$193 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 13, 2015

Hotel Monteleone

5 stars
View map of 214 Royal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
308 reviews
great hotel.even better dining

The restaurant is excellent for dinner and breakfast. Friendly staff. Clean rooms and very nice... See full review

  • meng
  • Mar 11, 2015
Exquisite Hotel

This is the best hotel to stay in New Orleans, from the best location to the friendliest staff. See full review

  • Sabrina C.
  • Mar 10, 2015

A time-honored New Orleans landmark, this French Quarter hotel has been owned and operated by five generations of the Monteleone family since 1886. It has appeared in movies, television and literary works. Keurig coffee makers, plush robes, marble and granite bathrooms, a heated rooftop pool, and a state-of-the-art fitness center are just some of the luxurious amenities in the Hotel Monteleone. Literary-themed suites pay homage to famous authors like Ernest Hemingway and Tennessee Williams, who visited and even wrote about the place. These well-appointed suites have plush furniture, parlors that can accommodate 15 to 70 people, and balconies with views of the Mississippi River and French Quarter.

Key facts

  • 570 guestrooms
  • 55 suites
  • Restaurant
  • 1 Bar
  • Rooftop heated pool
  • Spa
  • Fitness center
  • Gift shop
  • Wi-Fi (fees apply)
  • Conference facilities
  • Pets allowed

Neighborhood

The Hotel Monteleone is on Royal Street within walking distance of many French Quarter restaurants and attractions. Bourbon Street is about a block away, and the famous Cafe du Monde is just steps from the hotel's lobby.

Hints and tips

Rooms facing the front of the hotel allow guests to watch the Mardi Gras festivities right from their rooms.

Take a spin on the historic and one-of-a-kind Carousel Bar and Lounge. The bar has 25 seats that complete revolve every 15 minutes.

Policies and fees
Complimentary Internet access (.5M/second) is available in all guestrooms. For faster Internet access, guests can avail of Premium Internet access (2M/second) for $9.95 USD or Ultimate Internet access (20M/second) for $14.95 USD, both per 24-hour period.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Monteleone also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Hotel Monteleone Rooms

Accommodations
600 guestrooms including 55 suites, each newly refurbished, with ornamental moldings, Frette linens, Mevino throws, high-speed Internet access, satellite TV, in-room safes, movies on demand, robes, coffee makers, minibars and designer bath amenities.
Accommodations
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
General
Air conditioned
Concierge
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Casino
Disco
Game room
Jogging track
Driving range
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Room service
Poolside snackbar
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Boutiques
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Kennels
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Heated guest rooms
In room movies
Temperature control
Iron
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Preservation Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.4 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.4 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.4 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.1 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.7 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.7 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.6 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.3 mi

Dining

Dining
Guests enjoy dinner in the elegant Hunt Room, buffet breakfast or lunch in Le Cafe–institutions that helped shape and define the culinary landscape. The Hotel Monteleone will embark on a restaurant renovation beginning June 1st through November 24th, 2011

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Monteleone

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
308 out of 308
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
CTYankee in NOLA
Business
Darien, Connecticut
Apr 17, 2013

Not the way to run a hotel

Wanted to try a local hotel as a change of pace. Good location in the French Quarters. However, they lost a/c and hot water the first night. Then things went down hill from there. Room was never cleaned the second day. Wound up having to move to a different hotel when they could not give me assurance that the problem would be fixed any time soon. I understand that sometimes unavoidable problems occur but the lack of communication and then the discourteous follow up by the staff was not acceptable. I would highly discourage others from giving business to such an establishment unless they changed their ways.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
El Cebollo
Business
virginia beach
Jun 10, 2014

Misrepresented

I carefully chose this location based upon description. The room was so small you could hardly get around the bed which was worn out. Hardly room for two in the bathroom. Just abysmal accommodations for a purported "4 star" Hotel. The stay proclaimed it was O's responsibility. We will see if I receive a response. Luckily we were able to get to a real 4 star nearby which was a very fine property indeed ; its staff understanding and gracious to a fault. This shabby hotel is as completely unremarkable as its carousel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Bar at Nola is a wonderful place to have lunch.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
stephen L.
Business
new britain
Dec 23, 2014

dumpy hotel room

Room was dirty and had wallpaper peeling from walls, bathroom faucet leaked bad. Water mark from leaking ceiling. I would avoid this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Smithwicks
Business
Atlanta , ga
Apr 17, 2013

Over rated

Over rated over priced . Not a 4 star facility.Small dark room with view of a wall of an adjacent building.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
nonreturn guest
Business
atlanta
Sep 7, 2009

first time Monteleone

discovered lower rates at other hotels with bigger rooms lower parking fee

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
super schaef
Business
Chicago IL
Jan 3, 2011

Monteleone serves pre chewed food

NOT a 4 star hotel. The rooms are tiny. I had to turn sideways to get around the bed and I am 6'2, 190 pounds. The tv was practically over the bed. There were no options for other rooms. I had called early to request early check in but the room wasn't avaliable. They took our number but didn't write it down correctly so we never received a call to say our room was ready. We didn't check in till 6 and then had to scramble to get to our dinner on time. The mini fridge that they claim is in each room, isn't. Their story is that the entire hotel was struck by lightning and the mini fridges were all fried. This is happened over the summer and hasn't been fixed yet. What was left in the room is a shell with wires hanging down. Didn't look good. The safe in the room didn't work. They had to send someone up to fix it. This was our first hour in the hotel. Not a nice way to begin a trip. Then later that night, we ordered room service and the condiments had already been used. The mayo had a couple of knife slashes in it that were laced with ketchup. Yuck, no thanks. We checked out after one night moving to the LOEWS. Much better, the Loews is a four star hotel. I would stay here even over the Windsor Court. A first rate room at the same price as the Monteleone. The location is good but you are never out of the hustle and bustle. Stay a short walk out of the French Quarter and it makes your stay much better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

From the Loews Restaurant August is actually worth the money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
LJPre
Business
Lafayette LA
Oct 3, 2010

Not great value for price

Not a great value for the price paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lafayette, LA
May 29, 2009

Too expensive and not worth it!!!

I was told this hotel would be a super place to stay while visiting. The rooms were close to $200/ night (plus $30 parking/day), but we went anyway. Our room was tiny with a horrible view of the wall next door. The food was outrageously priced. After returning home, I noticed I left all my cosmetics in the bedside drawer. I called and was told it could not be found. After throwing a fit, someone said they found it but it was listed as the wrong room number. They offered to return it via UPS Ground (which should not cost more than $10). I received my cosmetics only to notice that most of it was missing. Then I saw my bill for the shipping was almost $20! I will NEVER return to this place again. It was nothing but a rip-off, STAY AWAY!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Hotel dining was extremely expenive. This hotel believes since it is in New Orleans, it can charge whatever it wants. My advice is DO NOT GO THERE. Got somewhere else that is more modern where the rooms are larger and the staff is friendly (and not thieves).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
medic924
Business
Tuscaloosa, AL, USA
Nov 9, 2011

Hotel Monteleone

I was somewhat disappointed with the room. For the hotel to be classified as a 4 or 5 star hotel, the only special things were the valet, doorman and granite floors and counters in the bathroom. I expected more and was disappointed. I have stayed in other hotels with more amenities that were rated less. Sorry, just not what I call 4/5 star and wouldn't spend that kind of money for that hotel again. I think I could find a better deal with a nicer hotel. Overall, the place is nice, but I just don't think it was worth the added expense. The extra money was for the granite floors and doorman, but had to pay to park so the valet was not necessarily a perk of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is in a good location, not right on the area of all the noise but very close walk to have fun. Also close to the riverwalk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GailYo
Business
Ridgeland, MS
Oct 30, 2012

Family Getaway

The hotel was just okay. Our room was small and had the worst view. The walls were thin and we could hear the people in the next room. I was really expecting more because of the price of the room. There was also a charge to use the internet. The positives of this trip was the staff was nice and attentive and the hotel was located in the French Quarter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top