$143 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 2, 2014 Check-out: Nov 4, 2014

Hyatt French Quarter

4 stars
800 Iberville Street, Corners of Bourbon and Canal Streets, New Orleans, LA 70112
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
63 reviews
Doesn't Get Any Better

Location is the key. On the corner of Iberville and Bourbon. Need I say anything more? Also has... See full review

  • Colorado Guido
  • Sep 16, 2014
Great Location for Weekend Getaway

Perfect location with direct access to Canal Street and a few steps to Bourbon. Hotel was... See full review

  • Weekend Traveler 0000
  • Aug 4, 2014

The Hyatt French Quarter is a modern hotel slotted into a 19th century townhouse, emulating the Creole stylings of Bourbon Street in its earth-tone frontage. On-site restaurants offer a smorgasbord of regional fare, from the hickory tastes of the Red Fish Grill to the quick eats at Powdered Sugar; those hankering for something more familiar can go straight through to the Hard Rock Cafe from the hotel. Nurse a bourbon from the casks at the Batch Bar and mingle with other guests at the long sociable tables, or spend a healthier evening swimming the length of the outdoor pool and checking in at the 24-hour gym.

Key facts

  • 254 guestrooms
  • 10 conference and event spaces
  • Outdoor pool
  • Gym
  • 2 restaurants: Powdered Sugar and Red Fish Grill
  • Batch Bar
  • 24-hour room service
  • Wi-Fi access (fees may apply)
Neighborhood
Sitting in the heart of the French Quarter at Canal Street, the oldest neighborhood in New Orleans knows how to party. You'll find the focus of all the famed street music, dance and local eats is Bourbon Street, right next to the hotel; be sure to check out the jazz at Blue Nile while you're here. The ornamental lawns of Jackson Square and the steeples of St Louis Cathedral are within walking distance and, for those in town for a conference, the "Vieux Carre" conveniently borders the city's business district.
Hints and tips
Book a room with a balcony that overlooks Bourbon Street for the best view of the constantly fascinating boulevard.

If you're planning to visit New Orleans during Mardi Gras or the Jazz Festival, a room that faces the hotel's verdant garden courtyard or the atrium can offer a break from the joyful chaos of Bourbon Street.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.9547 -90.0691
Nearby airports
Louis Armstrong New Orleans Intl. Airport, (MSY), 12.90, MI, S;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hyatt French Quarter also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hyatt French Quarter Rooms

Standard
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Heated pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
24 hour room service
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Projector
Easel
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Preservation Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.4 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.2 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.6 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.7 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.6 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.6 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.3 mi

Dining

Hard Rock Cafe
Hard Rock New Orleans is a haven for fans of music, food and great times. Whether you are down for a Legendary Burger, Live Music, a Classic Tee, or the latest Collectible pin, there's something for everyone.
Powdered Sugar
Three meal market concept offering regional dishes, coffee program, grab and go selection, and retail/sundries. Will have a beverage program offering beer and wine. Counter service with limited table service.
Red Fish Grill
Casual New Orleans seafood dominates a menu peppered with Big Easy favorites like Hickory Grilled Redfish, BBQ Oysters, Alligator Sausage and Seafood Gumbo and a wide variety of Gulf fish available every night.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (63)

Ratings and reviews for Hyatt French Quarter

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
63 out of 63
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hyatt French Quarter

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Steve2144
Business
Brandon, MS
Dec 1, 2011

Horrible Experience

All things considered my stay at this hotel was not good at all. I understand there was construction and renovation going on, but I wish that i would have been forewarned.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt French Quarter

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Vassya
Business
San Diego
May 11, 2012

Construction and front desk lies

We stayed 3 nights. Morning 1: knocking, dragging, carpet removing like sound came from the room upstairs at 7 am till noon. Complained and was told by Moreen, the manager, that there was nothing going on. Morning 2: 7:25 am construction noise started in the room upstairs. Called front desk again and was told again that nothing was going on. The noise was lighter and stopped at 9:30. Went to take a shower, but guess there was not hot water. Moreen said that this was city issue on which they were working on. If it is a city issue what a hotel can do? And does the city warm up the water?! I turned on the TV & messages came up: pool closed, bar closed, lobby has 4 chairs and still in construction. Night 3: still not hot water; fire alarm went off at 1:30 am. I jumped a foot from my bed with my heart pounding what's up. It turns to be FALSE! On the check out day the bill shows up under our door full priced. During the 2 days we received a notice that access of our room was needed for construction. Vale is $34/day and you do not have many other options to park car. The guys are either 4-5 waiting or noone. The hotel restaurant "Red Fish" has oily but tasty food, however it's mega noisy. The hotel seems that will change name to Hyatt, but I doubt that the squeaky floors and the restaurant smell on the 3rd floor in the hallway will go away... as well as the only AC vent in the room beating your face with cold air while you are in bed. The staff overall did their best, except the lies that Moreen was coming up with. She tried to put us in in a quieter room so I do not imagine what the rest of the guests had. The working people of NO are quite sweet and nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt French Quarter

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ladyslots
Business
Summervile, SC
Jul 11, 2012

poor customer service

When we booked this hotel it wa another name. And it was a suite. Once it changed over to hyatt no longer suites. They did not tell us that. Over charged and management was very rude. Will be writing the ceo of this company. Not a happy camper.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt French Quarter

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Andy from Denver
Business
Denver, CO
Dec 11, 2013

dirty and unfriendly

the bathroom was disgusting with hair in the sink, around the sink and all over the shower from a previous guest. tiles in shower were coming off. no free wifi and staff was not friendly when i complained about the wifi issue

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

jazz on Frenchman Street close to the river

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt French Quarter

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TFBARR
Business
Port St Lucie, FL, USA
Sep 8, 2011

Wyndham is better than this!

The staff here were very friendly and accomodating! The room condition was not so good. The roof was leaking and the curtains in our room were shredded. The staff told us that they were remodeling soon. When I made the reservations, I expected more from Wyndham than this. I use to work for Wyndham, and have seen the money made for this company. I cant believe the condition of this hotel. Just a shame!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Daisey Dukes Cafe - Chartres Street - awesome food, friendly staff, large portions, great prices!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt French Quarter

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MIke and Cathy
Business
Santa Clarita Calif
Jul 13, 2012

Excessively overpriced

Cramped rooms, toliet paper role hit my arm as I sat. I don't think a big person would fit in the space at all. Outdated TV, water stains & burns on carpet. The staff was great and it's a nice location. There are a lot of nice places in and around the area try the Kenner or Metairie area, anywhere along the river or lake Pontchartiain all nice areas with easy public transportation. This palce for the cost? No, next time I go elsewhere. Have fun it's a great city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

take one of the cooking classes first. The food there was even better then some of the resturants. But then again the food at th resturants was great!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt French Quarter

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JSGV
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Sep 18, 2012

Construction on adjoinig closet ..

I arrived tired of my long trek and wanted to rest, to my surprise there was work going next to my room in a utility closet, and construction traffic in the alley leading to my room, too much noise and I brought to the front desk's attention and was ignoresd, construction continued he following day. The room was so remoted that I had to request to clean it up every day and It would not happen until 5 pm, they supposedly have a free newspaper...wel,l , I never got it. Bottled water in the room $4, WiFi $6.95 plus tax.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt French Quarter

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Billbob
Business
Jackson, MS
Dec 2, 2012

Good Hotel BUT.......

We go to New Orleans regularly, so this feedback may be a little long and detailed. If you want a nice quite hotel near Bourbon street, This may be for you. This is a very nice hotel. Quite, New and Clean. I'm giving it a 2 star because hotel/room description is very misleading. The room descriptions are very inaccurate. There are no rooms with a "view".The only views are of the hotel courtyards. So be wary of paying extra for rooms with a view. If you want a view of New Orleans stay at some other Hotel. This Hotel is only 4 stories high and has no views. next, this hotel is very close to Bourbon street but is not on it. It is 1 block off of Bourbon St. If you want to stay on Bourbon Street, This is not the place for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

1 Block from Bourbon Street & Restaurants

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Not a fan of Bourbon Street
Business
Clayton, CA
Jun 18, 2011

Just OK, expected better

Questionable entry location (creepy alley), valet was excellent, lobby very nice, phone system dated and lacking (never a ringtone to contact lobby desk), smokey "non-smoking" room, bathroom dated, large room, large shared balcony, hard to get to location, overall it has plusses and minuses. We have never been to New Orleans before so we have no other hotels to compare it to in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Some very nice restaurants close by.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kathi6778
Business
Seattle, WA, USA
Mar 7, 2012

Hotel Experience

There were a few issues that came up that bothered me. Our Cheap Tickets voucher stated we would have a room with two queens and ended up with a King. It would have been really helpful if the bathroom had a fan and hooks on the door. Saturday we chose not to have maid service but Sunday they did not show up and I had to call.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top