$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 31, 2015 Check-out: Apr 2, 2015

Hotel Royal-French Quarter

3 stars
View map of 1006 Royal St., New Orleans, LA 70116

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
89 reviews
Great French Quarter location!

Great location and the staff helped us park our vehicle in their gated lot! See full review

  • John S.
  • Mar 2, 2015
Vacation

The staff, are the best first and foremost. The rooms are cozy and intimate for you and yours, I... See full review

  • Reginald D.
  • Feb 9, 2015

Hotel Royal New Orleans is a newly renovated 1827 Creole Townhouse, nestled in the heart of the world famous French Quarter, just one block from Bourbon Street. Business guests and vacationing tourists delight in the personal attention of our friendly staff and our beautifully renovated guest rooms and suites, all featuring a contemporary design complete with all the modern amenities needed to make your stay in New Orleans truly memorable!

Hotel Royal sits in the heart of the French Quarter on Royal Street surrounded by the finest art galleries, restaurants, and shops that New Orleans has to offer. Your stay in the French Quarter would not be complete without visiting Caf Du Monde, Jackson Square, and the French Market, which are all just a few short blocks from Hotel Royal. With the perfect location and convenient access to all the sights and sounds synonymous with the New Orleans French Quarter, Hotel Royal is sure to make your trip to the Big Easy one that will be unforgettable!

Each room is different in size and layout, each offering all modern amenities and each filled with cozy nooks and alcoves. Exposed brick and design details add to the powerful sense of history in this antebellum gem.

Continental breakfast is also served every daily in the lobby of the hotel. Located on the finest shopping street in the French Quarter, this hotel has a European feeling complemented by authentic laced iron balconies, high ceilings with fans, and enclosed courtyards with fountains.

Accommodations range from cozy courtyard rooms to large balcony suites overlooking the historic French Quarter complete with Jacuzzi, all marble bathroom, and wet bar. All rooms and suites feature high ceilings, recess lighting, hardwood floors, ceiling fans, wireless Internet, 300 thread count linens, flat screen LCD cable televisions, IPOD charging docks, and iron & ironing boards.

KNOW BEFORE YOU GO:

Hotel Royal does not feature elevators. A security deposit of $150 will be taken upon check-in, per room, in case of damages and/or incidentals.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Royal-French Quarter also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Royal-French Quarter Rooms

Royal Superior Room
These spacious French Quarter rooms feature modern design, most offering views of the French Quarter or courtyard area, complete with one queen or one king bed, spacious sitting area, ebony stained original hardwood floors, all marble bathroom with standing shower or Jacuzzi tub/shower combo, flat screen 32"LCD cable televisions, 350 thread-count linens and duvet covers, high speed wireless internet, iHome docking stations, laptop compatible in-room safe, hair dryers, and iron & ironing boards. Royal Superior Rooms are approximately 335 square feet.
Deluxe Balcony Room
These antebellum-style French Quarter rooms feature modern design, complete with shared balcony overlooking the French Quarter, one queen bed, ebony stained original hardwood floors, all marble bathroom with standing shower, flat screen 32" LCD cable televisions, 350 thread-count linens and duvet covers, high speed wireless internet, iHome docking stations, laptop compatible in-room safe, hair dryers, and iron & ironing boards. Deluxe Balcony Rooms are approximately 270 square feet.
Royal Balcony Suite
These oversized French Quarter rooms feature modern design, complete with spacious shared balconies overlooking the French Quarter, one king bed, spacious sitting area, ebony stained original hardwood floors, all marble bathroom with oversized garden Jacuzzi tub, flat screen 32" LCD cable televisions, 350 thread-count linens and duvet covers, high speed wireless internet, iHome docking stations, laptop compatible in-room safe, hair dryers, and iron & ironing boards. Royal Balcony Suites are approximately 600 square feet.
Petite Room
These cozy French Quarter rooms feature modern design complete with one full bed, some with exposed brick walls, ebony stained original hardwood floors, all marble bathroom with standing shower, flat screen LCD cable televisions, 350 thread-count linens and duvet covers, high speed wireless internet, iHome docking stations, laptop compatible in-room safe, hair dryers, and iron & ironing boards. Petite Rooms are approximately 160 square feet.
Deluxe Room
These antebellum-style French Quarter rooms feature modern design, most featuring views of our French Quarter courtyard, complete with one queen bed, small sitting area, some with exposed brick walls, ebony stained original hardwood floors, all marble bathroom with standing shower or Jacuzzi tub/shower combo, flat screen 32" LCD cable televisions, 350 thread-count linens and duvet covers, high speed wireless internet, iHome docking stations, laptop compatible in-room safe, hair dryers, and iron & ironing boards. Deluxe Rooms are approximately 270 square feet.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.2 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.2 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.7 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.9 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 0.9 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 1.2 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1.3 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1.3 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.4 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.2 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.2 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.7 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.9 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 0.9 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 1.2 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1.3 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1.3 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.4 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 1.6 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.8 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.6 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.6 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.1 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.4 mi
  • Riverbend: 4.1 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 4.9 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 5 mi

Dining

Clover Grill
Featured in the popular "The Curious Case of Benjamin Button", Clover Grill is a local favorite and perfect for a late night snack or an early morning breakfast. Hotel Royal is 2 blocks away.
Flanagan's Irish Pub
Flanagan's Irish Pub is directly behind Hotel Royal and is open 24 hours.
Irene's Cuisine
World Famous Irene's Cuisine serves Italian Southern food and is one of the most popular restaurants in the city. Their signature dish is Soft-shell Crab Chicken Rosmarino. Irene's is located only 1 block from Hotel Royal.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Royal-French Quarter

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
19 out of 89
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.6

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Royal-French Quarter

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Roasty Toasty
Business
Pensacola, FL, USA
Nov 26, 2012

Good location Bad Service

This hotel has no elevator, employees seem to be nice, however the room smelled kinda like sewage, they dont have a real staff just a couple of workers daily. I had to spray the room with febreeze. Forget the so called continental breakfast, that is a joke, you may see a few crumbs on the table. Very noisy when those late night partiers come in, lastly the room cleaning staff stole some of my shirts. Then i had to argue with the hotel staff over it, i will NEVER stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Burbon street is just a few blocks away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Royal-French Quarter

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lone Traveler1
Business
Pennsylvania
Feb 9, 2013

Comfort

Reservation wasn't available, at check-in, room requested and reserved, wasn't available, and staff didn't try to accommodate. Room temperature controls, were inoperable. Just a bad overall experience. Staff may not attempt to accommodate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

French Quarter, is great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Royal-French Quarter

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
lbviii
Business
pensacola florida
Mar 30, 2013

Great until you try to sleep

It is a cool funcky FQ hotel. Pretty well maintained and ok staff. Decor tasteful black and white. Small but adequate. But the room was below a huge roof top AC unit that roared all the time. It sounded like the mother ship was landing in your room. Had to raise your voice to have a conversation. Also should have given noise canceling headphones at check in. Slept about 2 hours total. I would have paid double the cost to be somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Royal-French Quarter

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Zuuky
Business
Fort McMurray, Alberta, Canada
Feb 2, 2013

Ok hotel - nothing special

I stayed here during the start of Mardi Gras - I was surprised when I was told of an extra $10.95 charge per day that was not included when I paid for the room upfront through The online booking site . The charge was for Wi-fi, the room safe and use of the telephone. The wifi would only work in the main lobby, never used the safe, and I made no phone calls. I thought this was a sneaky underhanded way to suck a few more dollars out of me. I would not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

To check out some real New Orleans music and night life - stay away from Burbon St. Head over to Frenchman street! You'll be pleasently supprised.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Royal-French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tmike
Business
lafayette
Jan 6, 2012

very nice

i have had a great time there and will us this hotel again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

bourbon street is right down the road and a few great places to eat at

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Royal-French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jen Re
Business
Louisiana
Feb 1, 2013

location

Location is great!!! No elevator and we stayed on the 3rd floor!!! Not an easy task after tackling Bourbon Street...... LOL...... No parking either.....but overall really good, for a weekend in The Big Easy :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Royal-French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
From Holland
Business
Rotterdam the Netherlands
Oct 14, 2012

Perfect time

We had a small room but it was perfect for the2 nights we were staying. The location could not be better, all the interesting parts easily to reach. Helpfull staff. We enjoyed our stay. (from Holland, thank you)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Royal-French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Leisure traveler 101
Business
Jackson, TN
Mar 15, 2013

Fun!

We had a great time here. The staff was over the top nice and very accommodating. We arrived at the hotel a few hours past check in and they were happy to see us once we got there. The only downfall I discovered was parking. Since we got there later, the lot was already full. We had to pay to park in public parking a few blocks away. But the staff was very nice and showed us exactly where to park. The rooms aren't huge, but we didn't need any more space. The bathroom was very spacey for the size of the room, which was a pleasant surprise. Overall we had a great time and will definitely look to stay here in the future!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

River's Edge is a great place for brunch! Cafe Dumonde is also very close for some wonderful beignets!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Royal-French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MN Twins Fan
Business
Minnesota
Mar 19, 2013

Great location and people

We stayed two nights at Hotel Royal and were very happy. The courtyard is beautiful, the location is perfect, you are within walking distance to everything. There are quite a few stairs to get to some of the rooms but we never had to lug any bags up or down them thanks to their great staff. The front desk helped us with tours and directions and could not have been nicer. Our room was a little small but with a historic building like this one you will have that. It was not really an issue, the bed was very comfortable and the room was really clean and modern. I would definitely stay there again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Go to Adolpho's on Frenchman Street and try their specialty called "ocean sauce". It is amazing!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Royal-French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Xander Ian
Business
Madison
Jul 5, 2013

Hotel Royal

The hotel was a good place to stay. For the cost it was a good value and was near all of the spots I frequent when in NOLA.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are tons of restaurants in NOLA. Search for the one known for it's fried chicken near the market. You won't be sorry

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top