$204 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 23, 2014 Check-out: Sep 24, 2014

Hotel Monteleone

4 stars
214 Royal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
280 reviews
Taryn Lee

From the moment we arrived it was fabulous! The staff were incredibly friendly and went above and... See full review

  • Tarynn
  • Sep 5, 2014
Perfect Location

The hotel was everything we hoped for, price, location, beautiful rooms. We recommend this to all... See full review

  • Vagabond Kid
  • Sep 5, 2014

A time-honored New Orleans landmark, this French Quarter hotel has been owned and operated by five generations of the Monteleone family since 1886. It has appeared in movies, television and literary works. Keurig coffee makers, plush robes, marble and granite bathrooms, a heated rooftop pool, and a state-of-the-art fitness center are just some of the luxurious amenities in the Hotel Monteleone. Literary-themed suites pay homage to famous authors like Ernest Hemingway and Tennessee Williams, who visited and even wrote about the place. These well-appointed suites have plush furniture, parlors that can accommodate 15 to 70 people, and balconies with views of the Mississippi River and French Quarter.

Key facts

  • 600 guestrooms
  • 55 suites
  • Restaurant
  • 2 bars
  • Rooftop heated pool
  • Spa
  • Fitness center
  • Gift shop
  • Wi-Fi (fees apply)
  • Conference facilities
  • Pets allowed

Neighborhood

The Hotel Monteleone is on Royal Street within walking distance of many French Quarter restaurants and attractions. Bourbon Street is about a block away, and the famous Cafe du Monde is just steps from the hotel's lobby.

Hints and tips

Rooms facing the front of the hotel allow guests to watch the Mardi Gras festivities right from their rooms.

Take a spin on the historic and one-of-a-kind Carousel Bar and Lounge. The bar has 24 seats that complete revolve every 15 minutes.

Policies and fees
Complimentary Internet access (.5M/second) is available in all guestrooms. For faster Internet access, guests can avail of Premium Internet access (2M/second) for $9.95 USD or Ultimate Internet access (20M/second) for $14.95 USD, both per 24-hour period.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.9543 -90.0679
Area served
French Quarter
Nearby airports
New Orleans Louis Armstrong International Airport
Area description
The Hotel Monteleone is the premier address of the French Quarter. Located at the top of Royal Street, the hotel is within walking distance of the finest restaurants, antique shops, galleries, and most major attractions. Only one block from Bourbon Street and two blocks from the Central Business District.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Monteleone also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Monteleone Rooms

Traditonal/Double
Rooms are newly refurbished in beautiful earth tones, conveying a sense of comfort, warmth, and relaxation. Rooms have new marble and granite bathrooms and plush amenities. High ceilings and ornamental moldings enhance the French Quarter ambiance. Flat Screen HDTV Television, Coffee Maker, Refreshment Center. Rooms are traditional in size and are located throughout this historical hotel. These Traditional Rooms range from 240 to 300 square feet.
Traditonal/King
Rooms are newly refurbished in beautiful earth tones, conveying a sense of comfort, warmth, and relaxation. Rooms have new marble and granite bathrooms and plush amenities. High ceilings and ornamental moldings enhance the French Quarter ambiance. Flat Screen HDTV Television, Coffee Maker, Refreshment Center. Rooms are traditional in size and are located throughout this historical hotel. These Traditional Rooms range from 240 - 290 square feet.
Junior Suite/King
Newly refurbished in beautiful earth tones, conveying a sense of comfort, warmth, and relaxation. All have new marble and granite bathrooms and plush amenities. High ceilings and ornamental moldings enhance the French Quarter ambiance. Flat Screen HDTV Television, Coffee Maker, Refreshment Center. These suites have enhanced bath amenities, including a Jacuzzi garden tub, separate glass shower, and double vanity. These suites range in size.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet in room
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Preservation Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.4 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.4 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.4 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.1 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.7 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.7 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.6 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.3 mi

Dining

Criollo
Casual elegant restaurant located off the lobby. Ingredient-driven season menu is designed to offer creative dishes by culinary traditions & an appreciation of todays contemporary tastes. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Carousel Bar
The world famous Carousel Bar in Hotel Monteleone is the only bar in New Orleans that revolves around the room. It overlooks famous Royal Street through large fan windows. "Take a ride on the Carousel and change your point of view!"

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The hotel provides over 20,000 square feet of beautifully decorated meeting space and expert staff to service any function. All meeting rooms are equipped with high speed internet access and our private Business Center offers a variety of services right in the hotel.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (280)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Monteleone

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
280 out of 280
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Deb N Jenn
Worcester, MA, USA
Oct 9, 2012

amazing friendly and peaceful

This beautiful historic hotel is in the heart of the French Quarter with plentiful delights in walking distance. The staff was friendly and quick to provide assistance and answer questions. Great food and tour recommendations with a lovely pool and bar area. Room service was delicious and the room was peaceful despite the proximity to Bourbon Street and the number of guests around us. Highly recommended!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Walgreens is just outside the lobby to your left on the corner to pick up drinks for the room or any small thing you forgot.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
El Profesor
Business
Palo Alto, CA
Jan 13, 2014

Very nice luxury hotel, need to keep rooms fixed

This hotel offered about what I expected in a fancy old luxury hotel. The staff were quite helpful, checking me in early and putting me in a nice room overlooking the city. The room was nice and modern, but had a few maintenance issues, including an intermittent lamp switch and a toilet seat that was loose. It's a bit annoying to deal with these things on a short visit. The staff were excellent and I was happy with the service, including excellent room service. I would probably stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cosmastro
Washington DC
Jan 5, 2014

Beautiful French Quarter Hotel!

My boyfriend and I stayed at Hotel Monteleone for one night prior to getting on a cruise and it doesn't get any better. The hotel is absolutely beautiful and charming. Our room was so warm and inviting and this hotel does all the little extras to make it comfortable. Also, we loved the Carousel Bar in the lobby. Will definitely stay here again if in New Orleans!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Free Walking Tours.com is great. We took a ghost tour and it was very fun and provided interesting history of the city.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Vegas Dude2013
new Orleans LA
Dec 26, 2013

Xmas in N.O.

We stayed at Hotel Monteleone for second time over Christmas. Nice rooms in art district and walking distance of local attractions. Staff was great. We did not use restaurant as it was booked solid. Great experience and will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Desire Oyster House- jambalaya, double pork chops and drinks are excellent!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
trumpet 1
New Jersey
Dec 18, 2013

Jazz Trip

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed the ambience and the friendly efficient staff. The Hotel Monteleone was an elegant historical hotel in the heart of the French Quarter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Ervin Mayfield's Jazz Playhouse for grammy winning jazz. World War II museum was outstanding.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SissyLesage
Audubon, PA
Oct 16, 2013

my brother and his wife celebrating their 7th wedding anniversay

I had a wonderful time. I knew so many people and got to know more people. It was a lot of fun and I really enjoy staying at the Hotel Monteleone. A beautiful hotel and all the people there serve you with dignity. Thank you for asking. Mrs. Catherine C. LeSage

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

I cant remenber the names of the dining places that we ate at but whateeer their names were they were delightful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Boscoyo
Louisiana
Jul 28, 2013

Great hotel, bad valet

No complaints about the hotel facilities. Very nice hotel in a great location. Valet parking however is horrible. Checking the car in was not a problem. Getting our car upon checkout was. It took us over 45 minutes to get our car. I will definitely self park next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
brownfam
Hercules,ca
Jun 20, 2013

great location

I had stayed here before for a dental convention many years ago and the hotel is still as neat and good as the years before. Gerald the doorman was very friendly and made us feel very welcomed on coming and goings.Gym on rooftop was a plus and very clean. Location is perfect. Would definitely stay here again when returning to New Orleans.Lots of good restaurants close by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Acme oyster house a must along with Deanies which is one or two blocks from Acme. The best seafood and best service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Candice6335
New York
Apr 26, 2013

Very Happy with Hotel Monteleone!

This was my first time in New Orleans and I was very pleased with this hotel. The location is perfect because it is in the middle of everything without being on Bourbon Street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SBSMKH
France
Apr 25, 2013

Excellent Stay

I would stay here again without hesitation - good central location with great access to the Quarter. Accommodation and staff hard to fault.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Smithwicks
Atlanta , ga
Apr 17, 2013

Over rated

Over rated over priced . Not a 4 star facility.Small dark room with view of a wall of an adjacent building.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search