$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 21, 2014 Check-out: Apr 23, 2014

Hotel Royal-French Quarter

3 stars
1006 Royal St., New Orleans, LA 70116
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
67 reviews
Unexpected Suprise

Was able to find a 2 hour only parking spot close even though they were filming a movie right... See full review

  • Zoolander
  • Nov 7, 2013
An Awesome Stay in New Orleans

We arrived very late on a Saturday night, but were able to find parking within 50 ft of the hotel.... See full review

  • Amy the Avid Traveler
  • Sep 9, 2013

Hotel Royal New Orleans is a newly renovated 1827 Creole Townhouse, nestled in the heart of the world famous French Quarter, just one block from Bourbon Street. Business guests and vacationing tourists delight in the personal attention of our friendly staff and our beautifully renovated guest rooms and suites, all featuring a contemporary design complete with all the modern amenities needed to make your stay in New Orleans truly memorable!

Hotel Royal sits in the heart of the French Quarter on Royal Street surrounded by the finest art galleries, restaurants, and shops that New Orleans has to offer. Your stay in the French Quarter would not be complete without visiting Caf Du Monde, Jackson Square, and the French Market, which are all just a few short blocks from Hotel Royal. With the perfect location and convenient access to all the sights and sounds synonymous with the New Orleans French Quarter, Hotel Royal is sure to make your trip to the Big Easy one that will be unforgettable!

Each room is different in size and layout, each offering all modern amenities and each filled with cozy nooks and alcoves. Exposed brick and design details add to the powerful sense of history in this antebellum gem.

Continental breakfast is also served every daily in the lobby of the hotel. Located on the finest shopping street in the French Quarter, this hotel has a European feeling complemented by authentic laced iron balconies, high ceilings with fans, and enclosed courtyards with fountains.

Accommodations range from cozy courtyard rooms to large balcony suites overlooking the historic French Quarter complete with Jacuzzi, all marble bathroom, and wet bar. All rooms and suites feature high ceilings, recess lighting, hardwood floors, ceiling fans, wireless Internet, 300 thread count linens, flat screen LCD cable televisions, IPOD charging docks, and iron & ironing boards.

KNOW BEFORE YOU GO:

A security deposit of $150 will be taken upon check-in, per room, in case of damages and/or incidentals.

Hotel Royal-French Quarter Rooms

Deluxe Room
These antebellum-style French Quarter rooms feature modern design, most featuring views of our French Quarter courtyard, complete with one queen bed, small sitting area, some with exposed brick walls, ebony stained original hardwood floors, all marble bathroom with standing shower or Jacuzzi tub/shower combo, flat screen 32" LCD cable televisions, 350 thread-count linens and duvet covers, high speed wireless internet, iHome docking stations, laptop compatible in-room safe, hair dryers, and iron & ironing boards. Deluxe Rooms are approximately 270 square feet.
Royal Superior Room
These spacious French Quarter rooms feature modern design, most offering views of the French Quarter or courtyard area, complete with one queen or one king bed, spacious sitting area, ebony stained original hardwood floors, all marble bathroom with standing shower or Jacuzzi tub/shower combo, flat screen 32"LCD cable televisions, 350 thread-count linens and duvet covers, high speed wireless internet, iHome docking stations, laptop compatible in-room safe, hair dryers, and iron & ironing boards. Royal Superior Rooms are approximately 335 square feet.
Deluxe Balcony Room
These antebellum-style French Quarter rooms feature modern design, complete with shared balcony overlooking the French Quarter, one queen bed, ebony stained original hardwood floors, all marble bathroom with standing shower, flat screen 32" LCD cable televisions, 350 thread-count linens and duvet covers, high speed wireless internet, iHome docking stations, laptop compatible in-room safe, hair dryers, and iron & ironing boards. Deluxe Balcony Rooms are approximately 270 square feet.
Royal Balcony Suite
These oversized French Quarter rooms feature modern design, complete with spacious shared balconies overlooking the French Quarter, one king bed, spacious sitting area, ebony stained original hardwood floors, all marble bathroom with oversized garden Jacuzzi tub, flat screen 32" LCD cable televisions, 350 thread-count linens and duvet covers, high speed wireless internet, iHome docking stations, laptop compatible in-room safe, hair dryers, and iron & ironing boards. Royal Balcony Suites are approximately 600 square feet.
Petite Room
These cozy French Quarter rooms feature modern design complete with one full bed, some with exposed brick walls, ebony stained original hardwood floors, all marble bathroom with standing shower, flat screen LCD cable televisions, 350 thread-count linens and duvet covers, high speed wireless internet, iHome docking stations, laptop compatible in-room safe, hair dryers, and iron & ironing boards. Petite Rooms are approximately 160 square feet.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Internet
WiFi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Royal-French Quarter also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.9605 -90.0623
Area served
New Orleans.
Nearby airports
Louis Armstrong International- 15 miles
Area description
From Hotel Royal's convenient location at the corner of Royal St. and St. Phillips, the excitement of the French Quarter and the various art galleries along Royal St. are all just a step outside of their hotel lobby. By day, you can visit the local art galleries, savor fresh beignets at Cafe DuMonde, walk a few blocks over for some shopping at the French Market, and stroll through the Quarter to Jackson Square. And, if you're coming to experience some of the best in New Orleans nightlife and music, you're one block away from the always-lively strip of restaurants and jazz and live music clubs on Bourbon St. -Located in the French Quarter -3 blocks to French Market -1 blocks to Bourbon St. -3 blocks to the Mississippi River -3 blocks to Jackson Square -2 blocks to Pat O Brien's.

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.2 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.2 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.2 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.4 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.4 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Storyville: 0.7 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.7 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.9 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 0.9 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.2 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.2 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.2 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.4 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.4 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Storyville: 0.7 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.7 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.9 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 0.9 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 1.2 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 1.3 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1.3 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.4 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 1.6 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.8 mi
  • East Tennessee Historical Center: 2 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.6 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.6 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.1 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.4 mi
  • Amistad Research Center: 3.7 mi
  • State Capital Publishing Museum: 3.9 mi
  • Riverbend: 4.1 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 4.9 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 5 mi
  • Six Flags New Orleans: 9.8 mi

Dining

Flanagan's Irish Pub
Flanagan's Irish Pub is directly behind Hotel Royal and is open 24 hours.
Irene's Cuisine
World Famous Irene's Cuisine serves Italian Southern food and is one of the most popular restaurants in the city. Their signature dish is Soft-shell Crab Chicken Rosmarino. Irene's is located only 1 block from Hotel Royal.
Clover Grill
Featured in the popular "The Curious Case of Benjamin Button", Clover Grill is a local favorite and perfect for a late night snack or an early morning breakfast. Hotel Royal is 2 blocks away.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (67)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Royal-French Quarter

Overall score

3.5 / 5
67 out of 67
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.6

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Royal-French Quarter

Reviewer score

2
Zuuky
Fort McMurray, Alberta, Canada
Feb 2, 2013

Ok hotel - nothing special

I stayed here during the start of Mardi Gras - I was surprised when I was told of an extra $10.95 charge per day that was not included when I paid for the room upfront through The online booking site . The charge was for Wi-fi, the room safe and use of the telephone. The wifi would only work in the main lobby, never used the safe, and I made no phone calls. I thought this was a sneaky underhanded way to suck a few more dollars out of me. I would not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

To check out some real New Orleans music and night life - stay away from Burbon St. Head over to Frenchman street! You'll be pleasently supprised.

Review of Hotel Royal-French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
slco
florida
Feb 1, 2013

new orleans french district

////////// well located, charming & confortable /////////////

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Royal-French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
Jen Re
Louisiana
Feb 1, 2013

location

Location is great!!! No elevator and we stayed on the 3rd floor!!! Not an easy task after tackling Bourbon Street...... LOL...... No parking either.....but overall really good, for a weekend in The Big Easy :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Royal-French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
Mirm
Rockford IL
Jan 31, 2013

I'd stay here again

I upgraded to a King balcony room and it was TOTALLY worth it! Friendly staff and Brian went out of his way to help me upgrade even though he was busy with phones and other guests. The location was great and we walked everywhere. Parking will be an issue during weekends (and street cleaning) but the NO options for transportation in and out of the city easily solve that problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Royal-French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
midwestern adventurer
Chicago
Jan 30, 2013

perfect spot for a romantic weekend

I surprised my girlfriend, who had lived in New Orleans many years ago, with a long weekend here for her birthday. And though she felt more like a local, i.e. not that interested in the tourist-y stuff, I had never been to New Orleans before and felt it was important to stay in the French Quarter. Even though Hotel Royal is only one block from Bourbon Street, it was incredibly quiet yet it was close enough if we wanted to venture over to the craziness. Royal Street itself was filled with tons of art galleries and boutiques, and just a short walk to Jackson Square and Cafe du Monde. It's a bit of a longer walk, but still do-able, to get to Canal Street where you can hop on a streetcar to explore the Garden District and Uptown as well. I splurged and got the Royal Balcony suite and it was so worth it! The staff was very nice and helpful and we loved the entire experience. I would definitely recommend it to others and would definitely stay there again myself.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Royal-French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
Spike Sobel
Business
WPB, Fl
Jan 23, 2013

Great location cramped room

Got in late was surprised to find how small out room was considering it was for two people. Stain on the bed was a little concerning. But not a big deal. And the walls were paper thin. But you can't beat the location. Only two blocks from bourbon easy to walk everywhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Royal-French Quarter

Reviewer score

5
S P Brown
Dillon, SC
Jan 5, 2013

Birthday getaway!

Very clean room. Cozy. Friendly staff. Complimentary breakfast was just right. I would not hesitate to stay here again. Visit was Jan. 4, 2013 and there was plenty of activity and things to see and do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Royal-French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
Mr. Titus
Kansas City
Dec 27, 2012

Awesome weekend!

Surprised my girlfriend with a trip to NOLA and stayed at Hotel Royal, couldn't have asked for anything better!! It was perfect and I ended up proposing to her in Room 10, best room we have ever stayed in!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Had an amazing dinner at Iris and at Herbsaint!!!

Review of Hotel Royal-French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
Barbara World Traveler
Business
San Francisco, CA
Dec 15, 2012

Charming French Quarter Digs

The hotel is historic with nice furnishings. Ground level rooms are noisy from the courtyard and lack of sound insulation between the floors. I would recommend getting an upper floor room. The location is in the heart of the Quarter. Very helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Royal-French Quarter

Reviewer score

1
Roasty Toasty
Pensacola, FL, USA
Nov 26, 2012

Good location Bad Service

This hotel has no elevator, employees seem to be nice, however the room smelled kinda like sewage, they dont have a real staff just a couple of workers daily. I had to spray the room with febreeze. Forget the so called continental breakfast, that is a joke, you may see a few crumbs on the table. Very noisy when those late night partiers come in, lastly the room cleaning staff stole some of my shirts. Then i had to argue with the hotel staff over it, i will NEVER stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Burbon street is just a few blocks away.

Back to menu Return to top