$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 22, 2015 Check-out: Apr 23, 2015

Hotel Royal-French Quarter

3 stars
View map of 1006 Royal St., New Orleans, LA 70116

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Royal-French Quarter

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
92 out of 92
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Royal-French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Michelob
Business
Post Falls, Idaho
Jun 12, 2014

Great Location and Charm

This hotel was perfect, in the heart of the action and the staff gave us great recommendations. Would definitely stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Royal-French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
borgus
Business
illinois
May 16, 2014

perfect location

Have stayed here before and it was still great. Be warned, there are lots of stairs and no elevator, all part of the charm of an 1827 building. One block to bourbon street, two blocks to the river. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Continental breakfast was just that. Certainly sufficed but nothing extra. Our room was tiny but sufficient. There is a small grocery store about 5-6 blocks from the hotel with all your needs and a few take-out sandwiches etc. Also had pop and beer that you could ice down in the sink in the room. Bottom line: a very quaint, clean place in the perfect location with great staff. Unfortunately, I would not recommend for a family traveling with children.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The little grocery store a few blocks from hotel on Royal Street was great for snacks or a sandwich, or for sodas and beer to keep in your room on ice.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Royal-French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nann13
Business
Garner NC
May 9, 2014

Ideal location in French Quarter

Wonderful hotel. Lovely staff. Courtyard is very nice and we have enjoyed meeting other hotel guests there on both of our stays Wouldn't choose any other accommodations in NOLA.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make reservations at The Court of Two Sisters for their Jazz Brunch.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Royal-French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
D. MATHIS
Business
North Wilkesboro, NC
May 8, 2014

I would stay there again

If you are looking for a fancy hotel with a fancy lobby this is not the place for you. I was in a room by myself..it was not very big but I didn't need very big. The bed was wonderful. My room opened into the courtyard.and there was a fountain that put me to sleep every night. People were drawn to the courtyard so we met a lot of nice people and had a lot of interesting conversations. The staff were very friendly & helpful. I loved it there. If I had to make a negative comment it would be that there should be better lighting in the bathroom. It was not very good for putting on makeup.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Royal-French Quarter

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Musical Melissa
Business
Ann Arbor, Mi
Apr 20, 2014

Classic French Quarter Charm

This hotel is so beautiful! The brick courtyard with a fountain is the perfect place to sit with your morning coffee. The room was small, but perfect: beautiful big window with real shutters, exposed brick wall, marble bathroom with jacuzzi tub, high ceiling with a classic hanging ceiling fan over the bed... The staff was warm and welcoming. We arrived very early, they carefully tagged our bags and told us that they would try to get the room ready as soon as possible. We checked back a few hours later to find that our room was ready 3 hours early and our bags were already there! These are the type of people that would do anything to make you as welcome and as comfortable as possible. The highest compliment possible- we will be returning!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything French Quarter is a short walk away!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Royal-French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traversara
Business
Washington, DC
Apr 1, 2014

Awesome location and staff

The hotel is very cute and in a great location. Just a few blocks from the major party areas, great restaurants, fantastic shops, and other popular attractions. The rooms are on the smaller side compared to a standard hotel room, but are still a decent size. Wood floors and exposed brick make it very charming. The only complaint I have would be that in my particular room, I could hear the people in the room next to mine. (Doors slamming, talking, etc.) Also, the staff is very friendly and always want to help.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Royal-French Quarter

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
AmyRoe
Business
NY
Feb 23, 2014

Keep Looking!!

My husband and I left after 1 night because we were so uncomfortable - the noise from the courtyard could not be drowned out by the horrible noises from the fan and heat in the room. The shower was not hot, I was told to let it run for about 15 minutes before I went in. It didn't eve help . By the way, they don't have an elevator and the ie machine wasn't working. Not only did we feel like to had to leave to enjoy things like hygiene and alittle bit of rest , but according to ..., the hotel refuses to recognize that we did indeed check out. Neither will give us a refund for the nights we did not stay. Please keep looking beyond the cute rooms and location....there are plenty of places that are much better and aren't thieves!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Royal-French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NYC in the Deep South
Business
New York City
Jan 21, 2014

Gorgeous Space, so so front dek

The hotel was absolutely charming. Gorgeous with 2 patios to sit on and enjoy breakfast or coffee or just lounging. Some of the rooms were a bit noisy, but only because its an older house. Perfect location and Royal street is 1 over from Bourbon which is great for proximity but shields you from noise. My only complaint was the front desk staff seemed bored at best and annoyed at worst. The bellhop was super helpful though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Royal-French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DKNK
Business
Illinois
Jan 9, 2014

Great location

Great location! Very polite, helpful staff. Our room was a little small, but adequate. Close to all things we wanted to do. Would recommend to friends!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

MRB- Wonderful Asian food in New Orleans!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Royal-French Quarter

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Zoolander
Business
Jacksonville, FL
Nov 7, 2013

Unexpected Suprise

Was able to find a 2 hour only parking spot close even though they were filming a movie right outside the hotel while we were trying to check in. Checked in way early which was a nice surprise because we were really tired from the road. Was asked if we didn't mind climbing stairs for the best room. We said sure, but the room was so worth it. It was top floor but an exposed wood beam and large king size bed and shutter windows overlooking the city made the climb worthwhile, not to mention the unexpected size of the room, must have been about 400 to 500 square feet. The hallways and stairs are a bit of a maze though, but I thought it added to the character of the old old old hotel with all the angled floors and tiny doors. Could feel the history when i just walked to and from our room. Closest overnight parking I found was by the river across from jackson square. Overall they don't offer many amenities but they staff was AWESOME and super kind and attentive, helped everyone carry their bags up and down stairs due to no elevator. The internet seemed fine to me and I wasn't charged any extra fees like I saw some were on previous reviews. not sure. i would recommend this based on my experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

literally right across the street is a coffee shop like starbucks but not starbucks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top