Hotel Royal-French Quarter

3 stars
1006 Royal St., New Orleans, LA 70116
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
84 reviews
Great place!

This is a great boutique hotel in the heart of the French Quarter! Friendly staff, comfortable... See full review

  • Nola frequent
  • Aug 11, 2014
The French Quarter Connection

The Hotel Royal is the absolute perfect hotel. It is quiet enough at night to get some great sleep... See full review

  • Uncertified Scholar
  • Jul 12, 2014

Hotel Royal New Orleans is a newly renovated 1827 Creole Townhouse, nestled in the heart of the world famous French Quarter, just one block from Bourbon Street. Business guests and vacationing tourists delight in the personal attention of our friendly staff and our beautifully renovated guest rooms and suites, all featuring a contemporary design complete with all the modern amenities needed to make your stay in New Orleans truly memorable!

Hotel Royal sits in the heart of the French Quarter on Royal Street surrounded by the finest art galleries, restaurants, and shops that New Orleans has to offer. Your stay in the French Quarter would not be complete without visiting Caf Du Monde, Jackson Square, and the French Market, which are all just a few short blocks from Hotel Royal. With the perfect location and convenient access to all the sights and sounds synonymous with the New Orleans French Quarter, Hotel Royal is sure to make your trip to the Big Easy one that will be unforgettable!

Each room is different in size and layout, each offering all modern amenities and each filled with cozy nooks and alcoves. Exposed brick and design details add to the powerful sense of history in this antebellum gem.

Continental breakfast is also served every daily in the lobby of the hotel. Located on the finest shopping street in the French Quarter, this hotel has a European feeling complemented by authentic laced iron balconies, high ceilings with fans, and enclosed courtyards with fountains.

Accommodations range from cozy courtyard rooms to large balcony suites overlooking the historic French Quarter complete with Jacuzzi, all marble bathroom, and wet bar. All rooms and suites feature high ceilings, recess lighting, hardwood floors, ceiling fans, wireless Internet, 300 thread count linens, flat screen LCD cable televisions, IPOD charging docks, and iron & ironing boards.

KNOW BEFORE YOU GO:

Hotel Royal does not feature elevators. A security deposit of $150 will be taken upon check-in, per room, in case of damages and/or incidentals.

Hotel Royal-French Quarter Rooms

Royal Superior Room
These spacious French Quarter rooms feature modern design, most offering views of the French Quarter or courtyard area, complete with one queen or one king bed, spacious sitting area, ebony stained original hardwood floors, all marble bathroom with standing shower or Jacuzzi tub/shower combo, flat screen 32"LCD cable televisions, 350 thread-count linens and duvet covers, high speed wireless internet, iHome docking stations, laptop compatible in-room safe, hair dryers, and iron & ironing boards. Royal Superior Rooms are approximately 335 square feet.
Deluxe Balcony Room
These antebellum-style French Quarter rooms feature modern design, complete with shared balcony overlooking the French Quarter, one queen bed, ebony stained original hardwood floors, all marble bathroom with standing shower, flat screen 32" LCD cable televisions, 350 thread-count linens and duvet covers, high speed wireless internet, iHome docking stations, laptop compatible in-room safe, hair dryers, and iron & ironing boards. Deluxe Balcony Rooms are approximately 270 square feet.
Royal Balcony Suite
These oversized French Quarter rooms feature modern design, complete with spacious shared balconies overlooking the French Quarter, one king bed, spacious sitting area, ebony stained original hardwood floors, all marble bathroom with oversized garden Jacuzzi tub, flat screen 32" LCD cable televisions, 350 thread-count linens and duvet covers, high speed wireless internet, iHome docking stations, laptop compatible in-room safe, hair dryers, and iron & ironing boards. Royal Balcony Suites are approximately 600 square feet.
Petite Room
These cozy French Quarter rooms feature modern design complete with one full bed, some with exposed brick walls, ebony stained original hardwood floors, all marble bathroom with standing shower, flat screen LCD cable televisions, 350 thread-count linens and duvet covers, high speed wireless internet, iHome docking stations, laptop compatible in-room safe, hair dryers, and iron & ironing boards. Petite Rooms are approximately 160 square feet.
Deluxe Room
These antebellum-style French Quarter rooms feature modern design, most featuring views of our French Quarter courtyard, complete with one queen bed, small sitting area, some with exposed brick walls, ebony stained original hardwood floors, all marble bathroom with standing shower or Jacuzzi tub/shower combo, flat screen 32" LCD cable televisions, 350 thread-count linens and duvet covers, high speed wireless internet, iHome docking stations, laptop compatible in-room safe, hair dryers, and iron & ironing boards. Deluxe Rooms are approximately 270 square feet.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Internet
WiFi

Hotel Map

29.9605 -90.0623
Area served
New Orleans.
Nearby airports
Louis Armstrong International- 15 miles
Area description
From Hotel Royal's convenient location at the corner of Royal St. and St. Phillips, the excitement of the French Quarter and the various art galleries along Royal St. are all just a step outside of their hotel lobby. By day, you can visit the local art galleries, savor fresh beignets at Cafe DuMonde, walk a few blocks over for some shopping at the French Market, and stroll through the Quarter to Jackson Square. And, if you're coming to experience some of the best in New Orleans nightlife and music, you're one block away from the always-lively strip of restaurants and jazz and live music clubs on Bourbon St. -Located in the French Quarter -3 blocks to French Market -1 blocks to Bourbon St. -3 blocks to the Mississippi River -3 blocks to Jackson Square -2 blocks to Pat O Brien's.

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.2 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.2 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.7 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.9 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 0.9 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 1.2 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1.3 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1.3 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.4 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.2 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.2 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.7 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.9 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 0.9 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 1.2 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1.3 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1.3 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.4 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 1.6 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.8 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.6 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.6 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.1 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.4 mi
  • Riverbend: 4.1 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 4.9 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 5 mi

Dining

Clover Grill
Featured in the popular "The Curious Case of Benjamin Button", Clover Grill is a local favorite and perfect for a late night snack or an early morning breakfast. Hotel Royal is 2 blocks away.
Flanagan's Irish Pub
Flanagan's Irish Pub is directly behind Hotel Royal and is open 24 hours.
Irene's Cuisine
World Famous Irene's Cuisine serves Italian Southern food and is one of the most popular restaurants in the city. Their signature dish is Soft-shell Crab Chicken Rosmarino. Irene's is located only 1 block from Hotel Royal.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (84)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Royal-French Quarter

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
84 out of 84
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.7

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Royal-French Quarter

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
The Contractor
Business
Miami, Florida
Feb 19, 2012

If you are used to anything better than a Motel 6, stay away from the Hotel Royal

This hotel is a dreadful abomination with horrific customer service. I had to move rooms 4 times during a 3 night stay. The safes are not properly installed, so it is like having no safe at all- you can literally pick them off the floor and walk out with them. The manager told me they have no intentions on installing them properly and that they have 20K of insurance in the event valuables are stolen. The problem with this is that no insurer will pay out when they find out the safe was never properly installed. I found hair in one bed, was moved, then found DIRT and filth in the bed of the 3rd room which was supposedly "cleaned", but the sheets had not even been changed. Terrible housekeeping practices. Ridiculous ineffective management-but desk employees were as helpful as possible and the doorman is a gem. Better management would turn this place from a 1 to a 5. The hotel is nice and the rebuild is stunning, but the way it is run is completely unprofessional and unacceptable. For all my inconvenience, I was promised complimentary parking for my stay, When I checked out, it was still on my bill. Had I not looked and disputed it, I would have been charged. It takes more than some glass mosaic tile and a minimalist aesthetic to be a "boutique hotel"- it is about service- and the Hotel Royal is not even in the same league as true boutique hotels in this respect. Very dissapointed in my stay. Will not recommend or stay again- there are too many quality hotels in New Orleans to be bothered with poor service, false advertising, and bad business practices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Royal-French Quarter

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
212Biz traveler
Business
NY
May 12, 2012

Housekeeping

The rooms look like the photos, but they are not well cleaned. Random hairs and dust balls in corners. Cheap mattresses, thin walls.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Royal-French Quarter

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jerry from Houston
Business
Houston, Texas
Oct 8, 2012

A NOLA Bad Attitude with a Funky Room

After requesting an early check in and walking around the quarter for 3 hours, come to find out they had already given all of the clean rooms away to other people that arrived while I was out. Having to wait another couple of hours for a call that never came, I finally got a Jr. Suite. The stair case to get to the fourth floor was very creaky and small, at six foot I had to duck for the last section as the hall ceiling was not tall enough for me to stand up in. The bellman that showed me my room didn’t even open the door, he just stood there waiting for a tip that would never come. I opened the door to the most lackluster room in all my travels. My guest bedroom with an air mattress is nicer than the rooms at this hotel. The walls are so thin you can hear the person in the next room breathing. Bring ear plugs if you are a light sleeper. With no waste basket in the room it was difficult to dispose of trash, and not even a glass to rinse my mouth out with when brushing my teeth, this hotel is so minimal I was surprised they even had towels. The shower had a horrible glass door that didn’t cover the entire shower so the floor was drenched by the time I got out. The water pressure was so poor I had to leave the shower head on massage just to get enough of a stream of water to get the soap off of my body. On check out you are informed that they are going to charge you another $10.95 for something you didn’t do or didn’t use, but you have to pay for that as well. My suggestion for anyone going to this hotel is to save your money and go somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are so many wonderful places to eat with in walking distance, you can't go wrong with any place you might stumble upon.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Royal-French Quarter

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Roasty Toasty
Business
Pensacola, FL, USA
Nov 26, 2012

Good location Bad Service

This hotel has no elevator, employees seem to be nice, however the room smelled kinda like sewage, they dont have a real staff just a couple of workers daily. I had to spray the room with febreeze. Forget the so called continental breakfast, that is a joke, you may see a few crumbs on the table. Very noisy when those late night partiers come in, lastly the room cleaning staff stole some of my shirts. Then i had to argue with the hotel staff over it, i will NEVER stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Burbon street is just a few blocks away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Royal-French Quarter

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lone Traveler1
Business
Pennsylvania
Feb 9, 2013

Comfort

Reservation wasn't available, at check-in, room requested and reserved, wasn't available, and staff didn't try to accommodate. Room temperature controls, were inoperable. Just a bad overall experience. Staff may not attempt to accommodate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

French Quarter, is great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Royal-French Quarter

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
lbviii
Business
pensacola florida
Mar 30, 2013

Great until you try to sleep

It is a cool funcky FQ hotel. Pretty well maintained and ok staff. Decor tasteful black and white. Small but adequate. But the room was below a huge roof top AC unit that roared all the time. It sounded like the mother ship was landing in your room. Had to raise your voice to have a conversation. Also should have given noise canceling headphones at check in. Slept about 2 hours total. I would have paid double the cost to be somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Royal-French Quarter

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
AmyRoe
Business
NY
Feb 23, 2014

Keep Looking!!

My husband and I left after 1 night because we were so uncomfortable - the noise from the courtyard could not be drowned out by the horrible noises from the fan and heat in the room. The shower was not hot, I was told to let it run for about 15 minutes before I went in. It didn't eve help . By the way, they don't have an elevator and the ie machine wasn't working. Not only did we feel like to had to leave to enjoy things like hygiene and alittle bit of rest , but according to ..., the hotel refuses to recognize that we did indeed check out. Neither will give us a refund for the nights we did not stay. Please keep looking beyond the cute rooms and location....there are plenty of places that are much better and aren't thieves!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Royal-French Quarter

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Spede
Business
NYC
May 17, 2012

Disappointing

I paid for a King bed and was given a room with two doubles. One of the beds didn't have a fitted sheet on it but a flat sheet tucked under the mattress which moved around while I slept so I woke up on the mattress. My room had a balcony that was great but the room was over a bar which played music all night, literally all night. It's New Orleans, bars don't close. I could hear every conversation on the sidewalk below the balcony. I was unable to sleep. Period. No parking lot support for my car rental except to feed the meter since the lot they use was full. The staff was nice but the hotel was basically a walk in and walk out, you are on your own in every way. Being from New Orleans, I was happy about the location and that alone made it a positive for me. The next time will require my asking about where my room will be located and ensuring I get a king bed or what I paid for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Use the hotel loading zone outside of the hotel for your car, check in, get your luggage in the room, and then find parking if you have a rental. Meters stop at 6 pm, look for street cleaning signs, and meters start at 8 am. It takes at least 1.75 for 1 hour of meter time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Royal-French Quarter

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Zuuky
Business
Fort McMurray, Alberta, Canada
Feb 2, 2013

Ok hotel - nothing special

I stayed here during the start of Mardi Gras - I was surprised when I was told of an extra $10.95 charge per day that was not included when I paid for the room upfront through The online booking site . The charge was for Wi-fi, the room safe and use of the telephone. The wifi would only work in the main lobby, never used the safe, and I made no phone calls. I thought this was a sneaky underhanded way to suck a few more dollars out of me. I would not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

To check out some real New Orleans music and night life - stay away from Burbon St. Head over to Frenchman street! You'll be pleasently supprised.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Royal-French Quarter

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Traveling northeners
Business
Northeners
Mar 10, 2013

Great staff restrained by owners.

The staff was friendly and went out of their way to give us what we needed. We were only allowed 2 bottles of water for a 5 night stay, we really did not get anything like other hotels we have stayed at. There was no fridge in our room and it was dark and dreary because of no sunlight. I would not recommend staying on the first level. Noise is a big problem there because of the courtyard, it amplifies every little sound. People come and go all night long with suitcases and high heeled shoes. We did not really sleep entire time we were there. Guests should be told on arrival that people could be sleeping and to try to keep it down at night. The only way into rooms was from the courtyard and up the steps, no elevator. I would not stay at this particular hotel again. Thanks to Eric who was the true professional at his job made our stay bearable. He never flinched, opened doors while holding conversations with new guests. He was great at multitasking and making you feel comfortable. My suggestion is to go to New Orleans and have a great time in spite of it all. The French Quarter is the perfect place to stay but not at the Hotel Royal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Royal St. was the best street to shop on, antiques, boutiques, cafes, lighting stores, art galleries and one of a kind unique shops. Everyone is friendly!!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top