$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 1, 2015 Check-out: Mar 2, 2015

Hyatt French Quarter

4 stars
View map of 800 Iberville Street, Corners of Bourbon and Canal Streets, New Orleans, LA 70112

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
72 reviews
family get together

Thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Hyatt French Quarter. Great location, friendly and helpful staff.... See full review

  • MS girl
  • Feb 9, 2015
awesome trip!!

The best? location. Excellent!! At the core of French Quarter. You have access to the hotel from... See full review

  • Cecilia P.
  • Jan 20, 2015

The Hyatt French Quarter is a modern hotel slotted into a 19th century townhouse, emulating the Creole stylings of Bourbon Street in its earth-tone frontage. On-site restaurants offer a smorgasbord of regional fare, from the hickory tastes of the Red Fish Grill to the quick eats at Powdered Sugar; those hankering for something more familiar can go straight through to the Hard Rock Cafe from the hotel. Nurse a bourbon from the casks at the Batch Bar and mingle with other guests at the long sociable tables, or spend a healthier evening swimming the length of the outdoor pool and checking in at the 24-hour gym.

Key facts

  • 254 guestrooms
  • 10 conference and event spaces
  • Outdoor pool
  • Gym
  • 2 restaurants: Powdered Sugar and Red Fish Grill
  • Batch Bar
  • 24-hour room service
  • Wi-Fi access (fees may apply)
Neighborhood
Sitting in the heart of the French Quarter at Canal Street, the oldest neighborhood in New Orleans knows how to party. You'll find the focus of all the famed street music, dance and local eats is Bourbon Street, right next to the hotel; be sure to check out the jazz at Blue Nile while you're here. The ornamental lawns of Jackson Square and the steeples of St Louis Cathedral are within walking distance and, for those in town for a conference, the "Vieux Carre" conveniently borders the city's business district.
Hints and tips
Book a room with a balcony that overlooks Bourbon Street for the best view of the constantly fascinating boulevard.

If you're planning to visit New Orleans during Mardi Gras or the Jazz Festival, a room that faces the hotel's verdant garden courtyard or the atrium can offer a break from the joyful chaos of Bourbon Street.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hyatt French Quarter also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hyatt French Quarter Rooms

Standard
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Heated pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
24 hour room service
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Projector
Easel
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Preservation Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.4 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.2 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.6 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.7 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.6 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.6 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.3 mi

Dining

Hard Rock Cafe
Hard Rock New Orleans is a haven for fans of music, food and great times. Whether you are down for a Legendary Burger, Live Music, a Classic Tee, or the latest Collectible pin, there's something for everyone.
Powdered Sugar
Three meal market concept offering regional dishes, coffee program, grab and go selection, and retail/sundries. Will have a beverage program offering beer and wine. Counter service with limited table service.
Red Fish Grill
Casual New Orleans seafood dominates a menu peppered with Big Easy favorites like Hickory Grilled Redfish, BBQ Oysters, Alligator Sausage and Seafood Gumbo and a wide variety of Gulf fish available every night.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (72)

Ratings and reviews for Hyatt French Quarter

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
72 out of 72
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hyatt French Quarter

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
John a. s.
Chicago
Feb 23, 2013

excellent adventure

I could not ask for more. It was great. I suggest finding  parking elswhere. Was a bit much compared to other places but convienient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt French Quarter

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
John a. s.
Business
Chicago
Feb 23, 2013

excellent adventure

I could not ask for more. It was great. I suggest finding  parking elswhere. Was a bit much compared to other places but convienient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt French Quarter

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Curious Mike
Business
Brookville, Ohio
Feb 14, 2013

Perfect Getaway

Great location, friendly and helpful staff, we felt safe and were very comfortable. Mardi Gras is real experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the streetcars and buses or you will walk yourself silly.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Carmen Miranda
Business
Tallahassee, FL
Feb 10, 2013

Perfect Location

The location of this hotel was ideal. The room was amazing. Unfortunately, the staff didn't treat my group very well, whether it was because of our age or the fact that it was hectic due to Mardi Gras. Overall, good experience. Definitely worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt French Quarter

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
D Holleman
Business
Gulfport, Ms
Dec 13, 2012

Great Updated Hotel

We loved this place as one of our favorites. We are regulars in the FQ for 30 years.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mr. B's Bistro!!!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt French Quarter

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Billbob
Business
Jackson, MS
Dec 2, 2012

Good Hotel BUT.......

We go to New Orleans regularly, so this feedback may be a little long and detailed. If you want a nice quite hotel near Bourbon street, This may be for you. This is a very nice hotel. Quite, New and Clean. I'm giving it a 2 star because hotel/room description is very misleading. The room descriptions are very inaccurate. There are no rooms with a "view".The only views are of the hotel courtyards. So be wary of paying extra for rooms with a view. If you want a view of New Orleans stay at some other Hotel. This Hotel is only 4 stories high and has no views. next, this hotel is very close to Bourbon street but is not on it. It is 1 block off of Bourbon St. If you want to stay on Bourbon Street, This is not the place for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

1 Block from Bourbon Street & Restaurants

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Teeeee
Business
Dallas Texas
Nov 26, 2012

WHO DAT!? WHO DAT!? WHO DAT SAY DEEZE ROOMS AIN'T NICE!

Pictures do no justice. My air conditioning system made noise one night and they came and fixed it promptly! Hospitality was great aside "one" valet gentleman. I would give this place a 95 if they had microwaves. So lets say 94! Thanks for the hospitality!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Danies Seafood

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JWCAZ
Business
New River, AZ
Nov 16, 2012

Great Location, poor beds

The hotel itself is nicely restored, very clean. Great coffee bar for the AM. Nice bar, a little pricey. However, the beds are very uncomfortable. Hard, HARD! For almost $200 a night, I want a GOOD bed!! I woke up every hour, with either a sore back, or hip, or shoulder. 7AM arrived, finally!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Burbon Street is right there! If you are willing to put up with a poor nights sleep, it is very convenient!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt French Quarter

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CA Surfer
Business
Montecito, CA
Nov 7, 2012

Big surprise

We originally booked the Chateau-Bourbon-Wyndam hotel about 8 months before our stay and to finish off a Caribbean cruise on one of the Carnival ships. We were surprised on arrival to find a brand new Hyatt instead, a great surprise. The room was beautiful, the amenities had everything we needed. The only negative I can mention is that even though we were on the top floor the street noise during the night was quite substantial. They were working on the streets but we are not sure why it had to start at 4:00 AM, otherwise would recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt French Quarter

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Experiencer
Business
NY
Nov 3, 2012

Loved this hotel

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at this hotel and would stay here again. The room was immaculate, beautifully decorated and luxuriously furnished. In addition, the staff was nice, helpful and very service-oriented. The only things I would have liked to see was another trash can in the room (in addition to the small one in the bathroom) and a chair with a back (the room had couches and a stool). The food was really wonderful; there were many choices of meals, and dishes were carefully and attractively prepared. The room had it's own thermostat so one could easily control the temp or turn on the fan. One of the things I liked most about this Hyatt was it's great location - the heart of the French Quarter, with shops and restaurants all around it, even a CVS and a Walgreens!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

So many interesting shops to see, and lots of entertainment. There were Jazz performers all around. Restaurants had amazing French-based meals.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bulldog 44
Business
tallahassee fl
Oct 26, 2012

escape with wife

very nice hotel. great location. friendly & helpful staff. when i am staying in a $360.00 a night hotel i would think i should receive free parking not $36.00 a day especially when i am not notified until i get there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top