that they did not reserve as was paid for. Overall we were very disappointed. It was Christmas and there were very few decorations except a large tree in the down stairs lobby area. We have stayed at several Hyatt’s and this was the least favorite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Roosevelt Hotel beautiful Christmas décor.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ramjet 1
Business
Baton Rouge
Apr 23, 2013

In town for social studies fair

Could not get room next to or around pool area, which I asked for when making resevation. Room was much smaller than one I stayed in last year at same cost. Just not as good as last year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mothers Cafe and Riverwalk

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Hand Doctor
Business
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Feb 26, 2012

Expecting more

Good place for business or educational meeting /Bad place to stay during Mardi Gras. Good food but avoid Pizzas. Nice Staff but a terrible housekeeping. Try the bake ham at Mothers restaurant the best in the world.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Try bake ham at Mothers restaurant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Smoot on the Move
Business
Baltimore, MD
Aug 24, 2012

Special Family Event

My first visit to NO-anticipated the food and sights. Over 9 rooms were booked at the Hyatt for this special family occasion. Upon arrival was told there was a 4 hour wait for valet parking and was misinformed on the valet parking rates paid over $150 in parking for a weekend for valet parking. We were no where located near any of our family members. We all had rooms in seperate places of the hotel. Booked a room with downtown view got a view of the top of the roof of a building. The refrigerator didn't work and it took 24hrs for them to replace it. The ice bucket was located inside the closet on a stand filled with dust. Our sheets were never replaced beds- just beds made up. Linen was replaced once. Our stay consisted of chk in late Friday and chk out Monday. Although I really enjoyed myself in New Orleans-Riverwalk and Burboun Street. I was expecting so much more from the Hyatt.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to Bourbon Street- cab back $10. Little bit further to walk to Casino and the Riverwalk mall but you got to see downtown Canal street and other landmarks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top