$157 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 28, 2015 Check-out: Jul 1, 2015

Hotel Monteleone

5 stars
View map of 214 Royal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Monteleone

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
329 out of 329
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chuck J.
Business
Charlotte, NC
Jun 16, 2014

Nice Place, GREAT Location!

The hotel was great. The Bar was always hopping and the pool area was nice as well. Our biggest complaint is that the walls were VERY thin and we heard EVERYTHING in the neighboring rooms at all hours of the day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Monteleone

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
El Cebollo
Business
virginia beach
Jun 10, 2014

Misrepresented

I carefully chose this location based upon description. The room was so small you could hardly get around the bed which was worn out. Hardly room for two in the bathroom. Just abysmal accommodations for a purported "4 star" Hotel. The stay proclaimed it was O's responsibility. We will see if I receive a response. Luckily we were able to get to a real 4 star nearby which was a very fine property indeed ; its staff understanding and gracious to a fault. This shabby hotel is as completely unremarkable as its carousel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Bar at Nola is a wonderful place to have lunch.

Review of Hotel Monteleone

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Legal Linda
Business
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Jun 8, 2014

New Favorite

Have stayed at the Royal Sonesta on 3 previous stays in NOLA. Have also walked by the Monteleone and been curious. Actually booked it for cheaper than Sonesta (which had not been the case before). Totally met my expectations. Lived the location on Royal (I'm so over Bourbon Street). Also staff at all levels went above and beyond with attention and help. (not so the last time at Sonesta). This will be my new "must stay" in NOLA!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Monteleone

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Asbury Buddies
Business
NYC NY
Jun 7, 2014

New Orleans Adventure

Location was great. The carousel bar was fun. The only negative was breakfast in the hotel restaurant. Average food compared to the great restaurants in the French Quarter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Remember to book in advance

Review of Hotel Monteleone

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ro Mo
Business
Boston, MA
Jun 2, 2014

Good/Bad Location

Before staying here, you really need to think about what you want out of your trip to New Orleans. If you are a night owl with plans to party all night on Bourbon Street, this is the hotel for you. The locaton is in the middle of everything with easy access to all that you will want in the French Quarter. If you want to sleep and relax, you may want to think about a different location further from Bourbon Street. The hotel staff was very friendly and the amenities of the hotel are great. The Carousel bar is a must with great bartenders and cocktails. The downside is that we stayed on the sixth floor in a room that faces Royal Street, which is one block from Bourbon. There was constant noise until nearly 5:00 every morning. This included a marching band playing "When the Saints Go Marching in" at 3:00 one morning. The staff was very accomodating about moving us to a quieter room, but be warned if staying here to ask for a high floor in the interior if you plan to sleep. The rooms were clean and nicely furnished, but a little on the small side. All in all, a decent stay, but may think about a different location if visiting New Orleans again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Monteleone

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Minoa NY Traveler
Business
Syrause, New York
Jun 2, 2014

Great Location, no worries!

The location of the Hotel Montelone was great! Easy access to Bourbon St and all other surrounding French Quarter streets. You would need to take a bus to the Garden District or Business District, which is fairly easy. Rooms were small, but doable: standard room applies. We were able to walk to the French Market and #1 Cemetary. We also ventured to the Zoo, the bus was right around the corner on Canal St. Take the Magazine Bus #11. We had no problems with the reservations, was a great hassle free vacation. Would recommend highly staying at the Hotel. Enjoy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Bring a good pair of walking shoes! Lots to see and do within walking distance.

Review of Hotel Monteleone

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alie Girl
Business
Houston
May 27, 2014

Two Gals Fun Weekend in the Big Easy!!!

My gal pal and I took the city by storm, hitting all the classy locales and partaking of some uber-fun shopping! Monteleone was home-base, perfectly situated in the middle of everything and every place we needed to be! And the staff was marvelously accommodating! The lounge and carousel bar were the most fun after dinner, and the Sunday brunch in the restaurant was exquisite and heavenly! We'll stay here again and again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Monteleone

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lire50
Business
New York City
May 26, 2014

Nice Little Getaway!

I visited this hotel in April 2014. The hotel location was excellent...everything that you would want to see and do in the French Quarter was in walking distance. The hotel itself was clean and pleasant. The staff was friendly. The room was small...even for one person. Took a while to figure out that the armoire doors slid back so that more space was provided between it and the end of the bed. ATE WELL!! No problems. Would def stay at the Monteleone again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

After dark, Bourbon Street is a place where people try too hard to stand out in the most obnoxious ways! See it and get out fast!

Review of Hotel Monteleone

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Birthday girl 73
Business
Memphis, TN
May 21, 2014

French Quarter Elegance

The hotel staff was extremely friendly and willing to help. The hotel was located close to everything yet the room was very quiet. We have stayed at this hotel, when available, for the past ten years and have never had a bad experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Monteleone

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Happy customer today
Business
Fort Lauderdale
May 1, 2014

Exceeded expectations

Great stay. Great amenities in room. Really do not think we should need to pay for internet anymore. Show be free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top