$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 7, 2014 Check-out: Aug 10, 2014

Hyatt Regency New Orleans

4 stars
601 Loyola Avenue, NEW ORLEANS, LA 70113
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
160 reviews
Family weekend in New Orleans

Excellent staff! Terrific value! Fantastic property! See full review

  • Gold Finger
  • Jun 30, 2014
Awesome vacation

Our experience at this hotel was wonderful. The staff was the friendliest, most courteous,... See full review

  • Amandaboo
  • Jun 2, 2014
Following a $281 million redesign, our contemporary guestrooms offer gorgeous city views, Hyatts signature Grand™ bed, an iHome stereo with iPod® docking station, and our innovative in-room technology. With the click of your remote, get instant access to your favorite shows and movies, room service, hotel information, and more all on your 42 flat-screen TV. Dining options are endless at Hyatt Regency New Orleans. From our delicious buffet of New Orleans inspired, farm-to-table dishes at 8 Block Kitchen & Bar to our prized barbeque at Whole Hog Café and fresh sushi creations at Vitascope Hall, were sure to have what you are craving morning noon and night. The hotel also offers gourmet Neopolitan style pizzas delivered directly to your room at no charge, a complimentary live jazz performance every Friday & Saturday night featuring native New Orleans songstress Anais St. John, Borgne – the latest restaurant by James Beard award winning chef, John Besh, a 24-hour fresh market, and more.

Hyatt Regency New Orleans Rooms

Concierge
Access to Regency Club Floor and lounge. Continental breakfast in the morning, complimentary snacks and non-alcoholic beverages in the afternoon and cocktail hour in the evening.
Standard
1 King, 1 Queen or 2 Queen beds:

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Executive level
24 hour security
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Fishing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Nursery for children
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Porters
Video checkout
Gift shop
Copy service
Currency exchange
News stand
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Projector
White board
Conference suite
Cellular telephone rental
Computer rental
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hyatt Regency New Orleans also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.9499 -90.0761
Nearby airports
Louis Armstrong New Orleans Intl. Airport, (MSY), 14.00, MI, W;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.3 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.4 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Storyville: 0.6 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.8 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.8 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.8 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.9 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.9 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.3 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.4 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Storyville: 0.6 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.8 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.8 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.8 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.9 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 1 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 1.2 mi
  • East Tennessee Historical Center: 1.3 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.3 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.5 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.6 mi
  • Amistad Research Center: 2.6 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.7 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.7 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.8 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.1 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.7 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 3.9 mi
  • State Capital Publishing Museum: 3.9 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.8 mi
  • Six Flags New Orleans: 10.9 mi

Dining

Borgne
Casual Coastal Louisiana Seafood with a touch of Spanish influence.
Eight Block Kitchen and Bar
A full service restaurant featuring a buffet of local, seasonally inspired dishes with traditional New Orleans style.
Vitascope
A visually stimulating American bar with strong beers, mature cocktails, satisfying food and a great seafood raw bar. A bustling environment enriched with all things media. 25 TVs will broadcast the days sporting events, news, music videos while integra

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (160)

Ratings and reviews for Hyatt Regency New Orleans

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
160 out of 160
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hyatt Regency New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
S B F
Silver Spring, MD
Jul 11, 2012

Not impressed

The hotel itself was nice. Check in was easy and fast. However I told them at check in I wanted a room with a view but I received a view of a brick wall. My room was nice but I ran out of toilet paper. I had to call twice. Housekeeping finally showed up late in the afternoon to clean my room when I was taking a nap. The hall really needed to be vacuumed in the North wing. Overall I thought the Hyatt was on higher scale. But I thought wrong.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Hyatt Regency New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KC Jones
Upper Marlboro, MD
Jul 10, 2012

hotel

nice place, will come back. It was good to see New Oleans and all the site for the Essence festival

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

nice walk to French Quarters

Review of Hyatt Regency New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jimjam1234
Monroe, LA
Jul 9, 2012

Staff lacks knowledge and motivation

The actual room and stay was OK. It was getting there that was a problem. The street the hotel is on is under major construction yet the website did not inform travelers to take the Poydras St exit to get to the hotel. Instead I had to take a detour, but what was even worse was the Essence Festival caused the intersections where I needed to turn for the detour to be blocked off. I called the hotel and after three tries of getting put on hold and being rerouted to the operator I finally got someone on the phone and they could not help with directions. They were completely unknowledgable about the area around their hotel. I had to drive around for almost 45 minutes and get directions from the police to even get to the hotel. The valet was terrible as it took thirty minutes to get my car both times and each time they were not busy at all and I saw at least five valet workers standing around and chatting and laughing while I waited for my vehicle. For the price I paid for the room and for the parking this type of service is completely unacceptable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Anywhere in New Orleans there is good food.

Review of Hyatt Regency New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chelsea87
Puyallup, WA
Jun 12, 2012

Perfect

The hotel was clean and beyond updated. The staff was friendly. I think this was the most modern and technology based hotel I've ever been to. On top of it all the price was fantastic. If I ever end up back in New Orleans, we will be staying here for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hyatt Regency New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dashiki
Houston, tx
Jun 12, 2012

So So..

The hotel appears to be really nice, The staff is average, but the parking is horrible. The hotel charges you $40 a night to park plus state and loal sales tax, I've never heard of sales tax on parking so it came out to be about $45/night. The location is still within walking distance of the french quarter but its quite a hike. Take a good 30-45 minute walk from the river to the hotel. Overall the experience wasn't horrible, but i did feel like it wasn't really worth the money we spent. Would have been better off going to a smaller hotel closer to the french quarter with free parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Hyatt Regency New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Top Notch
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Jun 5, 2012

Good Location

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The staff were extremely helpful and seemed to be in good spirits at all times. The room was very quiet and not too small and cramped. We found the location to be good as it was near enough to everything but far enough away to avoid the crowds and noise of the really busy areas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Hyatt Regency New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dee bo
Houston, TX, USA
May 31, 2012

Suprisingly Bad

I'm not sure if it was because they offered some kind of a discount for Memorial Day, but for a supposedly four-star hotel the service was AWFUL! For one, I had to wait an hour and a half to check in -- that's right 1.5 hours! And I checked in at 6pm -- terrible! Luckily, I was good enough to negotiate free parking for myself for my two day stay, but still... Speaking of parking, when it was time to leave it took me about 20 minutes to get my car! And apparently there wasn't communication with the staff regarding the fact that my parking was comped, so getting that sorted took another 15 minutes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Hyatt Regency New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rscott1220
Fort Walton Beach, Florida
May 29, 2012

Truly suitcase living

Spent one night in room 2352 with a Dome view (fantastic view). The room did not have a single drawer to unpack into! The room came with a single queen bed and my wife offered that perhaps this configuration and our one night stay was why we got a room like this. Friends with two beds actually had a small chest of three drawers. I still wasn't happy that my change of clothes was relegated to the suitcase or the top of the safe. Toilet seat was tipped back toward the tank instead of being level creating a challenge getting off and the reach across to the toilet paper was easily 36 inches. Friends room (964) was okay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Walkers will not mind the 15-20 minute walk to the French quarter or the Riverwalk area. Keep in mind summer heat and humidity.

Review of Hyatt Regency New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Olan
Sulphur, Louisiana
May 21, 2012

Great Hyatt Stay

Our stay at the Hyatt Regency New Orleans was perfect! The location was great. The staff was extremely polite and helpful. I was asked several times if I was enjoying my stay. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hyatt Regency New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
HoosthatBugbug
Business
Dallas, TX, USA
Apr 30, 2012

Worst service ever

We had the worst service here and had to leave mid trip to move to a different hotel. The hotel itself is actually quite nice, but the poor service does not overcome its good price and updated rooms. It's also quite a walk from the quarter through not the best neighborhood (during the day it's fine, but at night it's too dark and unpopulated for women to be alone and walk).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top