$152 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2015 Check-out: Aug 21, 2015

Hotel Monteleone

5 stars
View map of 214 Royal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Monteleone

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
298 out of 298
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chrissy123456
Business
Commerce, MI
Apr 25, 2014

Historic hotel in a great location

We loved this historic hotel, it was in a fantastic location and the staff was amazing. The rooms were a bit small but would expect so from an older hotel. The hotel was in great shape (I believe it was recently renovated), clean and charming. The one downside is that the walls are very thin so if you have loud neighbors that can be disruptive. Overall I would recommend and would stay at the Hotel Monteleone on my next visit to New Orleans!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Monteleone

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Southern Travels
Business
Mississippi
Apr 25, 2014

really good location

I have stayed at this hotel several times. The location is good, the hotel is quite grand, and the staff is always courteous and knowledgable. I only have one real complaint. The room does not cool enough even with the thermostat adjusted to the coldest setting. Not terribly uncomfortable, but a bit irritating. Other than that small gripe, this is a good place to stay if you want to be in the French Quarter, but not deep into the French Quarter. Very very good restaurants within 1-3 blocks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Monteleone

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
latinamericantraveler007
Business
New York, NY, USA
Apr 22, 2014

Most reliably excellent hotel in New Orleans

This is a family owned luxury property right in the heart of the French Quarter (but far enough away from Bourbon Street not to be by it. It's my first hotel choice when I stay in New Orleans. Unlike many corporate chains that claim luxury status this one earns it. Very comfortable and restful place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Monteleone

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sooner Travel Mom
Business
Oklahoma
Mar 22, 2014

Excellent for Just the 2 of Us

The two of us booked this hotel for a weekend by ourselves. The location couldn't have been better. We were able to walk to everything, only using cabs for the airport. The room was small, but wonderfully decorated and clean. The bed was one of the most comfortable hotel beds I've slept on. The staff was very helpful and happy to help, even when we asked a simple question to what turned out to be the "VIP" (rather than the "regular") concierge. We definitely would stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dinner at Dickie Brennan's steakhouse (half a block away) and Sunday jazz brunch at Mr. B's (across the street) were both wonderful and worth the price!

Review of Hotel Monteleone

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Beanstree
Business
Baton Rouge, LA
Mar 9, 2014

Great Hotel

Stayed here for Mardi Gras and had a great experience. The hotel lobby is beautiful and historic. We were there for Mardi Gras and saw several couple getting married in the lobby! The staff was very friendly and efficient. The rooms are comfortable. They could update the bedding but there was a nice flat screen TV and Keurig. Great location. I would recommend it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Monteleone

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tony in Las Vegas
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Mar 7, 2014

Great Place to Stay,

Very friendly, clean, location is excellent. Top of the line hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Monteleone

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TheDesertFox
Business
Rancho Cucamonga, Ca
Mar 6, 2014

great place to stay

This is second time we stayed at this hotel. It is beautiful and clean. The staff was professional and pleasant. Good location to most anywhere you want to go/see. The security and security staff was great, friendly, helpful. Security was beefed up for Mardi Gras and the security staff was professional and personable. My only complaint is the price of wifi, the price was expensive. Very disappointment with this and was not willing to pay the outrageous price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Monteleone is within walking distance of many attractions and entertainment. We were able to walk everywhere that we wanted to visit

Review of Hotel Monteleone

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
El Profesor
Business
Palo Alto, CA
Jan 13, 2014

Very nice luxury hotel, need to keep rooms fixed

This hotel offered about what I expected in a fancy old luxury hotel. The staff were quite helpful, checking me in early and putting me in a nice room overlooking the city. The room was nice and modern, but had a few maintenance issues, including an intermittent lamp switch and a toilet seat that was loose. It's a bit annoying to deal with these things on a short visit. The staff were excellent and I was happy with the service, including excellent room service. I would probably stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Monteleone

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cosmastro
Business
Washington DC
Jan 5, 2014

Beautiful French Quarter Hotel!

My boyfriend and I stayed at Hotel Monteleone for one night prior to getting on a cruise and it doesn't get any better. The hotel is absolutely beautiful and charming. Our room was so warm and inviting and this hotel does all the little extras to make it comfortable. Also, we loved the Carousel Bar in the lobby. Will definitely stay here again if in New Orleans!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Free Walking Tours.com is great. We took a ghost tour and it was very fun and provided interesting history of the city.

Review of Hotel Monteleone

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Vegas Dude2013
Business
new Orleans LA
Dec 26, 2013

Xmas in N.O.

We stayed at Hotel Monteleone for second time over Christmas. Nice rooms in art district and walking distance of local attractions. Staff was great. We did not use restaurant as it was booked solid. Great experience and will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Desire Oyster House- jambalaya, double pork chops and drinks are excellent!!

Back to menu Return to top