Hotel Royal-French Quarter ★★★

Best price guarantee!

Find a lower price somewhere else and we'll pay 100% of the difference in Orbucks, plus up to $100 in additional Orbucks for Orbitz Rewards members Learn more

$139
avg/night
Rate and special offer based on
Check-in: Feb 23, 2016 Check-out: Feb 25, 2016
3.7 /5
Overall score
84%
Would recommend
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7
1 2 3 4 5

Select your room

Room types

Show Prices Deluxe Room
  • Occupancy: 2
Show Prices Deluxe Balcony Room
  • Occupancy: 2
Show Prices Petite Room
  • Occupancy: 2
Show Prices Royal Superior Room
  • Occupancy: 2
Show Prices Royal Balcony Suite
  • Occupancy: 2

Overview

What was once an 1827 Creole Townhouse is now the completely renovated Hotel Royal in the French Quarter of New Orleans. Throughout the hotel lobby and hallways, the walls are decorated with vintage photos that exhibit local history and culture. As a guest of the hotel, you'll be treated to a complimentary continental breakfast each morning of your stay in the hotel's beautiful courtyard.

When booking your room, you'll have four different room types to choose from, including a Royal Balcony Suite. The suite provides you with a private balcony overlooking the city's high-traffic French Quarter. Although the architecture of the hotel maintains its 19th-century style, each room comes equipped with contemporary furnishings and amenities. In your room, you'll have an iPod docking station and LCD television, which you can enjoy from the comfort of your bed with 350-thread-count linens.

Highlights

Key facts

The Hotel Royal French Quarter New Orleans is located on iconic Royal Street, home to boutique shops, art galleries, restaurants serving local cuisine, and street performers. If you'd like to explore more of the city, you can easily hop on a vintage streetcar and head to other areas of the city. Hotel Royal guests can take a short walk to Canal Street to meet up with the St. Charles Streetcar, gateway to Audubon Park and the towering oaks of Uptown.

Dining

Clover Grill
Featured in the popular "The Curious Case of Benjamin Button", Clover Grill is a local favorite and perfect for a late night snack or an early morning breakfast. Hotel Royal is 2 blocks away.
Flanagan's Irish Pub
Flanagan's Irish Pub is directly behind Hotel Royal and is open 24 hours.
Irene's Cuisine
World Famous Irene's Cuisine serves Italian Southern food and is one of the most popular restaurants in the city. Their signature dish is Soft-shell Crab Chicken Rosmarino. Irene's is located only 1 block from Hotel Royal.

Recommendations for you

Guest score 3.7 / 5
$154
Guest score 3.9 / 5
$119
Guest score 4.2 / 5
$99
Guest score 4.3 / 5
$207
Guest score 4.0 / 5
$179
Guest score 4.1 / 5
$179

Amenities

Featured

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities

General

  • No smoking rooms/facilities

Internet

  • WiFi

Reviews

3.7 /5 Overall score

84% Would recommend

  • Amenities: 3.1/5
  • Cleanliness: 4.2/5
  • Hotel staff: 4.3/5
  • Comfort: 3.7/5
  • Location: 4.6/5
  • Value: 3.7/5

Good location

Would not recommend Thu, Dec 3, 2015
All the reviews are correct - no elevator, no parking, odd bathroom layout, etc. It is in the heart of the French Quarter, one street over from Bourbon, so for some, a good location, but there are many hotels in the area, so I would recommend researching all hotels, and factor in having to pay for parking ($27 per day!). If I were to return to NOLA, I would search to stay elsewhere. The staff were very friendly and helpful, carrying luggage with a smile! The room, left a lot to be desired. Being on the third floor and walk up only, I am sure the housekeeping doesn't give the room the cleaning or attention it could otherwise have. No chair in room to use with the table/desk in the room, overhead fan didn't work (or we couldn't figure it out), water from shower head sprayed all over floor because of funky shower door design (like other reviewers commented on), or lack of, stopper in tub broken, so even if I was interested in using the jet tub, I would not have been able to. We stayed in room 14, queen bed. Quirky hotel, and if you like that, okay deal.

| N/A Couples

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 2 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 2 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

just average

Would recommend Thu, Oct 8, 2015
I expected much more for the money they charge. The location is excellent though and the staff are extremely nice and accommodating. I would recommend this to a friend with some qualifiers such as if noise is an issue ask for a room facing the interior courtyard. Also if internet is a must, you should check if the signal reaches the room.

| fort lauderdale Couples

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 2 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 2 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 2 /5

Nice trip

Would recommend Fri, Sep 25, 2015
The staff are nice and the rooms are clean. The only thing I didn't like was the fact that the walls are thin. I could hear my neighbors talking, which was annoying.

| N/A Singles

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 1 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

trip to New Orleans

Would recommend Fri, May 29, 2015
the hotel location was spot on. 5 min walk from all the food and entertainment

| Kidderminster Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Quick getaway

Would recommend Fri, Apr 10, 2015
Stayed here before. Nice modern hotel with an excellent location.

| Pensacola Friends

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

First time there. This was downtown revitaliedat it's best. All was well and a great experience

Would recommend Thu, Mar 26, 2015
First time there. This was downtown revitaliedat it's best. All was well and a great experience

| davenport Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Wonderful couples getaway

Would recommend Thu, Mar 26, 2015
My husband and I went to New Orleans for our first child-free getaway. It was his first time in NOLA and Hotel Royal was a perfect choice for a place to stay. Location is perfect--quiet but close enough to stop in and change clothes or relax while sightseeing in the Quarter. Our room was small but perfectly adequate, and the old wood floors and brick walls gave it character. We had breakfast in the courtyard each morning and it was very quiet and pretty. Staff was very friendly and helpful with questions about riding the streetcar and a few other things. We arrived midweek and were able to park at the hotel, which was reasonable and safe. Overall, it was an excellent value and we would definitely return and recommend to others.

| N/A Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Great French Quarter location!

Would recommend Mon, Mar 2, 2015
Great location and the staff helped us park our vehicle in their gated lot!

| Palm Coast Friends

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

new orleans

Would recommend Thu, Feb 12, 2015
staff great and good location. avoid courtyard groundlevel rooms if possible as noisy.

| N/A Friends

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Vacation

Would recommend Mon, Feb 9, 2015
The staff, are the best first and foremost. The rooms are cozy and intimate for you and yours, I love 19 century old buildings it allows your imagination to run wild. And the hotel location was great, one block from Bourbon St and far away from the noise so that you could relax at this great hotel and when we were ready to paint the town everything is just a few steps away.

Dining

The dinner/jazz cruise up the Mississippi River is a must do.

| Irvington Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Top hotels

Nearby points of interest

New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum 0.1 mi
Bourbon Street 0.2 mi
Preservation Hall 0.2 mi
Jackson Square 0.2 mi
American Aquatic Gardens 0.4 mi
Aquarium of The Americas 0.7 mi
Entergy IMAX Theater 0.7 mi
New Orleans School of Glass Works 0.9 mi
Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk 0.9 mi
Algiers Point 0.9 mi
Louisiana State Museum 1.1 mi
Contemporary Arts Center 1.2 mi
Mercedes Benz Superdome 1.3 mi
Mercedes-Benz Superdome 1.3 mi
New Orleans Arena 1.4 mi
Bywater Historic District 1.6 mi
Port of New Orleans 1.8 mi
Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden 2.6 mi
New Orleans Museum of Art 2.6 mi
Carousel Gardens 3.1 mi
City Park New Orleans 3.4 mi
Riverbend 4.1 mi
Lakefront Arena 4.9 mi
Audubon Zoo 5 mi

Hotel Policies

  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

$139
avg/night
Choose dates
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 23, 2016 Check-out: Feb 25, 2016