$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 4, 2015 Check-out: May 5, 2015

Hotel Royal-French Quarter

3 stars
View map of 1006 Royal St., New Orleans, LA 70116

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Royal-French Quarter

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
93 out of 93
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Royal-French Quarter

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JadaRae
Business
Morse, La
Dec 5, 2014

Too small

The hotel was like a maze to get to my room. Then my room was incredibly small! Friendly staff though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Royal-French Quarter

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
RICHARD S.
Business
N/A
Apr 18, 2015

home of the box

The hoel room was small and doors very narrow. They charges $150.00 security fee for something that was furnished for less then that, Staff was very nive but the room was a closet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Royal-French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DKNK
Business
Illinois
Jan 9, 2014

Great location

Great location! Very polite, helpful staff. Our room was a little small, but adequate. Close to all things we wanted to do. Would recommend to friends!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

MRB- Wonderful Asian food in New Orleans!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Royal-French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tmike
Business
lafayette
Jan 6, 2012

very nice

i have had a great time there and will us this hotel again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

bourbon street is right down the road and a few great places to eat at

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Royal-French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Novembre
Business
Atlanta, GA, USA
Feb 8, 2012

Good Stay for the Rate

Room was well appointed with modern furnishings (loved the black and white decor) and extremely clean. I had a peaceful sleep. Amenites are basically absent (There is just one ice machine - on the first floor; and no elevators, so if your room is on the third or fourth floor, you will have to carry your luggage up and down french quarter stairways. Staff was friendly, but limited when providing service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Royal-French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dancinon
Business
Cincinnati, OH, USA
Mar 14, 2012

Perfect Location in the French Quarter

This hotel was perfectly located in the French Quarter allowing us quick access to sites, bars, restaurants, etc. and it was reasonably priced. It is not posh but it was reasonably clean and the staff were all helpful and friendly. The bed was comfortable as well. My biggest complaint would be the size of the room. It was so small that it was hard to move around much. There was nowhere to set our toiletries in the bathroom which was a bit inconvenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

It was a beautiful sunny day in March and we found one Carriage driver named Willie that was willing to take us for a carriage ride to the Garden District. We met him at Jackson Square where all the carriages line up. Willie was wonderful! It was the perfect way to see the Garden District and he could not have been a better tour guide. I'm so glad we found him! None of the other drivers wanted to do any tours outside of the French Quarter. Thanks Willie!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Royal-French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Don Hose
Business
Savannah, GA
Mar 16, 2012

Fun in New Orleans

Staff was great, had to ask cleaning attendant to restock cups, and to clean shower other than that my stay was fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ask locals where they dine in the French Quarters, they have the inside secrets.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Royal-French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Deborah54
Business
Sacramento, CA, USA
Mar 19, 2012

New Orleans is a fantastic adult getaway

The Royal Hotel is quaint, pleasant, clean, quiet. We chose it well; we were within walking distance to everything in the Quarter, This hotel, like so many in this area, is a converted home SO if you have health issues that prevent you from climbing stairs, this is not a good choice for you. No elevator but kind bellman. Also, limited space in the room - no dresser so lived out of the suitcase. No coffee maker but a really nice coffee shop across the street. Personnel are kind, knowledgeable and helpful. No parking available - don't rent a car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Unless you plan to travel WAY outside the area of the immediate attractions of the French Quarter or waterfront do NOT rent a car. NOLA is a very foot friendly City and renting a car was the worst and most costly mistake we made. We literally parked the car in a lot for three days @ $18 a day and never used it. Even for tours, there is applicable transportation.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Royal-French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Love2travel7
Business
Denver, CO, USA
Mar 31, 2012

Great location

Cute boutique hotel with nice staff but our room was only cleaned twice during our week stay, the amenity fee was annoying since our phone never worked and they never fixed it (although they did refund it for us) and the ac was only on for a short period early in the morning

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Frenchmen street - cafe negril

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Royal-French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Itravel
Business
Rhode Island, USA
Apr 5, 2012

Great location

Hotel Royal is at the quiet end of the French Quarter, but just a 5 minute walk to Jackson Square or Bourbon Street venues. The hotel is very pretty, with an interior courtyard and fountain, old brick walls and lots of charm. The rooms are very varied in size. The largest ones are off the courtyard. Ours was quite small with a queen bed and not room for much else except 1 chair. They also charged almost $9 per day(required) for wi-fi and other amenities (not sure what). Best part is the location, but the hotel itself is nothing special.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top