$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 10, 2015 Check-out: Feb 11, 2015

Hotel St. Marie

3 stars
827 Toulouse Street, New Orleans, LA 70112
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
294 reviews
Reunion trip

Hotel was a little banged up like scratches on the door and a light didnt work. However the... See full review

  • Steve
  • Dec 30, 2014
Best stay ever!

The St. Marie was accommodating in every way. 1/2 block from all of the entertainment on Bourbon... See full review

  • Traveler500
  • Aug 25, 2014
Most rooms at this French Quarter value hotel have scenic balconies
The Hotel St. Marie appeals to visitors who are coming to New Orleans for fun but are also watching their wallets. This French Quarter value hotel has spacious and comfortable rooms. The music, bars and nightlife of Bourbon Street are a block away.
Highlights
  • Courtyard pool
  • One block to Bourbon Street
  • All rooms are smoke-free
Rooms

All 99 rooms and suites at the Hotel St. Marie are large and tastefully decorated. Most have balconies overlooking the French Quarter or the serene courtyard. All Hotel St. Marie rooms offer a coffee maker, hairdryer, cable TV, alarm clock, iron and ironing board, and a daily newspaper.

Features

Hillery's on Toulouse at Hotel St. Marie offers courtyard dining for dinner and cocktails nightly.  Bistro Moise is open for lunch.  Room service is available along with 24-hour concierge service. Children under 12 stay free at Hotel St. Marie. Valet parking is available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (12 miles)
Attractions
  • French Quarter
  • Bourbon Street
  • Royal Street antiques and art galleries
Business
  • Meeting space for groups up to 200

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel St. Marie also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel St. Marie Rooms

Deluxe King Bed
One king bed in a deluxe room. All rooms feature coffee maker, hairdryer, direct dial phone with voicemail, cable TV, alarm clock, individual climate control, iron and ironing board, complimentary newspaper and daily maid service. All rooms are Non-Smoking.
Deluxe Two Double Beds
Two double beds in a deluxe room. All rooms feature coffee maker, hairdryer, direct dial phone with voicemail, cable TV, alarm clock, individual climate control, iron and ironing board, complimentary newspaper and daily maid service. Many rooms also feature balconies, based on availability only. All rooms are Non-Smoking.
Balcony Room
Two double beds in a deluxe room with a view of tropical courtyard or French Quarter. All rooms feature coffee maker, hairdryer, direct dial phone with voicemail, cable TV, alarm clock, individual climate control, iron and ironing board, complimentary newspaper and daily maid service. All rooms are Non-Smoking.

Amenities

  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Services
Conference facilities
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Preservation Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.1 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.2 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.6 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.7 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.7 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 1 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.1 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.2 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.6 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.7 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.7 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 1 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.6 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 1.9 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.5 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.6 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.1 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.4 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.8 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.6 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.1 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting space available, can accommodate up to 100 people. Pool & tropical courtyard and on-site.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (294)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel St. Marie

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
294 out of 294
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel St. Marie

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Theron V.
Business
New Orleans
Aug 21, 2012

Accomodations are close to Bourbon and that is all.

The St. Marie is around the corner from the heart of Bourbon but feels more removed and allows for tranquility. The courtyard is beautiful but the hotel itself is seriously outdated. For some, that gives it a rustic, boutique hotel feel but others it may seem run down. The hallways are not well lit and the t.v. is an old box top; which was actually funny to see. Lastly, the beds are only okay and there is only one elevator. When it broke we took some creepy stairs in the back of the building. I was at the hotel for a batchelor weekend and did not spend time in the room so please consider what you are staying at this hotel for and your stay will be great or disappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fahy's Irish pub is a great little watering hole on Dauphine street just two blocks from the hotel with cheap drinks and a neighborhood atmosphere.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel St. Marie

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lesley13
Business
North Carolina
Aug 11, 2012

Great location

Wonderful location, one block from Bourbon Street yet quiet. Friendly and knowledgeable staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel St. Marie

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
best dad ever 2012
Business
waukegan illinois
Aug 9, 2012

relaxing getaway

Karl at the front desk was extremely nice and helpful. They booked everything and I didnt have to worry about anything. I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel St. Marie

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tar Heel Wendy
Business
Jacksonville, Fl
Aug 7, 2012

hotel

The hotel is perfectly located....within walking distance of everything we needed!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel St. Marie

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Essence Diva
Business
Rochester, New York
Jul 13, 2012

Essence Music Festival Weekend

I reserved the hotel through a travel agent for the Essence Music Festival for our first three nights. The rate during the festival was $300 per night. My cousin and I decided to stay an extra night because the airfare was cheaper to leave on Tuesday instead of Monday. I made the reservation online and the rate dropped to $99 per night. I understand that hotels will increase rates during Essence weekend, but I don't think this hotel ranks a $300 per night rate. The restaurant and bar in the hotel were very nice and the staff was extremely accommodating and friendly. The servers in the restaurant remembered us each morning and recalled what hot beverages we wanted with our breakfasts. The housekeeping staff was pleasant and one housekeeper tracked down my cousin when she left her cell phone in the room. It has a beautiful courtyard with a pool, but it was old and not very well maintained. I was surprised to see people swimming in it. The rooms are not much to write home about and the bathrooms need a lot of updating. The ceiling in the shower/bathtub area had mold and the fixtures were dingy and grimy. The televisions and radios in the rooms are very dated. The location is perfect; right around the corner from Bourbon Street and only a few blocks (walking distance) to Cafe Du Monde and Canal Street. In all, it's an okay hotel and I had the French Quarter experience, but my next visit will be in a more modern, updated hotel. I WOULD recommend this hotel to a friend, but remind them that it's an older building in the French Quarter and not as modern as most.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you walk down Toulouse, crossing Bourbon Street (about five blocks at most), it takes you directly to the river and Cafe Du Monde. There are dozens of wonderful shops and restaurants in the area... away from the Bourbon Street crowds.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel St. Marie

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Foleystravels
Business
Louisville, KY, USA
Jul 13, 2012

Ruined vacation!

Made reservations three months in advance and paid for balcony upgrade, they stuck us in the worst room possible! The balcony upgrade I paid extra for got us a courtyard corner view when we begged for a better room they said we didn't pay for an upgrade and they were sold out. The room smelled so bad of mold we had to leave the door open at all times. The a/c leaked on the carpet the whole time and the carpet turned my daughters feet black. NEVER again will we stay here!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel St. Marie

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Darrell43
Business
Orlando, Fl.
Jul 10, 2012

Weekend Getaway

Great Location, Stayed On 5th Floor Rooms To Small, Bathroom No Privacy, Beds Terrible, Not Worth The Money I Spent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel St. Marie

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cecie
Business
Michigan
Jul 9, 2012

Great location - 1 block away from Bourbon Street!

The hotel room was pretty nice. It had an old school tv which is kind of rare in the new era of flat screens, but it wasn't bad. A standard room has a closet type door for the bathroom that gave you basically no privacy in there, but we upgraded to another room on the following nights and we had a view and a real door so that was nice. The best part about this hotel is how close you are to Bourbon Street - literally a 1 minute walk! But the way its positioned, you don't get the noise or the crowd so it's really perfect, unless you want to be up all night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel St. Marie

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bowler061
Business
Kansas City
Jun 18, 2012

Book through 3rd party

We booked 2 rooms through this 3rd party provider, both with King Size beds. When we arrived, they gave is one King and one Queen. They said they don't guarantee King size beds to anyone. We showed them our confirmation from our 3rd party provider and they changed the Queen to a King. Had we not reserved through the 3rd party provided we would have one very disappointed party.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pier 424 Seafood Market Restaurant (424 Bourbon Street) was excellent and the prices reasonable. We also enjoyed Emeril's restaurant, NOLA, for lunch on Sunday. Excellent food and service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel St. Marie

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
valonso
Business
Los Angeles, California
May 23, 2012

Great location and comfortable hotel

This is a very convinient hotel for its location, close to Bourbon street but a bit away from the noise. It is small but has all the basic amenities that any guest would need.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take a promenade by the French Market.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top