$80 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 26, 2015 Check-out: Jan 29, 2015

Hotel Royal-French Quarter

3 stars
1006 Royal St., New Orleans, LA 70116
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
84 reviews
Great place!

This is a great boutique hotel in the heart of the French Quarter! Friendly staff, comfortable... See full review

  • Nola frequent
  • Aug 11, 2014
The French Quarter Connection

The Hotel Royal is the absolute perfect hotel. It is quiet enough at night to get some great sleep... See full review

  • Uncertified Scholar
  • Jul 12, 2014

Hotel Royal New Orleans is a newly renovated 1827 Creole Townhouse, nestled in the heart of the world famous French Quarter, just one block from Bourbon Street. Business guests and vacationing tourists delight in the personal attention of our friendly staff and our beautifully renovated guest rooms and suites, all featuring a contemporary design complete with all the modern amenities needed to make your stay in New Orleans truly memorable!

Hotel Royal sits in the heart of the French Quarter on Royal Street surrounded by the finest art galleries, restaurants, and shops that New Orleans has to offer. Your stay in the French Quarter would not be complete without visiting Caf Du Monde, Jackson Square, and the French Market, which are all just a few short blocks from Hotel Royal. With the perfect location and convenient access to all the sights and sounds synonymous with the New Orleans French Quarter, Hotel Royal is sure to make your trip to the Big Easy one that will be unforgettable!

Each room is different in size and layout, each offering all modern amenities and each filled with cozy nooks and alcoves. Exposed brick and design details add to the powerful sense of history in this antebellum gem.

Continental breakfast is also served every daily in the lobby of the hotel. Located on the finest shopping street in the French Quarter, this hotel has a European feeling complemented by authentic laced iron balconies, high ceilings with fans, and enclosed courtyards with fountains.

Accommodations range from cozy courtyard rooms to large balcony suites overlooking the historic French Quarter complete with Jacuzzi, all marble bathroom, and wet bar. All rooms and suites feature high ceilings, recess lighting, hardwood floors, ceiling fans, wireless Internet, 300 thread count linens, flat screen LCD cable televisions, IPOD charging docks, and iron & ironing boards.

KNOW BEFORE YOU GO:

Hotel Royal does not feature elevators. A security deposit of $150 will be taken upon check-in, per room, in case of damages and/or incidentals.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Royal-French Quarter also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Royal-French Quarter Rooms

Royal Superior Room
These spacious French Quarter rooms feature modern design, most offering views of the French Quarter or courtyard area, complete with one queen or one king bed, spacious sitting area, ebony stained original hardwood floors, all marble bathroom with standing shower or Jacuzzi tub/shower combo, flat screen 32"LCD cable televisions, 350 thread-count linens and duvet covers, high speed wireless internet, iHome docking stations, laptop compatible in-room safe, hair dryers, and iron & ironing boards. Royal Superior Rooms are approximately 335 square feet.
Deluxe Balcony Room
These antebellum-style French Quarter rooms feature modern design, complete with shared balcony overlooking the French Quarter, one queen bed, ebony stained original hardwood floors, all marble bathroom with standing shower, flat screen 32" LCD cable televisions, 350 thread-count linens and duvet covers, high speed wireless internet, iHome docking stations, laptop compatible in-room safe, hair dryers, and iron & ironing boards. Deluxe Balcony Rooms are approximately 270 square feet.
Royal Balcony Suite
These oversized French Quarter rooms feature modern design, complete with spacious shared balconies overlooking the French Quarter, one king bed, spacious sitting area, ebony stained original hardwood floors, all marble bathroom with oversized garden Jacuzzi tub, flat screen 32" LCD cable televisions, 350 thread-count linens and duvet covers, high speed wireless internet, iHome docking stations, laptop compatible in-room safe, hair dryers, and iron & ironing boards. Royal Balcony Suites are approximately 600 square feet.
Petite Room
These cozy French Quarter rooms feature modern design complete with one full bed, some with exposed brick walls, ebony stained original hardwood floors, all marble bathroom with standing shower, flat screen LCD cable televisions, 350 thread-count linens and duvet covers, high speed wireless internet, iHome docking stations, laptop compatible in-room safe, hair dryers, and iron & ironing boards. Petite Rooms are approximately 160 square feet.
Deluxe Room
These antebellum-style French Quarter rooms feature modern design, most featuring views of our French Quarter courtyard, complete with one queen bed, small sitting area, some with exposed brick walls, ebony stained original hardwood floors, all marble bathroom with standing shower or Jacuzzi tub/shower combo, flat screen 32" LCD cable televisions, 350 thread-count linens and duvet covers, high speed wireless internet, iHome docking stations, laptop compatible in-room safe, hair dryers, and iron & ironing boards. Deluxe Rooms are approximately 270 square feet.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.2 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.2 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.7 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.9 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 0.9 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 1.2 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1.3 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1.3 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.4 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.2 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.2 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.7 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.9 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 0.9 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 1.2 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1.3 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1.3 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.4 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 1.6 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.8 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.6 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.6 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.1 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.4 mi
  • Riverbend: 4.1 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 4.9 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 5 mi

Dining

Clover Grill
Featured in the popular "The Curious Case of Benjamin Button", Clover Grill is a local favorite and perfect for a late night snack or an early morning breakfast. Hotel Royal is 2 blocks away.
Flanagan's Irish Pub
Flanagan's Irish Pub is directly behind Hotel Royal and is open 24 hours.
Irene's Cuisine
World Famous Irene's Cuisine serves Italian Southern food and is one of the most popular restaurants in the city. Their signature dish is Soft-shell Crab Chicken Rosmarino. Irene's is located only 1 block from Hotel Royal.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (84)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Royal-French Quarter

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
84 out of 84
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.7

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Royal-French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DKNK
Business
Illinois
Jan 9, 2014

Great location

Great location! Very polite, helpful staff. Our room was a little small, but adequate. Close to all things we wanted to do. Would recommend to friends!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

MRB- Wonderful Asian food in New Orleans!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Royal-French Quarter

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Zoolander
Business
Jacksonville, FL
Nov 7, 2013

Unexpected Suprise

Was able to find a 2 hour only parking spot close even though they were filming a movie right outside the hotel while we were trying to check in. Checked in way early which was a nice surprise because we were really tired from the road. Was asked if we didn't mind climbing stairs for the best room. We said sure, but the room was so worth it. It was top floor but an exposed wood beam and large king size bed and shutter windows overlooking the city made the climb worthwhile, not to mention the unexpected size of the room, must have been about 400 to 500 square feet. The hallways and stairs are a bit of a maze though, but I thought it added to the character of the old old old hotel with all the angled floors and tiny doors. Could feel the history when i just walked to and from our room. Closest overnight parking I found was by the river across from jackson square. Overall they don't offer many amenities but they staff was AWESOME and super kind and attentive, helped everyone carry their bags up and down stairs due to no elevator. The internet seemed fine to me and I wasn't charged any extra fees like I saw some were on previous reviews. not sure. i would recommend this based on my experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

literally right across the street is a coffee shop like starbucks but not starbucks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Royal-French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chef Jason
Business
Biloxi
Nov 6, 2013

Romantic getaway

This hotel is awesome. Right in the heart of the quarter. Hotel wasn't sold out so the front desk moved us in suites both nights. 1st night was a jr suite which was nice. We liked it so much we booked a 2nd night and we were moved into another suite, this one had a whirlpool n a balcony over looking royal street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Royal-French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Moebiwan
Business
Pensacola, Florida
Oct 4, 2013

Hotel Royal - French Quarter

My stay at the Hotel Royal was a good one and I would certainly stay again if I'm in the quarter. The staff was courteous, knowledgeable, and friendly, and the room itself was quite clean and comfortable. The view wasnt very good and the shower was lacking but other than that I enjoyed my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Royal-French Quarter

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Amy the Avid Traveler
Business
Milford, NJ
Sep 9, 2013

An Awesome Stay in New Orleans

We arrived very late on a Saturday night, but were able to find parking within 50 ft of the hotel. On Sundays the meters don't need to be fed, so we didn't have to pay for any sort of parking at all. The location literally can't get any better. You're a block or so off of Bourbon Street, which is perfect because if it were any closer, you'd hear all the noise. It is nice and quiet, the building that the hotel's in is AMAZING. It's old and beautiful and has an internal courtyard with a fountain. There is a network of staircases that looks beautiful, it's a little challenging to move all of the bags and suitcases through, but the staff was eager to take our bags for us. The staff was incredibly helpful and lovely. When we got in our room, we noticed the air conditioning wasn't working. At that point, we had just driven for 12 hours and were so tired we didn't care, but we told the staff about it before leaving to walk to Bourbon st, and they not only moved us to a new room with working AC, but they upgraded us to a suite! So nice of them. We also were able to take late checkout and stay in our room until 2pm! Everything in the rooms is upgraded, the beds are comfy, and the bathrooms are gorgeous. It's so easy to walk anywhere in the French Quarter. It's a great place. I will definitely stay there again when I come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Royal-French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MikeyBoy
Business
Astoria, NY
Sep 4, 2013

Great Location, Safe & Secure

The location was great. The room was clean and COLD!! The staff was excellent and curtious. I'll def. stay there again on my next visit. :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the bar: Golden Lantern - few blocks up Royal....GREAT bar with GREAT prices.....Have fun ya'll.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Royal-French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Xander Ian
Business
Madison
Jul 5, 2013

Hotel Royal

The hotel was a good place to stay. For the cost it was a good value and was near all of the spots I frequent when in NOLA.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are tons of restaurants in NOLA. Search for the one known for it's fried chicken near the market. You won't be sorry

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Royal-French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JD Ellis
Business
Portland Oregon
May 30, 2013

A real friendly experience

The staff is what makes the stay worth it. They were very friendly accomadating and helpful. It was a interesting historic hotel with allot of character.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't buy tshirtts and souvineres in the store. The market place in the french quarter. They will barter with you and you'll get some great deals.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Royal-French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Betty aand Bill
Business
WINDCREST (San Antonio) TX
May 19, 2013

Great

We arrived about 5;30pm - our room was on the third flr.- but they agreed to put on the ground flr the next dayl We enjoyed their courtesy and service The next four days were filled with perfect tours, it couldn't have been better

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Five Star dining at Stella!, expensive but worth it

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Royal-French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Synrahe
Business
Houston, Texas
May 17, 2013

Great hotel

The hotel was great. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. I would have given this hotel 5 stars but for one small problem, the day staff. The night staff was great. They were cheerful and eager to help out for even the smallest problem. The day staff on the other hand ignored you. We asked the day to send up extra towels they didn't. We had to go to the night staff to get them. We asked the day staff for a wake up call. Never received it. Besides these inconvenience I enjoyed this hotel and will come back when I return to New Orleans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top