$163 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 3, 2014 Check-out: Aug 5, 2014

Hotel Monteleone

4 stars
214 Royal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
462 reviews
Wonderful trip to the Quarter

We were traveling with a companion who was wheel chair bound. The staff and the hotel couldn't have... See full review

  • Friend of Madam X
  • Jun 18, 2014
New Orleans Adventure

Location was great. The carousel bar was fun. The only negative was breakfast in the hotel... See full review

  • Asbury Buddies
  • Jun 7, 2014

A time-honored New Orleans landmark, this French Quarter hotel has been owned and operated by five generations of the Monteleone family since 1886. It has appeared in movies, television and literary works. Keurig coffee makers, plush robes, marble and granite bathrooms, a heated rooftop pool, and a state-of-the-art fitness center are just some of the luxurious amenities in the Hotel Monteleone. Literary-themed suites pay homage to famous authors like Ernest Hemingway and Tennessee Williams, who visited and even wrote about the place. These well-appointed suites have plush furniture, parlors that can accommodate 15 to 70 people, and balconies with views of the Mississippi River and French Quarter.

Key facts

  • 600 guestrooms
  • 55 suites
  • Restaurant
  • 2 bars
  • Rooftop heated pool
  • Spa
  • Fitness center
  • Gift shop
  • Wi-Fi (fees apply)
  • Conference facilities
  • Pets allowed

Neighborhood

The Hotel Monteleone is on Royal Street within walking distance of many French Quarter restaurants and attractions. Bourbon Street is about a block away, and the famous Cafe du Monde is just steps from the hotel's lobby.

Hints and tips

Rooms facing the front of the hotel allow guests to watch the Mardi Gras festivities right from their rooms.

Take a spin on the historic and one-of-a-kind Carousel Bar and Lounge. The bar has 24 seats that complete revolve every 15 minutes.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.9543 -90.0679
Area served
French Quarter
Nearby airports
New Orleans Louis Armstrong International Airport
Area description
The Hotel Monteleone is the premier address of the French Quarter. Located at the top of Royal Street, the hotel is within walking distance of the finest restaurants, antique shops, galleries, and most major attractions. Only one block from Bourbon Street and two blocks from the Central Business District.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Monteleone also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Monteleone Rooms

Traditonal/Double
Rooms are newly refurbished in beautiful earth tones, conveying a sense of comfort, warmth, and relaxation. Rooms have new marble and granite bathrooms and plush amenities. High ceilings and ornamental moldings enhance the French Quarter ambiance. Flat Screen HDTV Television, Coffee Maker, Refreshment Center. Rooms are traditional in size and are located throughout this historical hotel. These Traditional Rooms range from 240 to 300 square feet.
Traditonal/King
Rooms are newly refurbished in beautiful earth tones, conveying a sense of comfort, warmth, and relaxation. Rooms have new marble and granite bathrooms and plush amenities. High ceilings and ornamental moldings enhance the French Quarter ambiance. Flat Screen HDTV Television, Coffee Maker, Refreshment Center. Rooms are traditional in size and are located throughout this historical hotel. These Traditional Rooms range from 240 - 290 square feet.
Junior Suite/King
Newly refurbished in beautiful earth tones, conveying a sense of comfort, warmth, and relaxation. All have new marble and granite bathrooms and plush amenities. High ceilings and ornamental moldings enhance the French Quarter ambiance. Flat Screen HDTV Television, Coffee Maker, Refreshment Center. These suites have enhanced bath amenities, including a Jacuzzi garden tub, separate glass shower, and double vanity. These suites range in size.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.2 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.4 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Storyville: 0.5 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.5 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.7 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.2 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.4 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Storyville: 0.5 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.5 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.7 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.4 mi
  • East Tennessee Historical Center: 1.6 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.1 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.7 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.7 mi
  • Amistad Research Center: 3.2 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.6 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • State Capital Publishing Museum: 4 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.3 mi
  • Six Flags New Orleans: 10.3 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The hotel provides over 20,000 square feet of beautifully decorated meeting space and expert staff to service any function. All meeting rooms are equipped with high speed internet access and our private Business Center offers a variety of services right in the hotel.

Dining

Criollo
Casual elegant restaurant located off the lobby. Ingredient-driven season menu is designed to offer creative dishes by culinary traditions & an appreciation of todays contemporary tastes. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Carousel Bar
The world famous Carousel Bar in Hotel Monteleone is the only bar in New Orleans that revolves around the room. It overlooks famous Royal Street through large fan windows. "Take a ride on the Carousel and change your point of view!"

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (462)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Monteleone

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
462 out of 462
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
A.N.C.
Marietta, Georgia
Jan 2, 2013

Great stay for the family

We went during the Chrismas week - had a very relaxing and stress-free stay. Staff was very accomodating and friendly - from the valet to the cleaning crew. Room was a little small but still comfortable. Unfortunately for us, most of our sightseeing on this trip was not within walking distance so we had to tip the valet to get our car so much that we lost count, however, on days that we actually hang out at the French Quarter, this was the perfect location. It was close by everything but far enough so that we can't hear (or smell) anything coming from Bourbon St. Would definitely go back - especially for their signature Monteleone Cocktail - that was awesome!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lfenter
texas
Jul 7, 2014

Great Location

This is a great location for all the NOLA attractions in the French Quarter. However, when we arrived to check in their computer system was down, so we could not check in. They gave us comps for drinks at the bar and one day of valet parking. However, it took three hours to check-in, which was very frustrating. Overall hotel is nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Friend of Madam X
Harrisburg, PA
Jun 18, 2014

Wonderful trip to the Quarter

We were traveling with a companion who was wheel chair bound. The staff and the hotel couldn't have been more accommodating! We had a wonderful time. The restaurant attached to the hotel was one of the best we dined in. Loved the pool! The staff went out of their way to make sure that we had what we needed. Thank you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Don't forget to go the Frenchmen Street, just outside the quarter. Less touristy. More neighborhood and great jazz!

Review of Hotel Monteleone

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chuck J.
Charlotte, NC
Jun 16, 2014

Nice Place, GREAT Location!

The hotel was great. The Bar was always hopping and the pool area was nice as well. Our biggest complaint is that the walls were VERY thin and we heard EVERYTHING in the neighboring rooms at all hours of the day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
El Cebollo
Business
virginia beach
Jun 10, 2014

Misrepresented

I carefully chose this location based upon description. The room was so small you could hardly get around the bed which was worn out. Hardly room for two in the bathroom. Just abysmal accommodations for a purported "4 star" Hotel. The stay proclaimed it was O's responsibility. We will see if I receive a response. Luckily we were able to get to a real 4 star nearby which was a very fine property indeed ; its staff understanding and gracious to a fault. This shabby hotel is as completely unremarkable as its carousel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Bar at Nola is a wonderful place to have lunch.

Review of Hotel Monteleone

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Legal Linda
Business
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Jun 8, 2014

New Favorite

Have stayed at the Royal Sonesta on 3 previous stays in NOLA. Have also walked by the Monteleone and been curious. Actually booked it for cheaper than Sonesta (which had not been the case before). Totally met my expectations. Lived the location on Royal (I'm so over Bourbon Street). Also staff at all levels went above and beyond with attention and help. (not so the last time at Sonesta). This will be my new "must stay" in NOLA!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Monteleone

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Asbury Buddies
NYC NY
Jun 7, 2014

New Orleans Adventure

Location was great. The carousel bar was fun. The only negative was breakfast in the hotel restaurant. Average food compared to the great restaurants in the French Quarter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Remember to book in advance

Review of Hotel Monteleone

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Minoa NY Traveler
Syrause, New York
Jun 2, 2014

Great Location, no worries!

The location of the Hotel Montelone was great! Easy access to Bourbon St and all other surrounding French Quarter streets. You would need to take a bus to the Garden District or Business District, which is fairly easy. Rooms were small, but doable: standard room applies. We were able to walk to the French Market and #1 Cemetary. We also ventured to the Zoo, the bus was right around the corner on Canal St. Take the Magazine Bus #11. We had no problems with the reservations, was a great hassle free vacation. Would recommend highly staying at the Hotel. Enjoy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Bring a good pair of walking shoes! Lots to see and do within walking distance.

Review of Hotel Monteleone

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ro Mo
Boston, MA
Jun 2, 2014

Good/Bad Location

Before staying here, you really need to think about what you want out of your trip to New Orleans. If you are a night owl with plans to party all night on Bourbon Street, this is the hotel for you. The locaton is in the middle of everything with easy access to all that you will want in the French Quarter. If you want to sleep and relax, you may want to think about a different location further from Bourbon Street. The hotel staff was very friendly and the amenities of the hotel are great. The Carousel bar is a must with great bartenders and cocktails. The downside is that we stayed on the sixth floor in a room that faces Royal Street, which is one block from Bourbon. There was constant noise until nearly 5:00 every morning. This included a marching band playing "When the Saints Go Marching in" at 3:00 one morning. The staff was very accomodating about moving us to a quieter room, but be warned if staying here to ask for a high floor in the interior if you plan to sleep. The rooms were clean and nicely furnished, but a little on the small side. All in all, a decent stay, but may think about a different location if visiting New Orleans again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alie Girl
Houston
May 27, 2014

Two Gals Fun Weekend in the Big Easy!!!

My gal pal and I took the city by storm, hitting all the classy locales and partaking of some uber-fun shopping! Monteleone was home-base, perfectly situated in the middle of everything and every place we needed to be! And the staff was marvelously accommodating! The lounge and carousel bar were the most fun after dinner, and the Sunday brunch in the restaurant was exquisite and heavenly! We'll stay here again and again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lire50
New York City
May 26, 2014

Nice Little Getaway!

I visited this hotel in April 2014. The hotel location was excellent...everything that you would want to see and do in the French Quarter was in walking distance. The hotel itself was clean and pleasant. The staff was friendly. The room was small...even for one person. Took a while to figure out that the armoire doors slid back so that more space was provided between it and the end of the bed. ATE WELL!! No problems. Would def stay at the Monteleone again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

After dark, Bourbon Street is a place where people try too hard to stand out in the most obnoxious ways! See it and get out fast!

Back to menu Return to top