$111 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 6, 2014 Check-out: Aug 8, 2014

Hyatt French Quarter

4 stars
800 Iberville Street, Corners of Bourbon and Canal Streets, New Orleans, LA 70112
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
56 reviews
Definitely would return!

Location and room was ideal. I plan to return to this hotel! See full review

  • Smcn
  • May 6, 2014
Fun vacation

We really had the most wonderful experience at this hotel. After a long day of flight cancellation... See full review

  • J.higgins
  • Mar 1, 2014

The Hyatt French Quarter is a modern hotel slotted into a 19th century townhouse, emulating the Creole stylings of Bourbon Street in its earth-tone frontage. On-site restaurants offer a smorgasbord of regional fare, from the hickory tastes of the Red Fish Grill to the quick eats at Powdered Sugar; those hankering for something more familiar can go straight through to the Hard Rock Cafe from the hotel. Nurse a bourbon from the casks at the Batch Bar and mingle with other guests at the long sociable tables, or spend a healthier evening swimming the length of the outdoor pool and checking in at the 24-hour gym.

Key facts

  • 254 guestrooms
  • 10 conference and event spaces
  • Outdoor pool
  • Gym
  • 2 restaurants: Powdered Sugar and Red Fish Grill
  • Batch Bar
  • 24-hour room service
  • Wi-Fi access (fees may apply)
Neighborhood
Sitting in the heart of the French Quarter at Canal Street, the oldest neighborhood in New Orleans knows how to party. You'll find the focus of all the famed street music, dance and local eats is Bourbon Street, right next to the hotel; be sure to check out the jazz at Blue Nile while you're here. The ornamental lawns of Jackson Square and the steeples of St Louis Cathedral are within walking distance and, for those in town for a conference, the "Vieux Carre" conveniently borders the city's business district.
Hints and tips
Book a room with a balcony that overlooks Bourbon Street for the best view of the constantly fascinating boulevard.

If you're planning to visit New Orleans during Mardi Gras or the Jazz Festival, a room that faces the hotel's verdant garden courtyard or the atrium can offer a break from the joyful chaos of Bourbon Street.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hyatt French Quarter Rooms

Standard
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
24 hour room service
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Projector
Easel
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hyatt French Quarter also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.9547 -90.0691
Nearby airports
Louis Armstrong New Orleans Intl. Airport, (MSY), 12.90, MI, S;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.3 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.4 mi
  • Storyville: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.6 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.7 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.7 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.3 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.4 mi
  • Storyville: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.6 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.7 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.7 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.4 mi
  • East Tennessee Historical Center: 1.6 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.2 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.6 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.7 mi
  • Amistad Research Center: 3.2 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.6 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.6 mi
  • State Capital Publishing Museum: 3.9 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.3 mi
  • Six Flags New Orleans: 10.4 mi

Dining

Hard Rock Cafe
Hard Rock New Orleans is a haven for fans of music, food and great times. Whether you are down for a Legendary Burger, Live Music, a Classic Tee, or the latest Collectible pin, there's something for everyone.
Powdered Sugar
Three meal market concept offering regional dishes, coffee program, grab and go selection, and retail/sundries. Will have a beverage program offering beer and wine. Counter service with limited table service.
Red Fish Grill
Casual New Orleans seafood dominates a menu peppered with Big Easy favorites like Hickory Grilled Redfish, BBQ Oysters, Alligator Sausage and Seafood Gumbo and a wide variety of Gulf fish available every night.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (56)

Ratings and reviews for Hyatt French Quarter

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
56 out of 56
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hyatt French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ
WA
Jun 29, 2012

French Quarter

The hotel was great. The only two hiccups were: with 4 people in our room, we had only one trash can (it would've been better with one in the bathroom and one for the rest of the room); and the front desk almost never answered the phone when we called, and if they did, they would put us on hold indefinitely.... or just flat hang up on us. Not very good customer service in that regard. In person, they were great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hyatt French Quarter

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ealonso
Miami, FL
Jun 27, 2012

Awesome

Whent down to New Orleans for my Bday. Bilked hotel at last minute. Staff was excellent and very sweet. We were upgraded Tina bourbon st view room with a balcony. Ha an awesome experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hyatt French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bookgirl20
Mission, Texas
Jun 26, 2012

Enjoyed our stay!

The room was a nice size and the beds and pillows were very comfortable. I loved the modern decor. We stayed on the third floor. The pool and fitness center were on the second floor. Nice and clean. We were one block from Bourbon street and had quick access to Harrah's. We just had to walk a few blocks. The city tour bus picked us up right in front of the hotel! Overall, we had a great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hyatt French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Was Fun
Miami, FL
Jun 19, 2012

Good Hotel

Hotel is freshly renovated. Very clean and nice. I had a great time at this location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hyatt French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Homesick for NOLA
Kentucky
Jun 15, 2012

Excellent Stay in the Big Easy

Hotel was excellent. Clean, newly renovated, and extremely spacious rooms. Staff was friendly and helpful. Location is excellent for touring Canal Street and the French Quarters. We walked everywhere we needed to visit. I would definitely revisit the Hyatt in the French Quarters.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hyatt French Quarter

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ildi
Auburn, AL
Jun 4, 2012

Comfort and luxury

One of the best hotels we've used in our 30+ visits to New Orleans. Spacious room, gorgeous foyer, extremely friendly personnel, quiet street yet close to French Quarter

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Must see - Preservation Hall and Pat O'Brien's piano bar.

Review of Hyatt French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LeighTravels
St. Louis, MO
May 25, 2012

Wonderful upgrades!

I was a little worried that the hotel renovations wouldn't be completed by the time we came to NOLA (May 18th) but I booked it anyone in hopes they would be. I couldn't be more happy that I did!! We loved this hotel!! The rooms were modern, with gorgeous high ceilings and so comfortable. And the location cannot be beat! Within walking distance of everything you could want to do in the French Quarter. Our only "complaint" (if you can call it that) is that we were unaware that the hotel was now called "The Hyatt French Quarter". We walked up and down the street a few times looking for Chateau Bourbon Wyndham Hotel! The staff is friendly and more than willing to answer any questions you may have. Would not only recommend this hotel to a friend, but would stay there again in a heart beat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hyatt French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NYCT
New York
May 24, 2012

Nice Place

Nice quiet, clean place close enough to enjoy all that Bourbon Street and New Orleans has to offer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hyatt French Quarter

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Vassya
San Diego
May 11, 2012

Construction and front desk lies

We stayed 3 nights. Morning 1: knocking, dragging, carpet removing like sound came from the room upstairs at 7 am till noon. Complained and was told by Moreen, the manager, that there was nothing going on. Morning 2: 7:25 am construction noise started in the room upstairs. Called front desk again and was told again that nothing was going on. The noise was lighter and stopped at 9:30. Went to take a shower, but guess there was not hot water. Moreen said that this was city issue on which they were working on. If it is a city issue what a hotel can do? And does the city warm up the water?! I turned on the TV & messages came up: pool closed, bar closed, lobby has 4 chairs and still in construction. Night 3: still not hot water; fire alarm went off at 1:30 am. I jumped a foot from my bed with my heart pounding what's up. It turns to be FALSE! On the check out day the bill shows up under our door full priced. During the 2 days we received a notice that access of our room was needed for construction. Vale is $34/day and you do not have many other options to park car. The guys are either 4-5 waiting or noone. The hotel restaurant "Red Fish" has oily but tasty food, however it's mega noisy. The hotel seems that will change name to Hyatt, but I doubt that the squeaky floors and the restaurant smell on the 3rd floor in the hallway will go away... as well as the only AC vent in the room beating your face with cold air while you are in bed. The staff overall did their best, except the lies that Moreen was coming up with. She tried to put us in in a quieter room so I do not imagine what the rest of the guests had. The working people of NO are quite sweet and nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Hyatt French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kathi6778
Seattle, WA, USA
Mar 7, 2012

Hotel Experience

There were a few issues that came up that bothered me. Our Cheap Tickets voucher stated we would have a room with two queens and ended up with a King. It would have been really helpful if the bathroom had a fan and hooks on the door. Saturday we chose not to have maid service but Sunday they did not show up and I had to call.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top