$98 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 7, 2015

Hotel St. Marie

3 stars
827 Toulouse Street, New Orleans, LA 70112
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
291 reviews
Best stay ever!

The St. Marie was accommodating in every way. 1/2 block from all of the entertainment on Bourbon... See full review

  • Traveler500
  • Aug 25, 2014
Friendly staff, excellent location

All the staff at St Marie were extremely nice and helpfull. Room was very clean, bed was comfy and... See full review

  • Missy Smith
  • Jun 2, 2014
Most rooms at this French Quarter value hotel have scenic balconies
The Hotel St. Marie appeals to visitors who are coming to New Orleans for fun but are also watching their wallets. This French Quarter value hotel has spacious and comfortable rooms. The music, bars and nightlife of Bourbon Street are a block away.
Highlights
  • Courtyard pool
  • One block to Bourbon Street
  • All rooms are smoke-free
Rooms

All 99 rooms and suites at the Hotel St. Marie are large and tastefully decorated. Most have balconies overlooking the French Quarter or the serene courtyard. All Hotel St. Marie rooms offer a coffee maker, hairdryer, cable TV, alarm clock, iron and ironing board, and a daily newspaper.

Features

Hillery's on Toulouse at Hotel St. Marie offers courtyard dining for dinner and cocktails nightly.  Bistro Moise is open for lunch.  Room service is available along with 24-hour concierge service. Children under 12 stay free at Hotel St. Marie. Valet parking is available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (12 miles)
Attractions
  • French Quarter
  • Bourbon Street
  • Royal Street antiques and art galleries
Business
  • Meeting space for groups up to 200

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel St. Marie also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel St. Marie Rooms

Deluxe King Bed
One king bed in a deluxe room. All rooms feature coffee maker, hairdryer, direct dial phone with voicemail, cable TV, alarm clock, individual climate control, iron and ironing board, complimentary newspaper and daily maid service. All rooms are Non-Smoking.
Deluxe Two Double Beds
Two double beds in a deluxe room. All rooms feature coffee maker, hairdryer, direct dial phone with voicemail, cable TV, alarm clock, individual climate control, iron and ironing board, complimentary newspaper and daily maid service. Many rooms also feature balconies, based on availability only. All rooms are Non-Smoking.
Balcony Room
Two double beds in a deluxe room with a view of tropical courtyard or French Quarter. All rooms feature coffee maker, hairdryer, direct dial phone with voicemail, cable TV, alarm clock, individual climate control, iron and ironing board, complimentary newspaper and daily maid service. All rooms are Non-Smoking.

Amenities

  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Services
Conference facilities
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Preservation Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.1 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.2 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.6 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.7 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.7 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 1 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.1 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.2 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.6 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.7 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.7 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 1 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.6 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 1.9 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.5 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.6 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.1 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.4 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.8 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.6 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.1 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting space available, can accommodate up to 100 people. Pool & tropical courtyard and on-site.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (291)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel St. Marie

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
14 out of 291
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel St. Marie

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tripsss
Business
texas
May 6, 2014

Great

I come every year for Mardi Gras and this hotel was the first time I stayed this close to the strip. It was literally not even a block from the strip. I had the two bed room. Room had a two chairs, table, drawer, and iron and ironing board. The location was perfect because if you needed to go to the restroom from the strip you can just go to your room real quick like I did and then head back to the festivities. I did this because usually the restrooms at the bars are always horrible and you cant even take a number 2 if you need to. The place also had a restrauant and room service, valet. They give you a wrist band during mardi gras so they know which ones belong there at the hotel and which ones do not. Overall great place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a little store on the same street like few doors down that sells regular store stuff like cigs, soda, chips, etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel St. Marie

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
May 9, 2011

Great location. Not so great hotel..

Great location and staff. Room is spacious with a good view of the street. Free internet in the room. However, I found a used soap in the shower soap dish. Makes me wonder if they clean the bathroom in between guests. The room smells a little bad but not awful. I guess you get what you pay for. I stayed at the Sheraton in Canal St few nights ago and the contrast is striking. However, hotel St. Marie is not bad for the price. Would recommend this hotel, but would let a friend what he is getting into.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel St. Marie

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
CT
Mar 11, 2011

Nice Place

Close to the action of Bourbon St. but very Quiet

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Just down the road

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel St. Marie

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
crestview, fl
Mar 1, 2011

good location

the hotel is located right off the Bourbon street, my room was headed that direction too, so I did hear the noise from that street. besides some people were partying in the hallway at 2 am, so they kept me awake. after calling the receptionist, things got quiet.what was really nice, they let me have my vehicle parked in their garage after check out time until 3 pm for no extra charge. also there is a nessessary valet parking for almost 30 $ on top of the hotel rate. i really liked nice classy room though

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel St. Marie

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlotte, NC
Jan 31, 2011

Perfect Location

I thought the hotel was in the best location for everything especially Bourbon St. As far as the room goes some of the end tables were a little dusty which irrated my allergies a bit. Wasn't sure if the bathroom had been swept because there were traces of black hair on the floor. The staff was really friendly though and we were less than a block away from Bourbon St. Considering we were gone most of the day it suited my purpose. If you are looking to spend a lot of time in your room this may not be the spot for you. Not a lot of ammenities from what I could see. If you want a decent place to shower and sleep while being close to the action this is your place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

We were within a ten min. walk from Jackson square, maybe 15 to 20 min walk from Harrahs Casino and the french market.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel St. Marie

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jack Racham
Business
Baton Rouge, LA
Dec 27, 2009

Hotel is good[...]

[...] the Hotel St. Marie neglected to mention that parking is an additional $25 per day. Phone calls are about $5 each. Shame on me for not asking, but be aware that the hotel was very careful not to mention anything about parking, phone calls or any of the other extra items you can be charged for. Be sure to examine your bill, as I discovered several phone calls I didn't make but that I was charged for. The staff removed them, but only after I complained.The free continental breakfast is worth exactly what you pay for it. The coffee is colored water, the pastries are terrible. If you really want breakfast, you'll have to go somewhere else for it.The Hotel St. Marie is one block from Bourbon St., so if noise keeps you awake nights then get a different hotel. The racket from Bourbon permeates the entire hotel, but the rooms numbered 600 and up are the worst. Naturally these are the rooms rented first. I stayed in 600 and asked for a different room after the first night. I got one on the fourth floor which was a little better, but only a little.The entire hotel has walls that are paper thin so you can clearly hear the neighbors coming and going, using the rest room and doing other things that you might not want to explain to your kids.If none of this bothers you and you want to be close to Bourbon Street, then this hotel is a viable choice. The staff is pleasant and helpful. Otherwise, forget it. There are better places to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at Sammy's Steak and Lobster. The food and service are great, and the price is reasonable - but remember you're in the French Quarter.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel St. Marie

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ed H on adventure
Business
Chattanooga TN
Sep 23, 2009

Unbeatable location for the Price

The St Marie hotel Has a wonderful location. The Hotel staff gave me Directions and were very friendly. Shops, places to eat have a drink are all just a short walk away! Bourbon street is so close! Get up In the Morning walk to Cafe Du Monde for famous coffee and beignets with all the charm of a street musician playing his trumpet for tips. Don't Miss the Old Opera house for some great drinks and Music. Fritzel's European Jazz club has the best "hot jazz" sound in the French Quarter and the Bar tender will show you how to Drink Absinthe the New Orleans way!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel St. Marie

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jim Laughlin
Business
Edgewood, Ky
May 8, 2009

I'll be back

I was upgraded to a balcony over looking the pool, so don't know about a std room. The room I had and hotel was great, quiet, clean and close to Bourbon St. I think the staff could have been a bit more friendly but other than that the place was great. Nice court yard with pool and lots of greenery. Yes I would go back and also recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Razoo's bar on Bourbon street is a great bar. Get 3 beers for the price of one ($5.75) from 4 til 9. Great band starts at 8. One of the best bars on Bourbon St.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel St. Marie

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Nov 25, 2008

Great Value

Hotel St Marie is a great location if you want to explore the French Quarter. Only a few steps from Bourbon Street. Walking distance to numerous restaurants, clubs and music venues. I have stayed in both types of rooms, the balcony rooms are worth a few extra bucks and seem a bit more spacious. The staff is extremely friendly. Check in and checkout time gets a bit hectic at the front desk, so try to check in/out a bit early or late to save some time. Amenities were a bit outdated, but for everything was functional and clean. For the rates, this is likely the best value in the quarter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A number of good choices, just a couple of blocks to Gumbo Shop (excellent etouffee and chicken espagnola), Royal Blend has great coffee for breakfast and Bourbon House has great oysters.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel St. Marie

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wilmington
Oct 21, 2008

Hotel St. Marie

The Hotel St. Marie is a very welcoming hotel in the heart of the French Quarter. The staff is prompt and curtious. The manager is a gem. I cannot imagine stayting anywhere else in New Orleans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You will not need a taxi for dining, shopping and recreation. All you need is just steps from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top