$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 24, 2014 Check-out: Sep 25, 2014

Hotel Royal-French Quarter

3 stars
1006 Royal St., New Orleans, LA 70116
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
82 reviews
Great place!

This is a great boutique hotel in the heart of the French Quarter! Friendly staff, comfortable... See full review

  • Nola frequent
  • Aug 11, 2014
The French Quarter Connection

The Hotel Royal is the absolute perfect hotel. It is quiet enough at night to get some great sleep... See full review

  • Uncertified Scholar
  • Jul 12, 2014

Hotel Royal New Orleans is a newly renovated 1827 Creole Townhouse, nestled in the heart of the world famous French Quarter, just one block from Bourbon Street. Business guests and vacationing tourists delight in the personal attention of our friendly staff and our beautifully renovated guest rooms and suites, all featuring a contemporary design complete with all the modern amenities needed to make your stay in New Orleans truly memorable!

Hotel Royal sits in the heart of the French Quarter on Royal Street surrounded by the finest art galleries, restaurants, and shops that New Orleans has to offer. Your stay in the French Quarter would not be complete without visiting Caf Du Monde, Jackson Square, and the French Market, which are all just a few short blocks from Hotel Royal. With the perfect location and convenient access to all the sights and sounds synonymous with the New Orleans French Quarter, Hotel Royal is sure to make your trip to the Big Easy one that will be unforgettable!

Each room is different in size and layout, each offering all modern amenities and each filled with cozy nooks and alcoves. Exposed brick and design details add to the powerful sense of history in this antebellum gem.

Continental breakfast is also served every daily in the lobby of the hotel. Located on the finest shopping street in the French Quarter, this hotel has a European feeling complemented by authentic laced iron balconies, high ceilings with fans, and enclosed courtyards with fountains.

Accommodations range from cozy courtyard rooms to large balcony suites overlooking the historic French Quarter complete with Jacuzzi, all marble bathroom, and wet bar. All rooms and suites feature high ceilings, recess lighting, hardwood floors, ceiling fans, wireless Internet, 300 thread count linens, flat screen LCD cable televisions, IPOD charging docks, and iron & ironing boards.

KNOW BEFORE YOU GO:

Hotel Royal does not feature elevators. A security deposit of $150 will be taken upon check-in, per room, in case of damages and/or incidentals.

Hotel Map

29.9605 -90.0623
Area served
New Orleans.
Nearby airports
Louis Armstrong International- 15 miles
Area description
From Hotel Royal's convenient location at the corner of Royal St. and St. Phillips, the excitement of the French Quarter and the various art galleries along Royal St. are all just a step outside of their hotel lobby. By day, you can visit the local art galleries, savor fresh beignets at Cafe DuMonde, walk a few blocks over for some shopping at the French Market, and stroll through the Quarter to Jackson Square. And, if you're coming to experience some of the best in New Orleans nightlife and music, you're one block away from the always-lively strip of restaurants and jazz and live music clubs on Bourbon St. -Located in the French Quarter -3 blocks to French Market -1 blocks to Bourbon St. -3 blocks to the Mississippi River -3 blocks to Jackson Square -2 blocks to Pat O Brien's.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Royal-French Quarter also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Royal-French Quarter Rooms

Royal Superior Room
These spacious French Quarter rooms feature modern design, most offering views of the French Quarter or courtyard area, complete with one queen or one king bed, spacious sitting area, ebony stained original hardwood floors, all marble bathroom with standing shower or Jacuzzi tub/shower combo, flat screen 32"LCD cable televisions, 350 thread-count linens and duvet covers, high speed wireless internet, iHome docking stations, laptop compatible in-room safe, hair dryers, and iron & ironing boards. Royal Superior Rooms are approximately 335 square feet.
Deluxe Balcony Room
These antebellum-style French Quarter rooms feature modern design, complete with shared balcony overlooking the French Quarter, one queen bed, ebony stained original hardwood floors, all marble bathroom with standing shower, flat screen 32" LCD cable televisions, 350 thread-count linens and duvet covers, high speed wireless internet, iHome docking stations, laptop compatible in-room safe, hair dryers, and iron & ironing boards. Deluxe Balcony Rooms are approximately 270 square feet.
Royal Balcony Suite
These oversized French Quarter rooms feature modern design, complete with spacious shared balconies overlooking the French Quarter, one king bed, spacious sitting area, ebony stained original hardwood floors, all marble bathroom with oversized garden Jacuzzi tub, flat screen 32" LCD cable televisions, 350 thread-count linens and duvet covers, high speed wireless internet, iHome docking stations, laptop compatible in-room safe, hair dryers, and iron & ironing boards. Royal Balcony Suites are approximately 600 square feet.
Petite Room
These cozy French Quarter rooms feature modern design complete with one full bed, some with exposed brick walls, ebony stained original hardwood floors, all marble bathroom with standing shower, flat screen LCD cable televisions, 350 thread-count linens and duvet covers, high speed wireless internet, iHome docking stations, laptop compatible in-room safe, hair dryers, and iron & ironing boards. Petite Rooms are approximately 160 square feet.
Deluxe Room
These antebellum-style French Quarter rooms feature modern design, most featuring views of our French Quarter courtyard, complete with one queen bed, small sitting area, some with exposed brick walls, ebony stained original hardwood floors, all marble bathroom with standing shower or Jacuzzi tub/shower combo, flat screen 32" LCD cable televisions, 350 thread-count linens and duvet covers, high speed wireless internet, iHome docking stations, laptop compatible in-room safe, hair dryers, and iron & ironing boards. Deluxe Rooms are approximately 270 square feet.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.2 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.2 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.7 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.9 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 0.9 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 1.2 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1.3 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1.3 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.4 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.2 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.2 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.7 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.9 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 0.9 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 1.2 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1.3 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1.3 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.4 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 1.6 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.8 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.6 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.6 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.1 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.4 mi
  • Riverbend: 4.1 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 4.9 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 5 mi

Dining

Clover Grill
Featured in the popular "The Curious Case of Benjamin Button", Clover Grill is a local favorite and perfect for a late night snack or an early morning breakfast. Hotel Royal is 2 blocks away.
Flanagan's Irish Pub
Flanagan's Irish Pub is directly behind Hotel Royal and is open 24 hours.
Irene's Cuisine
World Famous Irene's Cuisine serves Italian Southern food and is one of the most popular restaurants in the city. Their signature dish is Soft-shell Crab Chicken Rosmarino. Irene's is located only 1 block from Hotel Royal.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (82)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Royal-French Quarter

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
43 out of 82
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Royal-French Quarter

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
AmyRoe
NY
Feb 23, 2014

Keep Looking!!

My husband and I left after 1 night because we were so uncomfortable - the noise from the courtyard could not be drowned out by the horrible noises from the fan and heat in the room. The shower was not hot, I was told to let it run for about 15 minutes before I went in. It didn't eve help . By the way, they don't have an elevator and the ie machine wasn't working. Not only did we feel like to had to leave to enjoy things like hygiene and alittle bit of rest , but according to ..., the hotel refuses to recognize that we did indeed check out. Neither will give us a refund for the nights we did not stay. Please keep looking beyond the cute rooms and location....there are plenty of places that are much better and aren't thieves!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Royal-French Quarter

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Traveling northeners
Northeners
Mar 10, 2013

Great staff restrained by owners.

The staff was friendly and went out of their way to give us what we needed. We were only allowed 2 bottles of water for a 5 night stay, we really did not get anything like other hotels we have stayed at. There was no fridge in our room and it was dark and dreary because of no sunlight. I would not recommend staying on the first level. Noise is a big problem there because of the courtyard, it amplifies every little sound. People come and go all night long with suitcases and high heeled shoes. We did not really sleep entire time we were there. Guests should be told on arrival that people could be sleeping and to try to keep it down at night. The only way into rooms was from the courtyard and up the steps, no elevator. I would not stay at this particular hotel again. Thanks to Eric who was the true professional at his job made our stay bearable. He never flinched, opened doors while holding conversations with new guests. He was great at multitasking and making you feel comfortable. My suggestion is to go to New Orleans and have a great time in spite of it all. The French Quarter is the perfect place to stay but not at the Hotel Royal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Royal St. was the best street to shop on, antiques, boutiques, cafes, lighting stores, art galleries and one of a kind unique shops. Everyone is friendly!!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Royal-French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SizlsGirl
Williamsburg, VA, USA
Apr 8, 2012

Cozy

Definitely French Quarter which is what I wanted. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I was disappointed that the bed was broken on one corner and was not happy that they have a mandatory Wi-Fi fee that was not disclosed before I chose their hotel. A block from Bourbon Street was a great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Royal-French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DKNK
Illinois
Jan 9, 2014

Great location

Great location! Very polite, helpful staff. Our room was a little small, but adequate. Close to all things we wanted to do. Would recommend to friends!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

MRB- Wonderful Asian food in New Orleans!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Royal-French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Deborah54
Sacramento, CA, USA
Mar 19, 2012

New Orleans is a fantastic adult getaway

The Royal Hotel is quaint, pleasant, clean, quiet. We chose it well; we were within walking distance to everything in the Quarter, This hotel, like so many in this area, is a converted home SO if you have health issues that prevent you from climbing stairs, this is not a good choice for you. No elevator but kind bellman. Also, limited space in the room - no dresser so lived out of the suitcase. No coffee maker but a really nice coffee shop across the street. Personnel are kind, knowledgeable and helpful. No parking available - don't rent a car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Unless you plan to travel WAY outside the area of the immediate attractions of the French Quarter or waterfront do NOT rent a car. NOLA is a very foot friendly City and renting a car was the worst and most costly mistake we made. We literally parked the car in a lot for three days @ $18 a day and never used it. Even for tours, there is applicable transportation.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Royal-French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Love2travel7
Denver, CO, USA
Mar 31, 2012

Great location

Cute boutique hotel with nice staff but our room was only cleaned twice during our week stay, the amenity fee was annoying since our phone never worked and they never fixed it (although they did refund it for us) and the ac was only on for a short period early in the morning

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Frenchmen street - cafe negril

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Royal-French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BAGA's Mom
Huntington Beach, CA
Sep 23, 2012

Close to Frenchman St. & French Market

Our master suite (Room 25) was on the ground level and had hard wood floors. Our suite did not have a balcony since we were on the ground level. The hotel is atrium style and does NOT have an elevator. Our room had windows on the sidewalk of Royal St., however they were boarded up so we could not see anything. (It kind of felt like we were in a basement.) Although the room is quite large compared to most hotel rooms, it was not kept up well. The shutters that covered the no view windows were caked with dust and the chaise lounge had a HUGE tear. The bathroom was nice, but quite small. It didn't have any counter space since it included a pedestal sink and a small jacuzzi tub. The four poster King bed was comfy. The room included a ceiling fan in addition to having A/C. The hotel is very close to Frenchman St. & the French Market. The staff was very helpful upon check-in and departure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Commander's Palace (across from Lafayette Cemetery No. 1 in the Garden District) is a MUST visit for fine dining!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Royal-French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
nimsay
Orlando, FL
Sep 30, 2012

Great stay for the value

It's not the fanciest place but I was expecting less for the price I paid. It's perfectly located just a block away from Bourbon St so you can literally stumble home after a night out. We didn't have any issues with noise and our room was comfortable and clean. It's worth mentioning though that this hotel has NO elevator, so if you get stuck with a room on the 3rd, 4th (possibly 5th?) floor be prepared for a STEEP staircase walkup.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Royal-French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
69mach351
Midwest
Apr 29, 2013

A long weekend

Pros: the staff was very friendly and very helpful. The location was good and the room was clean and relatively quiet for the location. It was basic, but has what you need if you are going for the French Quarter. Cons: to get to our room, we had to go outside through an outdoor hallway, up and down multiple flights of stairs. It is a bit tedious and can be tough to find your room the first few times. We had to make about 6-8 turns both inside and outside, and had 7 small and bigger flights (50-60 stairs) of stairs to take to get to our room. There were also some sizable gaps under the doors, which got noisy when people came and went. Other than that, the bathroom was laid out kind of odd. It was usable, but you best be coordinated. A shower curtain (while not as nice looking), would be a functional upgrade from the glass panel door on our shower. I don't mean it to sound like a bad place, but there are a few inconveniences. I would stay there again if it was cheaper than near by competition.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

We ventured off the beaten path one night and ate at a place called Capdeville (they have a website). Prices were reasonable and they had a unique twist on a lot of good food. It is a sure thing when you get tired of gambling on higher priced places to eat in the touristy areas. It wasn't packed, the food and service was good. Take it from a foodie, check it out.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Royal-French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chucksahack
Hamburg, NY
Mar 17, 2013

Ideal location

Over all, our stay at the Hotel Royal was a pleasant one and we will return again. PROS: Excellent location. Able to walk to everything. Room clean and comfortable. Had 2nd floor courtyard room, which we enjoyed. Bed very comfortable. Staff helpful. Eric is a gem!! CONS: No refrigerator! $150 security deposit. $10.95 per night ammenities fee is outrageous. We were charged for things we didn't even use (Wi-fi, phone, etc.) Fee was also supposed to include "welcome ammenities". All we received was a map.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search