$85 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 6, 2014 Check-out: Aug 7, 2014

Hotel Royal-French Quarter

3 stars
1006 Royal St., New Orleans, LA 70116
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
76 reviews
Romantic

Well I stayed here just passing through with some friends but I definitely need to come back next... See full review

  • Tytus
  • Jun 26, 2014
Classic French Quarter Charm

This hotel is so beautiful! The brick courtyard with a fountain is the perfect place to sit with... See full review

  • Musical Melissa
  • Apr 20, 2014

Hotel Royal New Orleans is a newly renovated 1827 Creole Townhouse, nestled in the heart of the world famous French Quarter, just one block from Bourbon Street. Business guests and vacationing tourists delight in the personal attention of our friendly staff and our beautifully renovated guest rooms and suites, all featuring a contemporary design complete with all the modern amenities needed to make your stay in New Orleans truly memorable!

Hotel Royal sits in the heart of the French Quarter on Royal Street surrounded by the finest art galleries, restaurants, and shops that New Orleans has to offer. Your stay in the French Quarter would not be complete without visiting Caf Du Monde, Jackson Square, and the French Market, which are all just a few short blocks from Hotel Royal. With the perfect location and convenient access to all the sights and sounds synonymous with the New Orleans French Quarter, Hotel Royal is sure to make your trip to the Big Easy one that will be unforgettable!

Each room is different in size and layout, each offering all modern amenities and each filled with cozy nooks and alcoves. Exposed brick and design details add to the powerful sense of history in this antebellum gem.

Continental breakfast is also served every daily in the lobby of the hotel. Located on the finest shopping street in the French Quarter, this hotel has a European feeling complemented by authentic laced iron balconies, high ceilings with fans, and enclosed courtyards with fountains.

Accommodations range from cozy courtyard rooms to large balcony suites overlooking the historic French Quarter complete with Jacuzzi, all marble bathroom, and wet bar. All rooms and suites feature high ceilings, recess lighting, hardwood floors, ceiling fans, wireless Internet, 300 thread count linens, flat screen LCD cable televisions, IPOD charging docks, and iron & ironing boards.

KNOW BEFORE YOU GO:

Hotel Royal does not feature elevators. A security deposit of $150 will be taken upon check-in, per room, in case of damages and/or incidentals.

Hotel Map

29.9605 -90.0623
Area served
New Orleans.
Nearby airports
Louis Armstrong International- 15 miles
Area description
From Hotel Royal's convenient location at the corner of Royal St. and St. Phillips, the excitement of the French Quarter and the various art galleries along Royal St. are all just a step outside of their hotel lobby. By day, you can visit the local art galleries, savor fresh beignets at Cafe DuMonde, walk a few blocks over for some shopping at the French Market, and stroll through the Quarter to Jackson Square. And, if you're coming to experience some of the best in New Orleans nightlife and music, you're one block away from the always-lively strip of restaurants and jazz and live music clubs on Bourbon St. -Located in the French Quarter -3 blocks to French Market -1 blocks to Bourbon St. -3 blocks to the Mississippi River -3 blocks to Jackson Square -2 blocks to Pat O Brien's.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Royal-French Quarter also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Hotel Royal-French Quarter Rooms

Royal Superior Room
These spacious French Quarter rooms feature modern design, most offering views of the French Quarter or courtyard area, complete with one queen or one king bed, spacious sitting area, ebony stained original hardwood floors, all marble bathroom with standing shower or Jacuzzi tub/shower combo, flat screen 32"LCD cable televisions, 350 thread-count linens and duvet covers, high speed wireless internet, iHome docking stations, laptop compatible in-room safe, hair dryers, and iron & ironing boards. Royal Superior Rooms are approximately 335 square feet.
Deluxe Balcony Room
These antebellum-style French Quarter rooms feature modern design, complete with shared balcony overlooking the French Quarter, one queen bed, ebony stained original hardwood floors, all marble bathroom with standing shower, flat screen 32" LCD cable televisions, 350 thread-count linens and duvet covers, high speed wireless internet, iHome docking stations, laptop compatible in-room safe, hair dryers, and iron & ironing boards. Deluxe Balcony Rooms are approximately 270 square feet.
Royal Balcony Suite
These oversized French Quarter rooms feature modern design, complete with spacious shared balconies overlooking the French Quarter, one king bed, spacious sitting area, ebony stained original hardwood floors, all marble bathroom with oversized garden Jacuzzi tub, flat screen 32" LCD cable televisions, 350 thread-count linens and duvet covers, high speed wireless internet, iHome docking stations, laptop compatible in-room safe, hair dryers, and iron & ironing boards. Royal Balcony Suites are approximately 600 square feet.
Petite Room
These cozy French Quarter rooms feature modern design complete with one full bed, some with exposed brick walls, ebony stained original hardwood floors, all marble bathroom with standing shower, flat screen LCD cable televisions, 350 thread-count linens and duvet covers, high speed wireless internet, iHome docking stations, laptop compatible in-room safe, hair dryers, and iron & ironing boards. Petite Rooms are approximately 160 square feet.
Deluxe Room
These antebellum-style French Quarter rooms feature modern design, most featuring views of our French Quarter courtyard, complete with one queen bed, small sitting area, some with exposed brick walls, ebony stained original hardwood floors, all marble bathroom with standing shower or Jacuzzi tub/shower combo, flat screen 32" LCD cable televisions, 350 thread-count linens and duvet covers, high speed wireless internet, iHome docking stations, laptop compatible in-room safe, hair dryers, and iron & ironing boards. Deluxe Rooms are approximately 270 square feet.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.2 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.2 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.2 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.4 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.4 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Storyville: 0.7 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.7 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.9 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 0.9 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.2 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.2 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.2 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.4 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.4 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Storyville: 0.7 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.7 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.9 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 0.9 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 1.2 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 1.3 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1.3 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.4 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 1.6 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.8 mi
  • East Tennessee Historical Center: 2 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.6 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.6 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.1 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.4 mi
  • Amistad Research Center: 3.7 mi
  • State Capital Publishing Museum: 3.9 mi
  • Riverbend: 4.1 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 4.9 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 5 mi
  • Six Flags New Orleans: 9.8 mi

Dining

Clover Grill
Featured in the popular "The Curious Case of Benjamin Button", Clover Grill is a local favorite and perfect for a late night snack or an early morning breakfast. Hotel Royal is 2 blocks away.
Flanagan's Irish Pub
Flanagan's Irish Pub is directly behind Hotel Royal and is open 24 hours.
Irene's Cuisine
World Famous Irene's Cuisine serves Italian Southern food and is one of the most popular restaurants in the city. Their signature dish is Soft-shell Crab Chicken Rosmarino. Irene's is located only 1 block from Hotel Royal.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (76)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Royal-French Quarter

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
5 out of 76
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.4

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Royal-French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chris travler
Denver
Jun 20, 2014

amazing staff

The hotel was absolutely beautiful on the outside and the rooms were just as they described online. The rooms were small and quaint and the bathrooms were terribly small but updated. For taking a building that is over 100 years old and doing what they did, it was a great value. Minutes away from the French market and only steps from Bourbon St. Overall wag pretty amazing

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe Dumond. Only 4 blocks from hotel. Bourbon St only 1.5 blocks away

Review of Hotel Royal-French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MikeyBoy
Astoria, NY
Sep 4, 2013

Great Location, Safe & Secure

The location was great. The room was clean and COLD!! The staff was excellent and curtious. I'll def. stay there again on my next visit. :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the bar: Golden Lantern - few blocks up Royal....GREAT bar with GREAT prices.....Have fun ya'll.

Review of Hotel Royal-French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
midwestern adventurer
Chicago
Jan 30, 2013

perfect spot for a romantic weekend

I surprised my girlfriend, who had lived in New Orleans many years ago, with a long weekend here for her birthday. And though she felt more like a local, i.e. not that interested in the tourist-y stuff, I had never been to New Orleans before and felt it was important to stay in the French Quarter. Even though Hotel Royal is only one block from Bourbon Street, it was incredibly quiet yet it was close enough if we wanted to venture over to the craziness. Royal Street itself was filled with tons of art galleries and boutiques, and just a short walk to Jackson Square and Cafe du Monde. It's a bit of a longer walk, but still do-able, to get to Canal Street where you can hop on a streetcar to explore the Garden District and Uptown as well. I splurged and got the Royal Balcony suite and it was so worth it! The staff was very nice and helpful and we loved the entire experience. I would definitely recommend it to others and would definitely stay there again myself.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Royal-French Quarter

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Spede
NYC
May 17, 2012

Disappointing

I paid for a King bed and was given a room with two doubles. One of the beds didn't have a fitted sheet on it but a flat sheet tucked under the mattress which moved around while I slept so I woke up on the mattress. My room had a balcony that was great but the room was over a bar which played music all night, literally all night. It's New Orleans, bars don't close. I could hear every conversation on the sidewalk below the balcony. I was unable to sleep. Period. No parking lot support for my car rental except to feed the meter since the lot they use was full. The staff was nice but the hotel was basically a walk in and walk out, you are on your own in every way. Being from New Orleans, I was happy about the location and that alone made it a positive for me. The next time will require my asking about where my room will be located and ensuring I get a king bed or what I paid for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Use the hotel loading zone outside of the hotel for your car, check in, get your luggage in the room, and then find parking if you have a rental. Meters stop at 6 pm, look for street cleaning signs, and meters start at 8 am. It takes at least 1.75 for 1 hour of meter time.

Review of Hotel Royal-French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MrCa
San Rafael, Ca
Feb 14, 2012

Great Location & Value

The hotel is centrally located in the Quarter with very clean and comfortable rooms. No special "extras" that aren't necessary anyway and may not be for the physically handicapped. I recommend this hotel for anyone who appreciates the perfect location in the French Quarter and is away from all of the chaos of the other major hotels. Great Value!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Walking distance to all good dining, shops, and attractions

Back to menu Return to top