Hotel Monteleone

5 stars
214 Royal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
281 reviews
Good times in NOLA

We really liked this location. it was an easy walk to a lot of the activities we wanted. The... See full review

  • Occasional Traveler 27
  • Oct 5, 2014
Perfect Location

The hotel was everything we hoped for, price, location, beautiful rooms. We recommend this to all... See full review

  • Vagabond Kid
  • Sep 5, 2014

A time-honored New Orleans landmark, this French Quarter hotel has been owned and operated by five generations of the Monteleone family since 1886. It has appeared in movies, television and literary works. Keurig coffee makers, plush robes, marble and granite bathrooms, a heated rooftop pool, and a state-of-the-art fitness center are just some of the luxurious amenities in the Hotel Monteleone. Literary-themed suites pay homage to famous authors like Ernest Hemingway and Tennessee Williams, who visited and even wrote about the place. These well-appointed suites have plush furniture, parlors that can accommodate 15 to 70 people, and balconies with views of the Mississippi River and French Quarter.

Key facts

  • 600 guestrooms
  • 55 suites
  • Restaurant
  • 2 bars
  • Rooftop heated pool
  • Spa
  • Fitness center
  • Gift shop
  • Wi-Fi (fees apply)
  • Conference facilities
  • Pets allowed

Neighborhood

The Hotel Monteleone is on Royal Street within walking distance of many French Quarter restaurants and attractions. Bourbon Street is about a block away, and the famous Cafe du Monde is just steps from the hotel's lobby.

Hints and tips

Rooms facing the front of the hotel allow guests to watch the Mardi Gras festivities right from their rooms.

Take a spin on the historic and one-of-a-kind Carousel Bar and Lounge. The bar has 24 seats that complete revolve every 15 minutes.

Policies and fees
Complimentary Internet access (.5M/second) is available in all guestrooms. For faster Internet access, guests can avail of Premium Internet access (2M/second) for $9.95 USD or Ultimate Internet access (20M/second) for $14.95 USD, both per 24-hour period.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Monteleone Rooms

Accommodations
600 guestrooms including 55 suites, each newly refurbished, with ornamental moldings, Frette linens, Mevino throws, high-speed Internet access, satellite TV, in-room safes, movies on demand, robes, coffee makers, minibars and designer bath amenities.
Accommodations
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
General
Air conditioned
Concierge
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Casino
Disco
Game room
Jogging track
Driving range
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Room service
Poolside snackbar
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Boutiques
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Kennels
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Heated guest rooms
In room movies
Temperature control
Iron
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Hotel Map

29.9543 -90.0679
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Preservation Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.4 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.4 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.4 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.1 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.7 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.7 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.6 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.3 mi

Dining

Dining
Guests enjoy dinner in the elegant Hunt Room, buffet breakfast or lunch in Le Cafe–institutions that helped shape and define the culinary landscape. The Hotel Monteleone will embark on a restaurant renovation beginning June 1st through November 24th, 2011

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (281)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Monteleone

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
281 out of 281
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
CTYankee in NOLA
Business
Darien, Connecticut
Apr 17, 2013

Not the way to run a hotel

Wanted to try a local hotel as a change of pace. Good location in the French Quarters. However, they lost a/c and hot water the first night. Then things went down hill from there. Room was never cleaned the second day. Wound up having to move to a different hotel when they could not give me assurance that the problem would be fixed any time soon. I understand that sometimes unavoidable problems occur but the lack of communication and then the discourteous follow up by the staff was not acceptable. I would highly discourage others from giving business to such an establishment unless they changed their ways.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Smithwicks
Business
Atlanta , ga
Apr 17, 2013

Over rated

Over rated over priced . Not a 4 star facility.Small dark room with view of a wall of an adjacent building.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Din Klu
Business
Fairhope, Alabama
Apr 10, 2013

Couldn't be better!

I would highly recommend this hotel in New Orleans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Marilyn Fitz
Business
New York
Mar 30, 2013

Spring Break

My family and I enjoyed our stay there...will be back again next Spring recess from school! : )

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fullerdw
Business
Florida
Mar 29, 2013

Crescent City Holiday

Excellent facilities and location. Staf were helpful and friendly. Beds left a bit to be desired as they were like sleeping on jello. All in all a good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
aputnam
Business
New York
Mar 28, 2013

Great location

..and this is the biggest plus. However, when we came the receptionist told us that the room was not ready and we can check in no early as at 5.00 pm. So we left our baggages in the waiting room and went to see the city. We came back at 4.30 and asked for any room that we got it. The room was clean but cleaning department does not do their job. On the second day we had to call them at 5.00 pm to come down and clean the room. On the third day they did not show up at all. The Carousel Bar downstairs is nice place to grab a drink before you go somewhere else. Nevertheless, drinks are made with very little alcohol but in a good price. There is no swimming pool indoor so when is colder you cannot use it. Overall it is average standard hotel. I would not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Skip Cafe Du Monde. The coffee is terrible as their beginets which are dry and without taste. The best beginets you can find in Cafe Beignet. They are huge, hot and beyond delicious. They also have decent coffee.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Glorybe
Business
New Boston, TX
Mar 15, 2013

Wonderful location, beautiful facility. great staff

Our stay was an excellent experience. The beds were very comfortable and the location excellent - it was close to restaurants and many places to visit by walking.. Staff helpful and friendly. Thanks for a great visit!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Appreciated valet parking and being close in to all the places to eat and visit.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
R2D22
Business
Alexandria, VA, USA
Feb 15, 2013

Hotel Monteleone

This hotel is situated perfectly: just a couple of blocks from Bourbon St and Canal, and only a few blocks from the French Quarter - very walkable even in the rain. The staff was very welcoming. I will definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

I know this is low-brow considering the hotel, but Krystals (fast food) on Bourbon St right at Canal is the bomb. Their sliders' taste like White Castle and the breakfast is very good. Their hot sauce is actually hot.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Millenium World Traveler
Business
Memphis
Feb 14, 2013

Grand Old Style

Such a lovely hotel very convenient right in the heart of the quarter. im a workout junkie and the heated pool with the great veiw and euipment room were the best. The beds are comfortable and the rooms are pretty. The bar is one of the best in New Orleans!!! We'll be back!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Royal house for oysters if you dont wanna wait in line at ACME

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
A.N.C.
Business
Marietta, Georgia
Jan 2, 2013

Great stay for the family

We went during the Chrismas week - had a very relaxing and stress-free stay. Staff was very accomodating and friendly - from the valet to the cleaning crew. Room was a little small but still comfortable. Unfortunately for us, most of our sightseeing on this trip was not within walking distance so we had to tip the valet to get our car so much that we lost count, however, on days that we actually hang out at the French Quarter, this was the perfect location. It was close by everything but far enough so that we can't hear (or smell) anything coming from Bourbon St. Would definitely go back - especially for their signature Monteleone Cocktail - that was awesome!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top