$132 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 29, 2014 Check-out: Jul 30, 2014

Hotel Monteleone

4 stars
214 Royal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
462 reviews
Wonderful trip to the Quarter

We were traveling with a companion who was wheel chair bound. The staff and the hotel couldn't have... See full review

  • Friend of Madam X
  • Jun 18, 2014
New Orleans Adventure

Location was great. The carousel bar was fun. The only negative was breakfast in the hotel... See full review

  • Asbury Buddies
  • Jun 7, 2014

A time-honored New Orleans landmark, this French Quarter hotel has been owned and operated by five generations of the Monteleone family since 1886. It has appeared in movies, television and literary works. Keurig coffee makers, plush robes, marble and granite bathrooms, a heated rooftop pool, and a state-of-the-art fitness center are just some of the luxurious amenities in the Hotel Monteleone. Literary-themed suites pay homage to famous authors like Ernest Hemingway and Tennessee Williams, who visited and even wrote about the place. These well-appointed suites have plush furniture, parlors that can accommodate 15 to 70 people, and balconies with views of the Mississippi River and French Quarter.

Key facts

  • 600 guestrooms
  • 55 suites
  • Restaurant
  • 2 bars
  • Rooftop heated pool
  • Spa
  • Fitness center
  • Gift shop
  • Wi-Fi (fees apply)
  • Conference facilities
  • Pets allowed

Neighborhood

The Hotel Monteleone is on Royal Street within walking distance of many French Quarter restaurants and attractions. Bourbon Street is about a block away, and the famous Cafe du Monde is just steps from the hotel's lobby.

Hints and tips

Rooms facing the front of the hotel allow guests to watch the Mardi Gras festivities right from their rooms.

Take a spin on the historic and one-of-a-kind Carousel Bar and Lounge. The bar has 24 seats that complete revolve every 15 minutes.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Monteleone Rooms

Traditonal/Double
Rooms are newly refurbished in beautiful earth tones, conveying a sense of comfort, warmth, and relaxation. Rooms have new marble and granite bathrooms and plush amenities. High ceilings and ornamental moldings enhance the French Quarter ambiance. Flat Screen HDTV Television, Coffee Maker, Refreshment Center. Rooms are traditional in size and are located throughout this historical hotel. These Traditional Rooms range from 240 to 300 square feet.
Traditonal/King
Rooms are newly refurbished in beautiful earth tones, conveying a sense of comfort, warmth, and relaxation. Rooms have new marble and granite bathrooms and plush amenities. High ceilings and ornamental moldings enhance the French Quarter ambiance. Flat Screen HDTV Television, Coffee Maker, Refreshment Center. Rooms are traditional in size and are located throughout this historical hotel. These Traditional Rooms range from 240 - 290 square feet.
Junior Suite/King
Newly refurbished in beautiful earth tones, conveying a sense of comfort, warmth, and relaxation. All have new marble and granite bathrooms and plush amenities. High ceilings and ornamental moldings enhance the French Quarter ambiance. Flat Screen HDTV Television, Coffee Maker, Refreshment Center. These suites have enhanced bath amenities, including a Jacuzzi garden tub, separate glass shower, and double vanity. These suites range in size.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Monteleone also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.9543 -90.0679
Area served
French Quarter
Nearby airports
New Orleans Louis Armstrong International Airport
Area description
The Hotel Monteleone is the premier address of the French Quarter. Located at the top of Royal Street, the hotel is within walking distance of the finest restaurants, antique shops, galleries, and most major attractions. Only one block from Bourbon Street and two blocks from the Central Business District.

Nearby points of interest

  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.2 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.4 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Storyville: 0.5 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.5 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.7 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.2 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.4 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Storyville: 0.5 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.5 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.7 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.4 mi
  • East Tennessee Historical Center: 1.6 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.1 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.7 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.7 mi
  • Amistad Research Center: 3.2 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.6 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • State Capital Publishing Museum: 4 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.3 mi
  • Six Flags New Orleans: 10.3 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The hotel provides over 20,000 square feet of beautifully decorated meeting space and expert staff to service any function. All meeting rooms are equipped with high speed internet access and our private Business Center offers a variety of services right in the hotel.

Dining

Criollo
Casual elegant restaurant located off the lobby. Ingredient-driven season menu is designed to offer creative dishes by culinary traditions & an appreciation of todays contemporary tastes. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Carousel Bar
The world famous Carousel Bar in Hotel Monteleone is the only bar in New Orleans that revolves around the room. It overlooks famous Royal Street through large fan windows. "Take a ride on the Carousel and change your point of view!"

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (462)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Monteleone

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
462 out of 462
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
CTYankee in NOLA
Darien, Connecticut
Apr 17, 2013

Not the way to run a hotel

Wanted to try a local hotel as a change of pace. Good location in the French Quarters. However, they lost a/c and hot water the first night. Then things went down hill from there. Room was never cleaned the second day. Wound up having to move to a different hotel when they could not give me assurance that the problem would be fixed any time soon. I understand that sometimes unavoidable problems occur but the lack of communication and then the discourteous follow up by the staff was not acceptable. I would highly discourage others from giving business to such an establishment unless they changed their ways.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
El Cebollo
Business
virginia beach
Jun 10, 2014

Misrepresented

I carefully chose this location based upon description. The room was so small you could hardly get around the bed which was worn out. Hardly room for two in the bathroom. Just abysmal accommodations for a purported "4 star" Hotel. The stay proclaimed it was O's responsibility. We will see if I receive a response. Luckily we were able to get to a real 4 star nearby which was a very fine property indeed ; its staff understanding and gracious to a fault. This shabby hotel is as completely unremarkable as its carousel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Bar at Nola is a wonderful place to have lunch.

Review of Hotel Monteleone

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
super schaef
Chicago IL
Jan 3, 2011

Monteleone serves pre chewed food

NOT a 4 star hotel. The rooms are tiny. I had to turn sideways to get around the bed and I am 6'2, 190 pounds. The tv was practically over the bed. There were no options for other rooms. I had called early to request early check in but the room wasn't avaliable. They took our number but didn't write it down correctly so we never received a call to say our room was ready. We didn't check in till 6 and then had to scramble to get to our dinner on time. The mini fridge that they claim is in each room, isn't. Their story is that the entire hotel was struck by lightning and the mini fridges were all fried. This is happened over the summer and hasn't been fixed yet. What was left in the room is a shell with wires hanging down. Didn't look good. The safe in the room didn't work. They had to send someone up to fix it. This was our first hour in the hotel. Not a nice way to begin a trip. Then later that night, we ordered room service and the condiments had already been used. The mayo had a couple of knife slashes in it that were laced with ketchup. Yuck, no thanks. We checked out after one night moving to the LOEWS. Much better, the Loews is a four star hotel. I would stay here even over the Windsor Court. A first rate room at the same price as the Monteleone. The location is good but you are never out of the hustle and bustle. Stay a short walk out of the French Quarter and it makes your stay much better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

From the Loews Restaurant August is actually worth the money.

Review of Hotel Monteleone

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Smithwicks
Atlanta , ga
Apr 17, 2013

Over rated

Over rated over priced . Not a 4 star facility.Small dark room with view of a wall of an adjacent building.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
LJPre
Lafayette LA
Oct 3, 2010

Not great value for price

Not a great value for the price paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
nonreturn guest
atlanta
Sep 7, 2009

first time Monteleone

discovered lower rates at other hotels with bigger rooms lower parking fee

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lafayette, LA
May 29, 2009

Too expensive and not worth it!!!

I was told this hotel would be a super place to stay while visiting. The rooms were close to $200/ night (plus $30 parking/day), but we went anyway. Our room was tiny with a horrible view of the wall next door. The food was outrageously priced. After returning home, I noticed I left all my cosmetics in the bedside drawer. I called and was told it could not be found. After throwing a fit, someone said they found it but it was listed as the wrong room number. They offered to return it via UPS Ground (which should not cost more than $10). I received my cosmetics only to notice that most of it was missing. Then I saw my bill for the shipping was almost $20! I will NEVER return to this place again. It was nothing but a rip-off, STAY AWAY!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: In Hotel

Hotel dining was extremely expenive. This hotel believes since it is in New Orleans, it can charge whatever it wants. My advice is DO NOT GO THERE. Got somewhere else that is more modern where the rooms are larger and the staff is friendly (and not thieves).

Review of Hotel Monteleone

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
LJPre
Lafayette LA
Oct 3, 2010

Not great value for price

Not a great value for the price paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
nonreturn guest
atlanta
Sep 7, 2009

first time Monteleone

discovered lower rates at other hotels with bigger rooms lower parking fee

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lafayette, LA
May 29, 2009

Too expensive and not worth it!!!

I was told this hotel would be a super place to stay while visiting. The rooms were close to $200/ night (plus $30 parking/day), but we went anyway. Our room was tiny with a horrible view of the wall next door. The food was outrageously priced. After returning home, I noticed I left all my cosmetics in the bedside drawer. I called and was told it could not be found. After throwing a fit, someone said they found it but it was listed as the wrong room number. They offered to return it via UPS Ground (which should not cost more than $10). I received my cosmetics only to notice that most of it was missing. Then I saw my bill for the shipping was almost $20! I will NEVER return to this place again. It was nothing but a rip-off, STAY AWAY!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: In Hotel

Hotel dining was extremely expenive. This hotel believes since it is in New Orleans, it can charge whatever it wants. My advice is DO NOT GO THERE. Got somewhere else that is more modern where the rooms are larger and the staff is friendly (and not thieves).

Back to menu Return to top