$163 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

Hotel Monteleone

5 stars
View map of 214 Royal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Monteleone

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
307 out of 307
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Deb N Jenn
Worcester, MA, USA
Oct 9, 2012

amazing friendly and peaceful

This beautiful historic hotel is in the heart of the French Quarter with plentiful delights in walking distance. The staff was friendly and quick to provide assistance and answer questions. Great food and tour recommendations with a lovely pool and bar area. Room service was delicious and the room was peaceful despite the proximity to Bourbon Street and the number of guests around us. Highly recommended!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Walgreens is just outside the lobby to your left on the corner to pick up drinks for the room or any small thing you forgot.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anthony with Stag Party
Business
NY, NY
Aug 20, 2014

Only one real complaint

The hotel itself is great, nice location and famous bar, and a rooftop pool. Only the rooftop pool staff (some) where over zealous and rude in enforcing their no smoking policy. Was very poorly handled when someone in out group lit up a cigar without really knowing the policy. The nasty Sunday pool staff lady, Asian looking girl with a name begining with E, rudely kicked the entire party out instead of giving a warning and acted more like an angry school marm than a customer service representative.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kidless couple
Business
New Orleans, LA
Jul 30, 2014

Perfect Staycation!

We got a great deal on the room as New Orleans is very affordable in the summer - it was perfect for our staycation! The location can't be beat, quiet enough off Bourbon Street, but still close to everything you'll need in the French Quarter. The room we had was a bit small, but overall can't complain. Also, we loved the rooftop pool and the Carousel Bar! Will definitely recommend this hotel to friends and family that will be visiting if they want to stay in the Quarter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Whitlee7777
Business
Fort Worth, Texas
Jul 29, 2014

Perfect Spot

Great location in the heart of the French Quarter!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lfenter
Business
texas
Jul 7, 2014

Great Location

This is a great location for all the NOLA attractions in the French Quarter. However, when we arrived to check in their computer system was down, so we could not check in. They gave us comps for drinks at the bar and one day of valet parking. However, it took three hours to check-in, which was very frustrating. Overall hotel is nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Friend of Madam X
Business
Harrisburg, PA
Jun 18, 2014

Wonderful trip to the Quarter

We were traveling with a companion who was wheel chair bound. The staff and the hotel couldn't have been more accommodating! We had a wonderful time. The restaurant attached to the hotel was one of the best we dined in. Loved the pool! The staff went out of their way to make sure that we had what we needed. Thank you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Don't forget to go the Frenchmen Street, just outside the quarter. Less touristy. More neighborhood and great jazz!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chuck J.
Business
Charlotte, NC
Jun 16, 2014

Nice Place, GREAT Location!

The hotel was great. The Bar was always hopping and the pool area was nice as well. Our biggest complaint is that the walls were VERY thin and we heard EVERYTHING in the neighboring rooms at all hours of the day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
El Cebollo
Business
virginia beach
Jun 10, 2014

Misrepresented

I carefully chose this location based upon description. The room was so small you could hardly get around the bed which was worn out. Hardly room for two in the bathroom. Just abysmal accommodations for a purported "4 star" Hotel. The stay proclaimed it was O's responsibility. We will see if I receive a response. Luckily we were able to get to a real 4 star nearby which was a very fine property indeed ; its staff understanding and gracious to a fault. This shabby hotel is as completely unremarkable as its carousel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Bar at Nola is a wonderful place to have lunch.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Legal Linda
Business
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Jun 8, 2014

New Favorite

Have stayed at the Royal Sonesta on 3 previous stays in NOLA. Have also walked by the Monteleone and been curious. Actually booked it for cheaper than Sonesta (which had not been the case before). Totally met my expectations. Lived the location on Royal (I'm so over Bourbon Street). Also staff at all levels went above and beyond with attention and help. (not so the last time at Sonesta). This will be my new "must stay" in NOLA!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Asbury Buddies
Business
NYC NY
Jun 7, 2014

New Orleans Adventure

Location was great. The carousel bar was fun. The only negative was breakfast in the hotel restaurant. Average food compared to the great restaurants in the French Quarter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Remember to book in advance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ro Mo
Business
Boston, MA
Jun 2, 2014

Good/Bad Location

Before staying here, you really need to think about what you want out of your trip to New Orleans. If you are a night owl with plans to party all night on Bourbon Street, this is the hotel for you. The locaton is in the middle of everything with easy access to all that you will want in the French Quarter. If you want to sleep and relax, you may want to think about a different location further from Bourbon Street. The hotel staff was very friendly and the amenities of the hotel are great. The Carousel bar is a must with great bartenders and cocktails. The downside is that we stayed on the sixth floor in a room that faces Royal Street, which is one block from Bourbon. There was constant noise until nearly 5:00 every morning. This included a marching band playing "When the Saints Go Marching in" at 3:00 one morning. The staff was very accomodating about moving us to a quieter room, but be warned if staying here to ask for a high floor in the interior if you plan to sleep. The rooms were clean and nicely furnished, but a little on the small side. All in all, a decent stay, but may think about a different location if visiting New Orleans again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top