$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 19, 2015 Check-out: Aug 21, 2015

Hyatt Regency New Orleans

4 stars
View map of 601 Loyola Avenue, NEW ORLEANS, LA 70113

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hyatt Regency New Orleans

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
190 out of 190
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hyatt Regency New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
S B F
Business
Silver Spring, MD
Jul 11, 2012

Not impressed

The hotel itself was nice. Check in was easy and fast. However I told them at check in I wanted a room with a view but I received a view of a brick wall. My room was nice but I ran out of toilet paper. I had to call twice. Housekeeping finally showed up late in the afternoon to clean my room when I was taking a nap. The hall really needed to be vacuumed in the North wing. Overall I thought the Hyatt was on higher scale. But I thought wrong.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hyatt Regency New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KC Jones
Business
Upper Marlboro, MD
Jul 10, 2012

hotel

nice place, will come back. It was good to see New Oleans and all the site for the Essence festival

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

nice walk to French Quarters

Review of Hyatt Regency New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jimjam1234
Business
Monroe, LA
Jul 9, 2012

Staff lacks knowledge and motivation

The actual room and stay was OK. It was getting there that was a problem. The street the hotel is on is under major construction yet the website did not inform travelers to take the Poydras St exit to get to the hotel. Instead I had to take a detour, but what was even worse was the Essence Festival caused the intersections where I needed to turn for the detour to be blocked off. I called the hotel and after three tries of getting put on hold and being rerouted to the operator I finally got someone on the phone and they could not help with directions. They were completely unknowledgable about the area around their hotel. I had to drive around for almost 45 minutes and get directions from the police to even get to the hotel. The valet was terrible as it took thirty minutes to get my car both times and each time they were not busy at all and I saw at least five valet workers standing around and chatting and laughing while I waited for my vehicle. For the price I paid for the room and for the parking this type of service is completely unacceptable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Anywhere in New Orleans there is good food.

Review of Hyatt Regency New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dashiki
Business
Houston, tx
Jun 12, 2012

So So..

The hotel appears to be really nice, The staff is average, but the parking is horrible. The hotel charges you $40 a night to park plus state and loal sales tax, I've never heard of sales tax on parking so it came out to be about $45/night. The location is still within walking distance of the french quarter but its quite a hike. Take a good 30-45 minute walk from the river to the hotel. Overall the experience wasn't horrible, but i did feel like it wasn't really worth the money we spent. Would have been better off going to a smaller hotel closer to the french quarter with free parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hyatt Regency New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chelsea87
Business
Puyallup, WA
Jun 12, 2012

Perfect

The hotel was clean and beyond updated. The staff was friendly. I think this was the most modern and technology based hotel I've ever been to. On top of it all the price was fantastic. If I ever end up back in New Orleans, we will be staying here for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hyatt Regency New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Top Notch
Business
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Jun 5, 2012

Good Location

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The staff were extremely helpful and seemed to be in good spirits at all times. The room was very quiet and not too small and cramped. We found the location to be good as it was near enough to everything but far enough away to avoid the crowds and noise of the really busy areas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hyatt Regency New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dee bo
Business
Houston, TX, USA
May 31, 2012

Suprisingly Bad

I'm not sure if it was because they offered some kind of a discount for Memorial Day, but for a supposedly four-star hotel the service was AWFUL! For one, I had to wait an hour and a half to check in -- that's right 1.5 hours! And I checked in at 6pm -- terrible! Luckily, I was good enough to negotiate free parking for myself for my two day stay, but still... Speaking of parking, when it was time to leave it took me about 20 minutes to get my car! And apparently there wasn't communication with the staff regarding the fact that my parking was comped, so getting that sorted took another 15 minutes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hyatt Regency New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rscott1220
Business
Fort Walton Beach, Florida
May 29, 2012

Truly suitcase living

Spent one night in room 2352 with a Dome view (fantastic view). The room did not have a single drawer to unpack into! The room came with a single queen bed and my wife offered that perhaps this configuration and our one night stay was why we got a room like this. Friends with two beds actually had a small chest of three drawers. I still wasn't happy that my change of clothes was relegated to the suitcase or the top of the safe. Toilet seat was tipped back toward the tank instead of being level creating a challenge getting off and the reach across to the toilet paper was easily 36 inches. Friends room (964) was okay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Walkers will not mind the 15-20 minute walk to the French quarter or the Riverwalk area. Keep in mind summer heat and humidity.

Review of Hyatt Regency New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Olan
Business
Sulphur, Louisiana
May 21, 2012

Great Hyatt Stay

Our stay at the Hyatt Regency New Orleans was perfect! The location was great. The staff was extremely polite and helpful. I was asked several times if I was enjoying my stay. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hyatt Regency New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
HoosthatBugbug
Business
Dallas, TX, USA
Apr 30, 2012

Worst service ever

We had the worst service here and had to leave mid trip to move to a different hotel. The hotel itself is actually quite nice, but the poor service does not overcome its good price and updated rooms. It's also quite a walk from the quarter through not the best neighborhood (during the day it's fine, but at night it's too dark and unpopulated for women to be alone and walk).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top