$85 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 21, 2014 Check-out: Aug 22, 2014

Hotel Royal-French Quarter

3 stars
1006 Royal St., New Orleans, LA 70116
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
80 reviews
The French Quarter Connection

The Hotel Royal is the absolute perfect hotel. It is quiet enough at night to get some great sleep... See full review

  • Uncertified Scholar
  • Jul 12, 2014
Romantic

Well I stayed here just passing through with some friends but I definitely need to come back next... See full review

  • Tytus
  • Jun 26, 2014

Hotel Royal New Orleans is a newly renovated 1827 Creole Townhouse, nestled in the heart of the world famous French Quarter, just one block from Bourbon Street. Business guests and vacationing tourists delight in the personal attention of our friendly staff and our beautifully renovated guest rooms and suites, all featuring a contemporary design complete with all the modern amenities needed to make your stay in New Orleans truly memorable!

Hotel Royal sits in the heart of the French Quarter on Royal Street surrounded by the finest art galleries, restaurants, and shops that New Orleans has to offer. Your stay in the French Quarter would not be complete without visiting Caf Du Monde, Jackson Square, and the French Market, which are all just a few short blocks from Hotel Royal. With the perfect location and convenient access to all the sights and sounds synonymous with the New Orleans French Quarter, Hotel Royal is sure to make your trip to the Big Easy one that will be unforgettable!

Each room is different in size and layout, each offering all modern amenities and each filled with cozy nooks and alcoves. Exposed brick and design details add to the powerful sense of history in this antebellum gem.

Continental breakfast is also served every daily in the lobby of the hotel. Located on the finest shopping street in the French Quarter, this hotel has a European feeling complemented by authentic laced iron balconies, high ceilings with fans, and enclosed courtyards with fountains.

Accommodations range from cozy courtyard rooms to large balcony suites overlooking the historic French Quarter complete with Jacuzzi, all marble bathroom, and wet bar. All rooms and suites feature high ceilings, recess lighting, hardwood floors, ceiling fans, wireless Internet, 300 thread count linens, flat screen LCD cable televisions, IPOD charging docks, and iron & ironing boards.

KNOW BEFORE YOU GO:

Hotel Royal does not feature elevators. A security deposit of $150 will be taken upon check-in, per room, in case of damages and/or incidentals.

Hotel Royal-French Quarter Rooms

Royal Superior Room
These spacious French Quarter rooms feature modern design, most offering views of the French Quarter or courtyard area, complete with one queen or one king bed, spacious sitting area, ebony stained original hardwood floors, all marble bathroom with standing shower or Jacuzzi tub/shower combo, flat screen 32"LCD cable televisions, 350 thread-count linens and duvet covers, high speed wireless internet, iHome docking stations, laptop compatible in-room safe, hair dryers, and iron & ironing boards. Royal Superior Rooms are approximately 335 square feet.
Deluxe Balcony Room
These antebellum-style French Quarter rooms feature modern design, complete with shared balcony overlooking the French Quarter, one queen bed, ebony stained original hardwood floors, all marble bathroom with standing shower, flat screen 32" LCD cable televisions, 350 thread-count linens and duvet covers, high speed wireless internet, iHome docking stations, laptop compatible in-room safe, hair dryers, and iron & ironing boards. Deluxe Balcony Rooms are approximately 270 square feet.
Royal Balcony Suite
These oversized French Quarter rooms feature modern design, complete with spacious shared balconies overlooking the French Quarter, one king bed, spacious sitting area, ebony stained original hardwood floors, all marble bathroom with oversized garden Jacuzzi tub, flat screen 32" LCD cable televisions, 350 thread-count linens and duvet covers, high speed wireless internet, iHome docking stations, laptop compatible in-room safe, hair dryers, and iron & ironing boards. Royal Balcony Suites are approximately 600 square feet.
Petite Room
These cozy French Quarter rooms feature modern design complete with one full bed, some with exposed brick walls, ebony stained original hardwood floors, all marble bathroom with standing shower, flat screen LCD cable televisions, 350 thread-count linens and duvet covers, high speed wireless internet, iHome docking stations, laptop compatible in-room safe, hair dryers, and iron & ironing boards. Petite Rooms are approximately 160 square feet.
Deluxe Room
These antebellum-style French Quarter rooms feature modern design, most featuring views of our French Quarter courtyard, complete with one queen bed, small sitting area, some with exposed brick walls, ebony stained original hardwood floors, all marble bathroom with standing shower or Jacuzzi tub/shower combo, flat screen 32" LCD cable televisions, 350 thread-count linens and duvet covers, high speed wireless internet, iHome docking stations, laptop compatible in-room safe, hair dryers, and iron & ironing boards. Deluxe Rooms are approximately 270 square feet.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Internet
WiFi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Royal-French Quarter also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.9605 -90.0623
Area served
New Orleans.
Nearby airports
Louis Armstrong International- 15 miles
Area description
From Hotel Royal's convenient location at the corner of Royal St. and St. Phillips, the excitement of the French Quarter and the various art galleries along Royal St. are all just a step outside of their hotel lobby. By day, you can visit the local art galleries, savor fresh beignets at Cafe DuMonde, walk a few blocks over for some shopping at the French Market, and stroll through the Quarter to Jackson Square. And, if you're coming to experience some of the best in New Orleans nightlife and music, you're one block away from the always-lively strip of restaurants and jazz and live music clubs on Bourbon St. -Located in the French Quarter -3 blocks to French Market -1 blocks to Bourbon St. -3 blocks to the Mississippi River -3 blocks to Jackson Square -2 blocks to Pat O Brien's.

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.2 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.2 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.2 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.4 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.4 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Storyville: 0.7 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.7 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.9 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 0.9 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.2 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.2 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.2 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.4 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.4 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Storyville: 0.7 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.7 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.9 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 0.9 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 1.2 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 1.3 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1.3 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.4 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 1.6 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.8 mi
  • East Tennessee Historical Center: 2 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.6 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.6 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.1 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.4 mi
  • Amistad Research Center: 3.7 mi
  • State Capital Publishing Museum: 3.9 mi
  • Riverbend: 4.1 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 4.9 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 5 mi
  • Six Flags New Orleans: 9.8 mi

Dining

Clover Grill
Featured in the popular "The Curious Case of Benjamin Button", Clover Grill is a local favorite and perfect for a late night snack or an early morning breakfast. Hotel Royal is 2 blocks away.
Flanagan's Irish Pub
Flanagan's Irish Pub is directly behind Hotel Royal and is open 24 hours.
Irene's Cuisine
World Famous Irene's Cuisine serves Italian Southern food and is one of the most popular restaurants in the city. Their signature dish is Soft-shell Crab Chicken Rosmarino. Irene's is located only 1 block from Hotel Royal.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (80)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Royal-French Quarter

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
80 out of 80
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Royal-French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chucksahack
Hamburg, NY
Mar 17, 2013

Ideal location

Over all, our stay at the Hotel Royal was a pleasant one and we will return again. PROS: Excellent location. Able to walk to everything. Room clean and comfortable. Had 2nd floor courtyard room, which we enjoyed. Bed very comfortable. Staff helpful. Eric is a gem!! CONS: No refrigerator! $150 security deposit. $10.95 per night ammenities fee is outrageous. We were charged for things we didn't even use (Wi-fi, phone, etc.) Fee was also supposed to include "welcome ammenities". All we received was a map.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Hotel Royal-French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Spike Sobel
Business
WPB, Fl
Jan 23, 2013

Great location cramped room

Got in late was surprised to find how small out room was considering it was for two people. Stain on the bed was a little concerning. But not a big deal. And the walls were paper thin. But you can't beat the location. Only two blocks from bourbon easy to walk everywhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Royal-French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Raymond Enzenbacher
New Orleans
Jul 4, 2014

Getaway

It was an awesome time with a great staff! Parking was a problem

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at Frech Market

Review of Hotel Royal-French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
rosemarydreaga
Mobile, AL
Apr 2, 2013

Nice staff but policies need work

This hotel is in a great location and all staff are very friendly and helpful. The WIFI is weak because of the old concrete building, not really their fault, but it actually works great in the bathroom and in the courtyard. Hotel is clean but ice machine is broken. Hotel also puts another $150.00 hold on your credit card without your permission for any pending damages that is later released. This inconvenienced me. They also charge another $10.95 for breakfast and wifi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't waste your money at the coffee shop across the street @ CC's. Go to Crossiant D'or on Ursuline

Review of Hotel Royal-French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Don Hose
Savannah, GA
Mar 16, 2012

Fun in New Orleans

Staff was great, had to ask cleaning attendant to restock cups, and to clean shower other than that my stay was fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ask locals where they dine in the French Quarters, they have the inside secrets.

Review of Hotel Royal-French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Itravel
Rhode Island, USA
Apr 5, 2012

Great location

Hotel Royal is at the quiet end of the French Quarter, but just a 5 minute walk to Jackson Square or Bourbon Street venues. The hotel is very pretty, with an interior courtyard and fountain, old brick walls and lots of charm. The rooms are very varied in size. The largest ones are off the courtyard. Ours was quite small with a queen bed and not room for much else except 1 chair. They also charged almost $9 per day(required) for wi-fi and other amenities (not sure what). Best part is the location, but the hotel itself is nothing special.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Royal-French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dancinon
Cincinnati, OH, USA
Mar 14, 2012

Perfect Location in the French Quarter

This hotel was perfectly located in the French Quarter allowing us quick access to sites, bars, restaurants, etc. and it was reasonably priced. It is not posh but it was reasonably clean and the staff were all helpful and friendly. The bed was comfortable as well. My biggest complaint would be the size of the room. It was so small that it was hard to move around much. There was nowhere to set our toiletries in the bathroom which was a bit inconvenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

It was a beautiful sunny day in March and we found one Carriage driver named Willie that was willing to take us for a carriage ride to the Garden District. We met him at Jackson Square where all the carriages line up. Willie was wonderful! It was the perfect way to see the Garden District and he could not have been a better tour guide. I'm so glad we found him! None of the other drivers wanted to do any tours outside of the French Quarter. Thanks Willie!!!

Review of Hotel Royal-French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
neuroshock
Chicago, IL
Feb 21, 2013

Nice, but not amazing

We, a couple, traveled to New Orleans for for a relaxing 3-day leisure trip. We knew that we wanted to stay somewhere nice-to-upscale. While this was nice, it was lacking enough to be remembered as "average." When we arrived the check-in process was problem-free. The staff was generally friendly to excellent in demeanor and their ability to perform their jobs. The reservation was for a Royal Superior room; we received a room with the bed, a bathroom, and second room that opened onto a street-facing balcony that was shared with the adjacent room. I was expecting, per my reservation, a queen or king sized bed; I inquired with the front desk and it seems that we were "upgraded" to a Deluxe Balcony room (smaller in size) with a "European queen" which apparently is the length of a queen, so that your feet don't hang off, but is merely the width of a full/double. The second room was cool/Spartan in feel, being very sparse in color or decorations, and while there was a wall-mounted TV and desk there were no power outlets in that room. Soundproofing between the rooms was decent enough but there's a rather tall gap under the door so that hall noise readily comes through. I realize that this was a renovated older structure but the floor gently (but still perceptibly) sloped down toward one end and the intermittent sound of various mechanicals (heating? plumbing?) came through the ceiling and walls. Also be aware that several ghost tours come to this building with their tours and they are audible through the balcony doors until the later hours. There was an additional mandatory daily fee to cover the upgraded continental breakfast and other amenities but of the food I saw, there was nothing upgraded about it. "High speed wireless internet" was listed; it worked for us in both the lobby and courtyard but the network's signal did not reach our room at all. The bed was comfortable with a variety of pillows to select from (thick+firm, thin+firm, med+soft), the room as a whole was tidy, and the bathroom was clean with good water pressure. The proximity to Jackson Square, French Market, and Frenchman St made it easy for us to get around on foot to where we wanted to go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

If you're looking for good food, drinks, and live music walk over to Frenchman St.

Review of Hotel Royal-French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
slco
florida
Feb 1, 2013

new orleans french district

////////// well located, charming & confortable /////////////

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Royal-French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
stacie1
austin
Jun 29, 2014

Great Girlfriend Getaway

Great location and the staff was excellent. The room was perfect for one person but would have been too small for two people. My only problem was that my room key quit working so I had to go to the front desk for a new key every time I wanted into my room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top