$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 27, 2014 Check-out: Oct 28, 2014

Hotel Royal-French Quarter

3 stars
1006 Royal St., New Orleans, LA 70116
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
83 reviews
Great place!

This is a great boutique hotel in the heart of the French Quarter! Friendly staff, comfortable... See full review

  • Nola frequent
  • Aug 11, 2014
The French Quarter Connection

The Hotel Royal is the absolute perfect hotel. It is quiet enough at night to get some great sleep... See full review

  • Uncertified Scholar
  • Jul 12, 2014

Hotel Royal New Orleans is a newly renovated 1827 Creole Townhouse, nestled in the heart of the world famous French Quarter, just one block from Bourbon Street. Business guests and vacationing tourists delight in the personal attention of our friendly staff and our beautifully renovated guest rooms and suites, all featuring a contemporary design complete with all the modern amenities needed to make your stay in New Orleans truly memorable!

Hotel Royal sits in the heart of the French Quarter on Royal Street surrounded by the finest art galleries, restaurants, and shops that New Orleans has to offer. Your stay in the French Quarter would not be complete without visiting Caf Du Monde, Jackson Square, and the French Market, which are all just a few short blocks from Hotel Royal. With the perfect location and convenient access to all the sights and sounds synonymous with the New Orleans French Quarter, Hotel Royal is sure to make your trip to the Big Easy one that will be unforgettable!

Each room is different in size and layout, each offering all modern amenities and each filled with cozy nooks and alcoves. Exposed brick and design details add to the powerful sense of history in this antebellum gem.

Continental breakfast is also served every daily in the lobby of the hotel. Located on the finest shopping street in the French Quarter, this hotel has a European feeling complemented by authentic laced iron balconies, high ceilings with fans, and enclosed courtyards with fountains.

Accommodations range from cozy courtyard rooms to large balcony suites overlooking the historic French Quarter complete with Jacuzzi, all marble bathroom, and wet bar. All rooms and suites feature high ceilings, recess lighting, hardwood floors, ceiling fans, wireless Internet, 300 thread count linens, flat screen LCD cable televisions, IPOD charging docks, and iron & ironing boards.

KNOW BEFORE YOU GO:

Hotel Royal does not feature elevators. A security deposit of $150 will be taken upon check-in, per room, in case of damages and/or incidentals.

Hotel Map

29.9605 -90.0623
Area served
New Orleans.
Nearby airports
Louis Armstrong International- 15 miles
Area description
From Hotel Royal's convenient location at the corner of Royal St. and St. Phillips, the excitement of the French Quarter and the various art galleries along Royal St. are all just a step outside of their hotel lobby. By day, you can visit the local art galleries, savor fresh beignets at Cafe DuMonde, walk a few blocks over for some shopping at the French Market, and stroll through the Quarter to Jackson Square. And, if you're coming to experience some of the best in New Orleans nightlife and music, you're one block away from the always-lively strip of restaurants and jazz and live music clubs on Bourbon St. -Located in the French Quarter -3 blocks to French Market -1 blocks to Bourbon St. -3 blocks to the Mississippi River -3 blocks to Jackson Square -2 blocks to Pat O Brien's.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Royal-French Quarter also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Royal-French Quarter Rooms

Royal Superior Room
These spacious French Quarter rooms feature modern design, most offering views of the French Quarter or courtyard area, complete with one queen or one king bed, spacious sitting area, ebony stained original hardwood floors, all marble bathroom with standing shower or Jacuzzi tub/shower combo, flat screen 32"LCD cable televisions, 350 thread-count linens and duvet covers, high speed wireless internet, iHome docking stations, laptop compatible in-room safe, hair dryers, and iron & ironing boards. Royal Superior Rooms are approximately 335 square feet.
Deluxe Balcony Room
These antebellum-style French Quarter rooms feature modern design, complete with shared balcony overlooking the French Quarter, one queen bed, ebony stained original hardwood floors, all marble bathroom with standing shower, flat screen 32" LCD cable televisions, 350 thread-count linens and duvet covers, high speed wireless internet, iHome docking stations, laptop compatible in-room safe, hair dryers, and iron & ironing boards. Deluxe Balcony Rooms are approximately 270 square feet.
Royal Balcony Suite
These oversized French Quarter rooms feature modern design, complete with spacious shared balconies overlooking the French Quarter, one king bed, spacious sitting area, ebony stained original hardwood floors, all marble bathroom with oversized garden Jacuzzi tub, flat screen 32" LCD cable televisions, 350 thread-count linens and duvet covers, high speed wireless internet, iHome docking stations, laptop compatible in-room safe, hair dryers, and iron & ironing boards. Royal Balcony Suites are approximately 600 square feet.
Petite Room
These cozy French Quarter rooms feature modern design complete with one full bed, some with exposed brick walls, ebony stained original hardwood floors, all marble bathroom with standing shower, flat screen LCD cable televisions, 350 thread-count linens and duvet covers, high speed wireless internet, iHome docking stations, laptop compatible in-room safe, hair dryers, and iron & ironing boards. Petite Rooms are approximately 160 square feet.
Deluxe Room
These antebellum-style French Quarter rooms feature modern design, most featuring views of our French Quarter courtyard, complete with one queen bed, small sitting area, some with exposed brick walls, ebony stained original hardwood floors, all marble bathroom with standing shower or Jacuzzi tub/shower combo, flat screen 32" LCD cable televisions, 350 thread-count linens and duvet covers, high speed wireless internet, iHome docking stations, laptop compatible in-room safe, hair dryers, and iron & ironing boards. Deluxe Rooms are approximately 270 square feet.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.2 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.2 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.7 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.9 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 0.9 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 1.2 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1.3 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1.3 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.4 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.2 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.2 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.7 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.9 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 0.9 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 1.2 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1.3 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1.3 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.4 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 1.6 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.8 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.6 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.6 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.1 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.4 mi
  • Riverbend: 4.1 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 4.9 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 5 mi

Dining

Clover Grill
Featured in the popular "The Curious Case of Benjamin Button", Clover Grill is a local favorite and perfect for a late night snack or an early morning breakfast. Hotel Royal is 2 blocks away.
Flanagan's Irish Pub
Flanagan's Irish Pub is directly behind Hotel Royal and is open 24 hours.
Irene's Cuisine
World Famous Irene's Cuisine serves Italian Southern food and is one of the most popular restaurants in the city. Their signature dish is Soft-shell Crab Chicken Rosmarino. Irene's is located only 1 block from Hotel Royal.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (83)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Royal-French Quarter

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
7 out of 83
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.6

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Royal-French Quarter

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
212Biz traveler
Business
NY
May 12, 2012

Housekeeping

The rooms look like the photos, but they are not well cleaned. Random hairs and dust balls in corners. Cheap mattresses, thin walls.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Royal-French Quarter

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jerry from Houston
Business
Houston, Texas
Oct 8, 2012

A NOLA Bad Attitude with a Funky Room

After requesting an early check in and walking around the quarter for 3 hours, come to find out they had already given all of the clean rooms away to other people that arrived while I was out. Having to wait another couple of hours for a call that never came, I finally got a Jr. Suite. The stair case to get to the fourth floor was very creaky and small, at six foot I had to duck for the last section as the hall ceiling was not tall enough for me to stand up in. The bellman that showed me my room didn’t even open the door, he just stood there waiting for a tip that would never come. I opened the door to the most lackluster room in all my travels. My guest bedroom with an air mattress is nicer than the rooms at this hotel. The walls are so thin you can hear the person in the next room breathing. Bring ear plugs if you are a light sleeper. With no waste basket in the room it was difficult to dispose of trash, and not even a glass to rinse my mouth out with when brushing my teeth, this hotel is so minimal I was surprised they even had towels. The shower had a horrible glass door that didn’t cover the entire shower so the floor was drenched by the time I got out. The water pressure was so poor I had to leave the shower head on massage just to get enough of a stream of water to get the soap off of my body. On check out you are informed that they are going to charge you another $10.95 for something you didn’t do or didn’t use, but you have to pay for that as well. My suggestion for anyone going to this hotel is to save your money and go somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are so many wonderful places to eat with in walking distance, you can't go wrong with any place you might stumble upon.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Royal-French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Novembre
Business
Atlanta, GA, USA
Feb 8, 2012

Good Stay for the Rate

Room was well appointed with modern furnishings (loved the black and white decor) and extremely clean. I had a peaceful sleep. Amenites are basically absent (There is just one ice machine - on the first floor; and no elevators, so if your room is on the third or fourth floor, you will have to carry your luggage up and down french quarter stairways. Staff was friendly, but limited when providing service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Royal-French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Don Hose
Business
Savannah, GA
Mar 16, 2012

Fun in New Orleans

Staff was great, had to ask cleaning attendant to restock cups, and to clean shower other than that my stay was fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ask locals where they dine in the French Quarters, they have the inside secrets.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Royal-French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
slco
Business
florida
Feb 1, 2013

new orleans french district

////////// well located, charming & confortable /////////////

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Royal-French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Synrahe
Business
Houston, Texas
May 17, 2013

Great hotel

The hotel was great. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. I would have given this hotel 5 stars but for one small problem, the day staff. The night staff was great. They were cheerful and eager to help out for even the smallest problem. The day staff on the other hand ignored you. We asked the day to send up extra towels they didn't. We had to go to the night staff to get them. We asked the day staff for a wake up call. Never received it. Besides these inconvenience I enjoyed this hotel and will come back when I return to New Orleans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Royal-French Quarter

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KALSuperduty
Business
South Lyon , MI.
Mar 26, 2013

Delightful experience

I found the Hotel to be quaint and cozy . I loved the French Quarter location . The style and architicture truly reminiscent of old New Orleans .The hotel staff always asking me if I needed anything or how was my stay . I found the cost reasonable when I was searching for a hotel and after my stay I can say that I plan on staying at the Hotel Royal on my next vist to the French Quarter in New Oeleans .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Have Sunday brunch at the Palace Cafe on Canel St . It was a rather fine looking spot but casual attire seemed OK and I thought the menu offerings were great . Good spot to dine in or sit out front and watch the street .

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top