$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 7, 2015

Hotel Mazarin

4 stars
View map of 730 Rue Bienville, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
64 reviews
Great hotel!

So close to everything. Great staff and great breakfast! See full review

  • Big Steve Chicago
  • Jan 20, 2015
Great hotel

My husband and I spent a long weekend here. Have been to NOLA many times, but the Mazarin was the... See full review

  • RBC traveler
  • Sep 9, 2014
Modern comforts and New Orleans charm in the Old French Quarter

 Located in the historic neighborhood of French Quarter, Hotel Mazarin provides a small yet stylish boutique haven for business and leisure travelers looking to experience the music, nightlife, and tourist attractions of New Orleans. After browsing the string of restaurants, souvenir shops, and bars along the famous Bourbon Street, guests unwind at the on-site Spa Laje, 24-hour fitness centre, or courtyard with European-style fountain. Hotel Mazarin, a member of New Orleans Hotel Collection, also provides function spaces for meetings and social events.

Highlights
  • Beautiful courtyard with European-style fountain
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi access
  • Rejuvenating treatments at the on-site Spa Laje
Rooms

All 102 non-smoking rooms at Hotel Mazarin feature ample space, Egyptian waffle cotton robes and slippers and luxurious bathrooms with vanity areas and walk-in showers. Each room comes with modern amenities such as 42-inch flat-screen TV, iPod docking station, and free Wi-Fi access. Safe deposit box, writing desk, and beverage cooler are also available in most units.

Features

At Hotel Mazarin, guests can get pampering services in-room by Spa Laje, exercise at the fitness center, unwind at the Mediterranean-inspired courtyard, and sample a wide variety of wines and spirits at Patrick's Bar Vin. Business centre, complimentary wireless Internet access and events spaces for business and social gatherings of up to 175 people are also on offer. Valet parking is available for an added charge.

Transportation
  • New Orleans Lakefront Airport (6.5 mi/10.4 km)
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (12 mi/19.3 km)
Attractions
  • Bourbon Street (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • New Orleans Pharmacy Museum (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Audubon Insectarium (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • Woldenberg Park (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • Le Petit Theatre Du Vieux Carre (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Ernest N Morial Convention Center (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
Business
  • Indoor and outdoor meeting and banquet spaces
  • 24-hour business center
Policies and fees

Hotel Mazarin has a $250 penalty fee for guests violating smoking policy.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Mazarin also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Mazarin Rooms

Deluxe King
Spacious room with limited views. Guest room features a plush pillowtop king bed, a writing desk and chair, nicely appointed bathrooms with separate vanity area, walk-in shower , complimentary WiFi, local calls and bottled water, coffee maker, in-room safe, cotton bathrobes and slippers, high-speed data ports, voice mail, alarm clock with iPod/iPhone docking station.
Superior King
Spacious room with French Quarter or courtyard views. Guest room features a plush pillowtop king bed, a writing desk and chair, nicely appointed bathrooms with separate vanity area, walk-in shower, complimentary WiFi, local calls and bottled water, coffee maker, in-room safe, cotton bathrobes and slippers, high-speed data ports, voice mail, alarm clock with iPod/iPhone docking station.
Superior Queen
Spacious room with French Quarter or courtyard views. Guest room features a plush pillowtop queen bed, a writing desk and chair, nicely appointed bathrooms with separate vanity area, walk-in shower, complimentary WiFi, local calls and bottled water, coffee maker, in-room safe, cotton bathrobes and slippers, high-speed data ports, voice mail, alarm clock with iPod/iPhone docking station.
Petit King
Cozy room overlooking the back courtyard. Guest room features a plush pillowtop king bed, a writing desk and chair, nicely appointed bathrooms with separate vanity area, walk-in shower, complimentary WiFi, local calls and bottled water, coffee maker, in-room safe, cotton bathrobes and slippers, high-speed data ports, voice mail, alarm clock with iPod/iPhone docking station.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Night club
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Preservation Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.4 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.1 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.6 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.7 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.6 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.5 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.3 mi

Dining

Louis XVI Restaurant
Serves Breakfast 7 Days a week on our weather protected beautiful courtyard and provides full service catering for weddings, receptions and meetings.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Mazarin

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
64 out of 64
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Mazarin

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Casinoloser
Business
Charlotte, NC
Jan 11, 2012

BCS Football Game - January 9, 2012

Not ready to handle the crowds. Maybe down the road after it has been open awhile.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dragos (in the Hilton on Canal)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Mazarin

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Brenda R
Business
Baton Rouge, LA, USA
Apr 15, 2012

Too noisy

The hotel rooms were very simple, but nice. Hotel staff was very polite and accommodating, however it was way too noisy. Between the street noise, and the courtyard, it didn't quiet down till early morning. It was horrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Mazarin

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Llen
Business
Orlando, FL
Apr 24, 2012

Needs some help

The hotel is very nice, great location, etc. My issue was the extremely LONG wait that I had to get my room and check in. It took well over 2 hours past the time that I was promosed the room would be ready. Not only that, the customer service- even from their manager, was not acceptable. He kept providing me excuses of why the room was't ready, including that they were totally booked the night before. Really?! Shouldn't they be able to handle that? Only after we requested him to go up to our room and physically double check that it was ready, did he have a room available. 2 hours of wasted time is definitely something to complain about while on vacation! Very disapointing and disrespectful to us as guests in a 4 star hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Mazarin

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Keepitmoving
Business
Florida
Jan 22, 2013

50/50 review...

Location was great...Steps away from Bourbon Street and didnt hear all the noise of Bourbon Street. AND great free hot breakfast! Trying to find the place was a night pair. They are under construction so we drove by it 3 times...they actually ended up coming outside to look for us. And when I got my final email from them about my booking it was called St. Louis Hotel. We had issues with getting new towels and the room cleaned daily. Yes we slept in but were told if we talked to the desk by 2pm we would be fine. And with four of us in the room and no towels it sucked. MAKE SURE TO ASK NOT TO BE IN A 20 room. These rooms are next to the elevator that goes up and down all day and night. You are woken up all the time as the elevator shaft is against your wall. IT IS SO LOUD! Also on Monday, our last day they started major construction projects outside our window and the courtyard. No notice was given they were doing these repairs. It would of been nice to be notified that we would be woken up at 8am. Overall if you are looking for somewhere nice and are not planning on doing the typical New Orleans scene this place is fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Mazarin

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tony421
Business
Baltimore, MD
Mar 2, 2013

Somewhat disappointing

Although the hotel advertises the rooms as cozy, don't be fooled. The rooms are small. It is just a bed, a dresser, a tv, a closet, and the bathroom. There is no desk, which makes things tough if you are on town for business. Another warning for those who might be on business: the wireless Internet is horribly slow and virtually unusable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Mazarin

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Extended Weekend Traveler
Business
Houston
May 27, 2013

On the Fence

I have visited New Orleans many time and stayed in many different Hotels. Here's my experience... Pros: The hotel has a first class atmosphere. Rooms are just the right size, clean and modernized. Courtyard is a perfect place to relax during a hot summer day. Free wi-fi and bottled water! Half a block from Royal st. best place for visiting art galleries and antiques in the French quarter. Cons: Hotel lacks common amenities. No room service, Not even a snack vending machine. No movie service channel. Half a block from bourbon st., forget about going to sleep until about 4am. Summary: If you plan is to spend all you time on bourbon st. This hotel is for you. If not try another a block or two over.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Good Restaurants fill up fast book one before you head out for the day.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Mazarin

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Neal from Chicago
Business
Chicago
Nov 13, 2013

Nice but cramped

As most hotels in the French Quarters are, the room that we stayed in was very cramped. I understand that it's a very old building so I'm not ranking it much lower because of that. Other than the room size, the staff was friendly, the rooms are very clean, and the location is fantastic

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Mazarin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
World traveler 11111
Business
Fort Wayne
Feb 25, 2014

Great hotel in the French Quarter

We had a really great stay. Location is fantastic. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Hotel is very clean. We really enjoyed the complimentary breakfast. It was very good. Also, bars attached to hotel are really cool and hosted some great bands. Mazarin has a very quant local feel to it, unlike big chain hotels. Would stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Mazarin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JNA1
Business
New Jersey
Apr 29, 2014

Relaxing spot just off Bourbon Street

We traveled to New Orleans for JazzFest and to celebrate a milestone anniversary. The hotel staff greeted us warmly on our arrival and were very pleasant throughout our stay, but we didn't need tourist advice or reservations made for us, so I don't know how helpful they'd be for someone new to New Orleans. Our room opened to the rear courtyard and offered a very quiet space to retreat to after days and JassFest and evenings on Bourbon Street. The rooms aren't large, but are clean and well-maintained.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Do use the 2 free drink coupons in 21st Amendment - it's a nice little bar with some special cocktails and gives you another exit from the hotel onto Iberville.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Mazarin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Youngproeng
Business
California, USA
Feb 24, 2012

Great spot in the French Quarter

Arrived in NOLA for mardi gras during a mild storm, after walking from the CBD with my luggage in tow, I found the hotel with ease, just off of Burbon street. The looby was nothing special however once I got into my room, I was pleasantly surprised to find the granite floors, freshly painted and trimmed room, large comfortable bed, large tv and wonderfully spacious bathroom. This place gets high marks from me and I plan on boking this hotel next year for Mardi Gras again. I also used the gym facility and though it is small at least you can get a workout in and all of the equipment is brand new. Just around the corner from the hotel is Cafe Beignet which is convenient for breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top