$163 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 12, 2014 Check-out: May 13, 2014

Hotel Monteleone

4 stars
214 Royal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
255 reviews
Excellent for Just the 2 of Us

The two of us booked this hotel for a weekend by ourselves. The location couldn't have been better.... See full review

  • Sooner Travel Mom
  • Mar 22, 2014
Great Hotel

Stayed here for Mardi Gras and had a great experience. The hotel lobby is beautiful and historic.... See full review

  • Beanstree
  • Mar 9, 2014
Grand Dame of the French Quarter central to area attractions
In 1886, Italian shoemaker Antonio Monteleone bought the 14-room Commercial Hotel, starting a tradition of hospitality that continues at the Monteleone to this day. The vibe throughout is retro-European, from the guest rooms' rich fabrics and marble bathrooms to the liveried doormen and distinctive Baroque façade. With its central location in the French Quarter, a few blocks from Canal Street, Jackson Square and the River Walk, the luxury Hotel Monteleone is an ideal home base for exploring the Crescent City in style.
Highlights
  • The lobby has crystal chandeliers, acres of marble and a grand European vibe
  • A serene heated rooftop pool with breathtaking views of the downtown New Orleans skyline
  • 24/7 rooftop fitness center offers panoramic views of the Mississippi River and the French Quarter
  • Boutique Spa Aria uses Pevonia Botanica organic skin care products
Rooms

A renovation updated all 600 rooms and 55 suites down to marble floors, granite countertop, HD flat screens, in room fridges and high-speed Internet  (fees apply). Pets are welcome (call for details) with a mat with water and food bowls, a bag of treats, and brochure of dog-friendly places in the city.

Features

In a city of great watering holes, Hotel Monteleone's Carousel Bar still manages to stand out from the crowd. The intricately carved bar, with its circus motif and cast of local characters, is iconic New Orleans. It was immortalized in the writings of Ernest Hemingway among others and hosts live piano music Wednesday through Saturday. Guests can also enjoy seasonal and traditional cuisines with contemporary taste all day at the on-site restaurant Criollo.

 

Transportation
  • Closest Streetcar stops Canal Street (1 block)
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (11 miles)
Attractions
  • Royal Street galleries and antique shops
  • Bourbon Street
  • Mississippi River, Aquarium, Omnimax Theater
  • Canal Place Shopping
  • Ernest N. Morial Convention Center
Business
  • A variety of on-site conference facilities
  • 24/7 business center equipped with a Mac, PCs and a printer (fees apply)
  • The La Nouvelle Orleans Ballroom can handle up to 550 for a reception,  450 for a sit-down dinner
Policies and fees
  • NOTE: Starting February 7, the new parking rates for guests will be:
            Cars - $35 plus tax = $39.20
            Oversized - $38 plus tax = $42.56
  • Rollaway beds are only permitted in rooms with one-king bed. Requests are based upon availability at arrival.
  • This hotel requires that you are at least 18 to check in.
  • Base rate is for two guests.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Monteleone Rooms

Traditonal/Double
Rooms are newly refurbished in beautiful earth tones, conveying a sense of comfort, warmth, and relaxation. Rooms have new marble and granite bathrooms and plush amenities. High ceilings and ornamental moldings enhance the French Quarter ambiance. Flat Screen HDTV Television, Coffee Maker, Refreshment Center. Rooms are traditional in size and are located throughout this historical hotel. These Traditional Rooms range from 240 to 300 square feet.
Traditonal/King
Rooms are newly refurbished in beautiful earth tones, conveying a sense of comfort, warmth, and relaxation. Rooms have new marble and granite bathrooms and plush amenities. High ceilings and ornamental moldings enhance the French Quarter ambiance. Flat Screen HDTV Television, Coffee Maker, Refreshment Center. Rooms are traditional in size and are located throughout this historical hotel. These Traditional Rooms range from 240 - 290 square feet.
Junior Suite/King
Newly refurbished in beautiful earth tones, conveying a sense of comfort, warmth, and relaxation. All have new marble and granite bathrooms and plush amenities. High ceilings and ornamental moldings enhance the French Quarter ambiance. Flat Screen HDTV Television, Coffee Maker, Refreshment Center. These suites have enhanced bath amenities, including a Jacuzzi garden tub, separate glass shower, and double vanity. These suites range in size.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Monteleone also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.9543 -90.0679
Area served
French Quarter
Nearby airports
New Orleans Louis Armstrong International Airport
Area description
The Hotel Monteleone is the premier address of the French Quarter. Located at the top of Royal Street, the hotel is within walking distance of the finest restaurants, antique shops, galleries, and most major attractions. Only one block from Bourbon Street and two blocks from the Central Business District.

Nearby points of interest

  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.2 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.4 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Storyville: 0.5 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.5 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.7 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.2 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.4 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Storyville: 0.5 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.5 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.7 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.4 mi
  • East Tennessee Historical Center: 1.6 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.1 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.7 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.7 mi
  • Amistad Research Center: 3.2 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.6 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • State Capital Publishing Museum: 4 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.3 mi
  • Six Flags New Orleans: 10.3 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The hotel provides over 20,000 square feet of beautifully decorated meeting space and expert staff to service any function. All meeting rooms are equipped with high speed internet access and our private Business Center offers a variety of services right in the hotel.

Dining

Criollo
Casual elegant restaurant located off the lobby. Ingredient-driven season menu is designed to offer creative dishes by culinary traditions & an appreciation of todays contemporary tastes. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Carousel Bar
The world famous Carousel Bar in Hotel Monteleone is the only bar in New Orleans that revolves around the room. It overlooks famous Royal Street through large fan windows. "Take a ride on the Carousel and change your point of view!"

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (255)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Monteleone

Overall score

4.4 / 5
255 out of 255
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Reviewer score

5
Sooner Travel Mom
Oklahoma
Mar 22, 2014

Excellent for Just the 2 of Us

The two of us booked this hotel for a weekend by ourselves. The location couldn't have been better. We were able to walk to everything, only using cabs for the airport. The room was small, but wonderfully decorated and clean. The bed was one of the most comfortable hotel beds I've slept on. The staff was very helpful and happy to help, even when we asked a simple question to what turned out to be the "VIP" (rather than the "regular") concierge. We definitely would stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dinner at Dickie Brennan's steakhouse (half a block away) and Sunday jazz brunch at Mr. B's (across the street) were both wonderful and worth the price!

Review of Hotel Monteleone

Reviewer score

5
Beanstree
Baton Rouge, LA
Mar 9, 2014

Great Hotel

Stayed here for Mardi Gras and had a great experience. The hotel lobby is beautiful and historic. We were there for Mardi Gras and saw several couple getting married in the lobby! The staff was very friendly and efficient. The rooms are comfortable. They could update the bedding but there was a nice flat screen TV and Keurig. Great location. I would recommend it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Reviewer score

5
Tony in Las Vegas
Las Vegas, NV
Mar 7, 2014

Great Place to Stay,

Very friendly, clean, location is excellent. Top of the line hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Reviewer score

4
TheDesertFox
Rancho Cucamonga, Ca
Mar 6, 2014

great place to stay

This is second time we stayed at this hotel. It is beautiful and clean. The staff was professional and pleasant. Good location to most anywhere you want to go/see. The security and security staff was great, friendly, helpful. Security was beefed up for Mardi Gras and the security staff was professional and personable. My only complaint is the price of wifi, the price was expensive. Very disappointment with this and was not willing to pay the outrageous price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Monteleone is within walking distance of many attractions and entertainment. We were able to walk everywhere that we wanted to visit

Review of Hotel Monteleone

Reviewer score

5
AndreaH
Perth Australia
Feb 11, 2014

Amazing location and fantastic history

You will not get a better location, right in the thick of the French Quarter. the streets of the French quarter are so vibrant

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Reviewer score

4
El Profesor
Business
Palo Alto, CA
Jan 13, 2014

Very nice luxury hotel, need to keep rooms fixed

This hotel offered about what I expected in a fancy old luxury hotel. The staff were quite helpful, checking me in early and putting me in a nice room overlooking the city. The room was nice and modern, but had a few maintenance issues, including an intermittent lamp switch and a toilet seat that was loose. It's a bit annoying to deal with these things on a short visit. The staff were excellent and I was happy with the service, including excellent room service. I would probably stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Monteleone

Reviewer score

5
Cosmastro
Washington DC
Jan 5, 2014

Beautiful French Quarter Hotel!

My boyfriend and I stayed at Hotel Monteleone for one night prior to getting on a cruise and it doesn't get any better. The hotel is absolutely beautiful and charming. Our room was so warm and inviting and this hotel does all the little extras to make it comfortable. Also, we loved the Carousel Bar in the lobby. Will definitely stay here again if in New Orleans!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Free Walking Tours.com is great. We took a ghost tour and it was very fun and provided interesting history of the city.

Review of Hotel Monteleone

Reviewer score

5
Vegas Dude2013
new Orleans LA
Dec 26, 2013

Xmas in N.O.

We stayed at Hotel Monteleone for second time over Christmas. Nice rooms in art district and walking distance of local attractions. Staff was great. We did not use restaurant as it was booked solid. Great experience and will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Desire Oyster House- jambalaya, double pork chops and drinks are excellent!!

Review of Hotel Monteleone

Reviewer score

5
trumpet 1
New Jersey
Dec 18, 2013

Jazz Trip

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed the ambience and the friendly efficient staff. The Hotel Monteleone was an elegant historical hotel in the heart of the French Quarter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Ervin Mayfield's Jazz Playhouse for grammy winning jazz. World War II museum was outstanding.

Review of Hotel Monteleone

Reviewer score

5
SissyLesage
Audubon, PA
Oct 16, 2013

my brother and his wife celebrating their 7th wedding anniversay

I had a wonderful time. I knew so many people and got to know more people. It was a lot of fun and I really enjoy staying at the Hotel Monteleone. A beautiful hotel and all the people there serve you with dignity. Thank you for asking. Mrs. Catherine C. LeSage

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

I cant remenber the names of the dining places that we ate at but whateeer their names were they were delightful.

Back to menu Return to top