$126 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 21, 2015 Check-out: May 22, 2015

Hyatt Regency New Orleans

4 stars
View map of 601 Loyola Avenue, NEW ORLEANS, LA 70113

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hyatt Regency New Orleans

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
190 out of 190
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hyatt Regency New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
UL Bob
Business
Crestwood, Kentucky
Jan 13, 2013

Buyer beware!

HyaTt has the "wow: factor for those who have not been there, but past the structure, it lacks what any hotel has. Be forewarned we were charged an extra $40 per day for valet service that you could not/would not get. Parked next door for $27 per day and brought all my belongings for 4 adults, 1 teenager, and one 14-month old. As high tech as the structure look, the only wireless area was on the 3rd floor near Starbucks. Otherwise, you had to pay for it through your Smart TV. Over-priced..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Get closer to French Quarter for better value and closer to attractions, unless you are there jsut for the Superdome.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Clance Creal
Business
new Orleans
Jul 8, 2014

would not stay again

My room was not cleaned during my stay even after I called the front desk and requested my room be cleaned. Also the room had no microwave and to spend over 400 a night with no microwave and could not get my room clean was ridiculous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bfarm25
Business
Alabana
Jul 16, 2014

Ok

Sheets were dirty they didn't change them..was disappointed especially since I got the suite

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
WithCheese
Business
Santa Fe, NM
Apr 29, 2014

Too Much Nothing

Nice place for a convention. But for a few nights just to get a decent sleep? No way. For one thing, the bed we had was uncomfortable, soft mush. The pillows weren't any better. Hi, back and neck pain. Also, the room was very very small. We could not find a place to put two pieces of carry on luggage. There was one luggage rack by the front door. We called and asked for a second. We never received it - but we would not have been able to put it anywhere without tripping over it, so it was probably for the best. The suitcase lived upright with clothes in it, unpacked and repacked every day - placed next to the front door. The only place we wouldn't be walking on top of it. For four night's stay, for two people, we had two hangers in a dresser. Just two hangers. And no closet. No chest of drawers. Just a desk, and a bed, and two end tables. The end tables did not open. It was a mess in that tiny room. The amenities? Nothing special. The elevators? You get used to them confusing you. But be warned - if you have issues with scents (I get migraines from nasty artificial aromas) the lobby stinks like a mall body shop store erupted.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Long lines at all times for coffee at the Starbucks in the hotel. If you must have your Frappawhatever, okay. But right next to Starbucks is a gift shop with very fine local coffee - very very fine - with or without chicory. Decent price, tasty, never a wait and open 24 hours. More than just gifts in there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kallima
Business
Oklahoma, USA
Oct 24, 2011

3nights in Executive suite

Let me preface by saying their Grand Opening was Oct. 18, I arrived on the 19th. My room was not ready and the front desk could give me no ETA on when it would be ready. After my second inquiry they found an alternate comparable room (they encouraged me to continue to indulge at the bar but did not offer complimentary drinks or appetizers) at which point I insisted upon immediate accomodation. The suite was average with plenty of light and the view was similar. I had zero refreshments at the in-room coffee bar and had to call for them to send the usual assortment. The couch in the "sitting area/living room" is a sectional and not very comfortable. There was no separate shower and tub (for those ladies who like to soak their toesies after a long day of walking), and the water temp for my showers were tolerably hot, adequate but not the heat I prefer, despite positioning the handle to the hottest level. The desk that was meant to be a "workstation" for business travelers had no convenient outlets for plugs or usb cables. The wi-fi connection was good, their roomlinx had a few bugs that still needed to be addressed. The staff was extremely friendly with the exception of 2 front desk people, who were more curt than welcoming. Had it not been for them, the service would have been rated 5 stars, as the rest of the staff was more than accomodating. The bar did have excellent drinks, appetizers were great and we primarily dined out in the French Quarter or Garden District. so could not comment on the food. With all that said, once they get the grand opening kinks worked out - they will be a fine establishment for weekend getaways or Saints games!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Save yourself cab fare, walk to St.Charles and get on the streetcar!!! You can't beat 1.25 or the all day pass for 3.00 (i think). Had I packed a comfy set of shoes, I would have saved myself about $250.00 in cab fare!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bodacious
Business
Lafayette, LA, USA
Dec 5, 2011

Had a nice time!

The hotel was clean and nice. All service people were very helpful. Beds were very comfortable. We had a problem with our A/C and the problem was corrected promptly. We were disappointed with the location of our room, they put us in the North Wing which is away from everything. The ice machine was not working and they do not have soft drink machines in the vending areas. So anytime we wanted a drink it was a far walk to get one. It is a completely different atmosphere than the old Hyatt.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rexinpacem
Business
Baton Rouge, LA, USA
Dec 9, 2011

Saints game

I like the convenience of the hotel, however I found the room to be a little small for the price! I also would expect a complimentary coffee machine in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Liseleje4ever
Business
Scandinavia
Jan 6, 2012

New years eve

They did nothing special for New Years eve regarding restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
drgrinch
Business
La Palma, CA, USA
Jan 17, 2012

acceptable but with reservations

First, the location is poor unless you need to be in the business district or really enjoy long walks,at night, through scary neighborhoods. It's just too far from anything but the Superdome or business district to be practical. Second, the structure itself is impressive, modern and equipped with some nice amenities. The mattresses are comfortable, the LCD screens huge for a hotel and the room electronics complete - but the rooms themselves are smallish and the bathrooms unventilated. Our room received one partial cleaning in three days - they either don't come at all or come by as you are dressing for dinner (I heard this comment voiced by other guests as well). The last item is that everything is either too expensive or costs extra when it shouldn't: $10 for a well drink is simply larcenous and, for the price of rooms here, internet should be included, not $10 or $13 per day. The hotel seems focused on trade group meetings and conventions. I would not stay here again unless I had business within the hotel itself.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Stay at a hotel close to one of the mass transit (street car) lines - you can get anywhere it goes for $1.25 one-way.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
S B F
Business
Silver Spring, MD
Jul 11, 2012

Not impressed

The hotel itself was nice. Check in was easy and fast. However I told them at check in I wanted a room with a view but I received a view of a brick wall. My room was nice but I ran out of toilet paper. I had to call twice. Housekeeping finally showed up late in the afternoon to clean my room when I was taking a nap. The hall really needed to be vacuumed in the North wing. Overall I thought the Hyatt was on higher scale. But I thought wrong.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top