$125 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 28, 2014 Check-out: Aug 29, 2014

Hotel St. Marie

3 stars
827 Toulouse Street, New Orleans, LA 70112
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
292 reviews
Friendly staff, excellent location

All the staff at St Marie were extremely nice and helpfull. Room was very clean, bed was comfy and... See full review

  • Missy Smith
  • Jun 2, 2014
Great

I come every year for Mardi Gras and this hotel was the first time I stayed this close to the... See full review

  • Tripsss
  • May 6, 2014
Most rooms at this French Quarter value hotel have scenic balconies
The Hotel St. Marie appeals to visitors who are coming to New Orleans for fun but are also watching their wallets. This French Quarter value hotel has spacious and comfortable rooms. The music, bars and nightlife of Bourbon Street are a block away.
Highlights
  • Courtyard pool
  • One block to Bourbon Street
  • All rooms are smoke-free
Rooms

All 99 rooms and suites at the Hotel St. Marie are large and tastefully decorated. Most have balconies overlooking the French Quarter or the serene courtyard. All Hotel St. Marie rooms offer a coffee maker, hairdryer, cable TV, alarm clock, iron and ironing board, and a daily newspaper.

Features

Hillery's on Toulouse at Hotel St. Marie offers courtyard dining for dinner and cocktails nightly.  Bistro Moise is open for lunch.  Room service is available along with 24-hour concierge service. Children under 12 stay free at Hotel St. Marie. Valet parking is available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (12 miles)
Attractions
  • French Quarter
  • Bourbon Street
  • Royal Street antiques and art galleries
Business
  • Meeting space for groups up to 200

Hotel Map

29.958 -90.0666
Area served
Located in the heart of the French Quarter, just steps from Bourbon Street.
Nearby airports
MSY - Louis Armstrong International Airport.
Area description
Take I-10 to New Orleans, Exit 235A, "Orleans Avenue/Vieux Carre". Proceed on Orleans Avenue. Move into your left lane. Proceed 2 blocks on Orleans Avenue. Take a left U-Turn at the sign, "N. Rampart via Toulouse Street". Veer right for one block to Rampart Street. Veer right onto Toulouse Street. Proceed three blocks down Toulouse to the Hotel St Marie at 827 Toulouse Street. The hotel is on your left. Please park in the hotel garage adjacent to the hotel.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel St. Marie also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel St. Marie Rooms

Deluxe King Bed
One king bed in a deluxe room. All rooms feature coffee maker, hairdryer, direct dial phone with voicemail, cable TV, alarm clock, individual climate control, iron and ironing board, complimentary newspaper and daily maid service. All rooms are Non-Smoking.
Deluxe Two Double Beds
Two double beds in a deluxe room. All rooms feature coffee maker, hairdryer, direct dial phone with voicemail, cable TV, alarm clock, individual climate control, iron and ironing board, complimentary newspaper and daily maid service. Many rooms also feature balconies, based on availability only. All rooms are Non-Smoking.
Balcony Room
Two double beds in a deluxe room with a view of tropical courtyard or French Quarter. All rooms feature coffee maker, hairdryer, direct dial phone with voicemail, cable TV, alarm clock, individual climate control, iron and ironing board, complimentary newspaper and daily maid service. All rooms are Non-Smoking.

Amenities

  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Services
Conference facilities
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Preservation Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.1 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.2 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.6 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.7 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.7 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 1 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.1 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.2 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.6 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.7 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.7 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 1 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.6 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 1.9 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.5 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.6 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.1 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.4 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.8 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.6 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.1 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting space available, can accommodate up to 100 people. Pool & tropical courtyard and on-site.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (292)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel St. Marie

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
292 out of 292
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel St. Marie

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fla.
Feb 1, 2011

great hotel -lack of customer service?

Yes , I guess my complaint is with the hotel. I was to get a balcony upgrade [...] -but once at the hotel they claimed I did not request this in the travel documents. They only gave me a run around and I was not going to get an attitude over this issue. But, once seeing that 90% of the rooms were balcony rooms it created heat. I stayed in my small window room. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

good area in the French Quarter. Really the best location around!!!!!!!! no food service at Hotel. Only breakfast of coffee and rolls,fruit. But -all this was fine.

Review of Hotel St. Marie

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Charlotte, NC
Jan 31, 2011

Perfect Location

I thought the hotel was in the best location for everything especially Bourbon St. As far as the room goes some of the end tables were a little dusty which irrated my allergies a bit. Wasn't sure if the bathroom had been swept because there were traces of black hair on the floor. The staff was really friendly though and we were less than a block away from Bourbon St. Considering we were gone most of the day it suited my purpose. If you are looking to spend a lot of time in your room this may not be the spot for you. Not a lot of ammenities from what I could see. If you want a decent place to shower and sleep while being close to the action this is your place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

We were within a ten min. walk from Jackson square, maybe 15 to 20 min walk from Harrahs Casino and the french market.

Review of Hotel St. Marie

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ohio
Jan 11, 2011

Not good, never again

We were there for Sugar Bowl game, three nights. The first night they put us in a room that was absolutly deplorable. Regular size bed that was really bad. We were to have a king.[...] We were moved to main hotel next day and was ok but would never stay there again or their sister hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Hotel St. Marie

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Mpls., Mn
Dec 28, 2010

A Great Time

For a novice in the French Quarter the St. Marie is perfectly located. It's right in the center of everything that's imaginable to do in the quarter. All the personnel at the St. Marie were professional, helpful and very friendly. On my next visit to New Orleans I'll have no problem picking a hotel to stay at.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel St. Marie

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
djpaperclip
Hackberry,La
Dec 26, 2010

Laid Back Anniversary Getaway

The hotel was very cozy, and the location was excellent.We were right off Bourbon Street but it was far enough away where you didnt hear the noise when you were in your room. There was only one elevator and in the morning it was pretty slow.We asked for directions to restraunts,the zoo and jackson brewery. The People at the front desk were very helpful with instructions and very polite.I would stay their again if i have the chance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We asked for directions to the Acme Oyster House and it was about 6 blocks from the hotel. There was a line when we arrived but we only waited about 20 minutes. The char grilled oysters were very good and worth the wait. We also ate at Primos the food was very good, but the bloody mary was off the hook.

Review of Hotel St. Marie

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MegaMind
Baltimore, MD
Dec 25, 2010

30 Second walk to Bourbon Street

This was my first time in NOLA, so I was a little concerned about the location being too far from all the action of Bourbon Street. Wow, was I wrong. Even the taxi cab driver said this was the best hotel because you can still get a good night's sleep and be close to the craziness of Bourbon St. Also a 10 minute walk to the St Charles street car, and a 6-7 minute walk to Cafe De Monde or the French market. Perfect location!!!! The staff was very attentive. I stayed at a few higher end hotels before, and this staff would give them a run for their money. They offered to book tours or call a taxi, and politely answered any of our questions. A++++ Only 2 cons: Although the bathroom was large and updated, the actual room was not. Ventilation could use a little work, the place was dusty - and use could see this on the ventilation grates. If you have asthma or COPD, I would be slightly concerned, but should be okay. I woke in the morning with an irritated throat. The other con: the lone elevator was very very slow. It literally took 10 minutes to get from the room to the lobby or vice versa, and keep in mind this was only a 5 floor building. Overall, when you consider the price and the bang for your buck that you get at this place, I think the benefits far outweigh the negatives. I would stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

All within walking distance: Bourbon St, French Market, St Charles Streetcar, Cafe de Monde. Take the St. Charles Streetcar to the Garden District, very easy to do.

Review of Hotel St. Marie

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Texas
Dec 22, 2010

Awesome!

This hotel was awesome. You cannot beat the location if you are planning on spending some late nights on bourbon street because the hotel is in walking distance from all the bars yet its 1 block away so when you want to call it a night you won't be kept up by the noise. The hotel itself is in a safe location and is very beautiful with spacious rooms. Free Continental breakfast was a nice feature. Only downside was that the hotel charges 30 a night for valet parking. Highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel St. Marie

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
houma la
Dec 17, 2010

beautiful

Bourbon st

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Feliepes

Review of Hotel St. Marie

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
nanamikey
Chattanooga,TN
Oct 26, 2010

Don't park your car

The room was small for the price, one tiny window. There was something dripping on my car and the only explanation i received was we don't know what it is. The cost for parking is very high. The staff was not really helpful. I will not ever stay at this hotel again. Byer beware.!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Hotel St. Marie

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houghton, MI
Oct 26, 2010

great location

Was a great place to stay our first time in new orleans. a block from bourbon street. room was very clean. had an amazing balcony. only thing we wish we had was a fridge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search