$157 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 28, 2015

Hotel Monteleone

5 stars
View map of 214 Royal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Monteleone

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
327 out of 327
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Deb N Jenn
Worcester, MA, USA
Oct 9, 2012

amazing friendly and peaceful

This beautiful historic hotel is in the heart of the French Quarter with plentiful delights in walking distance. The staff was friendly and quick to provide assistance and answer questions. Great food and tour recommendations with a lovely pool and bar area. Room service was delicious and the room was peaceful despite the proximity to Bourbon Street and the number of guests around us. Highly recommended!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Walgreens is just outside the lobby to your left on the corner to pick up drinks for the room or any small thing you forgot.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
El Profesor
Business
Palo Alto, CA
Jan 13, 2014

Very nice luxury hotel, need to keep rooms fixed

This hotel offered about what I expected in a fancy old luxury hotel. The staff were quite helpful, checking me in early and putting me in a nice room overlooking the city. The room was nice and modern, but had a few maintenance issues, including an intermittent lamp switch and a toilet seat that was loose. It's a bit annoying to deal with these things on a short visit. The staff were excellent and I was happy with the service, including excellent room service. I would probably stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cosmastro
Business
Washington DC
Jan 5, 2014

Beautiful French Quarter Hotel!

My boyfriend and I stayed at Hotel Monteleone for one night prior to getting on a cruise and it doesn't get any better. The hotel is absolutely beautiful and charming. Our room was so warm and inviting and this hotel does all the little extras to make it comfortable. Also, we loved the Carousel Bar in the lobby. Will definitely stay here again if in New Orleans!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Free Walking Tours.com is great. We took a ghost tour and it was very fun and provided interesting history of the city.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Vegas Dude2013
Business
new Orleans LA
Dec 26, 2013

Xmas in N.O.

We stayed at Hotel Monteleone for second time over Christmas. Nice rooms in art district and walking distance of local attractions. Staff was great. We did not use restaurant as it was booked solid. Great experience and will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Desire Oyster House- jambalaya, double pork chops and drinks are excellent!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
trumpet 1
Business
New Jersey
Dec 18, 2013

Jazz Trip

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed the ambience and the friendly efficient staff. The Hotel Monteleone was an elegant historical hotel in the heart of the French Quarter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Ervin Mayfield's Jazz Playhouse for grammy winning jazz. World War II museum was outstanding.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SissyLesage
Business
Audubon, PA
Oct 16, 2013

my brother and his wife celebrating their 7th wedding anniversay

I had a wonderful time. I knew so many people and got to know more people. It was a lot of fun and I really enjoy staying at the Hotel Monteleone. A beautiful hotel and all the people there serve you with dignity. Thank you for asking. Mrs. Catherine C. LeSage

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

I cant remenber the names of the dining places that we ate at but whateeer their names were they were delightful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Boscoyo
Business
Louisiana
Jul 28, 2013

Great hotel, bad valet

No complaints about the hotel facilities. Very nice hotel in a great location. Valet parking however is horrible. Checking the car in was not a problem. Getting our car upon checkout was. It took us over 45 minutes to get our car. I will definitely self park next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
brownfam
Business
Hercules,ca
Jun 20, 2013

great location

I had stayed here before for a dental convention many years ago and the hotel is still as neat and good as the years before. Gerald the doorman was very friendly and made us feel very welcomed on coming and goings.Gym on rooftop was a plus and very clean. Location is perfect. Would definitely stay here again when returning to New Orleans.Lots of good restaurants close by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Acme oyster house a must along with Deanies which is one or two blocks from Acme. The best seafood and best service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Candice6335
Business
New York
Apr 26, 2013

Very Happy with Hotel Monteleone!

This was my first time in New Orleans and I was very pleased with this hotel. The location is perfect because it is in the middle of everything without being on Bourbon Street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SBSMKH
Business
France
Apr 25, 2013

Excellent Stay

I would stay here again without hesitation - good central location with great access to the Quarter. Accommodation and staff hard to fault.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
CTYankee in NOLA
Business
Darien, Connecticut
Apr 17, 2013

Not the way to run a hotel

Wanted to try a local hotel as a change of pace. Good location in the French Quarters. However, they lost a/c and hot water the first night. Then things went down hill from there. Room was never cleaned the second day. Wound up having to move to a different hotel when they could not give me assurance that the problem would be fixed any time soon. I understand that sometimes unavoidable problems occur but the lack of communication and then the discourteous follow up by the staff was not acceptable. I would highly discourage others from giving business to such an establishment unless they changed their ways.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top