$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 27, 2014 Check-out: Nov 28, 2014

Hyatt French Quarter

4 stars
800 Iberville Street, Corners of Bourbon and Canal Streets, New Orleans, LA 70112
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
64 reviews
AMAZING

I've stayed in new Orleans several time. the Hyatt was one of my better experiences, the staff was... See full review

  • cme04c
  • Nov 3, 2014
Doesn't Get Any Better

Location is the key. On the corner of Iberville and Bourbon. Need I say anything more? Also has... See full review

  • Colorado Guido
  • Sep 16, 2014

The Hyatt French Quarter is a modern hotel slotted into a 19th century townhouse, emulating the Creole stylings of Bourbon Street in its earth-tone frontage. On-site restaurants offer a smorgasbord of regional fare, from the hickory tastes of the Red Fish Grill to the quick eats at Powdered Sugar; those hankering for something more familiar can go straight through to the Hard Rock Cafe from the hotel. Nurse a bourbon from the casks at the Batch Bar and mingle with other guests at the long sociable tables, or spend a healthier evening swimming the length of the outdoor pool and checking in at the 24-hour gym.

Key facts

  • 254 guestrooms
  • 10 conference and event spaces
  • Outdoor pool
  • Gym
  • 2 restaurants: Powdered Sugar and Red Fish Grill
  • Batch Bar
  • 24-hour room service
  • Wi-Fi access (fees may apply)
Neighborhood
Sitting in the heart of the French Quarter at Canal Street, the oldest neighborhood in New Orleans knows how to party. You'll find the focus of all the famed street music, dance and local eats is Bourbon Street, right next to the hotel; be sure to check out the jazz at Blue Nile while you're here. The ornamental lawns of Jackson Square and the steeples of St Louis Cathedral are within walking distance and, for those in town for a conference, the "Vieux Carre" conveniently borders the city's business district.
Hints and tips
Book a room with a balcony that overlooks Bourbon Street for the best view of the constantly fascinating boulevard.

If you're planning to visit New Orleans during Mardi Gras or the Jazz Festival, a room that faces the hotel's verdant garden courtyard or the atrium can offer a break from the joyful chaos of Bourbon Street.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hyatt French Quarter also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hyatt French Quarter Rooms

Standard
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Heated pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
24 hour room service
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Projector
Easel
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Preservation Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.4 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.2 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.6 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.7 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.6 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.6 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.3 mi

Dining

Hard Rock Cafe
Hard Rock New Orleans is a haven for fans of music, food and great times. Whether you are down for a Legendary Burger, Live Music, a Classic Tee, or the latest Collectible pin, there's something for everyone.
Powdered Sugar
Three meal market concept offering regional dishes, coffee program, grab and go selection, and retail/sundries. Will have a beverage program offering beer and wine. Counter service with limited table service.
Red Fish Grill
Casual New Orleans seafood dominates a menu peppered with Big Easy favorites like Hickory Grilled Redfish, BBQ Oysters, Alligator Sausage and Seafood Gumbo and a wide variety of Gulf fish available every night.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (64)

Ratings and reviews for Hyatt French Quarter

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
64 out of 64
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hyatt French Quarter

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Experiencer
Business
NY
Nov 3, 2012

Loved this hotel

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at this hotel and would stay here again. The room was immaculate, beautifully decorated and luxuriously furnished. In addition, the staff was nice, helpful and very service-oriented. The only things I would have liked to see was another trash can in the room (in addition to the small one in the bathroom) and a chair with a back (the room had couches and a stool). The food was really wonderful; there were many choices of meals, and dishes were carefully and attractively prepared. The room had it's own thermostat so one could easily control the temp or turn on the fan. One of the things I liked most about this Hyatt was it's great location - the heart of the French Quarter, with shops and restaurants all around it, even a CVS and a Walgreens!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

So many interesting shops to see, and lots of entertainment. There were Jazz performers all around. Restaurants had amazing French-based meals.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bulldog 44
Business
tallahassee fl
Oct 26, 2012

escape with wife

very nice hotel. great location. friendly & helpful staff. when i am staying in a $360.00 a night hotel i would think i should receive free parking not $36.00 a day especially when i am not notified until i get there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
simonowis
Business
Burbank, CA
Oct 3, 2012

Clean, modern and some good stuff.

The hotel lacks any kind of New Orleans charm but you step right outside the front door and you're steps away. Maybe this is good. New Orleans is a rather immersive experience most times of the year. This hotel is modern, with great quality, new furnishings and very clean. Some might find it sterile but I liked it. I was booked into a king room on the second floor (for my fellow Brits, that means the floor one up from the ground floor). The ceilings on this floor are nice and high. It definitely gives those rooms a certain feel. Unfortunately, my room overlooked the street - not a street with bars or much nightlife, but rather a non-descript (for the French Quarter) commercial street. The first night seemed fine but I was so exhausted that I slept through what became clear around 5am of my second night was a nightly ritual of emptying of roughly forty huge trash cans outside my window. On rising I immediately asked for a room in a quieter location which was granted with a nice apology and a rapid exchange. The staff are friendly and helpful. The little cafe "Powdered Sugar" is good for coffee and pastries. The one time I had a breakfast dish (scrambled eggs with cream cheese) was rather over-priced, not very hot and small. I didn't try the bar but it looked like a nice enough place to hang out. Overall, I'd probably try a different place next time, but if you're looking for a way to escape the craziness make sure you ask for a room that overlooks the courtyard or pool and not the street!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Bourbon Street is a short walk from the hotel. You don't have to walk much further to find less touristy places and it's worth going to explore.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DGK ALL DAY
Business
Boston, MA
Sep 19, 2012

Subpar

I have stayed at several Hyatt resorts however this location did not compare. It is recently updated with A very tasteful modern style and that was nice yet at the same time it's still not on point to the standers it should be. The gym was small but nice but pool was pathetic. Overall i would stay again but defiantly wouldn't be my first pick.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Louisiana pizza kitchen is great food at resenable price range. Staff isn't the most hospitable but it's Nola.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt French Quarter

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JSGV
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Sep 18, 2012

Construction on adjoinig closet ..

I arrived tired of my long trek and wanted to rest, to my surprise there was work going next to my room in a utility closet, and construction traffic in the alley leading to my room, too much noise and I brought to the front desk's attention and was ignoresd, construction continued he following day. The room was so remoted that I had to request to clean it up every day and It would not happen until 5 pm, they supposedly have a free newspaper...wel,l , I never got it. Bottled water in the room $4, WiFi $6.95 plus tax.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Landy W
Business
Houston, TX
Jul 31, 2012

Vacation Time

Great amenities, comfy bed, fridge in room, great location close to Bourbon but not loud, courteous staff, overall great hotel. Their in-house breakfast (eggs, meat, bread for $30/pp) was good but not worth the price. Luckily we got it for free with the room. My issues are with wi-fi and housekeeping. You have to pay for wi-fi (approx $11/day), so if you need wi-fi expect to pay. It's not even free in the lobby or other hotel areas. Housekeeping: On two of the days we were there, we left early (9am) to explore the city. When we got back at about 4pm the room still had not been cleaned. Housekeeping was on the floor and took another 15 mins or so to get to our room. The first housekeeper was courteous and efficient. Made sure we were satisfied. The second day, the housekeeper rushed in and took no more than 4-5 mins to clean the entire bathroom and make the bed (rather sloppily). We are used to having the room made before 5pm. Overall I still give this hotel 4 stars out of 5.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt French Quarter

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MIke and Cathy
Business
Santa Clarita Calif
Jul 13, 2012

Excessively overpriced

Cramped rooms, toliet paper role hit my arm as I sat. I don't think a big person would fit in the space at all. Outdated TV, water stains & burns on carpet. The staff was great and it's a nice location. There are a lot of nice places in and around the area try the Kenner or Metairie area, anywhere along the river or lake Pontchartiain all nice areas with easy public transportation. This palce for the cost? No, next time I go elsewhere. Have fun it's a great city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

take one of the cooking classes first. The food there was even better then some of the resturants. But then again the food at th resturants was great!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt French Quarter

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ladyslots
Business
Summervile, SC
Jul 11, 2012

poor customer service

When we booked this hotel it wa another name. And it was a suite. Once it changed over to hyatt no longer suites. They did not tell us that. Over charged and management was very rude. Will be writing the ceo of this company. Not a happy camper.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ
Business
WA
Jun 29, 2012

French Quarter

The hotel was great. The only two hiccups were: with 4 people in our room, we had only one trash can (it would've been better with one in the bathroom and one for the rest of the room); and the front desk almost never answered the phone when we called, and if they did, they would put us on hold indefinitely.... or just flat hang up on us. Not very good customer service in that regard. In person, they were great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt French Quarter

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ealonso
Business
Miami, FL
Jun 27, 2012

Awesome

Whent down to New Orleans for my Bday. Bilked hotel at last minute. Staff was excellent and very sweet. We were upgraded Tina bourbon st view room with a balcony. Ha an awesome experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top