$215 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 8, 2015 Check-out: Apr 9, 2015

Hyatt French Quarter

4 stars
View map of 800 Iberville Street, Corners of Bourbon and Canal Streets, New Orleans, LA 70112

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hyatt French Quarter

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
72 out of 72
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hyatt French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
simonowis
Business
Burbank, CA
Oct 3, 2012

Clean, modern and some good stuff.

The hotel lacks any kind of New Orleans charm but you step right outside the front door and you're steps away. Maybe this is good. New Orleans is a rather immersive experience most times of the year. This hotel is modern, with great quality, new furnishings and very clean. Some might find it sterile but I liked it. I was booked into a king room on the second floor (for my fellow Brits, that means the floor one up from the ground floor). The ceilings on this floor are nice and high. It definitely gives those rooms a certain feel. Unfortunately, my room overlooked the street - not a street with bars or much nightlife, but rather a non-descript (for the French Quarter) commercial street. The first night seemed fine but I was so exhausted that I slept through what became clear around 5am of my second night was a nightly ritual of emptying of roughly forty huge trash cans outside my window. On rising I immediately asked for a room in a quieter location which was granted with a nice apology and a rapid exchange. The staff are friendly and helpful. The little cafe "Powdered Sugar" is good for coffee and pastries. The one time I had a breakfast dish (scrambled eggs with cream cheese) was rather over-priced, not very hot and small. I didn't try the bar but it looked like a nice enough place to hang out. Overall, I'd probably try a different place next time, but if you're looking for a way to escape the craziness make sure you ask for a room that overlooks the courtyard or pool and not the street!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Bourbon Street is a short walk from the hotel. You don't have to walk much further to find less touristy places and it's worth going to explore.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DGK ALL DAY
Business
Boston, MA
Sep 19, 2012

Subpar

I have stayed at several Hyatt resorts however this location did not compare. It is recently updated with A very tasteful modern style and that was nice yet at the same time it's still not on point to the standers it should be. The gym was small but nice but pool was pathetic. Overall i would stay again but defiantly wouldn't be my first pick.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Louisiana pizza kitchen is great food at resenable price range. Staff isn't the most hospitable but it's Nola.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt French Quarter

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JSGV
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Sep 18, 2012

Construction on adjoinig closet ..

I arrived tired of my long trek and wanted to rest, to my surprise there was work going next to my room in a utility closet, and construction traffic in the alley leading to my room, too much noise and I brought to the front desk's attention and was ignoresd, construction continued he following day. The room was so remoted that I had to request to clean it up every day and It would not happen until 5 pm, they supposedly have a free newspaper...wel,l , I never got it. Bottled water in the room $4, WiFi $6.95 plus tax.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Landy W
Business
Houston, TX
Jul 31, 2012

Vacation Time

Great amenities, comfy bed, fridge in room, great location close to Bourbon but not loud, courteous staff, overall great hotel. Their in-house breakfast (eggs, meat, bread for $30/pp) was good but not worth the price. Luckily we got it for free with the room. My issues are with wi-fi and housekeeping. You have to pay for wi-fi (approx $11/day), so if you need wi-fi expect to pay. It's not even free in the lobby or other hotel areas. Housekeeping: On two of the days we were there, we left early (9am) to explore the city. When we got back at about 4pm the room still had not been cleaned. Housekeeping was on the floor and took another 15 mins or so to get to our room. The first housekeeper was courteous and efficient. Made sure we were satisfied. The second day, the housekeeper rushed in and took no more than 4-5 mins to clean the entire bathroom and make the bed (rather sloppily). We are used to having the room made before 5pm. Overall I still give this hotel 4 stars out of 5.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt French Quarter

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MIke and Cathy
Business
Santa Clarita Calif
Jul 13, 2012

Excessively overpriced

Cramped rooms, toliet paper role hit my arm as I sat. I don't think a big person would fit in the space at all. Outdated TV, water stains & burns on carpet. The staff was great and it's a nice location. There are a lot of nice places in and around the area try the Kenner or Metairie area, anywhere along the river or lake Pontchartiain all nice areas with easy public transportation. This palce for the cost? No, next time I go elsewhere. Have fun it's a great city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

take one of the cooking classes first. The food there was even better then some of the resturants. But then again the food at th resturants was great!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt French Quarter

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ladyslots
Business
Summervile, SC
Jul 11, 2012

poor customer service

When we booked this hotel it wa another name. And it was a suite. Once it changed over to hyatt no longer suites. They did not tell us that. Over charged and management was very rude. Will be writing the ceo of this company. Not a happy camper.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ
Business
WA
Jun 29, 2012

French Quarter

The hotel was great. The only two hiccups were: with 4 people in our room, we had only one trash can (it would've been better with one in the bathroom and one for the rest of the room); and the front desk almost never answered the phone when we called, and if they did, they would put us on hold indefinitely.... or just flat hang up on us. Not very good customer service in that regard. In person, they were great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt French Quarter

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ealonso
Business
Miami, FL
Jun 27, 2012

Awesome

Whent down to New Orleans for my Bday. Bilked hotel at last minute. Staff was excellent and very sweet. We were upgraded Tina bourbon st view room with a balcony. Ha an awesome experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bookgirl20
Business
Mission, Texas
Jun 26, 2012

Enjoyed our stay!

The room was a nice size and the beds and pillows were very comfortable. I loved the modern decor. We stayed on the third floor. The pool and fitness center were on the second floor. Nice and clean. We were one block from Bourbon street and had quick access to Harrah's. We just had to walk a few blocks. The city tour bus picked us up right in front of the hotel! Overall, we had a great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Was Fun
Business
Miami, FL
Jun 19, 2012

Good Hotel

Hotel is freshly renovated. Very clean and nice. I had a great time at this location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top