$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2015 Check-out: Sep 1, 2015

Hotel Royal-French Quarter

3 stars
View map of 1006 Royal St., New Orleans, LA 70116

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Royal-French Quarter

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
89 out of 89
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Royal-French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DKNK
Couples
Illinois
Jan 9, 2014

Great location

Great location! Very polite, helpful staff. Our room was a little small, but adequate. Close to all things we wanted to do. Would recommend to friends!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

MRB- Wonderful Asian food in New Orleans!!!!

Review of Hotel Royal-French Quarter

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Zoolander
Couples
Jacksonville, FL
Nov 7, 2013

Unexpected Suprise

Was able to find a 2 hour only parking spot close even though they were filming a movie right outside the hotel while we were trying to check in. Checked in way early which was a nice surprise because we were really tired from the road. Was asked if we didn't mind climbing stairs for the best room. We said sure, but the room was so worth it. It was top floor but an exposed wood beam and large king size bed and shutter windows overlooking the city made the climb worthwhile, not to mention the unexpected size of the room, must have been about 400 to 500 square feet. The hallways and stairs are a bit of a maze though, but I thought it added to the character of the old old old hotel with all the angled floors and tiny doors. Could feel the history when i just walked to and from our room. Closest overnight parking I found was by the river across from jackson square. Overall they don't offer many amenities but they staff was AWESOME and super kind and attentive, helped everyone carry their bags up and down stairs due to no elevator. The internet seemed fine to me and I wasn't charged any extra fees like I saw some were on previous reviews. not sure. i would recommend this based on my experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

literally right across the street is a coffee shop like starbucks but not starbucks.

Review of Hotel Royal-French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chef Jason
Couples
Biloxi
Nov 6, 2013

Romantic getaway

This hotel is awesome. Right in the heart of the quarter. Hotel wasn't sold out so the front desk moved us in suites both nights. 1st night was a jr suite which was nice. We liked it so much we booked a 2nd night and we were moved into another suite, this one had a whirlpool n a balcony over looking royal street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Royal-French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Moebiwan
Couples
Pensacola, Florida
Oct 4, 2013

Hotel Royal - French Quarter

My stay at the Hotel Royal was a good one and I would certainly stay again if I'm in the quarter. The staff was courteous, knowledgeable, and friendly, and the room itself was quite clean and comfortable. The view wasnt very good and the shower was lacking but other than that I enjoyed my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Royal-French Quarter

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Amy the Avid Traveler
Couples
Milford, NJ
Sep 9, 2013

An Awesome Stay in New Orleans

We arrived very late on a Saturday night, but were able to find parking within 50 ft of the hotel. On Sundays the meters don't need to be fed, so we didn't have to pay for any sort of parking at all. The location literally can't get any better. You're a block or so off of Bourbon Street, which is perfect because if it were any closer, you'd hear all the noise. It is nice and quiet, the building that the hotel's in is AMAZING. It's old and beautiful and has an internal courtyard with a fountain. There is a network of staircases that looks beautiful, it's a little challenging to move all of the bags and suitcases through, but the staff was eager to take our bags for us. The staff was incredibly helpful and lovely. When we got in our room, we noticed the air conditioning wasn't working. At that point, we had just driven for 12 hours and were so tired we didn't care, but we told the staff about it before leaving to walk to Bourbon st, and they not only moved us to a new room with working AC, but they upgraded us to a suite! So nice of them. We also were able to take late checkout and stay in our room until 2pm! Everything in the rooms is upgraded, the beds are comfy, and the bathrooms are gorgeous. It's so easy to walk anywhere in the French Quarter. It's a great place. I will definitely stay there again when I come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Royal-French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MikeyBoy
Astoria, NY
Sep 4, 2013

Great Location, Safe & Secure

The location was great. The room was clean and COLD!! The staff was excellent and curtious. I'll def. stay there again on my next visit. :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the bar: Golden Lantern - few blocks up Royal....GREAT bar with GREAT prices.....Have fun ya'll.

Review of Hotel Royal-French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Xander Ian
Friends
Madison
Jul 5, 2013

Hotel Royal

The hotel was a good place to stay. For the cost it was a good value and was near all of the spots I frequent when in NOLA.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are tons of restaurants in NOLA. Search for the one known for it's fried chicken near the market. You won't be sorry

Review of Hotel Royal-French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JD Ellis
Couples
Portland Oregon
May 30, 2013

A real friendly experience

The staff is what makes the stay worth it. They were very friendly accomadating and helpful. It was a interesting historic hotel with allot of character.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't buy tshirtts and souvineres in the store. The market place in the french quarter. They will barter with you and you'll get some great deals.

Review of Hotel Royal-French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Betty aand Bill
Couples
WINDCREST (San Antonio) TX
May 19, 2013

Great

We arrived about 5;30pm - our room was on the third flr.- but they agreed to put on the ground flr the next dayl We enjoyed their courtesy and service The next four days were filled with perfect tours, it couldn't have been better

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Five Star dining at Stella!, expensive but worth it

Review of Hotel Royal-French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Synrahe
Single
Houston, Texas
May 17, 2013

Great hotel

The hotel was great. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. I would have given this hotel 5 stars but for one small problem, the day staff. The night staff was great. They were cheerful and eager to help out for even the smallest problem. The day staff on the other hand ignored you. We asked the day to send up extra towels they didn't. We had to go to the night staff to get them. We asked the day staff for a wake up call. Never received it. Besides these inconvenience I enjoyed this hotel and will come back when I return to New Orleans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Back to menu Return to top