$143 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 11, 2015 Check-out: Aug 12, 2015

Hyatt French Quarter

4 stars
View map of 800 Iberville Street, Corners of Bourbon and Canal Streets, New Orleans, LA 70112

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
58 reviews
expensive

My stay at the Hyatt French Quarter was great. Its clean and in a great location. However, it is... See full review

  • JE b.
  • Jul 15, 2015
Great friends trip

The hotel was excellent. The staff was professional and friendly, the in-lobby food options were... See full review

  • Will
  • May 28, 2015

The Hyatt French Quarter is a modern hotel slotted into a 19th century townhouse, emulating the Creole stylings of Bourbon Street in its earth-tone frontage. On-site restaurants offer a smorgasbord of regional fare, from the hickory tastes of the Red Fish Grill to the quick eats at Powdered Sugar; those hankering for something more familiar can go straight through to the Hard Rock Cafe from the hotel. Nurse a bourbon from the casks at the Batch Bar and mingle with other guests at the long sociable tables, or spend a healthier evening swimming the length of the outdoor pool and checking in at the 24-hour gym.

Location
Sitting in the heart of the French Quarter at Canal Street, the oldest neighborhood in New Orleans knows how to party. You'll find the focus of all the famed street music, dance and local eats is Bourbon Street, right next to the hotel; be sure to check out the jazz at Blue Nile while you're here. The ornamental lawns of Jackson Square and the steeples of St Louis Cathedral are within walking distance and, for those in town for a conference, the "Vieux Carre" conveniently borders the city's business district.
Highlights

  • 254 guestrooms
  • 10 conference and event spaces
  • Outdoor pool
  • Gym
  • 2 restaurants: Powdered Sugar and Red Fish Grill
  • Batch Bar
  • 24-hour room service
  • Wi-Fi access (fees may apply)
Policies
Book a room with a balcony that overlooks Bourbon Street for the best view of the constantly fascinating boulevard.

If you're planning to visit New Orleans during Mardi Gras or the Jazz Festival, a room that faces the hotel's verdant garden courtyard or the atrium can offer a break from the joyful chaos of Bourbon Street.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hyatt French Quarter also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hyatt French Quarter Rooms

Standard
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Heated pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
24 hour room service
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Projector
Easel
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Preservation Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.4 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.2 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.6 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.7 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.6 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.6 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.3 mi

Dining

Hard Rock Cafe
Hard Rock New Orleans is a haven for fans of music, food and great times. Whether you are down for a Legendary Burger, Live Music, a Classic Tee, or the latest Collectible pin, there's something for everyone.
Powdered Sugar
Three meal market concept offering regional dishes, coffee program, grab and go selection, and retail/sundries. Will have a beverage program offering beer and wine. Counter service with limited table service.
Red Fish Grill
Casual New Orleans seafood dominates a menu peppered with Big Easy favorites like Hickory Grilled Redfish, BBQ Oysters, Alligator Sausage and Seafood Gumbo and a wide variety of Gulf fish available every night.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Hyatt French Quarter

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
58 out of 58
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hyatt French Quarter

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Andy from Denver
Business
Denver, CO
Dec 11, 2013

dirty and unfriendly

the bathroom was disgusting with hair in the sink, around the sink and all over the shower from a previous guest. tiles in shower were coming off. no free wifi and staff was not friendly when i complained about the wifi issue

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

jazz on Frenchman Street close to the river

Review of Hyatt French Quarter

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MIke and Cathy
Business
Santa Clarita Calif
Jul 13, 2012

Excessively overpriced

Cramped rooms, toliet paper role hit my arm as I sat. I don't think a big person would fit in the space at all. Outdated TV, water stains & burns on carpet. The staff was great and it's a nice location. There are a lot of nice places in and around the area try the Kenner or Metairie area, anywhere along the river or lake Pontchartiain all nice areas with easy public transportation. This palce for the cost? No, next time I go elsewhere. Have fun it's a great city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

take one of the cooking classes first. The food there was even better then some of the resturants. But then again the food at th resturants was great!!!

Review of Hyatt French Quarter

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JSGV
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Sep 18, 2012

Construction on adjoinig closet ..

I arrived tired of my long trek and wanted to rest, to my surprise there was work going next to my room in a utility closet, and construction traffic in the alley leading to my room, too much noise and I brought to the front desk's attention and was ignoresd, construction continued he following day. The room was so remoted that I had to request to clean it up every day and It would not happen until 5 pm, they supposedly have a free newspaper...wel,l , I never got it. Bottled water in the room $4, WiFi $6.95 plus tax.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hyatt French Quarter

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Billbob
Business
Jackson, MS
Dec 2, 2012

Good Hotel BUT.......

We go to New Orleans regularly, so this feedback may be a little long and detailed. If you want a nice quite hotel near Bourbon street, This may be for you. This is a very nice hotel. Quite, New and Clean. I'm giving it a 2 star because hotel/room description is very misleading. The room descriptions are very inaccurate. There are no rooms with a "view".The only views are of the hotel courtyards. So be wary of paying extra for rooms with a view. If you want a view of New Orleans stay at some other Hotel. This Hotel is only 4 stories high and has no views. next, this hotel is very close to Bourbon street but is not on it. It is 1 block off of Bourbon St. If you want to stay on Bourbon Street, This is not the place for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

1 Block from Bourbon Street & Restaurants

Review of Hyatt French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DGK ALL DAY
Business
Boston, MA
Sep 19, 2012

Subpar

I have stayed at several Hyatt resorts however this location did not compare. It is recently updated with A very tasteful modern style and that was nice yet at the same time it's still not on point to the standers it should be. The gym was small but nice but pool was pathetic. Overall i would stay again but defiantly wouldn't be my first pick.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Louisiana pizza kitchen is great food at resenable price range. Staff isn't the most hospitable but it's Nola.

Review of Hyatt French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
simonowis
Business
Burbank, CA
Oct 3, 2012

Clean, modern and some good stuff.

The hotel lacks any kind of New Orleans charm but you step right outside the front door and you're steps away. Maybe this is good. New Orleans is a rather immersive experience most times of the year. This hotel is modern, with great quality, new furnishings and very clean. Some might find it sterile but I liked it. I was booked into a king room on the second floor (for my fellow Brits, that means the floor one up from the ground floor). The ceilings on this floor are nice and high. It definitely gives those rooms a certain feel. Unfortunately, my room overlooked the street - not a street with bars or much nightlife, but rather a non-descript (for the French Quarter) commercial street. The first night seemed fine but I was so exhausted that I slept through what became clear around 5am of my second night was a nightly ritual of emptying of roughly forty huge trash cans outside my window. On rising I immediately asked for a room in a quieter location which was granted with a nice apology and a rapid exchange. The staff are friendly and helpful. The little cafe "Powdered Sugar" is good for coffee and pastries. The one time I had a breakfast dish (scrambled eggs with cream cheese) was rather over-priced, not very hot and small. I didn't try the bar but it looked like a nice enough place to hang out. Overall, I'd probably try a different place next time, but if you're looking for a way to escape the craziness make sure you ask for a room that overlooks the courtyard or pool and not the street!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Bourbon Street is a short walk from the hotel. You don't have to walk much further to find less touristy places and it's worth going to explore.

Review of Hyatt French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JWCAZ
Business
New River, AZ
Nov 16, 2012

Great Location, poor beds

The hotel itself is nicely restored, very clean. Great coffee bar for the AM. Nice bar, a little pricey. However, the beds are very uncomfortable. Hard, HARD! For almost $200 a night, I want a GOOD bed!! I woke up every hour, with either a sore back, or hip, or shoulder. 7AM arrived, finally!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Burbon Street is right there! If you are willing to put up with a poor nights sleep, it is very convenient!

Review of Hyatt French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Guest53
Business
Abilene, TX
Jul 9, 2013

Excellent

The hotel was close to everything, newly renovate. Everything was as I expected except for the wireless charge. I don't think it is fair to pay that much for a hotel, parking and also have to pay for wireless service. That is the only reason I have it a 3 star.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hyatt French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chip and Judie
Business
Weatherford, TX
Oct 4, 2014

Why was there no desk in the room?

The location is great, parking good, clean though severe décor. Room lacked a desk for computer use, had to use the coffee table and bench arrangement. It lacked an easy chair but had a floor lamp stuck in a corner. Noisy, could hear the air handlers starting up all night long. Bath room a little cramped but certainly adequate. It was like it was not quite finished and needed some more furniture to complete the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Red Fish Grill had excellent food, some of the best in the French Quarter.

Review of Hyatt French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
K.M. lv
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Feb 27, 2014

Awesome location

Given this hotel's prime location and beautiful, modern decoration; it is worth the price! This hotel has 3 entry doors -- one on Dauphine, Iberville, and Canal Street. For Mardi Gras, the multiple doors are great! The parades run right on Canal Street. Bourbon Street is not even a block away! It is really close to the street cars and bus line. I wouldn't want to stay anywhere else in New Orleans. Everything is within walking distance. Only drawbacks about this place -- bathroom does not have a vent/fan and you share a balcony with your neighbor (if you have a balcony room). There is no Jacuzzi, but there is a pool and awesome gym! The gym has all new equipment -- they even supply towels, water, and headphones! And Red Fish Grill is connected to the hotel lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top