$132 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 26, 2014

Hotel Monteleone

4 stars
214 Royal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
282 reviews
Grest ambience

Lovely charming hotel with great ammenities and in a wonderful location. See full review

  • Travel novice
  • Aug 1, 2014
Wonderful trip to the Quarter

We were traveling with a companion who was wheel chair bound. The staff and the hotel couldn't have... See full review

  • Friend of Madam X
  • Jun 18, 2014

A time-honored New Orleans landmark, this French Quarter hotel has been owned and operated by five generations of the Monteleone family since 1886. It has appeared in movies, television and literary works. Keurig coffee makers, plush robes, marble and granite bathrooms, a heated rooftop pool, and a state-of-the-art fitness center are just some of the luxurious amenities in the Hotel Monteleone. Literary-themed suites pay homage to famous authors like Ernest Hemingway and Tennessee Williams, who visited and even wrote about the place. These well-appointed suites have plush furniture, parlors that can accommodate 15 to 70 people, and balconies with views of the Mississippi River and French Quarter.

Key facts

  • 600 guestrooms
  • 55 suites
  • Restaurant
  • 2 bars
  • Rooftop heated pool
  • Spa
  • Fitness center
  • Gift shop
  • Wi-Fi (fees apply)
  • Conference facilities
  • Pets allowed

Neighborhood

The Hotel Monteleone is on Royal Street within walking distance of many French Quarter restaurants and attractions. Bourbon Street is about a block away, and the famous Cafe du Monde is just steps from the hotel's lobby.

Hints and tips

Rooms facing the front of the hotel allow guests to watch the Mardi Gras festivities right from their rooms.

Take a spin on the historic and one-of-a-kind Carousel Bar and Lounge. The bar has 24 seats that complete revolve every 15 minutes.

Policies and fees
Complimentary Internet access (.5M/second) is available in all guestrooms. For faster Internet access, guests can avail of Premium Internet access (2M/second) for $9.95 USD or Ultimate Internet access (20M/second) for $14.95 USD, both per 24-hour period.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.9543 -90.0679
Area served
French Quarter
Nearby airports
New Orleans Louis Armstrong International Airport
Area description
The Hotel Monteleone is the premier address of the French Quarter. Located at the top of Royal Street, the hotel is within walking distance of the finest restaurants, antique shops, galleries, and most major attractions. Only one block from Bourbon Street and two blocks from the Central Business District.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Monteleone also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Monteleone Rooms

Traditonal/Double
Rooms are newly refurbished in beautiful earth tones, conveying a sense of comfort, warmth, and relaxation. Rooms have new marble and granite bathrooms and plush amenities. High ceilings and ornamental moldings enhance the French Quarter ambiance. Flat Screen HDTV Television, Coffee Maker, Refreshment Center. Rooms are traditional in size and are located throughout this historical hotel. These Traditional Rooms range from 240 to 300 square feet.
Traditonal/King
Rooms are newly refurbished in beautiful earth tones, conveying a sense of comfort, warmth, and relaxation. Rooms have new marble and granite bathrooms and plush amenities. High ceilings and ornamental moldings enhance the French Quarter ambiance. Flat Screen HDTV Television, Coffee Maker, Refreshment Center. Rooms are traditional in size and are located throughout this historical hotel. These Traditional Rooms range from 240 - 290 square feet.
Junior Suite/King
Newly refurbished in beautiful earth tones, conveying a sense of comfort, warmth, and relaxation. All have new marble and granite bathrooms and plush amenities. High ceilings and ornamental moldings enhance the French Quarter ambiance. Flat Screen HDTV Television, Coffee Maker, Refreshment Center. These suites have enhanced bath amenities, including a Jacuzzi garden tub, separate glass shower, and double vanity. These suites range in size.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet in room
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Preservation Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.4 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.4 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.4 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.1 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.7 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.7 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.6 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.3 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The hotel provides over 20,000 square feet of beautifully decorated meeting space and expert staff to service any function. All meeting rooms are equipped with high speed internet access and our private Business Center offers a variety of services right in the hotel.

Dining

Criollo
Casual elegant restaurant located off the lobby. Ingredient-driven season menu is designed to offer creative dishes by culinary traditions & an appreciation of todays contemporary tastes. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Carousel Bar
The world famous Carousel Bar in Hotel Monteleone is the only bar in New Orleans that revolves around the room. It overlooks famous Royal Street through large fan windows. "Take a ride on the Carousel and change your point of view!"

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (282)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Monteleone

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
282 out of 282
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
CTYankee in NOLA
Darien, Connecticut
Apr 17, 2013

Not the way to run a hotel

Wanted to try a local hotel as a change of pace. Good location in the French Quarters. However, they lost a/c and hot water the first night. Then things went down hill from there. Room was never cleaned the second day. Wound up having to move to a different hotel when they could not give me assurance that the problem would be fixed any time soon. I understand that sometimes unavoidable problems occur but the lack of communication and then the discourteous follow up by the staff was not acceptable. I would highly discourage others from giving business to such an establishment unless they changed their ways.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
El Cebollo
Business
virginia beach
Jun 10, 2014

Misrepresented

I carefully chose this location based upon description. The room was so small you could hardly get around the bed which was worn out. Hardly room for two in the bathroom. Just abysmal accommodations for a purported "4 star" Hotel. The stay proclaimed it was O's responsibility. We will see if I receive a response. Luckily we were able to get to a real 4 star nearby which was a very fine property indeed ; its staff understanding and gracious to a fault. This shabby hotel is as completely unremarkable as its carousel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Bar at Nola is a wonderful place to have lunch.

Review of Hotel Monteleone

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Smithwicks
Atlanta , ga
Apr 17, 2013

Over rated

Over rated over priced . Not a 4 star facility.Small dark room with view of a wall of an adjacent building.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
nonreturn guest
atlanta
Sep 7, 2009

first time Monteleone

discovered lower rates at other hotels with bigger rooms lower parking fee

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
super schaef
Chicago IL
Jan 3, 2011

Monteleone serves pre chewed food

NOT a 4 star hotel. The rooms are tiny. I had to turn sideways to get around the bed and I am 6'2, 190 pounds. The tv was practically over the bed. There were no options for other rooms. I had called early to request early check in but the room wasn't avaliable. They took our number but didn't write it down correctly so we never received a call to say our room was ready. We didn't check in till 6 and then had to scramble to get to our dinner on time. The mini fridge that they claim is in each room, isn't. Their story is that the entire hotel was struck by lightning and the mini fridges were all fried. This is happened over the summer and hasn't been fixed yet. What was left in the room is a shell with wires hanging down. Didn't look good. The safe in the room didn't work. They had to send someone up to fix it. This was our first hour in the hotel. Not a nice way to begin a trip. Then later that night, we ordered room service and the condiments had already been used. The mayo had a couple of knife slashes in it that were laced with ketchup. Yuck, no thanks. We checked out after one night moving to the LOEWS. Much better, the Loews is a four star hotel. I would stay here even over the Windsor Court. A first rate room at the same price as the Monteleone. The location is good but you are never out of the hustle and bustle. Stay a short walk out of the French Quarter and it makes your stay much better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

From the Loews Restaurant August is actually worth the money.

Review of Hotel Monteleone

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
LJPre
Lafayette LA
Oct 3, 2010

Not great value for price

Not a great value for the price paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lafayette, LA
May 29, 2009

Too expensive and not worth it!!!

I was told this hotel would be a super place to stay while visiting. The rooms were close to $200/ night (plus $30 parking/day), but we went anyway. Our room was tiny with a horrible view of the wall next door. The food was outrageously priced. After returning home, I noticed I left all my cosmetics in the bedside drawer. I called and was told it could not be found. After throwing a fit, someone said they found it but it was listed as the wrong room number. They offered to return it via UPS Ground (which should not cost more than $10). I received my cosmetics only to notice that most of it was missing. Then I saw my bill for the shipping was almost $20! I will NEVER return to this place again. It was nothing but a rip-off, STAY AWAY!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: In Hotel

Hotel dining was extremely expenive. This hotel believes since it is in New Orleans, it can charge whatever it wants. My advice is DO NOT GO THERE. Got somewhere else that is more modern where the rooms are larger and the staff is friendly (and not thieves).

Review of Hotel Monteleone

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
medic924
Tuscaloosa, AL, USA
Nov 9, 2011

Hotel Monteleone

I was somewhat disappointed with the room. For the hotel to be classified as a 4 or 5 star hotel, the only special things were the valet, doorman and granite floors and counters in the bathroom. I expected more and was disappointed. I have stayed in other hotels with more amenities that were rated less. Sorry, just not what I call 4/5 star and wouldn't spend that kind of money for that hotel again. I think I could find a better deal with a nicer hotel. Overall, the place is nice, but I just don't think it was worth the added expense. The extra money was for the granite floors and doorman, but had to pay to park so the valet was not necessarily a perk of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is in a good location, not right on the area of all the noise but very close walk to have fun. Also close to the riverwalk.

Review of Hotel Monteleone

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GailYo
Ridgeland, MS
Oct 30, 2012

Family Getaway

The hotel was just okay. Our room was small and had the worst view. The walls were thin and we could hear the people in the next room. I was really expecting more because of the price of the room. There was also a charge to use the internet. The positives of this trip was the staff was nice and attentive and the hotel was located in the French Quarter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
aputnam
New York
Mar 28, 2013

Great location

..and this is the biggest plus. However, when we came the receptionist told us that the room was not ready and we can check in no early as at 5.00 pm. So we left our baggages in the waiting room and went to see the city. We came back at 4.30 and asked for any room that we got it. The room was clean but cleaning department does not do their job. On the second day we had to call them at 5.00 pm to come down and clean the room. On the third day they did not show up at all. The Carousel Bar downstairs is nice place to grab a drink before you go somewhere else. Nevertheless, drinks are made with very little alcohol but in a good price. There is no swimming pool indoor so when is colder you cannot use it. Overall it is average standard hotel. I would not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Skip Cafe Du Monde. The coffee is terrible as their beginets which are dry and without taste. The best beginets you can find in Cafe Beignet. They are huge, hot and beyond delicious. They also have decent coffee.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search