$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 22, 2014 Check-out: Sep 23, 2014

Hotel St. Marie

3 stars
827 Toulouse Street, New Orleans, LA 70112
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
289 reviews
Best stay ever!

The St. Marie was accommodating in every way. 1/2 block from all of the entertainment on Bourbon... See full review

  • Traveler500
  • Aug 25, 2014
Friendly staff, excellent location

All the staff at St Marie were extremely nice and helpfull. Room was very clean, bed was comfy and... See full review

  • Missy Smith
  • Jun 2, 2014
Most rooms at this French Quarter value hotel have scenic balconies
The Hotel St. Marie appeals to visitors who are coming to New Orleans for fun but are also watching their wallets. This French Quarter value hotel has spacious and comfortable rooms. The music, bars and nightlife of Bourbon Street are a block away.
Highlights
  • Courtyard pool
  • One block to Bourbon Street
  • All rooms are smoke-free
Rooms

All 99 rooms and suites at the Hotel St. Marie are large and tastefully decorated. Most have balconies overlooking the French Quarter or the serene courtyard. All Hotel St. Marie rooms offer a coffee maker, hairdryer, cable TV, alarm clock, iron and ironing board, and a daily newspaper.

Features

Hillery's on Toulouse at Hotel St. Marie offers courtyard dining for dinner and cocktails nightly.  Bistro Moise is open for lunch.  Room service is available along with 24-hour concierge service. Children under 12 stay free at Hotel St. Marie. Valet parking is available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (12 miles)
Attractions
  • French Quarter
  • Bourbon Street
  • Royal Street antiques and art galleries
Business
  • Meeting space for groups up to 200

Hotel Map

29.958 -90.0666
Area served
Located in the heart of the French Quarter, just steps from Bourbon Street.
Nearby airports
MSY - Louis Armstrong International Airport.
Area description
Take I-10 to New Orleans, Exit 235A, "Orleans Avenue/Vieux Carre". Proceed on Orleans Avenue. Move into your left lane. Proceed 2 blocks on Orleans Avenue. Take a left U-Turn at the sign, "N. Rampart via Toulouse Street". Veer right for one block to Rampart Street. Veer right onto Toulouse Street. Proceed three blocks down Toulouse to the Hotel St Marie at 827 Toulouse Street. The hotel is on your left. Please park in the hotel garage adjacent to the hotel.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel St. Marie also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel St. Marie Rooms

Deluxe King Bed
One king bed in a deluxe room. All rooms feature coffee maker, hairdryer, direct dial phone with voicemail, cable TV, alarm clock, individual climate control, iron and ironing board, complimentary newspaper and daily maid service. All rooms are Non-Smoking.
Deluxe Two Double Beds
Two double beds in a deluxe room. All rooms feature coffee maker, hairdryer, direct dial phone with voicemail, cable TV, alarm clock, individual climate control, iron and ironing board, complimentary newspaper and daily maid service. Many rooms also feature balconies, based on availability only. All rooms are Non-Smoking.
Balcony Room
Two double beds in a deluxe room with a view of tropical courtyard or French Quarter. All rooms feature coffee maker, hairdryer, direct dial phone with voicemail, cable TV, alarm clock, individual climate control, iron and ironing board, complimentary newspaper and daily maid service. All rooms are Non-Smoking.

Amenities

  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Services
Conference facilities
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Preservation Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.1 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.2 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.6 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.7 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.7 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 1 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.1 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.2 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.6 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.7 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.7 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 1 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.6 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 1.9 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.5 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.6 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.1 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.4 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.8 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.6 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.1 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting space available, can accommodate up to 100 people. Pool & tropical courtyard and on-site.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (289)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel St. Marie

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
53 out of 289
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel St. Marie

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Traveler500
New York, NY
Aug 25, 2014

Best stay ever!

The St. Marie was accommodating in every way. 1/2 block from all of the entertainment on Bourbon St. Superb staff!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel St. Marie

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chench
Denver, CO
Jul 13, 2014

Center of it all

The location is perfect. Clean room with comfy bed. Very small pool but has charm with nice staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel St. Marie

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chench
Denver, CO
Apr 24, 2014

Location!!!

For being an older hotel it kept its charm and was very clean. No need to ever take a cab to the attractions. Trolley, cable car and walking distance to everything. A block from Burbon St. But not noisy. I did stay during the week so it might be different on weekends. The pool was small and very cold. The beds were really comfortable. I would recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel St. Marie

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
IsabelleG
Connecticut
Feb 5, 2014

Great location

Great location- central French Quarters, but removed enough from Bourbon that you wouldn't hear any street noise. Everything is walking distance and easily accessible

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel St. Marie

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mo1962
Streetsboro, Oh
Dec 7, 2013

In the heart of the French Quarter

Great Location, everything in Walking distance. The room was nice but the Party that lasted till 7 am in the next room was a bit much. I get that its New Orleans, and the French Quarter, but it was Sunday night and really really loud. We had booked the room earlier in the day and when we arrived they 3 hours later they still didn't have the reservation from this site, Which contrasted the night before at a hotel where I literally booked the room in the parking lot, walked in and they had it already. The guy at the desk was very rude. Kept saying they would have it if we booked directly. I wouldn't have known about the hotel if it hadn't been for the recommendations on this site. The room was great for the price. beds were comfortable and overall it was a great time in the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ask the locals where to eat, the staff at the hotel, not the desk people, they will steer you right,

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel St. Marie

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tracey2
Tacoma WA
Sep 18, 2013

Jim

Fit our plans perfectly. Great location, quiet, reasonable, and with helpful staff. Good breakfast,coffee at hotel cafe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel St. Marie

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jean Lopez
Winter Haven, FL
Apr 20, 2013

Hotel St. Marie, New Orleans

This hotel smell. The carpet is too dirty. Bed is not very comfortable. Many of the towel are not white. The location is great. The restaurant right down stair was great but pricey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel St. Marie

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
best dad ever 2012
waukegan illinois
Aug 9, 2012

relaxing getaway

Karl at the front desk was extremely nice and helpful. They booked everything and I didnt have to worry about anything. I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel St. Marie

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Essence Diva
Rochester, New York
Jul 13, 2012

Essence Music Festival Weekend

I reserved the hotel through a travel agent for the Essence Music Festival for our first three nights. The rate during the festival was $300 per night. My cousin and I decided to stay an extra night because the airfare was cheaper to leave on Tuesday instead of Monday. I made the reservation online and the rate dropped to $99 per night. I understand that hotels will increase rates during Essence weekend, but I don't think this hotel ranks a $300 per night rate. The restaurant and bar in the hotel were very nice and the staff was extremely accommodating and friendly. The servers in the restaurant remembered us each morning and recalled what hot beverages we wanted with our breakfasts. The housekeeping staff was pleasant and one housekeeper tracked down my cousin when she left her cell phone in the room. It has a beautiful courtyard with a pool, but it was old and not very well maintained. I was surprised to see people swimming in it. The rooms are not much to write home about and the bathrooms need a lot of updating. The ceiling in the shower/bathtub area had mold and the fixtures were dingy and grimy. The televisions and radios in the rooms are very dated. The location is perfect; right around the corner from Bourbon Street and only a few blocks (walking distance) to Cafe Du Monde and Canal Street. In all, it's an okay hotel and I had the French Quarter experience, but my next visit will be in a more modern, updated hotel. I WOULD recommend this hotel to a friend, but remind them that it's an older building in the French Quarter and not as modern as most.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you walk down Toulouse, crossing Bourbon Street (about five blocks at most), it takes you directly to the river and Cafe Du Monde. There are dozens of wonderful shops and restaurants in the area... away from the Bourbon Street crowds.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel St. Marie

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Foleystravels
Louisville, KY, USA
Jul 13, 2012

Ruined vacation!

Made reservations three months in advance and paid for balcony upgrade, they stuck us in the worst room possible! The balcony upgrade I paid extra for got us a courtyard corner view when we begged for a better room they said we didn't pay for an upgrade and they were sold out. The room smelled so bad of mold we had to leave the door open at all times. The a/c leaked on the carpet the whole time and the carpet turned my daughters feet black. NEVER again will we stay here!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search